Hi fellow bikers.

Just encountered a problem

I was stopped by a patrol police car saying that i beat a red light, but in my impression i passed that particular traffic light when it was amber light, it was when i passed the line and looked up that i saw the light turned to red and instant flashing of the green arrow. There was no Red Light Camera there. At the same time, I was having my gf as my pillion and she was carrying a rather heavy paper bag, thats why i didn't wan to jam my brakes. (scared wheel lock)

the patrol car stopped me somewhere 2 traffic lights after and told me this and demanded for my driving license and insurance. He then took down details of my driving license and asked my address and wrote it on a white piece of paper about his palm size.

I pardoned for a chance saying 'that its a 1 second thing that the amber change to red and i had insufficient time to stop.' He just asked me to appeal to the respective departments.

Am wondering, what would the offence be like ? 12 points + $120 ?

Would that patrol police really send my details to the Traffic Police department although there's no picture or anything to prove that i beat the red light even though it was still amber light? =\

I'm still a p-plater, and would be able to take down my p-plate in October (2 months down the road).

I'm also undergoing class 3 lessons at the moment.. shld i stop my class 3 lessons for the time being ?

If the summon really comes, what should i do ? can i appeal ? on what basis can i appeal on?

*worried* :cry: :mad: :giddy:

• Replies 30

Yio chu kang road right? Got stopped near serangoon stadium rite? You riding a white based kips right?

I was in riding the K2 front of you.

Come on la. You say you crossed the junction at amber light? When i crossed the junction in front of you, it was already amber you were about 4-5 car lengths behind me. I have already noticed the police car waiting at the traffic lights. Somehow I had a nagging feeling that you would try to beat the red lites. When i looked at my side mirrors u crossed the junction just when the green arrow came out. Thats a couple seconds after the lites turned red lor. You had enough time to stop one lor. You say you don't want to jam brakes. You were supposed to slow down when u reach a junction. Dun want to slow down every junction also must be smart, look at the pedestrian signs if it's green man then no need slow down much if red man then chances are that the red lite is gonna come on soon.

I feel that you're playing with your gf's life. What if there was a car making a right turn at that junction and the driver did not think that you would try to beat the lights? Think of what would happen? Both of you could have been dead or worse, physically disabled!

Although i personally feel that you should be taken off the roads, i wish u

:goodluck: as p-platers who beat the red lights :nono: usually get revoked. You better :pray: that your case can last more than 2 months then mebbie can still retain your licence... but pls, dun try that stupid stunt again...

Relax!

ride safely guys~ 12 pts means left 0 pts for p plate.

maybe that was from ur point of view, but i've come acrossed a few traffic light junction, whereby at night after amber light, red comes out and together the green arrow comes out and blinks @ the very same moment, that was what happened to me, both me and my gf were certain it was amber when i crossed it (she wasn't sleeping).

it was difficult for me to jam brake as my wheel lock easily and that whenever i brake, my pillion would slide down and thus if i had to jam my brakes, she would slide and the heavy load on her laps would also slide and maybe drop off ?

well i know safty comes first and i was looking ahead (not left or right or anywhere else) and i was looking @ the oncoming traffic as well.

anyway, thanks for ur comments. =p

moderators can close this thread. thnx for replies.

its 12 points and 200$

but since u p plate

sure kana i/o in traffic police.

they take beating of traffic light very seriouslly.

likw what genez said.

and if u have other points before , i have to say :goodluck: to u

u an appeal via MP

might get reduce to 6 points and $150

meruuu lacer..:cheeky: Red light also you wanna beat..Ahaha..Before beat red light must make sure no police around then maybe better chance..:cheeky: 2B bike with pillion stopping distance is further so must slow down when you see amber unless you cross the white line when its amber or it just turned red..

Originally posted by StingRhea@Aug 29 2006, 03:00 AM

ride safely guys~ 12 pts means left 0 pts for p plate.

0 points? I thought 13 for those riders under probation? So left 1 point..:sweat:

Originally posted by compfused@Aug 29 2006, 01:43 PM

meruuu lacer..:cheeky: Red light also you wanna beat..Ahaha..Before beat red light must make sure no police around then maybe better chance..:cheeky: 2B bike with pillion stopping distance is further so must slow down when you see amber unless you cross the white line when its amber or it just turned red..

0 points? I thought 13 for those riders under probation? So left 1 point..:sweat:

13pts revoke.

12pts still can.

so left 0 pts is right.

