Which is the dream color for your RVF400??  

427 members have voted

1. 1. Which is the dream color for your RVF400??

• Rothmans design.
    • RCV211 style Repsol design.
    • White/blue Moviestar design (older version).
    • Current Blue Moviestar design.
    • Pramac design.
    • Original Is da best.
    • ELF design.
    • Rossi's Yr 2001 NSR500 Nastro Azzuro design.
    • RCV211 Yellow Camel design.
    • Others (specify accordingly).

Originally posted by Shay@Jan 22 2006, 06:44 PM

Yea...mine does the same too...although i dunno how loud is loud :lol:

But everytime kick 1st gear definitely got a slight tak sound.

I'm able to kick to neutral from 1st or 2nd gear with ease. If its difficult to kick to neutral or only does so when u give it revs..then its time to get the clutch plates checked.

Hmmm, juz not the ordinary loud. Abit like those class 2 bike when they engage 1st gear. haha, it difficult to explain.

No, i mean when idling, from neutral straight to 2nd gear. Easy? Mine sometimes easy, sometimes will produce "grinding" sound and cant go into 2nd... headache man

• Replies 63k

• MC28

• wait4me

• DaN zI

• lwfc

chain rattling could be due to lack of chain lubrication and loose chain.

maybe u should meet up with a regular rvf rider and compare or go to a good mech and spend some cash.

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Jan 23 2006, 02:48 PM

chain rattling could be due to lack of chain lubrication and loose chain.

maybe u should meet up with a regular rvf rider and compare or go to a good mech and spend some cash.

sure thing! musz join you all for the next outing. Then easier to find out whether its nature of rvf or its a problem. Think i compare 1st then go mech. otherwise no problem give the mech say till have problem.

Thx snakeman.

Originally posted by Leonard_35@Jan 23 2006, 08:08 PM

sure thing! musz join you all for the next outing. Then easier to find out whether its nature of rvf or its a problem. Think i compare 1st then go mech. otherwise no problem give the mech say till have problem.

Thx snakeman.

i stay hougang..if u stay near me..can pm me..

NSR Sp 2004/5

RVF 2005/6

Honda Civic 2006

Kia Koup 2010

Honda Odyssey 2015

BMW 520i 2017

At 11:16 PM +0800 1/20/06, Amba wrote:

>where did u get this slipper clutch assembly? is it designed for

>another bike which can be used on RVF or custom made for RVF?

I'm always surprised that many NC30/35 owners that don't know their

bikes came with a slipper clutch. :-) I'm spoiled by it for sure.

I started racing a GSXR1000 without the slipper last year. Yikes!

I'm getting better at manually slipping the clutch, but it sure was

exciting a few times going into a corner, banging it down a gear and

having the rear step out on me unexpectedly. The NC30/35 doesn't do

that.

i got this mail from Michael Lohmeyer who runs the akhara website and races vfr and rvf and a techinical person. he is not the only one who says that rvf came with a slipper clutch. can anyone confirm.

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Jan 24 2006, 10:12 AM

that.

i got this mail from Michael Lohmeyer who runs the akhara website and races vfr and rvf and a techinical person. he is not the only one who says that rvf came with a slipper clutch. can anyone confirm.

wads slipper clutch?

http://img120.imageshack.us/img120/3593/e0fs0995lj4.jpg

Burn Rubber & UR Soul

jun 04 - mar 05------>Yamaha Wr200 FQ3550Z

jun 05 - sept 06------>Honda RVF 399cc NC35 FP 658 Y

sept 06 - may 08------>Yamaha R6 600cc '06 FBA8609M

may 08 - dec 08 ----------> Honda CBR600RR '08 & Honda Wave I

Originally posted by ambasnakeman@Jan 24 2006, 10:12 AM

that.

yup. I first posted abt this in the old rvf thread under Bike Review Section.

Cant confirm with actual specifications from Honda but if u do some searching in

400greybike.com....alot of tech peepz there had commented on the NC35's slipper clutch.

However..it is not a full slipper like the ones found in Kwak's 636s or the new R6. NC35's system is purely mechanical...meaning the friction plates literally slips when back torque (wheel output) overpowers the driving gear, a design intended for the track. But it still does not prevent compression lockup like the new generation slippers.

Extra info: the NC30 also have these "half-slippers" . All RC and NC (vfrs and rvfs) models have it.

