SBF Aprilias Cafe 2009 - Atlantics / Sportcitys / Scarabeos

Hello.

First of all I would like to congratulate the creator/s of this website. With such a channel, motorcycle riders can share valuable experiences and expertise without having to be in a motorcycle gang.

Currently I'm riding a Daelim Daystar for almost 4 years now and I must say the fuel consumption is excellent. Full tank (17l) would get me to KL without refuelling.

Thinking of changing a new bike and the Aprillia Atlantic caught my attention. However I'm a bit skeptic about european motorcycles. I once rode a Hexagon 150 and petrol consumption was a nightmare for me. Also I've heard the Aprillia brand motorcycles require extra 'care' such as the best engine oil and everything.

I would like to welcome anybody out there who has any information about the Aprillia Atlantic regarding cost of vehicle, fuel consumption, maintenance cost, problems faced, top speed, disadvantages and anything that I might have missed out. I hope to receive good replies from the members.

Ride On!!

Present : Aprilia Sportscity

2000 - 2006 : Daelim Daystar

1999 - 2000 : Piaggio Hexagon / Vespa Sprint

1997 - 1998 : Suzuki GN125

1995 - 1996 : Yamaha RXK

1993 - 1994 : Yamaha RXS

• Replies 2.3k

Hello.

First of all I would like to congratulate the creator/s of this website. With such a channel, motorcycle riders can share valuable experiences and expertise without having to be in a motorcycle gang.

Currently I'm riding a Daelim Daystar for almost 4 years now and I must say the fuel consumption is excellent. Full tank (17l) would get me to KL without refuelling.

Thinking of changing a new bike and the Aprillia Atlantic caught my attention. However I'm a bit skeptic about european motorcycles. I once rode a Hexagon 150 and petrol consumption was a nightmare for me. Also I've heard the Aprillia brand motorcycles require extra 'care' such as the best engine oil and everything.

I would like to welcome anybody out there who has any information about the Aprillia Atlantic regarding cost of vehicle, fuel consumption, maintenance cost, problems faced, top speed, disadvantages and anything that I might have missed out. I hope to receive good replies from the members.

Ride On!!

hi bro..welcome to the community....

you can pm ziggyray, Atlantic200, Mr Atlantic and DonnaSea for their experience with their Atlantic....

-BREMBO-

My Bike Blogs!

Hi Brembo.

Thanks for the welcoming.

Hmm... by the way, what is your view on X9?

Hello.

Ride On!!

Hi Spark Plug,

Welcome to the forum. Thanks for your comments. About the Aprilia Atlantic, it is a good bike but the only setback is the fuel tank's capacity. It is no where near your Daelim's 17 litre tank. In fact the Atlantic's tank is 10.5 litre if I am not wrong. We have a couple of Atlantic owners in this forum. One of them is Ziggyray and he has been up North with his Atlalntic and he can tell you more about the Atlantic. In the meantime, enjoy your stay on the forum.

Don't tell God you have a big problem. Tell the problem you have a big God!

Yar yar..go and disturb Ziggyray. He will tell u how wonderful the Atlantic is! He will sure tell u dun buy X9 want! hehe...juz kidding... :sweat:

wow... U nv kena :gun: by him b4 izzet????

Hello.

Ride On!!

Welcome you SparkPlug. About Aprillia Atlantic, I believe Ziggyray would be kind enough to provide you with more info (if he is free with heavy work).

But personally i would say, Atlantic is more powerful then X9.

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

Hi,well the Atlantic on the whole is smooth and powerful.Like what rainman,has said,the only set back is the fuel tank,If you are looking for one with a bigger fuel tank I would suggest that you dont get the atlantic,but its speed and looks makes up for it :lol: On the other hand you might want to consider the Aprilia scarabeo 200,if you are looing for a scooter which a larger fuel capacity,like your daystar,if I am not wrong the scarabeo also have a fuel capacity of 17 L.Feel free to ask me anything about the atlantic ..

Anger is like a cloud,the more angry you are the more it clouds your vision

Aprilia scarabeo 200,if you are looing for a scooter which a larger fuel capacity,like your daystar,if I am not wrong the scarabeo also have a fuel capacity of 17 L.

Actually, the Scarabeo 200 has a almost same size fuel tank as the Atlantic 200. It's 11 litres to be exact.

Not to mention the same engine as well, which btw, is the same engine as the X9, haha...

So you see, we're all related...

My geeky ramblings:http://meandmyphones.blogspot.com/

Actually, the Scarabeo 200 has a almost same size fuel tank as the Atlantic 200. It's 11 litres to be exact.

Not to mention the same engine as well, which btw, is the same engine as the X9, haha...

I was at Mah motor last night ,when to take a look at the scarabeo 200,I saw the specs,it stated the tank capacity as 17L,I think I must check my eyes,as you should know better cos you are riding one :lol:

Its also the same engine as the X9 EVO,and not the X9 amalfi,but the Atlantic is more powerful and Faster than any X9 Evo,X9 amalfi or the X9 250,(tried and tested)

how is the Scarabeo? and how much did u pay for it and when?

