Btw guys, I'm hearing some creaking sound from my swingarm area when I go through bigger hump.. Which place more recommended, KC or FS to fix this?

no need go motortiam to fix this common problem... the sound comes from the pivot joints of the main-stand, grease the moving joints and it'll be gone. when bike goes over hump, the main-stand swings up-n-down due to its weight and gravity, dry joints starts to squeak. can consider using the spray-can chain lub, easy and non-messy solution :p

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 22.2k

What tires did you change?

Pirelli Diablo was going ard $170 +/- at Motoworld sometime back.

I haven change yet. Recce see whether worth it or not.. have to change soon.

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2004-2004 DUcati Monster 400

2004-2006 Suzuki Gixxer 400

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

2011-current CB400 Vtec 1

no need go motortiam to fix this common problem... the sound comes from the pivot joints of the main-stand, grease the moving joints and it'll be gone. when bike goes over hump, the main-stand swings up-n-down due to its weight and gravity, dry joints starts to squeak. can consider using the spray-can chain lub, easy and non-messy solution :p

The sound is very dumb and irritating. I tried using spray can chain lub. But the sound came back after awhile. I am looking for grease to put..

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

Hello everyone. I just bought a honda silverwing 400. I need some help here.

Can anyone teach me how and when to use the "handbrakes"?

When the handbrake is pulled can the bike move?

What is the proper way to park the bike on main stand?

If the handbrake is pulled very hard, the bike cannot move. But if you pull it not hard enough, it will still move.

If the ground is not level, better use side stand. If not when u dismount the bike from mainstand on a non level ground, you may accidentally fall down.

Like what scoobydoo says : " left hand on left rider handlebar, right hand on right pillion handlebar, right leg on the main-stand rocker, main-stand legs firmly on the ground... then left hand pull, step up and put whole bodyweight onto the the main-stand rocker"

Practice makes perfect. :angel:

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

The sound is very dumb and irritating. I tried using spray can chain lub. But the sound came back after awhile. I am looking for grease to put..

ic... then bo pian go buy a can of heavy duty grease from those automotive supplies shops around desker rd area. think i saw some motortiams using smallish tube typed grease, dunno what brand but certainly not KY :lol:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

ic... then bo pian go buy a can of heavy duty grease from those automotive supplies shops around desker rd area. think i saw some motortiams using smallish tube typed grease, dunno what brand but certainly not KY :lol:

KY -_-"

I don't need a whole can, just need a bit enough already. Or maybe some bros bought a whole can, can donate. hah.

sourcing around lor.

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

Guest chaochao
handbrake... using the SW's handbrake is similar to that of a car, just pull the level. the more "tension" you put on the level, the tighter the brake calipers will hold the rear brake disk. unlike the pinion or stopper designs, caliper brakes work on friction. i.e. the bike may still move forward if the forward force from the engaged transmission is large enough to overcome the holding friction :p

how to park on main stand? same way as what you learn at the driving centre; left hand on left rider handlebar, right hand on right pillion handlebar, right leg on the main-stand rocker, main-stand legs firmly on the ground... then left hand pull, step up and put whole bodyweight onto the the main-stand rocker... bike should come up smoothly :angel:

meet us at rail mall tomorrow, we'll show you :cheeky:

To add: Other than parking on slopes, the other purpose of the hand brake is to hold your bike when it is on slope so that you can free BOTH your hands to do other things. Of course, remember to release it before moving off!!

Guest chaochao

Like what scoobydoo says : " left hand on left rider handlebar, right hand on right pillion handlebar, right leg on the main-stand rocker, main-stand legs firmly on the ground... then left hand pull, step up and put whole bodyweight onto the the main-stand rocker"

Practice makes perfect. :angel:

Can't say this will work for me as my arm-span too short and weight too light. :cheeky: I guess to each his own which ever is comfortable... For me, I use the "both hands on handle bar, tilt slightly to right and push forward. Tapping of brakes is optional" :angel:

Other than BBDC bikes, other bikes I've dismounted from main stand includes Beemer, FJR and Piaggio. Beemer is most scary; FJR surprisingly-easy; Piaggio is surprisingly difficult and SWing is a cinch! Of course, Vespa and Wave are easiest because it is lighter.

Can't say this will work for me as my arm-span too short and weight too light. :cheeky: I guess to each his own which ever is comfortable... For me, I use the "both hands on handle bar, tilt slightly to right and push forward. Tapping of brakes is optional" :angel:

think sha0kai is asking about how to mount the bike on main-stand :p

btw, i also dismount the bike from main-stand same way like you do... felt more control with both hands on handlebar and brakes on :angel:

~

Trips:

Thanks for the invite bro. At the moment, I can't do rides out of Singapore yet. Cause got baby to look after (wife will kill me if I go out and enjoy alone).

So local meetups will be the best bet for me, although doing Thursday is a bit tough. My "off" days are on Fridays :p

I will be watching closely when the meetups will be, and will try to do one this month. Next month must fly off again...

Thanks dude!

Bukit Indah Aeon

Date: 11 Oct 2009, Sunday

Time: 11.30am (move off at 11.40am)

Place to Meet: GP Esso

Shopping/Eating/bike wash & polish(DIY)/Satay...

The Regulars...

1. SW9000

2. HelmetBOX!

3. jsilverwing

4. Atlantic 200

5. scoobydoo... pending

6. ChaoChao - pending (will cfm by Friday)

Going???

. sensible

. skidrow

. bigcow

. firestorm_33

. Andydy

. fivefive

. scarab

+ whoever interested

Skid Row

I Remember You...

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Guest chaochao

Bukit Indah Aeon

The Regulars...

1. SW9000

2. HelmetBOX!

3. jsilverwing

4. Atlantic 200

5. scoobydoo... pending

Going???

. sensible

. skidrow

. bigcow

. firestorm_33

. Andydy

. fivefive

. scarab

+ whoever interested

Sorry guys - can't make it tmr due to family engagements. But I'll keep a look out constantly for next outings. Enjoy and stay alert on roads!
Bukit Indah Aeon

The Regulars...

1. SW9000

2. HelmetBOX!

3. jsilverwing

4. Atlantic 200

5. scoobydoo... pending

Going???

. sensible

. skidrow

. bigcow

. firestorm_33

. Andydy

. fivefive

. scarab

+ whoever interested

not sure if i can make it tomorrow.

think sha0kai is asking about how to mount the bike on main-stand :p

btw, i also dismount the bike from main-stand same way like you do... felt more control with both hands on handlebar and brakes on :angel:

To mount the bike, just need to plant your right leg firmly on the stand,left hand on the handle bar,right hand on the pillion rail.Shift your body weight to the right and pull up with your right hand.

Swing is easy to put on main stand,Some times when ground is even.i dun even put my hand on the left handle.just one hand on pillion rail and throw my wight to pull it up.

Main point is,you need to step on the stand firmly to mount or dismount.Once the stand is firm on the ground the bike is suppose to be upright even without using your hand to hold onto it.

Africa Twin and TDM are bikes that i tried which would break my back to mount main stand.

1995-1997 SUZUKI TS125R

1997-1998 SUZUKI DR350

2004-2005 HONDA XRV750

2006-2008 BMW R1150GS

2009-2009 VESPA GTV125

2009-2010 HONDA SILVERWING 400

2014- BMW R1200GS LC

Hmm... never realised... devilsuzy and potato's SW already sold.

Blurdoggy79's friend selling 1 too.

Seems like SW family getting bigger but very seldom see go touring de.

Well, next Apr's Songkran must try to make it hor.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Hmm... never realised... devilsuzy and potato's SW already sold.

Blurdoggy79's friend selling 1 too.

Seems like SW family getting bigger but very seldom see go touring de.

Well, next Apr's Songkran must try to make it hor.

Tml on????????

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

can i know where is gp esso?? :shy:

GP esso is the first petrol kiosk (next to the RSA) along E3 from tuas 2nd link...

... clear tuas sinkapor immigration (0km)

... clear malaysia immigration/kustom (5.6km)

... pay toll & clear toll plaza (6.4km)

... pass Tg Pelapas exit on left, do not exit (7.7km)

... see the signboard on left, exit to 1st RSA (7.8km)

... Esso kiosk is next/after RSA (8.4km)

~

Trips:

Of Course.

roger that!

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

came back from shopping and makan at Tian Lai...

as usual, the KFC + A&W root beer float meal was simply satisfying. then the walk around the 3-floor shopping centre but found nothing new, been there so many times liow :p so checked the GPS, and found a night market (Jalan Perkasa) about 5.5km away so headed over... really packed, think its as happening as the Melaka night market but parking could be a little tricky coz lots of cars and pp there. drove around and still couldn't park so my family gave up and we headed for Tian Lai, dinner then home sweet home.

good trip, good food and good time with the family :angel:

~

Trips:

came back from shopping and makan at Tian Lai...

as usual, the KFC + A&W root beer float meal was simply satisfying. then the walk around the 3-floor shopping centre but found nothing new, been there so many times liow :p so checked the GPS, and found a night market (Jalan Perkasa) about 5.5km away so headed over... really packed, think its as happening as the Melaka night market but parking could be a little tricky coz lots of cars and pp there. drove around and still couldn't park so my family gave up and we headed for Tian Lai, dinner then home sweet home.

good trip, good food and good time with the family :angel:

joinin us tml?

Other than BBDC bikes, other bikes I've dismounted from main stand includes Beemer, FJR and Piaggio. Beemer is most scary; FJR surprisingly-easy; Piaggio is surprisingly difficult and SWing is a cinch! Of course, Vespa and Wave are easiest because it is lighter.

At 1st i read ur reply, i thought you could mount SW on mainstand with 2 hands on handlebar. Then i read again, alamak.. You meant dismounting..

Haha.. i also dismount with both hands on handlebar. One hand dismount also can..

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

Next time then join you all. I am working today... =|

Next time we go touring bah, i never tour before..

Bukit Indah Aeon

The Regulars...

1. SW9000

2. HelmetBOX!

3. jsilverwing

4. Atlantic 200

5. scoobydoo... pending

Going???

. sensible

. skidrow

. bigcow

. firestorm_33

. Andydy

. fivefive

. scarab

+ whoever interested

2003-2004 NSR SP150

2006-2008 Y125Z

2008-2010 Silverwing 600

2010-2011 Mazda 2

Guest chaochao
At 1st i read ur reply, i thought you could mount SW on mainstand with 2 hands on handlebar. Then i read again, alamak.. You meant dismounting..

Haha.. i also dismount with both hands on handlebar. One hand dismount also can..

:cheeky: I salah... sorlee! - yes I meant dismounting...

Mounting - I used the Driving Ctr method too. It is indeed easy to mount SW on main stand - even on slope.

Guest chaochao

I rode my SW till empty - yes - literally empty tank! My purpose is to test how far can a SW go on 16L of petrol and how far can its reserve tank stretch. Here's my result:

Road Cond: 50-50 City/E'way in Singapore only.

Load capacity: 60% with pillon

Riding style: take off from 3500RPM. E'way @ 90-100kph.

Avg speed: 70-80kph

Fuel Consumption: 22.6km/L

Distance covered with 16L (incl reserve) - 363KM

Distance covered with reserve - 89KM

(SW9000/Scoobydoo... do u wanna add this info to the SW tech thread?)