Thanks brothers SW9000, Scoobydoo and Zesture for the advises. IU inside left box is really a good idea. Noone can kapo my cashcard anymore.

One question, what is the final drive oil and what do it do?

Hmm... most of us have our IU in the Right side compartment.

Left side may be ok except some carpark may have problem detecting the card.

As for final drive oil, it functions the same as gear oil.

Only thing is, SW uses 10w40 EO instead of the normal gear oil.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

• Replies 22.2k

Only Jasmin flying to Phuket and meet us on 8 Nov?

Other ex-gf and COs, etc?

I think the $65 flight is worth it.

35mins to closing of promotion.

sound could be a combination of few factors:

* sound could be from belt slippage and/or clutch slippage (if "pigeon" sound)

* belt slippage could be due to worn belt and/or work variator plates and/or lotsa dirt/dust

* clutch slippage could be due to worn clutch pads and/or worn bell and/or lotsa dirt/dust

chowtar smell is very likely from the "burning" clutch pads due to slippage, pads are rubbing the bell surface instead of gripping the bell firmly.

Any way to solve the pigeon sound problem (clutch slippage)?

Hi everyone,

I like to ask a few questions abt aftermarket exhausts, as I've never owned 1 before on all my previous rides. Only heard a bit here and there...

Is there a diff between bolt-on and slip-on? End can and muffler refer to the same thing?

Are db killer (db = decibel?) and silencer the same? Heard that it can be removed fr the exhaust but it is illegal to do so? If we buy a used bike with aftermarket exhaust, how do we know if the silencer has been removed?

Why is it that only certain exhaust systems are street legal? If we want to change to aftermarket exhaust, we go buy and install at shop, then we have to go for inspection to get cert?

Appreciate all inputs fr experienced riders here. :)

Thank for the useful info and tips. I changed the battery but i still experienced engine start problem . Usually when first press the start button ,engine will on. But now have to reset a few time to start engine in the early morning! What could be the problem? I don't think yew tee area bike shop can solve this problem! Any recommendation & solution?

Now: Silver Wing GT 400

2s: paggio hexagon 150, Honda helix 250, yamaha majesty250, Honda forza 250, paggio x9 500,Silverwing 400 JDM,Silverwing 400 euro, Silverwing GT400.

Thank for the useful info and tips. I changed the battery but i still experienced engine start problem . Usually when first press the start button ,engine will on. But now have to reset a few time to start engine in the early morning! What could be the problem? I don't think yew tee area bike shop can solve this problem! Any recommendation & solution?

1) Base on the symptoms, I think you may want to check the output charging voltage of the rectifier. It should be about 14VDC when the rpm is above 3k and maintain as the rpm rev higher. If the reading fluctuates it may be a problem from the rectifier, dynamo or both.

2) Check the dynamo output AC voltage. It should be stable (Pardon me, I nv attempt the output voltage before ). If the output voltage to the rectifier is stable, then the problem is narrow down on the rectifier.

Another easy way to narrow the problem, charge your battery with a external charger to full. Install the battery and observe for the next few days if the problem of resetting still exist. If after the charging with external charger and the problem re-surface, then you may have to go through the test procedure.

Thanks brothers SW9000, Scoobydoo and Zesture for the advises. IU inside left box is really a good idea. Noone can kapo my cashcard anymore.

One question, what is the final drive oil and what do it do?

i had mine done in the left compartment too. base on my experience, when going into those cashcard parking area, stop ur bike facing abit towards the scanner, dun stop straight straight, parallel to it. till now, i have no prob going in & out. but i din try on those expressway's gantry. better unlock the compartment b4 going thru 1, juz in case u need to take it out. last note, leave the cable of the unit longer so dat u can take the unit out to a suitable distance for scanning purpose. all the best :)

History :angel: --> Cagiva Mito3, Yamaha RX100, Yamaha TZRR125, Yamaha RXK135, Honda 150SP, Honda CBR400RR, Honda Wave 125R, Honda CBR900RR, Yamaha R6 '05, Subaru Imprezza I 1.6M, Honda Silverwing SW-T400, Honda Super 4 Version S, Yamaha Spark 135 RX

Present :thumb: --> Yamaha Tmax 530 Iron Max, Perodua Viva 1.0L

any escorts required?

times are bad... need extra income leh :lol:

Only Jasmin flying to Phuket and meet us on 8 Nov?

Bought tickets for my ex-gf to Phuket on 8 Nov. Total around $80, after the travel insurance and ++. Will have to pick up at the airport at 13:45.

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

My answers in blue below:

Is there a diff between bolt-on and slip-on? End can and muffler refer to the same thing?

