bubbles have surfaced on my paintwork again :mad:

my bike spent 3weeks with yeow motors for the 1st paintwork. bubbles surfaced on almost the whole of the lower fairing and there were portions near the engine which looked like they were burnt. the boss claimed that this was due to my exhuast. this couldn't be as there was nothing wrong with the previous paintwork.

yeow motor agreed to respray my bike and it was left with them for another 3weeks. this time the bubbles have surfaced again but not as much as the 1st time. burnt portion also not as much. going to look up ah huat again. should i ask for a refund or go thru another 3weeks without my bike, my main transport. shall see what's his service recovery this time round.

each time my bike was away for the paint job, spent lots on taxi just travelling to and from work :weep:

will share the pics if no service recovery is offered.

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

2005 Honda CBR1000RR5 FZ9xxxZ

2007 Honda Fit 1.5 Vtec SGU2xxxR

2008 Mitsubishi Colt Version R SJF9xxxG

• Replies 58

I have respray my SP with Yeow previously other then the longer waiting time and price worse a bit on the high side I don't have any problem with the paintwork, maybe U speak with him about it and if problem persist maybe ask him to charge U lower then the orginal price.

http://img102.imageshack.us/img102/719/my1sthondamatchez0.jpg
Originally posted by LastDance@Jul 19 2006, 04:19 PM

bubbles have surfaced on my paintwork again :mad:

my bike spent 3weeks with yeow motors for the 1st paintwork. bubbles surfaced on almost the whole of the lower fairing and there were portions near the engine which looked like they were burnt. the boss claimed that this was due to my exhuast. this couldn't be as there was nothing wrong with the previous paintwork.

yeow motor agreed to respray my bike and it was left with them for another 3weeks. this time the bubbles have surfaced again but not as much as the 1st time. burnt portion also not as much. going to look up ah huat again. should i ask for a refund or go thru another 3weeks without my bike, my main transport. shall see what's his service recovery this time round.

each time my bike was away for the paint job, spent lots on taxi just travelling to and from work :weep:

will share the pics if no service recovery is offered.

so how's the outcome?

24th Feb'06 - 28th Jun'06 NSR 150SP FR 8*9*Y

29th Jun'06 -Dec'06 Crutches n Taxi

Jan'06 - present day Public Transport

25th May'07 Daihatsu Extol

bike sold on my bdae!!

decided not to pursue, wasted too much time and money already. just enjoy riding my bike.

if anybody asks me bout their quality, i'll suggest try elsewhere.

i have the pics still, lasy to upload now...

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

mayb u can post them up when u nt lazy...gd to know....coz my fren intend to go there to spray too

bike sold on my bdae!!

Originally posted by ermintham@Aug 18 2006, 05:20 PM

mayb u can post them up when u nt lazy...gd to know....coz my fren intend to go there to spray too

good luck to him then

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Originally posted by LastDance@Aug 18 2006, 05:28 PM

good luck to him then

sounds like a v bad experience....thanks

bike sold on my bdae!!

spoke to ah huat yesterday, he will respray for me again the lower fairing.

according to him the bubbles arose could be due to the clay not being able to withstand the heat :giddy:

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

hmm..hope it turns out well 4 u.....hehe

bike sold on my bdae!!

Originally posted by LastDance@Aug 29 2006, 08:17 PM

spoke to ah huat yesterday, he will respray for me again the lower fairing.

according to him the bubbles arose could be due to the clay not being able to withstand the heat :giddy:

mayb u shld try let the paint dry up then ride ur bike.....as wat u quoted may only happen on metak surface....bt on ur lower fairing,,....thk is tat the paint is nt dry enuf when u started ridding....try press hard on the edge n see if paint dry bo..n of coz if nt dry,u will ve ur finger print on ur bike keke....gd luck....

abv is my very own views due exp...

Originally posted by 7george8@Sep 2 2006, 09:19 PM

mayb u shld try let the paint dry up then ride ur bike.....as wat u quoted may only happen on metak surface....bt on ur lower fairing,,....thk is tat the paint is nt dry enuf when u started ridding....try press hard on the edge n see if paint dry bo..n of coz if nt dry,u will ve ur finger print on ur bike keke....gd luck....

abv is my very own views due exp...

well.. dun think he collected his bike when the paint is still wet right??? quality of paint not good??? hmm... :confused:

Iron Horses... Let's Rock and Roll!!!

Finally had the time and left the fairing at Yeow yesterday.

Ah Huat will respray for me AGAIN and this time he says will put a layer of protection against the heat on the inside of the fairing. BUT I will need to pay for that... I agreed, no time to argue.

Will update again when i get back the fairing.

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Bubbles could be from using poor quality paint and not cleaning the surface thoroughly of oil etc before the paint was applied, or if the paintjob was rushed and not allowed adequate drying time before the subsequent layer is applied. Had the same problem at many places.

Many shops which do airbrushing do it very poorly. Most of the time the image is so blur you can hardly make out what its supposed to be. Even if seen from afar it looks like a mess of colours bled together, much like when I dont wear my glasses to watch a movie.

Its hard to find honest and skilled airbrush painters in SG. If there is, do post here and share.

Believe nothing you hear; and only half of what you see.

Do or do not; there is no 'try'.

http://www.themuser.com/forum/index.php

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v260/lacrimosae/Aprilia/siggiecollage.jpg

Just got a call from Ah Huat. My fairings are ready. Took them 23 days this time. The stickers are however not ready and can only be done next Mon/Tue.

Mentioned before in last post that he will put a layer of protection in the fairing and he's charging me $70 for that...

Will update all again if the problem persists. Wish me luck! :help:

My IU wire was cut today 10 Oct 2006 in Haw Par Centre car park.

If you the culprit is reading this, pray hard as there is a camera there.

You will live in suspense for the rest of your life thinking whether the hands of the law will catch up with you.

I bless you to live to a healthy ripe age.

In exchange for this you will see all your loved ones die of tragic accidents and diseases in front of your eyes.

One by one you will see your grand parents, parents, children and grand children leave before you.

You will then lead a lonely life without any loved ones and be forgotten in an old folks home.

This is pathetic... my fairings are still not ready :nono:

My IU wire was cut today 10 Oct 2006 in Haw Par Centre car park.

If you the culprit is reading this, pray hard as there is a camera there.

You will live in suspense for the rest of your life thinking whether the hands of the law will catch up with you.

I bless you to live to a healthy ripe age.

In exchange for this you will see all your loved ones die of tragic accidents and diseases in front of your eyes.

One by one you will see your grand parents, parents, children and grand children leave before you.

You will then lead a lonely life without any loved ones and be forgotten in an old folks home.

Just got a call from Ah Huat. My fairings are ready. Took them 23 days this time. The stickers are however not ready and can only be done next Mon/Tue.

Mentioned before in last post that he will put a layer of protection in the fairing and he's charging me $70 for that...

Will update all again if the problem persists. Wish me luck!

That is a lot of waiting and money spent. If you do not wish to spent the $70 with that poor paint work, there must be a recourse to recover that lost money. From my experience till now, I will not pursue something if already feeling negative.

This is the kind of experience that make me want to give up riding...:nono:

"Doing nothing is better than being busy doing nothing"

Originally posted by gargantua@Nov 7 2006, 02:01 PM

That is a lot of waiting and money spent. If you do not wish to spent the $70 with that poor paint work, there must be a recourse to recover that lost money. From my experience till now, I will not pursue something if already feeling negative.

This is the kind of experience that make me want to give up riding...:nono:

I agree this really make me very sian already. But I love my bike and I want it to look good. Ah Huat wants me to buy exhaust header wrap to wrap the headers as a precaution as well. This means more expenses for me.

Any advise from you guys?

He's currently sourcing for it, would appreciate if you guys can share any lobang as well.

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Just got off the line with Ah Huat. The exhuast wrap will cost me $100++.

I wanted him to cover the cost as I had already paid $70 for the earlier protection he suggested for my lower fairings.