Better to be loved, than to hate...

I was at Mah motor last night ,when to take a look at the scarabeo 200,I saw the specs,it stated the tank capacity as 17L,I think I must check my eyes,as you should know better cos you are riding one :lol:

Its also the same engine as the X9 EVO,and not the X9 amalfi,but the Atlantic is more powerful and Faster than any X9 Evo,X9 amalfi or the X9 250,(tried and tested)

That is very true...the atlantic is really fast. All the X9 had trouble catching it! But like Ziggy said it, if a big fuel tank is what u want i suggext the X9 as the avg Mileage per tank depending if its the Evo(16L) or Amalfi(14.5L) would get u bout 400km+-.

But if u juz want it swee swee, fast fast then better get the aprillia. The name says it all! :D

TDICLUB

Heh heh.

There seems to be some love hate relationship between Atlantic and X9 owners.

Anyway, with the Atlantic having a 10.5l tank, how far can it go before hitting reserve?

And how much do you pay for maintenance? (engine oil, belting....)

how is the Scarabeo? and how much did u pay for it and when?

I love my Scarabeo. I personally think it's the best looking scooter around. I bought it in Febuary this year for $8200 OTR, after a lot of bargaining and threatening to walk away. I understand it's more expensive now.

The handling is not like a typical scooter due to it's big wheels. It's a lot more stable... But becos of the big wheels, there is no underseat storage space. But then, the side panniers more than make up for it.

It's comfy (my friends always fall asleep when I pillion them), quiet, reasonbly fast (cruising at 120kmh on flat roads with 2 persons is no problem), dunno about fuel consumption as I don't pay atttention cos it's a joke compared with my car... but most of all, it's gorgeous, at least to me.

I can tell you, I get comments, questions, compliments, thumbs-ups... 98% of the time on the road. That is almost EVERYTIME I ride it. Call me vain, but that makes me feel good! Haha...

My geeky ramblings:http://meandmyphones.blogspot.com/

Heh heh.

Anyway, with the Atlantic having a 10.5l tank, how far can it go before hitting reserve?

And how much do you pay for maintenance? (engine oil, belting....)

Able to travel 240km to 250km for 8.5l. As for maintenance....mmm..let see....

change spark plug, engine oil & filter and transmission oil....total cost $51 at SunRise Eurobike. :smile:

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Present: BMW C650GT, Majesty S XC155

You can always buy a bottle of 4-T oil and change it yourself,then It will be cheap a swell as the sparkplug..

Guest donsea

Hi Ziggyray , i jst had my 1st service @ the mah motor yesterday. Cost me $41 for 2L of engine oil , sparkplug & 1 more dun know wat oil can't remember liao... :sweat: but i dun like the machinist attitude :mad: can u teach me how to change the engine oil & sparkplug ??? Thanks.... :smile:

Let have a small meeting. Ziggyray can show you how to do it and I can bring my tools that you need. :D

and...........let us see what you have done to you scooter..

History: Phantom, Atlantic 200, Phantom, Vara125 FI, TranAIP 400, Super4 (version s), Fazer6 S2, Advia 200, Silverwing 400 JDM 04, Silverwing 400 Euro 08, MaxSYM 400i, VFR1200FD DCT, NC700X, BMW C650GT, Fazer6 S1, BMW R1200GS LC, Majesty S XC155, BMW R1200RT(LC)

Guest donsea

Let have a small meeting. Ziggyray can show you how to do it and I can bring my tools that you need.

and...........let us see what you have done to you scooter

thks bro... should meet up once of tis day... but let me finish the other 2 free servicing 1st :sweat: did ur atlantic came with the tools :confused: cos my dun have lay... :weep: :btw: my bike veri oirginal didn't do any make up on it :D

Let have a small meeting. Ziggyray can show you how to do it and I can bring my tools that you need.

and...........let us see what you have done to you scooter

thks bro... should meet up once of tis day... but let me finish the other 2 free servicing 1st :sweat: did ur atlantic came with the tools :confused: cos my dun have lay... :weep: :btw: my bike veri oirginal didn't do any make up on it :D

The tools bag is underneath the seat, in one the concern.

If you have bought your bike ,brand new it should come with the tools,It would be great if we can meet up for a chat,I am more than willing to show you how to change the oil,as I have done it on my own,cos me less than 10.....it will depend on what kind of engine oil you wanted to use..

no lah... we just love ziggy and i'm sure he love us too. right ziggy? ziggy?

:lovestruck: :smooch:

Heh heh.

Guest donsea

k.. will confirm the date with u guys again when i've done with my free services :smile:

no lah... we just love ziggy and i'm sure he love us too. right ziggy? ziggy?

:lovestruck: :smooch:

Hello are you ok? I am not gay,I dont love you....haha,its only because the X9 always think that they are better,but its only in numbers :lol: :lol: :lol:

Guest donsea

hi paparay, how long u take to run in ur bike ?? :confused: