got stopped by ROV at CTE towards thompson yest. i am the 2nd rider of my bike and i had no reason to be guilty of anything wen i was stopped. he asked for my insurance n rd tax, i told him it was wif owner. i only had the cover note n showed it to him.

he checked evrythg n guess wat! rd tax had expired 1 mth ago! i told hiim i didn't noe bla bla bla. he say juz wait for letter to come. so wat are the consequences for riding w/o valid rd tax? revoke? if fine how much? any chance to appeal? haizz.

• Replies 22

I extract this from one motoring..hope tis help...

Please take immediate action to renew the road tax of your vehicle. Do ensure that the pre-requisites for successful renewal, such as valid motor insurance, vehicle inspection (if required), etc., have been fulfilled. Late renewal and/or penalty fees will be imposed.

It is an offence for anyone to keep, use or allow the use of a vehicle without valid road tax and/or motor insurance in force for the vehicle. Hence, do not use or allow the use of your vehicle until the road tax and motor insurance have been renewed.

The penalty for anyone who uses a vehicle without a valid insurance is a fine of up to $1000 or to imprisonment of up to 3 months or both, and a mandatory disqualification from holding a driving licence for at least 12 months, if convicted.

The penalty for anyone who keeps, uses or allow the use of a vehicle without a valid road tax is a fine of up to $2000, if convicted.

Your vehicle may also be impounded, and towing and storage fees will then be payable in addition to the arrears of road tax and penalty fees.

Past rides:-

Cagiva Mito, Hexagon 150, KTM 125EXC,

Shadow 400, Ducati Monster 400, CBR 400RL,

Yamaha R1, Honda Goldwing1500

Present ride:-

Honda Deauville NT700

:gun: :bouncefire:

I hope your insurance is valid for the time period.

You just have to pay a late renewal fees.

This is from my bike's road tax renewal notice:

1 Day late : $10

1 month late : $60

2.5 months late :$75

6 months late :$225

This is for a Class 2 bike, i believe it's cheaper for 2B bikes.

Hope this helps.

Slow down abit, smell the air and enjoy the scenery.

Caught the touring bug once again!

http://www.michelinmotorcycle.com/img/sport_comparo_lg.jpg

IO ask you go interview to review ur case, both 1st rider and 2nd rider.

Most likely, both will kena.

1) bike owner for not renewing rd tax and allowing it to be on the road.

2) 2nd rider, you be charge for riding bike w/o valid rd tax.

3) Both go court (worst case). If go court, that's it.

4) You can lose your license for riding w/o valid rd tax. I'm seen b4 in court, driver got caught for driving w/o valid rd tax which expired a month ago. License gone, and fine a few $k.

No joking, this is a serious offence. Riding/driving a motor vehicle w/o a valid rd tax. It's not the same as just a expired rd tax where it is fine only.

IO ask you go interview to review ur case, both 1st rider and 2nd rider.

Most likely, both will kena.

1) bike owner for not renewing rd tax and allowing it to be on the road.

2) 2nd rider, you be charge for riding bike w/o valid rd tax.

3) Both go court (worst case). If go court, that's it.

4) You can lose your license for riding w/o valid rd tax. I'm seen b4 in court, driver got caught for driving w/o valid rd tax which expired a month ago. License gone, and fine a few $k.

No joking, this is a serious offence. Riding/driving a motor vehicle w/o a valid rd tax. It's not the same as just a expired rd tax where it is fine only.

I had got a friend(HE ALWAYS OUT STATION) whose Father drove out his van during his absence just a day after his roadtax and insurance expire then suey suey stop by LTA(ROV)...his father was fine(i dun know how much) but my friend got it much worst(he employ a lawyer) he got a fine and his license revoked for 1 year(meaning he got to retake all again)...he got class 2,2a,2b,3 and 4......

Past rides:-

Cagiva Mito, Hexagon 150, KTM 125EXC,

Shadow 400, Ducati Monster 400, CBR 400RL,

Yamaha R1, Honda Goldwing1500

Present ride:-

Honda Deauville NT700

:gun: :bouncefire:

no you can't. unless you want to do it in a illegal way.

ok, thx...if got led strip can pass? any idea where can do rear brake light wiring for sp cos my footrest is modified...cant pass inspection

stupid ****. i seriously wonder if operating a vehicle on the road w/o a valid road tax will cause an accident that is serious enough to revoke the license of the vehicle owner?

singapore traffic rules are totally absurb!

good luck to you ! sure revoke ! ,u kenna stopped by LTA ,say wat also no use , prepare some money to hire a lawyer , all other methods do not work , not even going to MP.

stupid ****. i seriously wonder if operating a vehicle on the road w/o a valid road tax will cause an accident that is serious enough to revoke the license of the vehicle owner?

