Remember to chk the year of manufactured on the tyres itself, don't take the old stock tyres > 1 year? Also bear in mind, Unique only can do balancing for rear, not sure now they able to do for front bo? :p

okie. noted. btw which part of the tyre shows the manufactured date?

Glad to have u in my life : ) Always love one another!

• Replies 22.2k

Scalloping is usually the result of not maintaing tyre pressures well. When I got mine it was scalloping badly. I fill her up with pressure recommended for 2-up riding and try to corner as low as possible with hard acceleration to wear it out naturally. Its much better now. Diablos have never given me any slips even on my CB400 and SWing. Metzeler very bad experience...

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

just called unique and motoworld for price on Pirelli Diablos Scoot.

Unique quoted - $175 a pair, $100 for rear. (includes balancing and labour fees)

Motorworld quoted - $171 a pair, $98 for rear. (includes labour fees but no balancing of tyre)

think i will stick to unique then. lol

$175 has been the "normal" price Motoworld has been charging since few years back. the shops get their stock from Motoworld who brings the diablos in.

Unique is few dollars cheaper, but think they pump normal air; Motoworld pumps nitrogen gas (included in package). so see whether you want nitrogen or save that 4 dollars, or which one is more convenient lor :lol:

Remember to chk the year of manufactured on the tyres itself, don't take the old stock tyres > 1 year? Also bear in mind, Unique only can do balancing for rear, not sure now they able to do for front bo? :p

yes, it is very important to check the age of the tyres... not worth to pay the same and get >1 yrs old tyres when you can get fresh ones.

think there's a mix up, most of the shops can't do balancing for the rear tyre, not the front :p

this is what we know till today (unless things have changed)... most shops are able to balance the front but not the rear, as a special adapter is required to hold the rear wheel onto the balancing machine... only a few shops in Singapore have that adapter.

please see tech corner post #46

okie. noted. btw which part of the tyre shows the manufactured date?

bro, answer in the tech corner post #21 leh

The date of manufacture is usually indicated on one side of tyre in week-week-year-year format.

e.g. 2106 means tyre was manufactured on week 21 of 2006 (52 weeks a year).

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

$175 has been the "normal" price Motoworld has been charging since few years back. the shops get their stock from Motoworld who brings the diablos in.

Unique is few dollars cheaper, but think they pump normal air; Motoworld pumps nitrogen gas (included in package). so see whether you want nitrogen or save that 4 dollars, or which one is more convenient lor :lol:

yes, it is very important to check the age of the tyres... not worth to pay the same and get >1 yrs old tyres when you can get fresh ones.

think there's a mix up, most of the shops can't do balancing for the rear tyre, not the front :p

this is what we know till today (unless things have changed)... most shops are able to balance the front but not the rear, as a special adapter is required to hold the rear wheel onto the balancing machine... only a few shops in Singapore have that adapter.

please see tech corner post #46

bro, answer in the tech corner post #21 leh

Arh, I just did at unique... Shld go to sporting motor which is just few shops away :( btw my old tires shld aldy be replace earlier.. Haha as I now then realise is a 09 manufactura ones.. Haha 3yrs lo.. Uneven worn expected oso.

Just had my tires replaced.. Smooth and also vibrations on handlebar which previously I encounted was eliminate..

Balanacing wise, I did saw the guy from unique trying to source for a proper adapter to fit into my rear wheel but unforunately can't hence he took one of the adapter and improvise it to fit on my wheel. After seeing some grinding and waiting, what surprise me was he manage to did it.

Then follow up by placeing in my wheel on the balancer, computerise the balancer and spin it and subaequently added some weights on it and is done.

For now I do feel good with the new tires but I will continue to monitor the worn issue and hope is evenly worn this time.

The mechanic told me that the scallopped worn of my rear tire is probably because of poor tire pressure periodally check.

Hence guys do check ur tire pressure regularly to avoid this will happening :D

Edited by confusehaha

3-in-1 was $200.

Labor charge for everything was $30.

Competitive pricing.

Hi SW9000,

I am a new Silverwing owner. What was the price above for? Thought I needed to change my belt and rollers as there are some noise when moving off. And what is the difference between SW and SW-T? Mine is an 08 Model. Thanks and hope to have the chance to join you guys for coffee breaks.

Dennis

Balanacing wise, I did saw the guy from unique trying to source for a proper adapter to fit into my rear wheel but unforunately can't hence he took one of the adapter and improvise it to fit on my wheel. After seeing some grinding and waiting, what surprise me was he manage to did it.

Then follow up by placeing in my wheel on the balancer, computise the balancer and spin it with some weights added on it and is done.

swee!!! :thumb:

now we know other than sporting, unique also can do balancing for SW's rear wheel :smile:

remember to ride with extra care over the first few hundred km, cos new tyres are very slippery and need some breaking in. common theory is that new tyres are soaked with mold release agents (that's why they're usually oily and shiny) but that's something the manufacturers' deny.

The slippery surface on a new tyre is caused by 2 main reasons.

~When new, a tyre has a very smooth surface & in order to obtain maximum grip, the smooth surface needs to be 'scrubbed in'.

~Some manufacturers use 'releasing agents' when they make the tyres. These 'releasing agents' contain 'anti-ageing preservatives' which help to stop a tyre degrading whilst in storage. Releasing agents need to be scrubbed from a new tyres surface.

http://www.whitedogbikes.com/Motorcycle_Scooter_Tyre_Information.htm

this rider in the clip would tell you lots...

http://www.visordown.com/snippets/new-tyres-are-slippery-never-show-off/13360.html

believe it or not... better be safe than to be sorry :p

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Hi SW9000,

I am a new Silverwing owner. What was the price above for? Thought I needed to change my belt and rollers as there are some noise when moving off. And what is the difference between SW and SW-T? Mine is an 08 Model. Thanks and hope to have the chance to join you guys for coffee breaks.

Dennis

hi Dennis, welcome to the SW community :smile:

we have a tech corner with lots of useful info about the SW... answers to both your 2 queries are answered there, and much more. there's an index post on page 1 for easy finding, do take a look ya.

Silverwing 400cc / 600cc Tech Corner

the noise when moving off is usually due to slippage, most of the time a good cleaning of the transmission assembly (variators/clutch) would do the trick, costs about $30~$40+ for the job. you can also ask the mech to check your 3-in-1 (see tech corner post #89) if they're worn and due for change during the "strip cleaning"... not the biker :lol:

personally, i have the transmission cleaned every 10k km or after every long tour, whichever is earlier :cool:

~

Trips:

My diagnosis on the vibration thingy of my bike:

1. Slight Vibration at handle bar and feeling more of the uneven road.

Should be the cause of the uneven Tyre wear (expected at 11k) and possibly the suspension. Too many trips on trunk roads? Hmm...

Switched to rear setting 3 and it got a bit better.

Will try eliminate the Tyre factor next after the trip. So far butt still able to handle.

If not totally solved, then try front and rear suspension.

2. Vibration/lag at 4k rpm or acceleration.

Highly suspecting the use of SW green rollers which resulted in acceleration rpm at 4k. *Move off 2.5-2.6k rpm. Max speed 155-160km/h.

Had the same experience with my previous SW-T (1st gen) that comes stock with the green rollers too.

Very headache therefore sold it. Alamak... $$ wasted. Haha. Joking. Part of the reason only.

The SW-T now comes with 'brown' rollers with an accelerating rpm of 4.5k to 5k. Guess Honda made some adjustments. *Move off 2.8-3k rpm. Max speed 150-155km/h.

Didn't feel the 4k rpm lag for 1yr 2mths until change to SW rollers.

Will experiment with Malossi or J.costa for fun. Let's hope my hunch is correct.

Otherwise, bike engine is still smooth smooth.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

change another SWT... 600cc this time lor :cheeky:

Cannot waste a few more Ks of paper $$. Broke liao.

A few hundred to play with variators, rollers, tires, still ok.

Hi Scoobydoo,

Thank you for the information. The tech corner is really good. That's what I am looking for. Seems like the sound that I mentioned earlier did not come from the belt but rather a very worn rear brake pad. Yes, I did service my transmission and changed gear oil. I think that helps to eliminate some of the sound too.

Asked the mechanic to look at my belt and he said its still good for another 20k. Phew! So I will change my 3 in 1 later.

Got some questions:

1. Where easiest to get Dr Pulley sliders? Got what weight range... 26g, 24g? And, which weight is equivalent in performance to stock SW rollers?

2. Where to get Malossi rollers? Or must change variator as well? Price?

3. Anyone heard of MRP rollers?

Edited by SW9000

And, which weight is equivalent in performance to stock SW rollers?

If you look at the design philosophy, the best bet is something less than or equal to stock weight, but not more than stock.

I'm also thinking to try.

Seems like the sound that I mentioned earlier did not come from the belt but rather a very worn rear brake pad. Yes, I did service my transmission and changed gear oil. I think that helps to eliminate some of the sound too.

Asked the mechanic to look at my belt and he said its still good for another 20k. Phew! So I will change my 3 in 1 later.

yup, "scratching" sounds sometimes appear from the brake assemblies due to worn pads (but that usually happens when pads are really worn) and more often, worn and/or out of shape (very common) rotor blades.

put you bike on main stand (don't start engine), spin the rear wheel and listen if there's the scratch-silent scratch-silent sounds. if got, usually is the rotor blade out of shape liow.

cause? wear-n-tear and heat. common problem especially if we often wash bike when rotors are still kinda "hot".

change gear oil... did you use 10w40 motor oil as suggested by honda service manual, or the usual gear oil? there's a post at the tech corner on this contentious issue.

belt to last another 20k km? wow!

fyi, many of us change our 3-in-1 every 20+k or so. the manual says I (inspect, clean, adjust, lub, replace as necessary) at 18k, R (replace) at 24k. the record i know is a bro changed his belt at 40+k.

if you do only local riding, no issue as towing to workshop costs only $30~$40+. but if you tour, its better to play safe as towing back from overseas costs many times that amount (e.g. >S$700 from cameron highland). let's not forget about the potential damages caused by the whipping of a snapped belt inside. worse, suay suay loose power when you most need it, like to get out of an accident :pity:

~

Trips:

Got some questions:

1. Where easiest to get Dr Pulley sliders? Got what weight range... 26g, 24g? And, which weight is equivalent in performance to stock SW rollers?

I used get the Dr Pulley rollers from Future. But heard they are no longer bringing it in. Maybe online?

For Malossi, you need to use their variator. If i'm not wrong. they are smaller..

http://scootershop.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=292_296&osCsid=4a41d08b2746cebeeed98404125c20a6

Got some questions:

Martin Racing Performance rollers, are dr pulley FAKEs according to http://www.silverwing600.com/t1422-drpulley-official-announcement

If you look at the design philosophy, the best bet is something less than or equal to stock weight, but not more than stock.

I'm also thinking to try.

I used get the Dr Pulley rollers from Future. But heard they are no longer bringing it in. Maybe online?

For Malossi, you need to use their variator. If i'm not wrong. they are smaller..

http://scootershop.com/catalog/index.php?cPath=292_296&osCsid=4a41d08b2746cebeeed98404125c20a6

I contacted dr pulley directly to purchase but was referred to Tai Hin instead. guess it's a dealership agreement.

Maybe we can consolidate orders & hopefully get a better price from Tai Hin?

Alternatively anyone going taiwan?

AN650L3 (current): All mod transferred.

SW-T400 (till oct 13): voltmeter, safety features disabled. coocase v36+remote. Adjustable, folding Brake levers. Givi AF318 windshield. on-off switch(pilot light, head light, hazard light), electrical seat unlatch,Dr pulley.

AN400K6 (apr07-dec11): side deflectors, J Costa variator, Dr pulley slider + HiT clutch.

YP250, RVF400/RS250, NSF125.

When i got my bike that time, my rollers were dr pulley one. not sure what's the weight but indeed it has a good low to mid range power! :D

It looks similar with stock just that the inner layer of the rollers is thinner.

After replacing back to stock green rollers, kinda of like a big change in the power for the low to mid range, haha a bit regreted but i'm currently used to it..

Perhaps i might revert back to dr pulley rollers for my next rollers replacement.

guys shld i replace my stock filter to knn? haha itchy hand..

Was also thinking of switching to KNN when I go do my next EO servicing with Iridium NGKs. While browsing thru Rockoil webby, came across gear oil with 10W40 rating. They also have 10W40 fuly synth EO. Have yet to check with First Motor on pricing and stock.

Sent frm HTC Z715E using Tapatalk

"Don't do onto others, what you don't want others to do onto you"

"What goes around, comes around"

I contacted dr pulley directly to purchase but was referred to Tai Hin instead. guess it's a dealership agreement.

Maybe we can consolidate orders & hopefully get a better price from Tai Hin?

Count me in if doing a mass order / installation. Weights for FJS400D pls.

Currently experiening low power and heavy throttle on top range, beyond 110km/hr. And my clutch started to slip again after 500km servicing.. What shld I do? Or is it a sign of something that is wearing off?

Belt, rollers, uclip engine oil - all replaced less than 1500km ago.