Hi guys, whenever I throttle to about 5k rpm, i get a choking sound... feels as if the bike is taking in air. Slight vibrations too. This happens for almost every gear, being most prominent at gear 2. The only way to avoid this seems to be to full throttle everytime to chiong past the 5k rpm mark.

Can anyone pls advise on what's wrong?

• Replies 64

ya..i have da same prob as u..haha..tink its normal for sp ar..

Sept' 08 - ??????? - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FU *** H)

Sept' 09 - Dec' 09 - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FR **** E)

Mar' 10 - ??????? - YAMAHA RXZ 135 (FS **** E)

**Gif image removed. please do not add a 6mb gif file into your sig as it slows everyone's surfing**

Haha i've asked the same qns as you a few months back when i first gotten my SP. Btw it's common in SP. From what i know is that the first valve is about to open but due to insufficient rpm it doesn't open. Try revving higher rpm and the prob will go off. You will feel a slight torque pull feel once the valve opens.

If you remain constant at 5krpm does it feel like the bike has no power?

My SP when travelling at around 70km/hr constant can hear like no power like that but everything is alright when i reach past 80km/hr

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Sinfillled_Siggy.jpg
If you remain constant at 5krpm does it feel like the bike has no power?

My SP when travelling at around 70km/hr constant can hear like no power like that but everything is alright when i reach past 80km/hr

Yup, there's like no power. In fact, I feel as if I'm being dragged along. Not sure how to describe the feeling... SP riders would know, I guess.

I don't think it's normal for SP though. This makes it impossible to cruise at 5k rpm. I also think that it will be bad for FC.

hmm..wat i suggest is change your gear after 5k rpm loh...at 6th gear...maintance it after 5k rpm and should be fine rite??becos if i dun remember wrongly,6k rpm is 100km/h...

There's a lack of power during transition... it's quite obvious, especially when you are moving off from a stationary position. So it's not just about cruising at a fixed speed... my bad.

actually if ur those kind who wack throttle it shouldnt be a prob haha becoZ i've tried to wack b4 and by the time i reach the tip of 4th gear im oreadi at 100km/hr but since you said even moving off from stationary position you're also encountering power loss problem, try playing around with ur biting point 1st.

becoZ i've tried a few of my fren's SP, some of their clutch have to release quite alot to get biting point while others onli need to release very little bit to find their biting point

Final solution, bring to mech and check hehe

http://i570.photobucket.com/albums/ss143/godsendworx/mesh/supporters/Sinfillled_Siggy.jpg

If we're talking about the same thing, I think I get it about how it sounds like. Mine also happens, at RPM 5k start to like choke choke. Then when I stop, the idling speed can go below 1k, then engine stall at traffic light. -_-

However, this only happens to me early morning/heavy rain. Worse case scenario is when it rains heavily in the morning, that 1 damn jialat, have to like throttle to keep my RPM above 1k at traffic lights. But after I hit expressway just whack then later okay already, idling speed somewhat normal, so I thought it was my engine cold or something.

世界å¯ä»¥ä¹±ï¼Œä½†å¤´å‘ä¸èƒ½ä¹±ã€‚

The world can be in chaos, but your hair cannot.

Hi guys, whenever I throttle to about 5k rpm, i get a choking sound... feels as if the bike is taking in air. Slight vibrations too. This happens for almost every gear, being most prominent at gear 2. The only way to avoid this seems to be to full throttle everytime to chiong past the 5k rpm mark.

Can anyone pls advise on what's wrong?

It's time for u to send your bike for a top servicing liao. Decarbonize and clean those dirty engine part..

http://coastline.chu.jp/Resources/zxr400.jpg

Be cool, Be smart... Be your Yourself!

Regardless the bike model/brand. No matter how good/fast the bike is. Without skills the bike is nothing.

Money is'nt everything, but without money, you're just nothing!

It's time for u to send your bike for a top servicing liao. Decarbonize and clean those dirty engine part..