One reason why 30s and 35s dun have cush drives (big mistake!) is that Honda probably thinks the engine's slipper clutch is enuff to cushion off the driveline forces. We know its obviously not effective enuff as Rvfs are notoriously harsh on chain life.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

in short, is this how slipper clutch works?

when travelling at high speed and at 6th gear, and u drop to say 3rd gear or 4th gear, the engine brake will not be so heavy?

http://photos-313.ll.facebook.com/photos-ll-sf2p/v160/113/88/592651313/n592651313_483240_5577.jpg

guys!! i've got a major prob!! need help from the seniors here!

today when i went down to my carpark to start the bike.. it can't start! no starter sound .. just that at the bottom of the bike there is like sparking sound.. does anyone knows what happened ? heelpppp

Originally posted by niCkiee`@Jan 24 2006, 09:08 PM

today when i went down to my carpark to start the bike.. it can't start! no starter sound .. just that at the bottom of the bike there is like sparking sound.. does anyone knows what happened ? heelpppp

hi nick,

Sparking sound as in "TICK TIAK" when you press the starter switch but no cranking sound right? That shows your starter relay is working fine but the starter motor is not sensing and cranking up.

To isolate the fault further...do this;

Bike ignition key OFF. Kick to 2nd gear, clutch OUT, push bike backwards till mechanical stoppage (can move abit, trust me). Kick back to Neutral. ON ignition Key. Start Bike.

If the bike can start after a few attempts of this "roll-back" method, its most likely your Starter Motor's Carbon brushes are worn out. DUn be too happy and forget about it as it wil happen again. SImply replace it as it is a wear and tear item. Not very ex i remember.

Originally posted by Shay@Jan 24 2006, 05:07 PM

yup. I first posted abt this in the old rvf thread under Bike Review Section.

Cant confirm with actual specifications from Honda but if u do some searching in

400greybike.com....alot of tech peepz there had commented on the NC35's slipper clutch.

However..it is not a full slipper like the ones found in Kwak's 636s or the new R6. NC35's system is purely mechanical...meaning the friction plates literally slips when back torque (wheel output) overpowers the driving gear, a design intended for the track. But it still does not prevent compression lockup like the new generation slippers.

Extra info: the NC30 also have these "half-slippers" . All RC and NC (vfrs and rvfs) models have it.

One reason why 30s and 35s dun have cush drives (big mistake!) is that Honda probably thinks the engine's slipper clutch is enuff to cushion off the driveline forces. We know its obviously not effective enuff as Rvfs are notoriously harsh on chain life.

hi shay...mayb u can explain abit more on the slipper clutch?in wat ways is it a slipper clutch?or rather half slipper clutch?i believe many rvf riders hv nvr even heard of tis tehcnology in the bike..i hv nvr heard abt it b4 too...quite surprise there is such a ting in the bike..hw different does it work frm the actual slipper clutch?sorry if i asked to much quest...jus curious abt all tis...n v v v interested to knw more abt tis... thks....:cheeky:

i tested on my GF's stock bike, with jetting. the engine breaking is damn strong. when first gear full drag and immediately close throttle, at around rpm 9-10 region, the rear wheel jerks.

in PG, on my bike, at one point, down slope, close throttle, breaking from 160+ to 140++ and dropping from 4th to 3rd gear, i have encountered rear wheel over spinning, sliding side to side before the tyre grips back.

i doubt the clutch assembly is a perfect back torque slipper clutch, but its helping to a certain extend. also, slipper clutch are known for faster clutch plates wear.

but is wear important at the sake of performance?

to think that 8-12 year old 400cc rvf is having a slipper and 1000cc produced after 2000 doesnt have it, we should be glad that we have one.

now drop the gears and dump the clutch

Originally posted by RpM@Jan 24 2006, 10:21 PM

hi shay...mayb u can explain abit more on the slipper clutch?in wat ways is it a slipper clutch?or rather half slipper clutch?i believe many rvf riders hv nvr even heard of tis tehcnology in the bike..i hv nvr heard abt it b4 too...quite surprise there is such a ting in the bike..hw different does it work frm the actual slipper clutch?sorry if i asked to much quest...jus curious abt all tis...n v v v interested to knw more abt tis... thks....:cheeky:

Wish i can dude. Like i said, no official source from Honda states anything like that.

I was quite surprised too when i chanced upon this info while surfing abt RVFs. My only source of info regarding this is from 400greybike and few other forums.

One thing for sure, everyone in the know seems to agree on one thing; the slipper in rvfs is not the true slipper clutch. Iz only a mechanical half version...meaning it slips mechanically once over-running from the drivetrain occurs, thaz it. There is no temporary disengagement of the plates when you are hardbanging down the gears.