Same, just different way of saying it. End can and muffler also same.

Are db killer (db = decibel?) and silencer the same? Heard that it can be removed fr the exhaust but it is illegal to do so? If we buy a used bike with aftermarket exhaust, how do we know if the silencer has been removed?

db killer and silencer are usually the same too. Most models can have the silencer removed, but it is illegal, LTA or TP can catch u for it. The silencer is usually bolted at the tip, and usually make the exhaust outlet smaller. Quite obvious actually..

Why is it that only certain exhaust systems are street legal? If we want to change to aftermarket exhaust, we go buy and install at shop, then we have to go for inspection to get cert?

Only exhaust system that are applied for approval thru LTA will be approved. Vendor have to pay quite an amount for this process. Also, to be approved for road use, the emission and db level have to be below certain number. If you buy brand new at shop, they will give u a cert and receipt. Using these, you can then got VICOM, LTA or STA for inspection, then they will give u a cert. If buy from owner, you will need to buy the cert from shop, before going LTA for inspection, and pay for transfer fees.

sounds like your bike has charging problem, possible causes are defective magnetic coil (alternator producing the AC current when engine is running) or the rectifier (the electronic gadget that converts AC into DC current to power the electronics/electricals on the bike and also to charge the battery). if no or improper charging is available, even with a new battery (usually pre-charged) will go "flat" within days (depending on usage).

had a similar problem in 2008 but was lucky bike still has few months of warranty left. after batt went flat, i changed a new batt and went to a reputable workshop for proper tests, but was told nothing is wrong with my charging system. when bike failed again in about 2 days, i decided to have it towed to Boon Siew for repairs. initial tests showed no problem with the charging system but detailed tests discovered that magnetic coil starts to "under-perform" after the engine becomes hot from running. after BS changed the magnetic coil, tests showed charging system is back to normal, even when engine is hot. the whole tests-replace-tests saga took about 3 days (towed in on Tues night, collected on Fri evening) :p

if replace magnetic coil at workshop, estimated costs for the half day job is abt:

+ magnetic coil abt $260+ (price may have changed)

+ labor to open right side engine cover, replace coil and reseal cover abt $50~$70

+ change EO abt $50~$70+, depends on EO used (can use back existing EO but i'ld prefer to change)

+ towing abt $25~$30... if bike can't start?

for this job, i would recommend K&T (look for Clifford) or A.C. Motor (Ah Choong); tell them you're SW kaki of David (SW9000) or Joseph (scoobydoo).

see Tech Corner post #168 for address/tel.

added:

according to Ah Choong, he guessed that using thicker EO may have "helped" the premature breakdown of my "2006" magnetic coil. the heavy 5w50 EO i was using then was tot to be too heavy for sufficient splashing onto the coil to help cooling. dunno how true though :p

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Why I like Chiang Mai?

For the Loy Krathong and Yi Peng Festival!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pf8oPMkZmxg&feature=related

Hope this year's festival in Hatyai would be as nice.

And some of the things we can look forward to in Phuket during the 1st night without the Mrs. hehehe.

Click the links on the left side for more options/infos.

Edited by SW9000

Only exhaust system that are applied for approval thru LTA will be approved. Vendor have to pay quite an amount for this process. Also, to be approved for road use, the emission and db level have to be below certain number. If you buy brand new at shop, they will give u a cert and receipt. Using these, you can then got VICOM, LTA or STA for inspection, then they will give u a cert. If buy from owner, you will need to buy the cert from shop, before going LTA for inspection, and pay for transfer fees.

Tks zesture for yr detailed info.

Just to clarify, u said if buy pipe from owner, why need to buy cert fr shop? i thought the owner should hv the cert already?

If I buy a used bike with the aftermarket exhaust already installed, must I still go for inspection? Still must pay transfer fees or no need? Is it the cert got state the exhaust belong to a certain owner or to a certain bike?

Tks zesture for yr detailed info.

Just to clarify, u said if buy pipe from owner, why need to buy cert fr shop? i thought the owner should hv the cert already?

If I buy a used bike with the aftermarket exhaust already installed, must I still go for inspection? Still must pay transfer fees or no need? Is it the cert got state the exhaust belong to a certain owner or to a certain bike?

You need cert for inspection. This cert is submitted to the inspection center, and not returned to the owner.

If you buy a used bike with aftermarket exhaust, usually people dont go for inspection again. But some ppl will still do transfer of ownership as the exhaust is registered to the owner, and to the bike.

Just Checking...

6-9 August 2012, Cameron Highland and Betong.

Any more interested? Let me know early because need to reserve hotel rooms.

I'll close the trip by 1st July and collect $$.

Current:

1. sw9000

2. Atlantic 200

3. zesture

4. paithorn

* Made some changes to the route going to CH. Will explore and try secret road via Bentong/Raub instead.

If buy from owner, you will need to buy the cert from shop, before going LTA for inspection, and pay for transfer fees.

Sorry another question...What shop r u referring to for buying the cert before going for inspection? The shop that sells the exhaust to the original owner?

not sure about the Betong part... maybe go only CH jia liu lian :lol:

Just Checking...

6-9 August 2012, Cameron Highland and Betong.

Any more interested? Let me know early because need to reserve hotel rooms.

I'll close the trip by 1st July and collect $$.

Current:

1. sw9000

2. Atlantic 200

3. zesture

4. paithorn

* Made some changes to the route going to CH. Will explore and try secret road via Bentong/Raub instead.

~

Trips:

recommend 400cc and go for FJS (euro model)... unless you really want more pickup.

you get more torque from the bigger cylinders (burn more fuel) and a little more top speed. other than that, almost everything else is the same, including handling and spare parts.

why not JDM 600cc (no FJS 600cc in Sg)?

* higher costs... higher OTR price/depreciation (for new PI ones; BS didn't bring in), higher road tax, higher insurance, higher petrol bills, etc. just for that difference?

* higher FC... from past JDM 600cc riders, FC is abt 17~21km/L. JDM 400cc clocks abt 19~22km/L and abt 23~25km/L for FJS 400cc. a lot depends on individual rider's usage and throttle patterns.

* if not wrong, resale value of 400cc is better cos more in demand for economical and class 2 choice reasons. many pp are willing to pay for class 2 big bikes but not many are willing to pay for class 2 scooter when difference from the 400cc bro is not much.

erm hi all..

i'm new here, thinking of getting SW but not sure to go for 400cc or the 600cc

any recommendation?

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Sorry another question...What shop r u referring to for buying the cert before going for inspection? The shop that sells the exhaust to the original owner?

Usually the dealer for e exhaust. For me, as I have a bikeshop I frequent, I always let them do it for me.

recommend 400cc and go for FJS (euro model)... unless you really want more pickup.

you get more torque from the bigger cylinders (burn more fuel) and a little more top speed. other than that, almost everything else is the same, including handling and spare parts.

why not JDM 600cc (no FJS 600cc in Sg)?

* higher costs... higher OTR price/depreciation (for new PI ones; BS didn't bring in), higher road tax, higher insurance, higher petrol bills, etc. just for that difference?

* higher FC... from past JDM 600cc riders, FC is abt 17~21km/L. JDM 400cc clocks abt 19~22km/L and abt 23~25km/L for FJS 400cc. a lot depends on individual rider's usage and throttle patterns.

* if not wrong, resale value of 400cc is better cos more in demand for economical and class 2 choice reasons. many pp are willing to pay for class 2 big bikes but not many are willing to pay for class 2 scooter when difference from the 400cc bro is not much.

thanks for the info..

now need to go for bike hunt..

for 400cc FJS model around 3 years old, what's the market price? roughly

btw.. how to see it's FJS or JDM model?

Edited by hyssnemesis
Brothers,

Just got my SW400 from direct owner a few weeks back. Totally in love with the bike. Just that it is rather heavy and quite long in length when compare to my previous SYM excel. So now I'm trying to find out more about this heavy beast and how to service it.

Mileage now: 22800km

Both tyres changed at 20800km

Engine oil changed at 20800km

I had read the manual and browsed through this tread and the tech tread and yet I still have some questions I would like to ask:

1. At what interval do you change your engine oil? The manual said 12k and someone else said he changed at 2.5k.

2. When you service your bike, what else do you all normally change?

3. Which bike shop will you recommend? I'm over at west side. I saw the list provided by Scoobydoo in the tech corner and it is such a long list. Haha

4. What are the things I must look out for with this bike?

5. And any great advice you can give me.

Thanks in advance!

P.s. I would like to join those trips you guys have been planning in the future if I'm available.

bro, can share with us how much you got this bike?

and how many years old..:cheeky::cheeky:

Dear All,

I bought the new SW-T400 3 months back and would be doing my EO change this weekend. I am stuck in a dilema: Liqui Moly Racing Synth 4T 10W-50 or Maxima Maxum4 Ultra 5W40.

I read that for the transmission, it's better to follow the manual and use 5W40 oil, is it advisable to use the Liqui Moly for the transmission since the review here for the Liqui Moly is that it is a very slippery oil.

Also, for the EO, is 10W50 ok?

I would prefer to use the the same oil for both engine and transmission. Thank you for the advise!!! :)