Hi guys have a question pondering me, and needs some advice.

I have this battery just bought 4 months ago for my electric start bike, its a maintenance free model.

Just 4 months after using, my voltage reading is getting lower and lower, when i start the bike it would only be about 11.8V to 12.5volts on my voltmeter as compared to 13.8V when I first got it.

Cruising voltage would be about 12V to 13.2V.

Is it alright? Or is the battery screwed? btw its maintenance free, I dont think I can maintain it or top up the battery. Any idea how should i fix it other then changing a new one, or there is no prob at all.

Thanks in advance for any advice.

• Replies 35

wat brand isit ? did u tried charging it b4 ?

I dont have a trickle charger to charge it. But I've ridden it around frequently its still the same. HANLONG YTX-10DS that's the battery and the model.

It does seems like yr bike is under charging the battery. Most average while riding should be about 14v ++ . Next time - maybe U will be better off buying a better brand like Yuasa. cheers

HP: 93891138 :angel:

How bout shinko batteries?Good or not?

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

i got a same problem like u bro

mi also when just start is ard 13.6 but after riding for 15mins, the idling will be abt 12.4~12.6

still pondering for an ans

How bout shinko batteries? Good or not?

Never heard of this Brand - so no comment.

i got a same problem like u bro

mi also when just start is ard 13.6 but after riding for 15mins, the idling will be abt 12.4~12.6

still pondering for an ans

Is this reading by your voltmeter correct ? Did u get a 2nd independent reading ? Do you have a stating problem with this low reading ?

Am jus wondering - do u guys load alot of other electrical stuff on your bike tt is draining the power ?? :)

Recently since i installed the 2 way bike alarm, if i don touch bike for 2 days tops, i come back to find battery totally flat. When i ride it charges normally (i.e. voltmeter reading more than 13V). Suspect either the alarm system is too power consuming or my battery want kee chia already.

(p.s. limbat still got provide battery charging? Want to troubleshoot my battery.)

Is this reading by your voltmeter correct ? Did u get a 2nd independent reading ? Do you have a stating problem with this low reading ?

Am jus wondering - do u guys load alot of other electrical stuff on your bike tt is draining the power ??

when i just start my bike my reading is 13.6 +- ley. only after riding den drop. this shdnt be voltmeter fault rite? it still shows higher voltage.

i onli got alarm installed. grounding done by previous owner. alarm shdnt play a part during riding rite?

limbat got provide battery reconditioning?

my bike's also got this battery issue at the moment.

so if i just send the battery to your place without the bike, it's still possible to do reconditioning, right?

ToiléTmaster | Seinfeld is still the best show ever!

http://i239.photobucket.com/albums/ff308/super_marvel/ToileTmaster/vlcsnap-13527612.png

Am jus wondering - do u guys load alot of other electrical stuff on your bike tt is draining the power ??

when i just start my bike my reading is 13.6 +- ley. only after riding den drop. this shdnt be voltmeter fault rite? it still shows higher voltage.

i onli got alarm installed. grounding done by previous owner. alarm shdnt play a part during riding rite?

Im also using the same alarm system as you.... i guess it drains alot of battery, let alone a super4 battery. :faint:

Ya i suppose its a bad battery.. 2 years old already. Will inspect it closely before trying charging.

We can try reconditioning it - fee is $2, if can be recond she might last another 1-2 years. :)

limbat got provide battery reconditioning?

my bike's also got this battery issue at the moment.

so if i just send the battery to your place without the bike, it's still possible to do reconditioning, right?

Yes mate, best if u bring just the battery & collect another day - fee $2. :)

Im also using the same alarm system as you.... i guess it drains alot of battery, let alone a super4 battery. :faint:

Maybe u guys can start a trouble shooting thread on this & try to isolate the issue ...... :cheeky:

damn you guys alarm is draining alot of batt? the worst thing i fear is not being able to start the bike in the morning when going work and i am just about to buy an alarm system.

Well depends more on your battery condition, new battery can tahan la, is not as if alarm systems were DESIGNED to DRAIN YOUR BATTERY, is just that my batt is old. :cheeky:

my battery not very new either. :s yah its not designed to drain your battery, but looks like it definitely saps alot of juice and battery dies much faster as compared to not having the alarm installed at all.

Can i trickle charge once a month?

Bikes Previously Owned: Aprilia RS125, Kawasaki KRR150, Honda RVF400, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ6N, Suzuki Hayabusa ,Yamaha RXS115, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha Nuovo Elegance, Yamaha Spark135, Yamaha FZ16,Honda Vtec1, Yamaha FZ1N, Honda Wave-S, Honda CB400X, Honda NC750X,Yamaha TMax 530, Vespa GTS 300, Yamaha XMAX 300 

Current Ride: Honda X-ADV 750

Recently since i installed the 2 way bike alarm, if i don touch bike for 2 days tops, i come back to find battery totally flat. When i ride it charges normally (i.e. voltmeter reading more than 13V). Suspect either the alarm system is too power consuming or my battery want kee chia already.

(p.s. limbat still got provide battery charging? Want to troubleshoot my battery.)

hi, may i know what alarm u are using? I will try to avoid that when installing alarm. Someone told me alarm consumes 1/6 amount of power compared to stock horn.. duno true or not..

We still provide battery reconditioning - deterent fee is $2 - pls dun try to save a bad battery. Pls call b4 u comeby - it may take up to 3-4hrs if your battery is in bad shape. - Further reading here - http://www.ctek.com

hi limbat, reconditioning of battery need to remove the whole battery from the bike? Or can it be done with the battery in the bike along with all the wires attached? Wanna recondition mine but scared later take out liao cannot put back hahah..

http://i163.photobucket.com/albums/t286/modenaboi/signature.jpg

Practical Test Checklist:

√ Sudden and late braking

√ Faulty signal lights

√ Superb use of horn

√ Assume road belongs to father

√ Never at fault no matter what happens

√ Tailgating confidence

Result: YES! You qualify to become a Singapore car driver!

Well I guess the quality of the product does matter. My alarm did not such so much juice. Been haven the alarm installed on my previous S4 for more than 2 years and the battery is still fine.

Now on a GSR and the battery is still OK.

Can i trickle charge once a month?

Sure, point is if the battery is of good quality - u r better off trying to 2nd guess. If u ride often then 2-3 months per charging will do, if not do try charging yr ride monthly.

hi limbat, reconditioning of battery need to remove the whole battery from the bike? Or can it be done with the battery in the bike along with all the wires attached? Wanna recondition mine but scared later take out liao cannot put back hahah..

We can recondition the battery on vehicle as long as we can access the battery terminals. :)