It is to prevent people from driving with insurance and road tax. Imagine someone without this and has an accident with someone you love or know.

There will be no insurance coverage and the injured party got no recourse but to sue. Imagine the uninsure driver/rider are poor and cannot affort to pay the medical fee and compensation.

Would you be angry that he does not has the insurance coverage? Please think and answer to the rest of forumers.

Originally Posted by aRcHeR

It is to prevent people from driving with insurance and road tax. Imagine someone without this and has an accident with someone you love or know.

There will be no insurance coverage and the injured party got no recourse but to sue. Imagine the uninsure driver/rider are poor and cannot affort to pay the medical fee and compensation.

Would you be angry that he does not has the insurance coverage? Please think and answer to the rest of forumers.

I truely agree, what happen if the victim is the sole bread winner for the family and the other party can't pay the decease's family compensation.

Hello, are you there......

tidy,

Sorry to say this but as the sub-rider, you should be FULLY aware of the renewal of road tax & insurance. Even though you're not the owner, but you're commandeering the vehicle, so you have to know all this. This is more serious than your think...

aRcHeR

I have to agree with lao uncle and Boon6600. The penalties are there to protect all motorists & it is the basics of vehicle ownership.

If you think the penalties are ridiculous, think again. Failing to pay parking summons/fines and ignoring the court dates repeatedly may result in a 99-year driving ban. It is worse than killing someone on the road. If you think that it doesn't make sense, then apply the rationale of deliberate & unintentional. Causing death by careless driving is an unintentional act (unless it is deliberate, then it'll be criminalized and fall under the Penal Code instead). Failing to pay fines & ignoring court dates is a deliberate act (unless proven otherwise).

Does this make a bit of sense to you now?

"Keep your friends close but your enemies closer"

hello? read properly what i'm saying before you comment.

did i mention anything about expired insurance?

insurance is renewed yearly, while road tax could be renewed every 6 months or a year.

i have totally no idea how 1 can link up these 2 things..

TS is talking about expired road tax. I'm talking about expired road tax.

2 other person can link it up to expired insurance.

ABSURD!

if insurance valid...... just pay rd tax fine

See more of me @ azari.multiply.com

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs216.snc3/22373_296411496598_707411598_3943863_2038617_n.jpg

Don't worry lah. If insurance still valid, they will just fine you for the road tax expiry. I kenna twice before. Stopped by TP. He ask me to park the bike and take taxi home.

But if insurance expired, confirm gantong.

Be responsible lah brother...

there's a reason why road tax label has been asked to be displayed on a visible location on your bike (if you're forgetful :p )

think your important documents such as insurance certificate and such should be with your vehicle at all times (if there's any compartment to do so)

if not, both rider and sub-rider should have duplicates in their wallets.

TPs can be more reasonable but ROVs are Hell's Angels (the real KING of the road) they can fine you from nuts to bolts (exaggerated of coz)

just to follow up on the situation.

have you renew your road tax since the day of the incident?

or insurance (if needed)???

As claimed, There's a need to drive when we have a Family. But all that is needed to ride is Dream... Many are still dreaming about it.

i have totally no idea how 1 can link up these 2 things..

TS is talking about expired road tax. I'm talking about expired road tax.

2 other person can link it up to expired insurance.

ABSURD!

Super agree with u...

its about road tax...

Airbrush and Pinstriping By Silver Surfer

http://i432.photobucket.com/albums/qq47/nor_inrad/airbrush%20logo/Ab1.jpg

http://i432.photobucket.com/albums/qq47/nor_inrad/airbrush%20logo/ab.jpg

that is only valid if the rider/driver is not having insurance coverage.. we are talking about Rd Tax now.. the money we contribute every year to their million dollar salary every year..

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t286/modenaboi/signature.jpg

Practical Test Checklist:

√ Sudden and late braking

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Assume road belongs to father

√ Never at fault no matter what happens

√ Tailgating confidence

Result: YES! You qualify to become a Singapore car driver!