When's your bike?

Rubber time. "Will try to give by next week but no promise".

• Replies 22.2k

10W30 too thin for long dist ride, yah?

The number at the back should follow the average environment temp. In SG/Malaysia... should use 40.

Then again, the coil got difference between the old and new. New coils got thicker insulating coat.

Your bike may be installed with the old type during manufacturing?

Since have warranty, everything should be free. However, beware the workmanship in sealing up the casing. They failed on many occasion and our kakis have to re-seal it at other motortiam.

Sorry typo i using 10w 40. Hopefully everything free and they can do a gd job..... U mean the casing they cant seal properly? Wah faint...... this bs hor..... really tau tiah

Wow, looks like I should follow your method to run-in. At least any potential defects can surface asap rather than wait until warranty runs out :thumb:

Haahaa.... just that running is boring unless you wan to do hard run in

wah lau eh. my bike 1 month only coil chui........ wah really hor.......

see what boon siew can do for me..... bike in since ytd

claim warranty lo... replace coil lo... then hope no need to go elsewhere to re-seal the side cover lo :lol:

Since have warranty, everything should be free. However, beware the workmanship in sealing up the casing. They failed on many occasion and our kakis have to re-seal it at other motortiam.

Sorry typo i using 10w 40. Hopefully everything free and they can do a gd job..... U mean the casing they cant seal properly? Wah faint...... this bs hor..... really tau tiah

i went BS to change coil few years back, left bike there for 3 days and they changed coil for me under warranty. problem is, i could see eo seeping out from the right side cover... sianz liow liow.

went K&T and got ah chuen to seal it properly for me.

few month back, i went BS again to change pulser coil. same thing, can't seal cover properly, still using the hard sealant.

went K&T and got ah chuen to seal it properly for me again.

can be done 1..... me n wifey were singing and talking alot on the trip to genting.... i'm just dam fed up new bike coil spoil. wah lau really 1 kind lor...... haiz......

just luck... mine also went kaput after just few months :pity:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

Just plain suey luck. looks like BS cannot really trust. pengz......

Anwyay to those bro riding up melaka. ride safe n cya guys on the road.

i took my bike i straight changed my EO to 10w 30 300v. dan ride to genting. after that go back to boon siew change oil. Boon siew changed for me 10w 50.

i went to change back 10w 40 300v again.

Running in, you should be using mineral oil. The purpose of running in is to allow the metal surface to seat in with other surface. The fully synthetic oil may have additives that don't allow it to happen. Running in is conditioning the metal surface not just clocking distance. I suggest replace eo to mineral and load your engine for different condition again. My 2cts

any one tried 10w 50 grade engine oil on your silverwing for touring? Just afraid it has higher drag in the engine but on the other point, it might be good in minimising high temperature from building up due to thicker viscosity.

wah. 1.4km coil gone case liao? that’s really disappointing and suey.

Glad to have u in my life : ) Always love one another!

10W50 is ok... just that your SW will feel like 300kg...

oh no.. is aldy feeling heavy enough le. haha. but if wanna try any brand to recommend?

for local riding, liqui molly 10w50 (10w40 is semi syn) may be worth trying... that's if you don't mind molybdenum products. it's more expensive than maxima extra 10w40 but cheaper than motul 300v.

although w50, it's as light as the regular w40, shake the bottle and you can feel the difference. personally, i felt smooth engine and the acceleration is less sluggish :)

for long haul touring, i'ld recommend maxima extra 10w40 (think many of us are using) instead of the "lighter" liqui molly. went tongyum-land once with liqui molly, eo became dark colored when i change it after returning... hmm... or was it supposed to be like that? dunno leh, color of maxima post-tour eo not so dark :p

~

Trips:

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

That is the standard Givi Airflow for SW-T. Selling between $230 to $250 (est) at Mah.

If online is cheaper (with shipping), can consider.

http://www.omniaracing.net/product_info.php/givi-airflow-height-adjustable-wind-screen-transparent-honda-swt400-2009-p-673

Guys do u think this is a gd deal?

Its a fix n go thing and do not to use any adaptors and such am i right?

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

BUt

http://www.omniaracing.net/product_info.php/givi-airflow-height-adjustable-wind-screen-transparent-honda-swt400-2009-p-673

Guys do u think this is a gd deal?

Its a fix n go thing and do not to use any adaptors and such am i right?

Just need to remove ur current wind shield and put in the new one lo.

Unfortunately i'm still too tall for the givi air flow. I still felt the similar air turbluence on my helmet while travelling at high speed with the wind shield fully extended.

However the adjustable height is good when you are looking for more wind at low speed.

bro whats ur height? Me at 1.85.

haahaa but the stock windshield block alot of wind at low speed and makes my helmet inside very hot haahaa....

too big a wind shield has its own issues... wind sheer

it acts as a sail when you kenna crosswind and i still remember struggling to stay up while passing the hilly area from penang to ipoh; we were using stock windshields then. it was raining with strong side winds and our SWs could only "crawl" forward... scary :pity:

~

Trips:

bro whats ur height? Me at 1.85.

haahaa but the stock windshield block alot of wind at low speed and makes my helmet inside very hot haahaa....

i am 179. wah 185 ar. siao liao. sure the same.

it acts as a sail when you kenna crosswind and i still remember struggling to stay up while passing the hilly area from penang to ipoh; we were using stock windshields then. it was raining with strong side winds and our SWs could only "crawl" forward... scary :pity:

Haahaa.... if rain at northern thailand and ride the windshield lagi jia lat...... can feel bike like gonna take off. gonna install my wind deflectors once my bike is back haahaaa

after exchange rate is about 200.....

mah got ready stock? If got ready stock i don mind haahaa....

later call them and ask

The shipping is a killer.

For my jdm, i found a lot of online shop selling the givi shield for cheap 99us dollar,

but the shipping is helfty @150-200 us....zz

Honda ..................and nothing else