Originally posted by My_234_Melody@Nov 17 2006, 11:57 AM

wat is rev meter for?

rev meter is for displaying engine's revolution. mean how many thousand times ur engine is turnin at.

speed meter is to display ur current speed while u travel.

• Replies 274

Originally posted by spy622@Nov 16 2006, 09:08 PM

I dunno if the runner will be faster than the sportscity despite using the same engine....in terms of stability I guess the sportscity shld be better..being more stable it shld be faster also.

Basically the wheelbase of the Sportcity is 20mm longer and the sportcity is 146kg compare to the runner's 123kg

actually the test was carrried out in a magazine a while ago (about 1 year back), think its scooter or something. can't remember.

low speed stability - sportcity better due to bigger wheels and longer wheelbase.

high speed stability - runner better. partly due to sportcity front - the scooter like design isn't very aerodynamic. also, runner can reach a higher top speed (by not much though).

sportcity heavier also due to its design. additional weight is mainly in the floorboard. it has a u-shape frame at the bottom to support weight/load on the floorboard.

that's about all i recall.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by floppy@Nov 18 2006, 11:50 AM

actually the test was carrried out in a magazine a while ago (about 1 year back), think its scooter or something. can't remember.

low speed stability - sportcity better due to bigger wheels and longer wheelbase.

high speed stability - runner better. partly due to sportcity front - the scooter like design isn't very aerodynamic. also, runner can reach a higher top speed (by not much though).

sportcity heavier also due to its design. additional weight is mainly in the floorboard. it has a u-shape frame at the bottom to support weight/load on the floorboard.

that's about all i recall.

anyone experience their sport city die off while waiting at trafic light? :bouncefire: :bouncefire:

Not me! haha

With this hand, I will lift your sorrows.

Your cup will never be empty for I will be your wine.

With this candle, I will light your way in darkness.

With this ring, I ask you to be mine.

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10722;104/st/20071218/e/2nd+Year+of+Togetherness/dt/12/k/f153/event.png

Just got my new black sportcity yesterday from Mah but however, the bike fail to start today. After switching on and try to start, there's no electric start sound at all. Then call mah to tow the bike back.....

1. Can anyone tell me why this is happening to a new bike? it makes me very worry and,

2. Not too sure if i can request for a bike change if this thing happens again?

Sad...

Originally posted by eric6068@Dec 7 2006, 09:32 PM

Just got my new black sportcity yesterday from Mah but however, the bike fail to start today. After switching on and try to start, there's no electric start sound at all. Then call mah to tow the bike back.....

1. Can anyone tell me why this is happening to a new bike? it makes me very worry and,

2. Not too sure if i can request for a bike change if this thing happens again?

Sad...

either some wiring problem or battry issue. or maybe the 20amp fuse is cut off.

jus change fuse if the fuse is cut off.

is there any light on at the odometer when u switch on the bike ?

new bike oso faces problem one . anyway dun worry.

at least the shop r responding to help out. very unlikely they will change a brand new bike for u. look into the warranty then u know wat i mean.

cheerss

Got my bike too... cos ... i think due to heavy rain... honk went off by itself.. now i like got little bit of probia while riding.. hehe... =P

but nevertheless my princess nvr failed to bring me bk from work to home. =)

eric6068 > ur sames color as mine... yippie!!!

btw anyone thinking of respraying????

http://tickers.TickerFactory.com/ezt/d/4;10722;104/st/20071218/e/2nd+Year+of+Togetherness/dt/12/k/f153/event.png

Getting Sportcity. But can anyone tell me underseat can put a helmet? Forget to check just now. :cheeky:

Bikes:

Kawasaki KR 150 2002-2006: FV8449

Skipper 2003-2003: Forgot

Yamaha 2006 R6 2006-2008: FBA1667

Honda CBR150 2006-2006: FW1011

Gilera Runner 2006-2008: FBB142

Kawasaki Z1000 2008-2008 : FX6990

Yamaha X1 2008-2011: FZ 7090

Yamaha 2007 R1 2010-2011: FBB 4216

Its good to see more sport city owners coming out to discuss. Aprilia scoots has been low profile but looking at it now, Im sure it'll raise some attentions.

Regarding the same engine being used all over again for Italian auto scoots, I guess as much that the engine has proven itself. Although some minor tweaks are needed, it will give you the type of performance you would normally expect with an Italian engine maker.

As to which bike is better, its hard to say. Your desired application decides which auto scoot you need to purchase. For city riding at 90km/h or less, the sportcity will be the best bet. At least you wont have shipment issues like what the current batch of newer VXRs are having with the local Piaggio dealer.

Originally posted by Bensim@Dec 12 2006, 01:38 PM

Getting Sportcity. But can anyone tell me underseat can put a helmet? Forget to check just now. :cheeky:

Only half helmet.... but it comes with a box when you buy. So no worries...

