I only pumped half tank... as for "loss of power"... I would put it same as 91ron gasoline there... my top speed is gone... even after reaching malaysia, primax 3 also could not give my bike back the original top speed... :cry:

hopefully dun need to overhaul... lol so in short, there isn't really any petrol there suitable for our bikes...

wahhh... dun want to be guinea pig... at koh samui all the shops that rent phantom insist that the customer must pump only gasoline... wahhh I still had gasohol in my tank at that moment... :cry:

u lucky ma... ur bike minimum can take 92... so u can still using gasoline-91 in thai... as for people with ron-95 bike... omg... bo bian die die must use gasohol-95 lo... :dozed:

• Replies 13.1k

• huairen

• ninjapura

• Sâundless

• Cool_Cruiser

i meant best as in given all risk & factors to analyse n wat is best to pump at that moment...

some ulu place... realy no choice but to use gasohol... cos highest gasoline is 91... and my bike cannot run below 92...

so, they have gasoline but 91 rating... gasohol is 95... so it just up to u decide wat the risk to take... if ur bike cant run on 91 rating, then running gasoline-91 ur bike die...

and for xcert incident... the local told us, no local thai wil pump Shell V-power bcos it was way too expensive... so logically, the V-power wil kinda stale n alot of water wil be inside (cos low sale = low turnover = lack of servicing)... it wil be very high risk if u decide to pump Shell V-power in Thailand...

of cos its up to u all to decide w the risk... as for me... i wil try my best to avoid "premium" fuel in thailand lor...

i forget wat bike can or cannot use gasohol... but i kinda remember is old vs new bike engine design... maybe need to look for more info...

I only pumped half tank... as for "loss of power"... I would put it same as 91ron gasoline there... my top speed is gone... even after reaching malaysia, primax 3 also could not give my bike back the original top speed... :cry:

hopefully dun need to overhaul... lol so in short, there isn't really any petrol there suitable for our bikes...

wahhh... dun want to be guinea pig... at koh samui all the shops that rent phantom insist that the customer must pump only gasoline... wahhh I still had gasohol in my tank at that moment... :cry:

yah... should be the the engine.

so you read and find out and post hor. share share.

anyway.. that time i never pump shell in thailand.

went to one ulu pump station.. dont even know what name izzit.

but it was fun... 4 person attending to your bike. lol

vidak.. you tio scared hor.. hahhaa

* Honda Varadero XL125V2 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 08 * Honda Foresight FES250 * BMW F650GS K72 * Honda Super4 Revo CB400 NC42 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 12 * BMW R1200GS LC K50 *

yah... should be the the engine.

so you read and find out and post hor. share share.

anyway.. that time i never pump shell in thailand.

went to one ulu pump station.. dont even know what name izzit.

but it was fun... 4 person attending to your bike. lol

vidak.. you tio scared hor.. hahhaa

I read read... well to me more like a debate lo... some people say ok some say not ok... just like some say malaysian fuel good some say lousy... so... must use own descretion... but... gasoline or gasohol stil have to make a decision, cos those small towns usually only have gasohol nia lo...

"The Thai Automotive Industry Association and many car manufacturers assure consumers that most cars produced since 1995, and with fuel injection systems rather than a normally-aspirated carburettor, can run safely on gasohol (with 10 percent ethanol) without requiring any adjustment or modification to the engine. However, there are some exceptions, and car owners are recommended to check with manufacturers. Cars with carburettors, normally those made before 1995, are not suitable for running on gasohol, though.

"With older cars, engine modification has not yet proved safe or effective. It's likely that owners may need to change to cars that can run on gasohol or opt for natural gas," suggested Chavalit.

Ethanol is not new to car manufacturers in Japan, Europe and North America. Canada and Brazil have used gasohol for over 25 years. Brazil in particular, has developed cars that can use up to a 20 percent mixture of ethanol, and gasohol was available in the US in the 1930s."

yea... thailand is a hellish place for the 98ron purists :cheeky:

its a hellish place for any tank purist....:cheeky:

FN XXXX L - Yamaha RXZ - 2008 to 20??

To be old and wise, you must first be young and foolish.

What are the odds of having two punctures, on the same tyre, on separate occasions, in a 223km ride?:dozed:

I read read... well to me more like a debate lo... some people say ok some say not ok... just like some say malaysian fuel good some say lousy... so... must use own descretion... but... gasoline or gasohol stil have to make a decision, cos those small towns usually only have gasohol nia lo...

"The Thai Automotive Industry Association and many car manufacturers assure consumers that most cars produced since 1995, and with fuel injection systems rather than a normally-aspirated carburettor, can run safely on gasohol (with 10 percent ethanol) without requiring any adjustment or modification to the engine. However, there are some exceptions, and car owners are recommended to check with manufacturers. Cars with carburettors, normally those made before 1995, are not suitable for running on gasohol, though.

"With older cars, engine modification has not yet proved safe or effective. It's likely that owners may need to change to cars that can run on gasohol or opt for natural gas," suggested Chavalit.

