• Replies 22.2k

Here's my review after today's window shopping at Regina, Chong Aik and Cyclenet (mah)

Nolan N43 Air ($250 - $300 depending on color, PSB etc)

Helmet's construction is plastic shell, as of all Nolan's helmets. Shell isn't quite as big compared to my previous Nolan N101 (flip up). It actually does look pretty slick and nice. Overall, the helmet flex quite a bit due to the face that it is make of plastic shell. The chin guard does flex too, with compressed injected styrofoam inside (we know it cos there's a shop that showed us a cracked one).

Helmet isn't the lightest, but is ok for an open face helmet. Cushion is comfortable, not fantastic, but definitely comfortable enough. Overall construction is nice, and I like the finishing.

Visor integrate very nicely with the chin guard, and indeed, it's pretty close to the chin. Very good visibility and the air vents definitely looks like it will work very well.

AGV Blade + Chin Guard? ($300)

The guy at Regina show us this helmet that look like AGV Blade. It's not the blade, but looks like it, n have a chin guard. Nowhere online can I find information abt this helmet, and it's not even in the catalogue.. I wonder why....

This helmet is light, but sturdy. Not much air vents, and air vents only work if the visor comes all the well down. Why I think the chin guard is retrofitted is because, when you fit on the chin guard, the visor can't close nicely. Helmet is one of the most sturdy I have seen, but, I dunno, doesn't feel very well design imho. It's PSB approved btw.. It's comfortable as well, but I doubt the thin chin guard will work very well.

Givi X.Plus ($580)

This is one of the nicest modular helmet out of the 3. The cushion is very nice too. It's really a cool feature that it's actually a flip up, but looks like those modular helmet above. Fitting is pretty tight, and they do comes different S, M and L. Cutting is nice, finishing is nice, but the plastics as pointed out by Fusionjaz is not very refined. At $580 for this, honestly, I rather get the Shoei Multiec ($550). But well, this is a really cool looker helmet. Definitely a head turner.

So, that's all of my review. You should have sense it by now, I do prefer the Nolan N43. Looking at the build quality, it can probably last me 2.5 to 3 years (daily use with no drop). Cushion will thin it after a while, so, gotta be careful with the sizing. They have limited colors and sizing, so might need to order. So, let me know if any of u want it, we can go down and shop together. I will probably get 2 of it..

yeah, a few mths ago, there was the caberg konda craze. then die off le.

for me, the modular helmet will work better (esp for my pillion) when go into town area. By removing the chin guard, it immediately become an open face helmet. i.e, still have the min. element protection with the visor.

Then when go highway, put on chin guard, defense +10 liao.

Good for street riding, cos wider field of view.

Konda is nice, but I find it abit too heavy, and the field of view will lose out. for Flip up, I will be considering Shoei Multitec or Schuberth C3.. cos they will be more quiet, stable, better air flow at high speed. I know they are expensive, but I find it should be worth the investment if I gotta wear it for 6 hours a day during touring.

However, what helmet u use will depends on the bike your ride too. For silverwing, with such wind protection, Multitec and C3 might be overkill and too stuffy.

Hi guys, I would like to ask some questions regarding the Pirelli and Metzeler tyres. Which one has more grip in the dry and in the wet? Which one can last longer?

Also how about the Michelin Pilot Sports? Thanks!!!

yeah, shoei multitec is around $550.

for tires, usually better grip, dont last as long.

I'm not well versed in silverwing helmet. But look at the lines. the longer the line comes from the middle to the side, the better it can shed water in the rain. Also, look at the compound, some are more sticky, n stick well when its warmed up. I will let the other lao jiao review the tires.. But imho, all these 3 r great brands, shld be all good. :)

We got ourselves a new rain coat today. Very light and very good material. The major plus point is it is so much lighter than OGK

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg207/fusionjaz/IMAG0118.jpg

Hi guys, I would like to ask some questions regarding the Pirelli and Metzeler tyres. Which one has more grip in the dry and in the wet? Which one can last longer?

I am currently using Pirelli diablo front and back. It offers better grip than the stock IRC during rain. But because I travel about 90km thru and fro to office, it only me 6-7 months on my rear tyre. Usually grippy tyre wear rate higher.

I am considering replacing my rear to Metzeler.

oh yah, n if u guys get the n-com system, we can talk bike to bike. But distance is only 150m.

Wanna talk? Tail-gate loh.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

We got ourselves a new rain coat today. Very light and very good material. The major plus point is it is so much lighter than OGK

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg207/fusionjaz/IMAG0118.jpg

Where? How much?

... I do prefer the Nolan N43

went Regina just now and saw 3 helmets...

Nolan N43... nice, i like the looks but the S-size i tried was still a little loose. dunno whether its due to the worn cushion (demo set) or new also like that. was told it due to Euro sizing, great if Chiap Lee got bring in XS :lol:

AGV blade... not comfy, my ears were squeezed as per other AGVs.

Zeus Synthses... cheap alternative flip-up at $180, convertible to open-face (visor & cushions provided) and much better build than the MHR or RJays. i had an earlier model 4 years back and it served me well.

someone selling at garage sales

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325452-ZEUS-Flip-up-Helmet?highlight=zeus

yeah, a few mths ago, there was the caberg konda craze. then die off le.

For silverwing, with such wind protection, Multitec and C3 might be overkill and too stuffy.

according to paithorn after his trip to thailand, the helmet wasn't as good as we all thought it would be. other than noise, a big complain is that the chin guard is too close to the face; with the wind blowing onto the helmet, you get to kiss it :lol:

yes, the SW's windshield works extremely well on the run and i had no discomfort even with open face at NSHW speed "limits"; having a "too good" wind cover could become undesirable. if not for safety, i'ld prefer to tour on the SW with open face :p

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I am considering replacing my rear to Metzeler.

metzeler feelfree's compound is softer than diablo scoot... unlikely to give you better durability :p

SW9000 used it for a while and switched back to diablo... he's the "SW Gold Standard" :smile:

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Metzeler for ppl with more $$ to spare at about $220 per pair.

Only slightly better grip then Diablo.

Both can lasts about 20k even though uneven wear can be noticed from 16k.

For most, Diablo is good enough at $170.

i've already emailed my signed form to him (start policy from 24/06/2011 just in case)... probably meet him on Wed :angel:

Must scan...

Btw, e Regina n43 is heavily abused.. Think got some conspiracy goin on. So, chairman, u decided yet? Fusionjaz when u wanna buy?

hanor hanor... they try very hard to sell the AGV :lol:

yes, think i want the N43 "titanium silver" but need to drop by chong aik on Wed 5+pm before they close to try fitting the size... S or XS :p

my forehead's circumference is 55cm, should be size S if according to Nolan's size chart below

http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/161/MNGR_POP/SIZE-CHART.ASPX#nolan

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

so, how? when do u guys wanna do a MO?

ON :thumb:

Nolan N43 Air helmet ($250 - $300 depending on color, PSB etc)

review by zesture

1. zesture - 2x, . . . . .

2. scoobydoo - 1x, Small, Titanium Silver, non-PSB

3. Fusionjaz?

4. SW9000?

* note that N43 Air and N43 Trilogy are different

* Nolan size charts: Ref 1, Ref 2

* PSB versions use the LTA approved double D-rings

* non-PSB versions use the Nolan Microlock® (adjustable quick-release) retention system, use at own risk

i suppose we're getting from Chong Aik ya? more expensive than Regina but has warranty :p

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

juz sharing, if any of u tinking of getting shoei multitec, can oso consider HJC IS Multi, juz in terms of pricing. eh... cant rmb how much is it le... :angel:

http://www.webbikeworld.com/r2/motorcycle-helmet/hjc/is-multi/

i'm still on stock bridgestone tires, haven try out the rest yet but i personally dun recommend pilot sports due to previous sport bike's experience...

History :angel: --> Cagiva Mito3, Yamaha RX100, Yamaha TZRR125, Yamaha RXK135, Honda 150SP, Honda CBR400RR, Honda Wave 125R, Honda CBR900RR, Yamaha R6 '05, Subaru Imprezza I 1.6M, Honda Silverwing SW-T400, Honda Super 4 Version S, Yamaha Spark 135 RX

Present :thumb: --> Yamaha Tmax 530 Iron Max, Perodua Viva 1.0L