• Replies 274

"jiu ming ar jiu ming ar!!" my xiao mian yang leak coolant after i refill it... y like that ne...?? issit i refill it too full...?? cos i refill it on a down slope... zhen mer ban...?

Is it leaking from the cap area? If it is then should be same problem as mine. You will see coolant on the floor boards on the left hand side. No choice, either you try to screw on the cap as tightly as possible or cahnge the cap. It seems like once you open the cap, it looses the ability to retain the pressure.

Sorry Guys THE ORIGINAL GOLD is no longer suitable for display

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

Lnad Tparrsont Ahitotury take that _|_

does ur guys bike coolant leak only when the bike get heat up or it just leak from the cap naturally ?

mine start leakin from the cap when the bike got heated up usually when the temperature started to increase from the normal thrid bar of temperature to the fourth bar. the coolant will leak out. damn dunoo y...

After much investigation...I realized that the sportcity does not have a overflow tank for the coolant. The tank above the radiator is actually part of the radiator and therefore pressurized. The Pressure relief valve is in the cap itself and it will open to allow coolant to escape when the pressure in the bottle reaches a certain threshold, thus overflow. The coolant from the cap is not a leak but actually it is designed to overflow in that manner.

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

After much investigation...I realized that the sportcity does not have a overflow tank for the coolant. The tank above the radiator is actually part of the radiator and therefore pressurized. The Pressure relief valve is in the cap itself and it will open to allow coolant to escape when the pressure in the bottle reaches a certain threshold, thus overflow. The coolant from the cap is not a leak but actually it is designed to overflow in that manner.

oh i c. thanks yammy. no wonder the cap do appear bit complicated.

well good and bad. good design to save space. but oonce overflow our bike hav coolant leakin on left foot area. i jus wonder if there is a pipe. now i know already.

i got a sportcity too...

but usually mileage is 230++, no bar left in the fuel indicator.

mine manage to up to 180 max til no bar left. how u guys manage to cover 230kmh. drive slowly ?

I managed to cover 270 km. Spot city have u tried filling up really full? Try shaking the bike when filling up as the tank architecture tends to trap a lot of air. It may seem full to the brim but in reality it's not. I could put in an additional $5 of petrol when i allow the air to escape.

Present : Aprilia Sportscity

2000 - 2006 : Daelim Daystar

1999 - 2000 : Piaggio Hexagon / Vespa Sprint

1997 - 1998 : Suzuki GN125

1995 - 1996 : Yamaha RXK

1993 - 1994 : Yamaha RXS

By the way, does anybody knows of a good place to service or repair the sportcity?

Thanks in advance!

I managed to cover 270 km. Spot city have u tried filling up really full? Try shaking the bike when filling up as the tank architecture tends to trap a lot of air. It may seem full to the brim but in reality it's not. I could put in an additional $5 of petrol when i allow the air to escape.

yes i did try to fil up full tank. yeah i know when refilling jus shake it then u know its not full yet. one thing is my riding style is inconsistent so its hard to predict the total travel milaege. max i think i hit 190 to 200.

i will try full tank again for next refilling.

The valve cover gasket area is very prone to leaks. I suggest that you all take a look. It seams that this problem is common for the piaggio LEADER engine that the sportcity as well as the Runners are using. I checked mine and sure enough it is leaking a little. My solution was to tighten the valve cover bolts a little and so far have not noticed any more leaks.

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

The valve cover gasket area is very prone to leaks. I suggest that you all take a look. It seams that this problem is common for the piaggio LEADER engine that the sportcity as well as the Runners are using. I checked mine and sure enough it is leaking a little. My solution was to tighten the valve cover bolts a little and so far have not noticed any more leaks.

Where exactly is this area? Mind taking a pic of it?

for my case, usually if fuel bar indicator left last bar, i already covered 220km.

n i tried hitting the reserve tank, when the light is on, i covered almost 230+km. i usually hit ard 90-110km on the road.

btw, i already sent my bike for 4th time servicing, each time i requested they checked the coolant for me, but after opening n reopening, it apparently do not leak. wat u guys mean by being pressurized n hence the leaking is so called for the extra coolant to flow out? under wat circumstances will this happened?

Sparkplug --> u may go to Mah Agency somewhere behind the shop houses opposite the lavender foodcourt.

the mechanic there good. =)

With this hand, I will lift your sorrows.

Your cup will never be empty for I will be your wine.

With this candle, I will light your way in darkness.

With this ring, I ask you to be mine.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10722;104/st/20071218/e/2nd+Year+of+Togetherness/dt/12/k/f153/event.png

after much patience , i fill in full tank, i ride very slow and gradually from stop

to a speed of around 60kmh and the fastest is around 90kmh.

i manage to cover 215km. tat is till the last bar disappear n i refill.

i guess it may go till 220km or even more but i dun wish to take the risk of pushing sportcity. i guess mine is rather thirsty. duno lah.

is there any with 250cc sport city. 250cc sportcity hav 2 front disc brake n its fuel injection. hmn sound so nice.

for my case, usually if fuel bar indicator left last bar, i already covered 220km.

n i tried hitting the reserve tank, when the light is on, i covered almost 230+km. i usually hit ard 90-110km on the road.

btw, i already sent my bike for 4th time servicing, each time i requested they checked the coolant for me, but after opening n reopening, it apparently do not leak. wat u guys mean by being pressurized n hence the leaking is so called for the extra coolant to flow out? under wat circumstances will this happened?

Sparkplug --> u may go to Mah Agency somewhere behind the shop houses opposite the lavender foodcourt.

the mechanic there good. =)

I bought mine @ S$7K, OTR

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

after much patience , i fill in full tank, i ride very slow and gradually from stop

to a speed of around 60kmh and the fastest is around 90kmh.

i manage to cover 215km. tat is till the last bar disappear n i refill.

That's normal. Same goes for me. The sportcity could go an additional 60 - 70 km till empty.

As i have mentioned before the FC for sportcity is abt 30km/l. The reserve tank is about 2 l. So it's quite proportional.

That's normal. Same goes for me. The sportcity could go an additional 60 - 70 km till empty.

As i have mentioned before the FC for sportcity is abt 30km/l. The reserve tank is about 2 l. So it's quite proportional.

i ci c.tat is reali good.from the bar disappear stil can cover another 70km? tat is very very great.

i stil haven get to try till its fully empty as i dun wish to push the bike ard til the latest petrol station if it run dry.

i ci c.tat is reali good.from the bar disappear stil can cover another 70km? tat is very very great.

i stil haven get to try till its fully empty as i dun wish to push the bike ard til the latest petrol station if it run dry.

Haha! I did that but by carrying a spare petrol in a container just to see how far it can really go untul completely dry. It's troublesome but it's a one time thing and gives me a piece of mind. And also it serves as a good info for fellow sportcity riders out there. :cool:

Wah bar disappear liao still can manage 70km...Sportcity is the best lah!

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

Time has come for the 12000km service, i'm gonna change the belt to the kevlar type as well as install the Malossi delta clutch. Keep you people updated on the value for money factor on Sat after I change it and test the results.

THE ORIGINAL GOLD

Time has come for the 12000km service, i'm gonna change the belt to the kevlar type as well as install the Malossi delta clutch. Keep you people updated on the value for money factor on Sat after I change it and test the results.

hey bro, u oso come here liao ar? :cheeky:

:angry: Road to Endless Destination is still burning. :angry:
Haha! I did that but by carrying a spare petrol in a container just to see how far it can really go untul completely dry. It's troublesome but it's a one time thing and gives me a piece of mind. And also it serves as a good info for fellow sportcity riders out there. :cool:

well thanks for the effort there. its good to know tat it wil last another 70km.

hey bro, u oso come here liao ar?

Your scooter oso becoming bigger n bigger...Shiok man ur new addition.

THE ORIGINAL GOLD