Ethanol is not new to car manufacturers in Japan, Europe and North America. Canada and Brazil have used gasohol for over 25 years. Brazil in particular, has developed cars that can use up to a 20 percent mixture of ethanol, and gasohol was available in the US in the 1930s."

so best is to test each particular bike stock.

best test and pump with empty tank.

any one with a vara wanna go test?

* Honda Varadero XL125V2 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 08 * Honda Foresight FES250 * BMW F650GS K72 * Honda Super4 Revo CB400 NC42 * Yamaha Spark T135LC 12 * BMW R1200GS LC K50 *

at koh samui all the shops that rent phantom insist that the customer must pump only gasoline... wahhh I still had gasohol in my tank at that moment... :cry:

actually I dont think their phantom can only take gasoline...its more like they want the customers...ie foreigners like us...to fill in higher grade petrol.

can ignore what they said...but of course if anything happens...:cheeky:

FN XXXX L - Yamaha RXZ - 2008 to 20??

To be old and wise, you must first be young and foolish.

What are the odds of having two punctures, on the same tyre, on separate occasions, in a 223km ride?:dozed:

dun b scared... frm my own experience many thai has no concept abt the difference of gasohol or gasoline... so they wil think gasohol=gasoline...

local pump attendent gave me blank stare when i asked abt gasoline... and those roadside small stall selling fuel in glass bottle one, also label their fuel as gasoline... so its more a language issue to them...

so maybe they tot u wanna pump their phantom with diesel? hahahaha.... :cheeky:

so best is to test each particular bike stock.

best test and pump with empty tank.

any one with a vara wanna go test?

vara from where? If brazil then can la... brazil using gasohol one,... hehe u go test ok...

i meant best as in given all risk & factors to analyse n wat is best to pump at that moment...

some ulu place... realy no choice but to use gasohol... cos highest gasoline is 91... and my bike cannot run below 92...

so, they have gasoline but 91 rating... gasohol is 95... so it just up to u decide wat the risk to take... if ur bike cant run on 91 rating, then running gasoline-91 ur bike die...

and for xcert incident... the local told us, no local thai wil pump Shell V-power bcos it was way too expensive... so logically, the V-power wil kinda stale n alot of water wil be inside (cos low sale = low turnover = lack of servicing)... it wil be very high risk if u decide to pump Shell V-power in Thailand...

of cos its up to u all to decide w the risk... as for me... i wil try my best to avoid "premium" fuel in thailand lor...

i forget wat bike can or cannot use gasohol... but i kinda remember is old vs new bike engine design... maybe need to look for more info...

u lucky ma... ur bike minimum can take 92... so u can still using gasoline-91 in thai... as for people with ron-95 bike... omg... bo bian die die must use gasohol-95 lo... :dozed:

lol that time i also have this problem. I went Esso with bay and i was lost looking at the thai sign.

the station lady also look at me i also look at her.. then she asked me..

"sfdsfglretorytow???"

then i scanned the petrol station.. I see a honda wave come in, lift up a green nozzle and pump.. I followed suit.

THATS THE WAY MAN. hahahahahah!!

anyway my bike can only take gashol with 10% ethanol no more than that.

There is no replacement for displacement, except for Ah Seng

haix.. didn't went to melaka due to 2 people going.. guess it might be dangerous for 2 person to go up.. and both 2B bikes.. anyway, any trips coming up? :D

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

haix.. didn't went to melaka due to 2 people going.. guess it might be dangerous for 2 person to go up.. and both 2B bikes.. anyway, any trips coming up? :D

dangerous...? the riskier the merrier! :cheeky:

vara from where? If brazil then can la... brazil using gasohol one,... hehe u go test ok...

SPAIN!!!!!

i chicken lor.. dont dare to try....

the ethanol... will corrode some parts as written...

i scare.....

dangerous...? the riskier the merrier! :cheeky:

-_-"""

dont say.... till u met one...

-_-"""

dont say.... till u met one...

okok... I didn't mean that... dun kill me... :cry:

hahahaha no one wants to meet one too!

Hi KSM team,

It must be great fun for the ride up North and looping down to Pattani & Betong. Hopefully no sore butt after reaching back Singapore. :pray:

There was some posts on the use of gasohol in Thailand. Basically, the ethanol present in gasohol will harden the rubber parts for carb engines (i.e. floats, diaphragm etc) for prolong usage. For those going for touring, if the petrol station doesn't offer gasoline, it is still alright to pump gasohol once a while. Anyway, once back in Malaysia, the amount of gasoline pump would be sufficient to clear or burn away the ethanol in the fuel tank. If the bike still experience lack of power, then I guess the bike has to be check by your mechanic or if you are cruising at low speed during the tour, whack the engine and clear some carbon.

Because of the presence of ethanol, gasohol tends to give lesser power compared to gasoline, thus the feeling of lack of power on the bike. Some tourers would pump gasoline 91 and add top up with octane booster, which they bring along.