Furthermore during that time there was no mention that I should get the exhuast wrap. It was only after I suggested that did he say I should add the wrap as well.

He rejected my request and I offered to pay $50 while he covers the balance which was rejected again. I have decided to just fix back my fairings without the wrap and told him that.

He replied if I did not get the wrap he will no longer respray for me if the bubbles surface again. I did not agree to this and will fix back the fairings on wed.

Again he put the blame on my bike saying it is hotter than others. That is bullshit as my bike has never overheated and there were no problems to the previous paintwork prior to his.

There were also no mods done to the engine or exhuast after his spray job.

If the bubbles do surface again and no service recovery is offered, so be it. My bike will be a live advertisement for him.

Everywhere I go I will ask people to look at his standard of spray job.

Good day all!

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

I did my Mito with him last year. It was tip top condition and top quality spray work. No problem at all from front to rear. I probably suspect its really the heat from your bike. In terms of paint drying, definately. Mine was even collected at night, and Ah Huat will normally get your bike washed with water first before handing it over. So paint will definately be dry.

200 Miles Per Hour, No Hands... Damn That Would Be Cool Right Before The Part Where You Die...

Bike History

2005 - Cagiva Mito 125

2007 - Daelim Daystar 125

2008/2009 - Piaggio X9 500

2017 - Triumph Speed Triple 1050

Originally posted by Xenophobia07@Nov 20 2006, 07:03 PM

I did my Mito with him last year. It was tip top condition and top quality spray work. No problem at all from front to rear. I probably suspect its really the heat from your bike. In terms of paint drying, definately. Mine was even collected at night, and Ah Huat will normally get your bike washed with water first before handing it over. So paint will definately be dry.

If it's really the heat, why wasn't my previous paintwork affected. How bout the other RRs? Why aren't they affected?

I would guess it's the quality of the paint.

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 20 2006, 07:25 PM

If it's really the heat, why wasn't my previous paintwork affected. How bout the other RRs? Why aren't they affected?

I would guess it's the quality of the paint.

Was your previous paintwork original or from Yeow or some other shop? Any other RR that went to Yeow and encountered the same problem?

Just call me Eno.

8 Sep 2004 - ??? : Honda Phantom TA200

4 Oct 2005 - Feb 2006 : Honda FireBlade CBR400RR

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

Originally posted by Enotsol@Nov 20 2006, 07:35 PM

Was your previous paintwork original or from Yeow or some other shop? Any other RR that went to Yeow and encountered the same problem?

My previous paintwork was original. Unforthunately I do not know of any other RR who have resprayed at Yeow.

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 20 2006, 07:47 PM

My previous paintwork was original. Unforthunately I do not know of any other RR who have resprayed at Yeow.

Maybe you should ask him which temperature grade of paint he's using... if you really want to test things out, use an infra thermometer and measure the temperature of your bike after a ride.

To me, original paintwork has the best paint quality so maybe Yeow really is using an inferior one.

Just call me Eno.

Drivers and bikers look at the world from different angles. Don't believe? Just compare them in a corner...

Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... that's what gets you. - Jeremy Clarkson (Top Gear)

Originally posted by Enotsol@Nov 20 2006, 07:51 PM

Maybe you should ask him which temperature grade of paint he's using... if you really want to test things out, use an infra thermometer and measure the temperature of your bike after a ride.

To me, original paintwork has the best paint quality so maybe Yeow really is using an inferior one.

Any idea where to get 1 of these and how much they costs? Also how to do the measurement?

1998 RS Aprilia & KTM200

2000 License gone

2002 Honda SP

2004 Honda CB400

Originally posted by LastDance@Nov 20 2006, 07:57 PM

Any idea where to get 1 of these and how much they costs? Also how to do the measurement?

Just point the thermometer at your header and press the button to activate. Don't bother buying one since you probably won't be using it often... you can check whether your regular bikeshop has one and ride there to measure. I'm sure they won't mind and you will be measuring the rough temperature that your headers will be at after a ride.

My regular bike workshop BikeWorkz has it.

Just call me Eno.