i echo with SW9000... other than its near ¼ ton "operating" weight, my primary complain of SW is its "soft" front forks. good thing there's hyperpro :angel:

we wouldn't claim that SW is the best maxi-scoot coz every bike has its pluses and mistresses minuses. give-n-take, mix-n-match, then go for the bike that suits your needs and liking best :cool:

other than plain poor bad luck where someone "potong jalan" the last piece, stockouts can happen to any bike for items which suppliers find not feasible to keep stock or keep min stock. lots of business sense for items that are slow or hardly moving; imagine you're the parts supplier, considering how often the SW's magneto coil fail and SW smallish population, you'ld probably choose to stock up more of other "more sellable" items. maybe when SW population becomes much larger, things could be different :lol:

and of course, we'ld like to keep costs down other than having to wait :thumb:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 22.2k

I'm actually waiting for the new SW price to drop as cannot find a good 2nd hand SW now.

Maybe it's good if one of you buy and stock the coil, divide the costs by the number of riders keen to share (if the part is common). So if there's a need, then the person buys over the whole coil by paying the balance. Like insurance :) imo, coil is not a consumable, much like the alternator in a car. So no point everyone keep stock for something unlikely to spoil in the lifetime of the bike.

I'm actually waiting for the new SW price to drop as cannot find a good 2nd hand SW now.

you wanna temp us with a good offer... whahahaha

post your budget and desired year here n see if someone responds :p

maybe i pm u leh... just kidding :cheeky:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I'm looking for 2 year old SW budget $8k. I understand new batch of SW coming in after CNY with much lower costs as Yen has depreciated. That's why also dunno if it's a good idea to buy the old model as will be difficult and lower price to sell later.

I'm looking for 2 year old SW budget $8k.

Woo. 8k. Somebody might be tempted to sell. hehe.

My blackie is worth 12k+ and only a nice Versys650 can force a separation. Muahaha. Joking only.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

I understand new batch of SW coming in after CNY with much lower costs as Yen has depreciated.

even if new shipment in feb costs less, not much business sense for distributor/sellers to sell at prices lower then the more expensive earlier batches, else what to do with the earlier stock; logic will say clear old then sell new stock... maybe can expect some price adjustments due to cost averaging :p

That's why also dunno if it's a good idea to buy the old model as will be difficult and lower price to sell later.

buy high, may not sell high; buy low, sell low... how does that sound :angel:

do join us for the gathering on 14/01/2010 if you wanna know more :cheeky:

~

Trips:

I'm looking for 2 year old SW budget $8k. I understand new batch of SW coming in after CNY with much lower costs as Yen has depreciated. That's why also dunno if it's a good idea to buy the old model as will be difficult and lower price to sell later.

In fact those who brought 05-06 ones paid only 11k or so otr? Read from the thread....I am also looking for one but the price is quite crazy....Is yen depreciating now? In fact is a very bad time to buy new jap bikes across the brands....

HID .....

Right light at the right place on right time inspire riding confidence

I saw a black SW400 at Kallang, total mileage ard 9k km :faint:

Maybe selling ard ur budget o_O

Lc/Rd/Mito/Rvf/BlackBird/Zxr6/Hayabusa/Rxz/S4/Vfr/Dragster/GS11/X9/Vxr/Gts/Atlantic/ Use Legs power currently!

Next? :pray: Tio 4D/Toto :pray:

even if new shipment in feb costs less, not much business sense for distributor/sellers to sell at prices lower then the more expensive earlier batches, else what to do with the earlier stock; logic will say clear old then sell new stock... maybe can expect some price adjustments due to cost averaging

I will expect some costs averaging and not FIFO, hence overall price will still be lower than now.

buy high, may not sell high; buy low, sell low... how does that sound

That's why always better to buy low :)

do join us for the gathering on 14/01/2010 if you wanna know more :cheeky:

Will go but with my Nouvo ok?

In fact those who brought 05-06 ones paid only 11k or so otr? Read from the thread....I am also looking for one but the price is quite crazy....Is yen depreciating now? In fact is a very bad time to buy new jap bikes across the brands....

That's why bike COE at all time low because buyers are holding back purchases in view of previous high yen with the 09 models. For us with existing bikes can afford to wait but businesses cannot afford to have no sales and high inventories. That's why we have new class 2 Yamaha FZ6 going for $12k+

I saw a black SW400 at Kallang, total mileage ard 9k km :faint:

Maybe selling ard ur budget o_O

thanks, will take a look. if meet my requirements, will see me with SW instead on 14 :)

doesnt seems yen is depreciating much...i was hoping for yen to drop when i wanna get the sw too..after mths of waiting...:sian:forget it...just purchase n ride it...:cool:is planning to ride it for at least 3 years. the 12k+ FZ6 is S1 not the S2 version....S2 is going for 15k+. early last year when the new SW launced @ 17-18k+...'old' brand new SW are going for 13k+ too???

I got my SW(Euro) for 13.5k OTR, 2006 March. 11k-11.5k is machine price not OTR. There is this shop at that time that says they are selling at 11.5k OTR, I dont know if they have any fine print or before GST. That was 2007.

The Yen will not depriciate so drastically for the price to drop a few K. The most is a few hundred dollars. Now is $1.50 for 100Y, use to be $1.55 for 100Y.

100Y = $0.05

1000Y = $0.50

10000Y = $5

100000Y = $50

Have to wait for Godzilla to attack tokyo again then the Yen will drop to $1 for 100Y. :cheeky:

Only time will tell who's right / wrong. BTW jap car prices also start to drop. Like I said, those with bikes can afford to wait but businesses cannot afford to keep still.

the 12k+ FZ6 is S1 not the S2 version....S2 is going for 15k+. early last year when the new SW launced @ 17-18k+...'old' brand new SW are going for 13k+ too???

doesn't make sense to me when class 2 600cc bikes are cheaper than 2A 400cc SW.

cause scooter is more exp????if u look at majesty 250 prices...the cost is 15k+ OTR w/o insurance from HL...even higher than its 400cc majesty brother and fazer...

Wah. Chao Chao selling his SW liao. So soon.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=272328

Cannot be the after-effect from the beer at St James, right?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

BTW jap car prices also start to drop. Like I said, those with bikes can afford to wait but businesses cannot afford to keep still.

this one i happen to ask tan chong... bought a latio in oct 09 when list price was 60.5k, actually tot its a good deal since it was selling at about 73.5k in sep 09. but who knows just before i collect car the prices dropped to 57.5k :faint: so called TC and kpkb to find out what the h*ll is happening. TC manager explained to me that some jap car distributors including TC fell short of their sales target and thus trying to clock sales by dropping prices. just look at borneo throwing 6k discounts for their altis... those who bought just before the 'durian drop' bang balls liow :(

guess what, latio price went back up to 66.5k... think they meet quota liow :lol:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

this one i happen to ask tan chong... bought a latio in oct 09 when list price was 60.5k, actually tot its a good deal since it was selling at about 73.5k in sep 09. but who knows just before i collect car the prices dropped to 57.5k :faint: so called TC and kpkb to find out what the h*ll is happening. TC manager explained to me that some jap car distributors including TC fell short of their sales target and thus trying to clock sales by dropping prices. just look at borneo throwing 6k discounts for their altis... those who bought just before the 'durian drop' bang balls liow :(

guess what, latio price went back up to 66.5k... think they meet quota liow :lol:

lol...so which period is the "durian" season??? see got good "durian" to pick anot:cheeky:

Guest chaochao
Wah. Chao Chao selling his SW liao. So soon.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=272328

Cannot be the after-effect from the beer at St James, right?

Wa - so fast kenna spotted ah... :cheeky: Of course not due to after-effect of Boiler Room la... I did get a temp-deafness though

Not urgent sale ... Will sell only when someone is able to meet my price. So in mean time I can still enjoy riding it.

Getting back to a larger (and manual) bike.

Wa - so fast kenna spotted ah... :cheeky: Of course not due to after-effect of Boiler Room la... I did get a temp-deafness though

Not urgent sale ... Will sell only when someone is able to meet my price. So in mean time I can still enjoy riding it.

Getting back to a larger (and manual) bike.

FJR :cheers::cheers:

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

My bike's mileage is abt 20k km, recently serviced the transmission area with the intention of replacing rollers and u-clips, but also discovered clutch pads chipped (uneven wear) and clutch bell scarred.

I wonder how long can the clutch assembly last before changing a new set? I thought my mileage is not that high and was surprised by this discovery. Is this the area where the common 'pigeon' noise comes from?

My bike's mileage is abt 20k km, recently serviced the transmission area with the intention of replacing rollers and u-clips, but also discovered clutch pads chipped (uneven wear) and clutch bell scarred.

I wonder how long can the clutch assembly last before changing a new set? I thought my mileage is not that high and was surprised by this discovery. Is this the area where the common 'pigeon' noise comes from?

clutch pads wear and bell condition often depends on how you whack the bike and probably how much "dirt" enters/live in the assembly area. my odo >40k but still running on factory pegs, checked them during the recent cleaning and they looked good to last for a while.

yup, pigeons lived there :lol: i think its due to slippage caused by dirt/dust accumulated between the pads and bell surface, and also the hindered movements of the clutch pegs ("hardened" dust at the pegs' pivot). vibrations from the slippage caused the sound, my guess. pigeons should stay away as long as the clutch assembly is well maintained. i usually have pigeons after returning from more distant touring but after cleaning, no more.

to play it safe for the Apr thailand trip, i shall change the clutch pegs together with my 3-in-1 transmission set in Apr. still considering whether to change brake pads/fluid o_O

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

clutch pads wear and bell condition often depends on how you whack the bike and probably how much "dirt" enters/live in the assembly area. my odo >40k but still running on factory pegs, checked them during the recent cleaning and they looked good to last for a while.

yup, pigeons lived there :lol: i think its due to slippage caused by dirt/dust accumulated between the pads and bell surface, and also the hindered movements of the clutch pegs ("hardened" dust at the pegs' pivot). vibrations from the slippage caused the sound, my guess. pigeons should stay away as long as the clutch assembly is well maintained. i usually have pigeons after returning from more distant touring but after cleaning, no more.

to play it safe for the Apr thailand trip, i shall change the clutch pegs together with my 3-in-1 transmission set in Apr. still considering whether to change brake pads/fluid o_O

How often do u clean the transmission area? I was told the honda clutch pads tend to chip easily and cause the clutch bell to be scratched, so even after replacing, got to maintain the clutch area regularly. I wonder how long can my clutch assembly last. Until clutch slippage occurs?