Nowadays, it is harder to find 95 gasoline in Thailand. On my last trip up in April, do notice that in Thailand, 91 fuel is also fast turning into gasohol.

So those bikes running on carb engine, do tell your mechanics to check your rubber parts in the engine and replace if necessary during your next servicing. :cheers:

There was a thread on gasohol in SBF. You can take a look right here.

http://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1140039.jpghttp://i82.photobucket.com/albums/j259/SV650_photos/P1130008.jpg

Here are some pics! :smile:

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246449_1283202.jpg

at gp petronas before moving off...

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246456_5040630.jpg

eating big bikes' exhaust at bukit kayu hitam *cough cough*

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246479_1552240.jpg

finally... :smile:

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246539_6103002.jpg

breakfast never looked this good...

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246482_5441182.jpg

stopping at one of the few working traffic lights...

http://photos-d.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246507_7849643.jpg

vehicles loading up the ferry to koh samui...

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246513_2425571.jpg

what is this doing on the ferry!?

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246530_5981983.jpg

a food street at lamai, koh samui

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246533_733650.jpg

hungry?

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246550_820447.jpg

and this was dinner :smile:

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246680_901875.jpg

we did try this restaurant... LOL really have to wait!

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246552_3901829.jpg

my bike and its ghastly glow...

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246553_5305862.jpg

cute gate of samui airport

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246689_8363179.jpg

yet another advertisement of a siao angmoh taking on a thai fighter!

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3852/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246693_5164407.jpg

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v3756/174/29/661840880/n661840880_2246720_129682.jpg

a carnival at bo phut, koh samui

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98391290880_661840880_2246734_259876_n.jpg

accidentally buried my bike after playing with burnouts... wasn't fun pulling out a 150kg bike... :sian:

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98393805880_661840880_2246754_467467_n.jpg

big elephants getting ready to work!

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98397030880_661840880_2246831_3325477_n.jpg

the pancake stall at lamai food street...

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98397045880_661840880_2246832_4225403_n.jpg

hungry...? :cheeky:

http://photos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98401885880_661840880_2247053_8010937_n.jpg

the rear tyre of the rxz

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98403335880_661840880_2247062_8188884_n.jpg

a ride through the forbidden lands...

http://photos-b.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98403360880_661840880_2247065_7679370_n.jpg

a giant clocktower in the middle of a roundabout in betong, thailand

http://photos-c.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98403365880_661840880_2247066_1499582_n.jpg

the biggest post box in thailand...

http://photos-g.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98404795880_661840880_2247078_5773342_n.jpg

finally reached gp petronas... so many familiar faces!

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98406350880_661840880_2247104_1272425_n.jpg

http://photos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98406370880_661840880_2247108_7480378_n.jpg

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs013.snc1/4201_98406400880_661840880_2247112_7435451_n.jpg

post koh samui trip... phantom knights cohesion ride end point: yishun dam

just in time to catch the convoy approaching the dam :cheeky:

goood morning...

There is no secret recipe..... To...... Inner Peace.......

http://www.latimes.com/media/photo/2008-06/39664259.jpg

Hi KSM team,

It must be great fun for the ride up North and looping down to Pattani & Betong. Hopefully no sore butt after reaching back Singapore. :pray:

There was some posts on the use of gasohol in Thailand. Basically, the ethanol present in gasohol will harden the rubber parts for carb engines (i.e. floats, diaphragm etc) for prolong usage. For those going for touring, if the petrol station doesn't offer gasoline, it is still alright to pump gasohol once a while. Anyway, once back in Malaysia, the amount of gasoline pump would be sufficient to clear or burn away the ethanol in the fuel tank. If the bike still experience lack of power, then I guess the bike has to be check by your mechanic or if you are cruising at low speed during the tour, whack the engine and clear some carbon.

Because of the presence of ethanol, gasohol tends to give lesser power compared to gasoline, thus the feeling of lack of power on the bike. Some tourers would pump gasoline 91 and add top up with octane booster, which they bring along.

Nowadays, it is harder to find 95 gasoline in Thailand. On my last trip up in April, do notice that in Thailand, 91 fuel is also fast turning into gasohol.

So those bikes running on carb engine, do tell your mechanics to check your rubber parts in the engine and replace if necessary during your next servicing. :cheers:

There was a thread on gasohol in SBF. You can take a look right here.

good write up on gasohol. :thumb:

Here are some pics! :smile:

yet another advertisement of a siao angmoh taking on a thai fighter!

nice pics. did you see how the thai mod their phantom...it looks like harley...:angel:

good morning....

thanks sv650 for the advise

nice pic vidak

good morning~~

good write up on gasohol. :thumb:

nice pics. did you see how the thai mod their phantom...it looks like harley...:angel:

good morning....

haha... seeing a normal phantom was rare enough... on the thai mainland, I only saw ONE phantom... that was in betong... in koh samui I saw 5 of them... but they are all rental bikes... :sian:

phantoms... even though made in thailand... is now an endangered species in thailand... cubs are taking over the world! :cry: