I find that the effects on changing the roller weight and torque spring are similar. My question is: Are the effects of using lighter roller weights and harder torque spring the same? Would there be any difference, pros and cons?

if not wrong, there's one thing lighter rollers can't do when harder torque/contra spring can... to close the 2 rear variator plates faster (moving the belt outwards) when throttle is closed.

this is useful especially at slopes when we want to close throttle, "drop gear" and throttle off as desired.

cons? may be irritating if you dun like engine brake.

btw, we have to change the torque/contra spring when it becomes weak, and returns the "gear ratio" too slowly.

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

• Replies 22.2k

I find that the effects on changing the roller weight and torque spring are similar. My question is: Are the effects of using lighter roller weights and harder torque spring the same? Would there be any difference, pros and cons?

Replacing lighter or heavier rollers is like increasing or decreasing the number of teeth of a manual transmission's front sprocket.

Replacing lower or higher tension torque/contra spring is equivalent to increasing or decreasing the rear wheel sprocket.

I am not too sure of pros and cons.

Weekly Meetup

Date: 18/08/2011 (Thursday)

Place: Rail Mall CB Clubhouse

Time: 7pm onwards

7:00pm... OTOT makan or join us at "Ah Mei"

7:30+pm... Meetup

http://gothere.sg/maps#q:422%20Upper%20Bukit%20Timah%20Road

free parking at space next to CB, not proper lots but ok as long as not obstructing pedestrians.

itineraries:

* talk Nov Phuket trip schedules/to do stuffs

* lim kopi topped with eye-candy,

* collection & pay/refund for headlight shields :deal:

* etc.

ps: SW9000 absent with apologies :p

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

ahhh... tot that one is called contra spring? now i know its called torque spring... hehe

thanks bro, for correcting my blunder :p

my bad... corrected earlier post liow.

like Fusionjaz mentioned, with a stiffer torque spring pushing pressing on the 2 rear variatior together, higher force (thus higher rpm) from belt is needed to pry the plates apart before belt can go inner for smaller circumference (gear ratio). effect is similar to delaying gear change in normal gear transmission bikes.

thus if want to have hardcore effect for pickup, change both clutch springs and torque spring... but probably more noisy and more jia yiu lor :lol:

another effect of using a stiffer torque spring is, for better "engine brake" and "dropping gear" as a stiffer spring will more quickly move the belt outwards (by closing the 2 rear variator plates) once throttle is closed. this is important at slopes where we want to "drop gear" and throttle off as desired. i understand that many scooterists somehow dun like engine brake effect :p

okay got it:)

any recommendation whic shop shld i go to change the contra spring to a stiffer ones?

what should i say to the shop?change contra spring or torque spring?

thanks guys for enlighten me:thumb:

http://www3.picturepush.com/photo/a/14045926/640/14045926.jpg
for mods and 奇难杂症, ah choong (A.C. Motor) is probably the best person to talk to :smile:

The spring that holds the 5x clutch pegs is called clutch spring. Installing a higher tension clutch spring requires a higher spin rate. Thus moving off with higher torque.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg207/fusionjaz/322.jpg

Torque spring is a spring that is pressing on the rear variatior. Installing a higher tension spring will increase the overall torque curve. You will feel it when the scoot is going up slope (Benjamin Shears bridge). You will have more torque to conquer up hill roads but lose out on top speed.

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg207/fusionjaz/GEDC0588.jpg

http://i249.photobucket.com/albums/gg207/fusionjaz/129c22cb.jpg

Thanks scoobydoo:) I contact AC Motors already will come down there on sat..

Btw FusionJaz, how much u spend for the contra spring?

Edited by etkach3

Hi TitanicLexus.. Nice to meet you at AC.. Hope to see u again.. Don't on ur led light ah.. Hehe wait my eye pain.. :)

2007 - 2008 Honda Phatom 200

2008 - 2010 SYM GTS 200

2010 - ???? Honda Silverwing SW-T400

Hi TitanicLexus.. Nice to meet you at AC.. Hope to see u again.. Don't on ur led light ah.. Hehe wait my eye pain.. :)

Nice meeting you too... haha.... my gf live at SK, so is quite near to AC, occasionally will drop by look for ah choong chit chat while. Btw, I checked with ah choong ytd nite, he told me the malossi torque spring we mentioned here, out of stock... he ordered liao but need to wait 2 mth shipment.... :p

N/A (Current)

Honda Silverwing FJS 400cc (Yr2010 - Yr2012)

Piaggio X8 200cc (Yr2009 - Yr2010)

Honda CB400 Super Four (Yr2007 - Yr2009)

Honda Phantom TA200 (Yr2005 -Yr2007)

Nice meeting you too... haha.... my gf live at SK, so is quite near to AC, occasionally will drop by look for ah choong chit chat while. Btw, I checked with ah choong ytd nite, he told me the malossi torque spring we mentioned here, out of stock... he ordered liao but need to wait 2 mth shipment.... :p

yup he did tell me dat too:)

but wen i ask him how much he say he dono de price :(

Everything I ask him always out of stock one :)

Item like : Balancer, Tyer, fork spring, HID, LED etc... Haha

Dunno y maybe I suay.. Haha :)

2008 - 2010 SYM GTS 200

why always no stock?

ah choong's small cap workshop started off not too long ago at his own rented premise (previously renting ½ shop-floor at uncle michael's Kallang Cycle) so he is still slowly building his business. with limited resources and higher operating costs, he can't carry stocks like the bigger and more established workshops (e.g. K&T, Future, Unique, Motoworld, Sporting, etc), especially those slow moving items.

if we want his services and/or to support his venture, we've gotta be a little more patient about the stock-outs lor :p

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Trips:

Everything I ask him always out of stock one :)

Item like : Balancer, Tyer, fork spring, HID, LED etc... Haha

Dunno y maybe I suay.. Haha :)

ah choong is mainly provide for repairs, maintenance and DIY services. Those like after market stuff as required is upon demanded or needed by others. If there is any, he will just order a few in one time and keep some for spare. Let think abt this way, if he carry more stock but low demand, then who bear the costs? :p

If you talking abt hyperpro fork spring, only Motoworld and Unique do the order or maybe store in stock. For HID and LED most of the bikeshop do not carry stock one lah, best is....buy yourself and go to install at your preference bikeshop. Cheers!

N/A (Current)

why always no stock?

ah choong's small cap workshop started off not too long ago at his own rented premise (previously renting ½ shop-floor at uncle michael's Kallang Cycle) so he is still slowly building his business. with limited resources and higher operating costs, he can't carry stocks like the bigger and more established workshops (e.g. K&T, Future, Unique, Motoworld, Sporting, etc), especially those slow moving items.

if we want his services and/or to support his venture, we've gotta be a little more patient about the stock-outs lor :p

Yup,.... agreed :thumb: same same

N/A (Current)

ah choong is mainly provide for repairs, maintenance and DIY services. Those like after market stuff as required is upon demanded or needed by others. If there is any, he will just order a few in one time and keep some for spare. Let think abt this way, if he carry more stock but low demand, then who bear the costs? :p

If you talking abt hyperpro fork spring, only Motoworld and Unique do the order or maybe store in stock. For HID and LED most of the bikeshop do not carry stock one lah, best is....buy yourself and go to install at your preference bikeshop. Cheers!

Yup.. Agree, that's why I always buy my stuff for him to fix :) he DIY skill is wonderful..

2008 - 2010 SYM GTS 200

Yes yes.

Please discuss about the Phuket trip during NEXT Meeting.

I've 2x double rooms and 2x twins rooms available for Phuket Lamai Hotel from 7 Nov to 11 Nov, Monday to Friday.

If travel plans have changed, let me know so that I can source for other takeovers (my colleagues) or just cancel it.

Do note that Loykrathong is on the 10 Nov (floating lanterns in river/sea and flying YiPeng lanterns). These can be celebrated either in Phuket (original plan) or Hatyai (near the Hill Top Buddha area).

Weekly Meetup

Date: 18/08/2011 (Thursday)

Place: Rail Mall CB Clubhouse

Time: 7pm onwards

itineraries:

* talk Nov Phuket trip schedules/to do stuffs

ps: SW9000 absent with apologies :p

Edited by SW9000

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Now back at home with a 10cm by 5cm L-shape tatoo (centipete-look-alike) along the outside ankle.

Pain should wear out in a couple of days.

Unfortunately, on MC cannot go Reborn...

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

Now back at home with a 10cm by 5cm L-shape tatoo (centipete-look-alike) along the outside ankle.

You must go Reborn in order to reborn again

I've 2x double rooms and 2x twins rooms available for Phuket Lamai Hotel from 7 Nov to 11 Nov, Monday to Friday.

If travel plans have changed, let me know so that I can source for other takeovers (my colleagues) or just cancel it.

other than sweeper-master Atlantic, the regular tour kakis were there... asked around but seems everyone not too keen to go without tour-master SW9000.

looks like may need to cancel trip... if cancel, any penalty?

or already paid in full liow... refund policy?

~

Trips:

1 injured but still got 2 legs to Reborn mah... won't lugi woh :lol:

You must go Reborn in order to reborn again

~

Trips:

other than sweeper-master Atlantic, the regular tour kakis were there... asked around but seems everyone not too keen to go without tour-master SW9000.

looks like may need to cancel trip... if cancel, any penalty?

or already paid in full liow... refund policy?

I think air asia have no refund policy.. Anyway, I'm fine with canceling too. Might end up flying to ChiangMai instead...

hi all..i got my bike fixed at ac motors..really good workmanship:thumb:

i also installed j.costa variator and malossi white clutch spring.. after a good advice frm ah chong himself on the bad point of dr pulley aka will spoil the variator

i really enjoy the pickup but due to the malossi clutch spring, i loss top end..im gg back to ac motors to change back the spring to stock:)

see how it goes on stock spring:) will update you guys:thumb:

Edited by etkach3