I just did servicing... My mechanic asked me to return to see him again though. Offers to fix it for free.

altho im riding a rr. i do face the same prob.

but i asked arnd. diff ppl gave diff ans. im rather confused.

some say is the jetting.

some say is the cable.

erm is there a confirmed ans ?

cherrs! =]

suuupppaaaa da fooouuurrrrr! :angel:

weetec 1

Education Status

Currently Pursuing :

Masters for Jamming Brake in Tail Gating Management

I just did servicing... My mechanic asked me to return to see him again though. Offers to fix it for free.

That's good. Better get it check before problem comes..

Regardless the bike model/brand. No matter how good/fast the bike is. Without skills the bike is nothing.

some say is the jetting.

some say is the cable.

cherrs! =]

Also when riding to a certain RPM you'll feel like something stuck? But muz keep on dragging untill it clear? May i know when is your last servicing? What did you do?

hmm..

i think u shud clear ur valve before every move off

as in drag untill u clear all the white smoke then ride normally ..

try it.. :)

http://i10.photobucket.com/albums/a137/l0st_boi/hks_s15_0011.jpg

http://i30.tinypic.com/28tzyac.jpg

Also when riding to a certain RPM you'll feel like something stuck? But muz keep on dragging untill it clear? May i know when is your last servicing? What did you do?

hmm.. i jus got my bike 3 months back .. is it time for servicing? hahahs!

weetec 1

Education Status

Currently Pursuing :

some say is the jetting.

some say is the cable.

cherrs! =]

Actually mine's a NSR rr too! :thumb:

hmm..

i think u shud clear ur valve before every move off

as in drag untill u clear all the white smoke then ride normally ..

try it.. :)

yeahh i got this problem on my FS 150 too.

get this terrible choking and unbearable vibrating when i try to cruise at arnd 4.7k rpm to 5.3k rpm in gears 2 and above

problem solved when i start my bike, still on neutral, i give her a goooood rev (AT least 6k rpm)

then after that the ride tends to be smoother.. after loads of experimenting!! lol.

i noticed if i open valve on expressway, the weird choking is gone. But if ride normally, the choking will be present all the way. once clear valve constantly then ok le (so must be carbon build up).

just went for tuning at planet motor, and the choking is reduced..

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y71/eshtrella/MoulinRouge070.jpg

美月

ç„¡é™ // Feel Speed

yeahh i got this problem on my FS 150 too.

get this terrible choking and unbearable vibrating when i try to cruise at arnd 4.7k rpm to 5.3k rpm in gears 2 and above

problem solved when i start my bike, still on neutral, i give her a goooood rev (AT least 6k rpm)

then after that the ride tends to be smoother.. after loads of experimenting!! lol.

i noticed if i open valve on expressway, the weird choking is gone. But if ride normally, the choking will be present all the way. once clear valve constantly then ok le (so must be carbon build up).

just went for tuning at planet motor, and the choking is reduced..

hello bro. dun mind me asking ... what;s tuning n wad does it do?

and also how much does it cost ahs??

thanks in advance=]

weetec 1

Education Status

Currently Pursuing :

lol... yo bro... that's a few kindas of tunings... One is purely idling... another one is fuel and air intake... it makes your bike smoother lor.. but FC might increases.. :)

Cost? depends on wat you have done and normally tuning is FOC...

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

is there any reccomendation to the ratio? n y will fc increase ah?

weetec 1

Education Status

Currently Pursuing :

in the event that you have increase your fuel intake and air intake to make your ride more smooth and "power", fuel intake increases thus FC increase.. :)

Recommendation? depending on the hardware you have at your carb and the mechs will tune for you accordingly...

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

yay me tune at planet motorss for free!

basically more power = more petrol = more $$$$

http://i3.photobucket.com/albums/y71/eshtrella/MoulinRouge070.jpg

美月

ç„¡é™ // Feel Speed