Sooo....Compression wheel locks will still get you! As proven by our HarDCoRE PG champ Snake who does 160+kmph down the slope (BMW??).

The clutch system in RVFs is also called a sprag type clutch according to grey sources. Nothing like "technology" u were refering to. In fact sprag systems are quite an old technology...but obviously chosen in this application to suit the RVF's (45 and 35 alike) racing pedigree status a decade ago.

Sprag clutches hav an inner and outer bearing race in one assembly.... all spaces in btw are filled with sprags (think of them as jagged little metal sticks all around, linking the outter and inner bearing races). Rotation in one direction causes the sprags to engage both outer and inner bearing races to spin together. WHen over-running of the rear wheel occurs, the outter or inner bearing will wana rotate the other direction, the sprags which are mechanically shaped to allow this, will allow this slippage or freeplay.

Basically....rotate one direction it will engage. Rotote in another direction (due to over-running), it will slip.

Cheem right? i oso lost liao.

Originally posted by Shay@Jan 25 2006, 02:54 AM

Sooo....Compression wheel locks will still get you! As proven by our HarDCoRE PG champ Snake who does 160+kmph down the slope (BMW??).

Turn 6 la. who can do BMW at 160.

hey guys! I just flipped and doublechecked with the pages of the Haynes manual....looking under Clutch section...and Lo and behold! The 400greybike guys were right....ours is a Sprag-type clutch!

Those of you having the Haynes manual.....

If u look under the break-away illustration of the clutch assy..u will notice under item #7: One-way Clutch Sprag imbedded within the friction clutch plates assembly!

i've never really bother finding out if rvfs really have them till now! Now i can know for sure! :cheer:

Also....under clutch Unit Inspection; step 19: haynes tells us to check the One-Way Clutch hub by rotating it in a anticlockwise direction, it should rotate freely. Turning it in clockwise direction, "it should lock against the sprags." This maintenance step fully corrresponds with the working principle of a sprag-clutch as described in previous post.

So...becoz of the sprags, i dun think u will have much to worry about premature wear. The sprags are designed for this and there are no slippage at the friction plates as the "overunning" is taken care by the sprag assy INSIDE the friction plates housing. WOohoo...i love old technology.

Yes guys/gals....we DO HAVE A SLIPPER CLUTCH in our rvfs! though not a very modern one.

Originally posted by niCkiee`@Jan 24 2006, 09:08 PM

Could be your battery connection faulty or loose, only 2 wires. + & -. Try cutting away the faulty wire(abit only) and then connecting it back to the battery. Screw abit tighter. It happened to me before. At 1st thought fuse blow. Wanted to call tow already. save $$.

Whao, didnt know that rvf comes with slipper clutch, but not the full version. Probably explains why its smoother when changing gear fast at high rpm. not much jerking compared to others. but at down gearing, mm still able to feel some enging brake. muz try and compare with other 400's. lets let the whole s'pore know, then the value of rvf will go up somemore. best

Originally posted by Lao_yang@Jan 25 2006, 07:10 PM

another one

Unique!

What paintwork is that? But i dun like how the RVF word get chopped off. Otherwise...on the whole very special. Can ask them to redo the wording??

Originally posted by Shay@Jan 25 2006, 07:42 PM

Unique!

What paintwork is that? But i dun like how the RVF word get chopped off. Otherwise...on the whole very special. Can ask them to redo the wording??

i dun know wat paintwk is tt.was browsing the album tt was available at yeoh motor n happen to me n my gf pointed at the same design.so i choose tis design lo.

regarding the wording even if can i also not doin le.cos tis respray have already cos me a bomb.could not afford anymore man.

Originally posted by Leonard_35@Jan 25 2006, 01:11 PM

Whao, didnt know that rvf comes with slipper clutch, but not the full version. Probably explains why its smoother when changing gear fast at high rpm. not much jerking compared to others. but at down gearing, mm still able to feel some enging brake. muz try and compare with other 400's. lets let the whole s'pore know, then the value of rvf will go up somemore. best

haha...u can try. But i think most people who looks down on 400s will sneer at you when u tell them this.

I tried telling some of my frens, and some of them wont believe it. You'll get cynical smiles all over.

But truly, i understand how u feel. The rvf is a bike ahead of its time. Concieved more than 10 years ago and already spotting USD forks, Pro-arm, a compact V engine and the sprag-type slipper clutch.

Also.... becoz of the one-way clutch sprag, the rvf is a beetch to Push-Start yourself, aint it?