Originally posted by My_234_Melody@Dec 11 2006, 07:26 PM

Got my bike too... cos ... i think due to heavy rain... honk went off by itself.. now i like got little bit of probia while riding.. hehe... =P

but nevertheless my princess nvr failed to bring me bk from work to home. =)

eric6068 > ur sames color as mine... yippie!!!

btw anyone thinking of respraying????

So far for me... i also once kena honk went off before. Dont know why and all the driver staring at me:giddy: But so far didnt face any major problem yet...

1. Want to ask you when you are travelling around 20 to 40KM, is your motor noise louder than when you are at 60KM?

2. Mine is a new bike but often very hard to start the bike when the engine is cold. Mah Pte Ltd told me that new bike is like that and after first servicing, it will become ok. Is it true?

Originally posted by eric6068@Dec 19 2006, 10:12 PM

1. Want to ask you when you are travelling around 20 to 40KM, is your motor noise louder than when you are at 60KM?

2. Mine is a new bike but often very hard to start the bike when the engine is cold. Mah Pte Ltd told me that new bike is like that and after first servicing, it will become ok. Is it true?

1. yes. engine works 'harder' at lower gear (lower speed).

2. yes. new bikes may be a little hard to start initially (esp. when cold) - probably same for all bikes.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Near to the first 1000KM run-in, and hope you guys can help me with some queries below:

1) Is there anything I should look out during my first servicing?

2) What are the standard rates required to pay for the first servicing?

3) And is there any difference on the engine oil to improve the bike performance?

Thanks...:smile:

Originally posted by eric6068@Dec 21 2006, 05:47 PM

Near to the first 1000KM run-in, and hope you guys can help me with some queries below:

1) Is there anything I should look out during my first servicing?

2) What are the standard rates required to pay for the first servicing?

3) And is there any difference on the engine oil to improve the bike performance?

Thanks...:smile:

yes i encounter the hard stare esp by taxi uncle behind me when the honk went off.

Hey eric i suppose tat ur name, come for sat outing, we can share...

no major modification on my princess yet.. except going on w hazard light switch on its way..

just w some precaution nice reflective sticker on my rear box n erp unit cover.

Noting much....

u did a lot of modification?

servicing part, floppy will be most suitable person to ans ur query, will buzz him to ans ur query

I did not make any modification to my bike yet...

Yes, lets meet up somewhere but i cant make it on sat.... how about Fri night? Did my first servicing already and it cost me $37 changing 3 items (engine oil, air filter.. etc).

Please PM me your contact no. and hope to meet up soon.. :smile:

if i didnt remb wrongly, the very first servicing only need change engine oil. brake fluid, coolant, air filter etc all no need change till i thnk 6km...

if i dun remb wrongly.

but do regularly do a air pump check on the tyre as n when u top up fuel.

air filter can wash ourselves esp for pp w tight budget but for pp who just wan clean job... leave it to mechanic..

Originally posted by eric6068@Dec 26 2006, 03:07 PM

I did not make any modification to my bike yet...

Yes, lets meet up somewhere but i cant make it on sat.... how about Fri night? Did my first servicing already and it cost me $37 changing 3 items (engine oil, air filter.. etc).

Please PM me your contact no. and hope to meet up soon.. :smile:

$37? sounds reasonable.

the owner's manual provide quite a good guide to the maintenance required - what to do at regular interval. if you are kiasu (which most of us are), you can shorten the intervals between servicing or the guide timeline given. for eg. i usually used 5,000km as a guide instead of 6,000km listed in most owner's manual. reason? 5,000km interval is usually easier to remember than 6,000km interval.

think sportcity servicing is not that much different from the rest of the scooters (or bikes in general). regular maintenance like oil change, air filter and oil filter. regular inspection of tires (depth of threads, air pressure), brake pads, etc. other things would be brake oil change and coolant change (annually for me).

as for the million dollar engine oil question, there are some schools of thought:

1. use 'cheaper' semi-syn oil and change regularly.

2. use 'expensive' syn oil and change at a longer time interval.

answer? whichever is comfortable with you and suits your riding style. what is more important, is to make sure that the engine oil used surpasses (or equals) the rating set by the manufacturer.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Happy New Year to all too!

Originally posted by raden@December 31, 2006 10:13 pm

Anyone here knows wat is the max speed for this scooter???

thanks...

Tried 110KM at ECP, but going any faster seems to be unstable. Maybe because i'm not used to it bah. :sweat:

I dun feel so but i agree to ur statement when more ex factor such as wind. =)

if not basically the bike is still ok to manage above 110km

this thread die liao ah.......

where all my sportcity rider!! hehe