Ventura Puig Keiti Bagster Motovation Akrapovic BMC Pazzo GPR RaceShield Brembo Bridgestone EBC

Arai AGV Alpinestar Dainese Sidi Coolmax

Originally posted by compfused@Aug 29 2006, 01:43 PM

Before beat red light must make sure no police around then maybe better chance

Sure not problem one lah.... there are drivers like to chiong green light one....

Bang already police will be there later also.... :goodluck:

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Originally posted by meruuu@Aug 29 2006, 12:06 PM

it was difficult for me to jam brake as my wheel lock easily and that whenever i brake, my pillion would slide down and thus if i had to jam my brakes, she would slide and the heavy load on her laps would also slide and maybe drop off ?

well i know safty comes first and i was looking ahead (not left or right or anywhere else) and i was looking @ the oncoming traffic as well..

From the posts from both of you, there are quite obvious 'genez' is much more road aware than you...

And you so daring to carry some heavy load that will affect your braking? :help: There is just a dumb excuse for beating red light. :sorry:

** Be smart, ride safely, stay legal **

Please read the << Street Smart >> thread.

Safety first ...... moreover, its a sports bike..... if expecting much load, then take public transport ...... just recently saw many road blocks stopping many Kips and SP bikers....and i was free to go!! ..haaa..maybe i look like ah pek...

Life is Precious , You Only Live Once

OCT 2003 - Dec 2005 >>>> Honda Wave S 125

Dec 2005 - Present >>>> Honda Phamton TA200

Its Project time

the usual excuses for beating red light be it a motorcycle or car, is usually the same.

1) too dangerous to stop in time

2) behind got car following closely, so cannot stop else will bang backside

3) motorcycle will skid, brake will lock

4) road is wet and slippery

those are the actual valid reasons when we're in the midst of deciding to beat the red light. i had $200 and 12 points too before, so i know. but, we all should have know the correct way in approaching a traffic light = that is to slow down. once that's done, all the above mentioned scenarios will not surface.

You can't depend on the blinking green man to guess when the lights will turn red. Usually the lights will turn yellow a second after the green man turns red. However, at some junctions, the lights turn yellow when the counter reaches 5 (green man still blinking).

(void *) &NHY;

We live in interesting times!

hmm.. well, sometimes traffic lights are a******.. its always best to slow down when approaching a junction or traffic light bro.. sometimes sh*t just happen there.. anyway.. lets not all be too harsh on him, since whats done is done.. lets offer him our support shall we? Maybe at that moment in time he passed his judgement as that braking will be too dangerous.. thus sped thru the red light. We never know.. I am kinda sure we all have that experiences before.. its just alrite for him to have his also;) just hope its a lesson learnt:cheer:

no offence guys..

</div><table border=\'0\' align=\'center\' width=\'95%\' cellpadding=\'3\' cellspacing=\'1\'><tr><td>QUOTE </td></tr><tr><td id=\'QUOTE\'>The ultimate purpose of riding is to get from point A to B in one piece..</td></tr></table><div class=\'signature\'>

Originally posted by nhyone@Aug 31 2006, 11:08 PM

You can't depend on the blinking green man to guess when the lights will turn red. Usually the lights will turn yellow a second after the green man turns red. However, at some junctions, the lights turn yellow when the counter reaches 5 (green man still blinking).

bro, looking at the green man is more for the places which you frequently travel and know the traffic lite timings well. i have mentioned that nearing junction muz slow down ~~~ :cheer:

Relax!

Originally posted by Danthearcher@Sep 1 2006, 12:00 AM

hmm.. well, sometimes traffic lights are a******.. its always best to slow down when approaching a junction or traffic light bro.. sometimes sh*t just happen there.. anyway.. lets not all be too harsh on him, since whats done is done.. lets offer him our support shall we? Maybe at that moment in time he passed his judgement as that braking will be too dangerous.. thus sped thru the red light. We never know.. I am kinda sure we all have that experiences before.. its just alrite for him to have his also;) just hope its a lesson learnt:cheer:

no offence guys..

yes, i hope he learns from this experience and hopefully get to keep his licence.

Relax!

Originally posted by madcampus@Aug 31 2006, 02:01 AM

the usual excuses for beating red light be it a motorcycle or car, is usually the same.

1) too dangerous to stop in time

2) behind got car following closely, so cannot stop else will bang backside

3) motorcycle will skid, brake will lock

4) road is wet and slippery

those are the actual valid reasons when we're in the midst of deciding to beat the red light. i had $200 and 12 points too before, so i know. but, we all should have know the correct way in approaching a traffic light = that is to slow down. once that's done, all the above mentioned scenarios will not surface.

i 150

and 6 points after appeal

hm...just a contribution ppl...I was taking my fren bike that day travelling at Keat hong there...turning into Choa Chu Kang main road..at around...3a.m...he was sending me home...the traffic light turned green in our favour...my fren was about to move off when i stopped him...guess wat? i saw a white mercedes TAXI running very fast towards us...I knew he sure will beat the red light and won't give a damn to us as we motorist sure "lugi" one...true enough..he ran past the red light at around 90km/h speed...can see from the outside his speed is damn fast...luckily I stopped my fren in time..if not now we both become......smashed potato liao...haha~ just to remind u guys...wait a second more sometimes...at traffic light..to make sure all cars are slow and stopping before moving off...scary experience...now I got phobia of junctions...

I wanna stand with you on a mountain,

I wanna bath with you in the sea,

I wanna lay like this forever...

Until the skies...falls down on me...

Love U Always...

Originally posted by songweiqi@Sep 1 2006, 07:13 AM

hm...just a contribution ppl...I was taking my fren bike that day travelling at Keat hong there...turning into Choa Chu Kang main road..at around...3a.m...he was sending me home...the traffic light turned green in our favour...my fren was about to move off when i stopped him...guess wat? i saw a white mercedes TAXI running very fast towards us...I knew he sure will beat the red light and won't give a damn to us as we motorist sure "lugi" one...true enough..he ran past the red light at around 90km/h speed...can see from the outside his speed is damn fast...luckily I stopped my fren in time..if not now we both become......smashed potato liao...haha~ just to remind u guys...wait a second more sometimes...at traffic light..to make sure all cars are slow and stopping before moving off...scary experience...now I got phobia of junctions...

hahaha - taxis... always one... :nono:

Relax!

haha ya, totally agree on taxis.. especially at traffic light, junctions.. and those i dunno the name turning points.. what's worse they like to pick on P platers.. once i return from CTE amk ave 5 turning from work to home.. approaching a traffic light, all green, and a taxi was trying to make a left turn, saw me approaching, and suddenly swerve and turned.. Brakes on, horn on, and after the damm taxi turned.. i give my usual third finger.. ha.. wasnt on a good mood that day i guessed. But seriously.. they usually dont give a damm to P platers.. like to test water, to see if we dare to not let them pass, or we do;) test water. :cheer:

</div><table border=\'0\' align=\'center\' width=\'95%\' cellpadding=\'3\' cellspacing=\'1\'><tr><td>QUOTE </td></tr><tr><td id=\'QUOTE\'>The ultimate purpose of riding is to get from point A to B in one piece..</td></tr></table><div class=\'signature\'>

hmmm i thought if u have more than 12point or 12 point u will not be able to take the TP test watever class u taking now ?

- Learner must not under suspension or disqualification or revocation of licence under any class of driving licence.

- Learner must not have more than 12 demerit points for any class of driving licence, inclusive of any pending offences that acquired before and/or after enrolment, failing which,it will lead to revocation of his newly acquired licence. All expenses for the course and test fees will be forfeited and non-refundable or non-transferable.

this from my 2A account :giddy:

MY RIDING HISTORY

Aug 2005~Sep 2006 - Honda SP 150

Sep 2006~Jan 2007 - Honda CB400 Vtec3

Feb 2007~Present - Honda Phantom 150

Jun 2008 ~ Jul 2008 - Honda CBR1000RR

Jul 2008 ~ Jan 2010 - Honda CB400 Vtec3

Aug 2010 ~ Present - PIAGGO Nexus 300ie

Sep 2008 ~ Present - Project Nissan Sunny

i tink if appeal also reject cos tey look upon beating red light very seriously... just be thamkful tat no car bang u... just pay d fine and ccount ur blessings.

Originally posted by genez@Aug 29 2006, 01:27 AM

Yio chu kang road right? Got stopped near serangoon stadium rite? You riding a white based kips right?

I was in riding the K2 front of you.

Come on la. You say you crossed the junction at amber light? When i crossed the junction in front of you, it was already amber you were about 4-5 car lengths behind me. I have already noticed the police car waiting at the traffic lights. Somehow I had a nagging feeling that you would try to beat the red lites. When i looked at my side mirrors u crossed the junction just when the green arrow came out. Thats a couple seconds after the lites turned red lor. You had enough time to stop one lor. You say you don't want to jam brakes. You were supposed to slow down when u reach a junction.

:lol: kenna caught red handed...

http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/MetalSlug1.gif http://i70.photobucket.com/albums/i120/Namee30/2505572364771cf7370558.gif

One life ~~ One love ~~ One United.

ε(â—̃•̃)з Ù©(à¹à¹)Û¶ Ù©(â—̃•̃)Û¶