Ah Choong is a pro with Swings. I remember doing my forks with him after visiting 2 different shops he finally got it right.

If I remember correctly, His located at 2nd level Kaki Bukit Rd 2 of the big motor vehicle industrial complex, correct me if I'm wrong.

What u do with ur fork?

2007 - 2008 Honda Phatom 200

2008 - 2010 SYM GTS 200

2010 - ???? Honda Silverwing SW-T400

• Replies 22.2k

AC located at First East Center , 10 kaki Bukit Road 2. #01-xx (forget unit)

Just turn in building go straight on the left...

I did my servicing and front fork mod by him and now handling is lots better...

http://i51.photobucket.com/albums/f360/eric288/tesseract.jpg

I dUn rIdE fAst,

I rIdE wIth skIll~

does AC carrot newbie?

because i brought my colleague to AC before when he is located upstairs,

then change so many things and didint get to solved.

then the price charged also ex.

does AC carrot newbie?

In dealing with bikeshops n workshops, we must based on the assumption that they will carrot us

What u do with ur fork?

Had to add extra fork oil to have proper support as I'm a big size rider. It was quite a few years back but if I remember correctly when I got the bike the front fork kept bottoming out, went to 2 bike shops before AC and one added too much and my forks literally didn't move at all then the other went back to square one it was too soft. When I went to AC he did it PERFECTLY he made me sit and slowly gauged how much to to put in, the other shops just followed the "stock" amount for minimum and maximum amount of fork oil.

Jun 06 - Aug 06: Honda Phantom TA200 FV13**Y

Aug 06 - Oct 07: Yamaha RXZ FR41**U

Oct 07 - Nov 09: Honda CB400 Spec 3 FBC10**B

Nov 09 - Mar 11: Suzuki GSR400 FBC73**C

Mar 11 - Apr 11: Piaggio X9 Evo FX 42**U

Mar 11 - Jan 14: Honda Silverwing 400 FBC 53**J

Dec 13 - May 14: Toyota Wish SJU 48**L

May 14 - Jul 15: Maxsym 400i FBJ 36**G

Aug 15 - Current: Honda Silverwing SW-T400 FBG 29**R

does AC carrot newbie?

What is your friend riding?

i consider new to him as well, i only start ride scooter recently this 2 years..

i found his price is reasonable...

My ex scooter SYM Joymax300i 2014 and now SW-T400 which service by him when 1st bought till now.

Previously did ride GTS 200 and Xciting 300i... but didn't service at AC.

Still up to individual preference...

i have my own preference for diff mod/service/repairs at diff bike shop...

I dUn rIdE fAst,

I rIdE wIth skIll~

does AC carrot newbie?

before arriving at the carrot theory, must first find out how much other workshops are charging for the same amount of work done and parts changed.

if most of the workshops also charge around the same, then prices should be reasonable, not cheapest but reasonable... must compare apple to apple mah :p

there are shops that charge higher, some lower... but are you looking for the cheapest servicing?

no mech is god... means any mech (regardless how good he is) may have occasions where reworks are required, even BS's mechs make mistakes.

every mech tries their best to diagnose our SW's problems, then try their best to fix them... that's their livelihood.

did your friend go back to ah choong to rectify the problem?

i believe ah choong is helpful enough to make sure his work is fully completed.

i go to a few good workshops, including ACM... just sharing my 2 cents worth objectively :smile:

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

I only allow 3 person to service my bike... K & T (26 years), ACM (10 years) and myself.

Usually I don't discuss price with them. A little ex occasionally but I trust the works and good advice.

Sometimes adhoc minor rectifications are free.

11 - 25 Nov - 15D, Taiwan - Fly and Scoot

7 - 15 Apr - 9D, Phuket and Hatyai Songkran

17 Nov to 2 Dec - 16D, North East Thailand (Issan)

30 Mar to 7 Apr - 9D Korea/Jeju Fly and Ride

8 - 24 Nov - 16D, Mae Hong Son

http://thehouseofdaviz.blogspot.sg/

I only allow 3 person to service my bike... K & T (26 years), ACM (10 years) and myself.

Usually I don't discuss price with them. A little ex occasionally but I trust the works and good advice.

very agree wif SW9000

i can leave my bike at K&T and A.C (due to ride scooter) peacefully~

I dUn rIdE fAst,

I rIdE wIth skIll~

Ah choong has a good track record of servicing scooters and rooted back to the days when he was a mechanic at sunrise motor.

Over the years he has gain trust and made alot of friends in the scooter community.

He's good with scooters as he is a scooter rider himself too.

But he is not a god le... some issues really hard to tackle but everytime i have a issue with my bike, he always managed to solve it.

There are times when people says that somewhere is cheaper what he charges. To me I have never bargained with him.

I'll at most ask him how much it is first and then just do it and pay him later. Over the years, my scooter will only go to him and no one else no matter how much cheaper.

Hope this will help you

So next time I can just send to the 3rd mechanics ? Since HDB parking is free now .. right ???

To Give away: SHAD 33 Box with base bracket.

a very easy DIY that could cost as little as 8 bucks... all you need are:

+ a pair of car seat belt cushion (see pic below)

+ penknife or cutter to open up the cushion cover

+ 4 long cable ties (black or white depends on the color of your cover)

http://i01.i.aliimg.com/wsphoto/v0/629056047/Car-Seat-Belt-Padding-Shoulder-Cushion-Cover-for-Honda-1-Pairs-QQTQP0360.jpg

http://g03.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1wCPtHVXXXXbDXXXXq6xXFXXXu/2pcs-VOLVO-Carbon-Seat-Belt-Cover-Shoulder-Pad-S80-C30-C70-S60-V40-XC60.jpg

cut off the sewing and spread the cushion out like this below...

http://g02.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1SpuRGFXXXXb6XpXXq6xXFXXXz/221211624/HTB1SpuRGFXXXXb6XpXXq6xXFXXXz.jpg

wrap the spread cushion fully over the shocks and secure it the long cable ties, don't rely on the velcro as it will open up and the wraps become hazards.

i'ld recommend to buy those with kinda rubbery surface instead of fluffy-hairy ones to reduce water absorption into the cover. the plastiky surface can help repel some water.

how about wrapping plastic bags as inner layer to keep water out? hmmm... not so sure if that's a good idea.

while it may keep water out, it's also bad for ventilation, i.e. hard to dry if inside somehow gets wet :pity:

but if want funky, consider these lor :lol:

http://g02.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1hyuhHVXXXXcwXVXXq6xXFXXXH/Hot-Selling-Soft-Plush-font-b-Baby-b-font-font-b-Car-b-font-font-b.jpg

update: here's an example of DIY end product

http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv287/josephsbs/Silverwing/DSC_0713_zpsvsw3akdn.jpg

Check this out ...

* Rear Shocks Cover/Protector (DIY)

have fun :smile:

Edited by scoobydoo

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

What is your friend riding?

i consider new to him as well, i only start ride scooter recently this 2 years..

i found his price is reasonable...

My ex scooter SYM Joymax300i 2014 and now SW-T400 which service by him when 1st bought till now.

Previously did ride GTS 200 and Xciting 300i... but didn't service at AC.

Still up to individual preference...

i have my own preference for diff mod/service/repairs at diff bike shop...

he is riding sym gts

think he was saying idling issue but was asked to change clutch and all and labour charge of 170sgd

before arriving at the carrot theory, must first find out how much other workshops are charging for the same amount of work done and parts changed.

if most of the workshops also charge around the same, then prices should be reasonable, not cheapest but reasonable... must compare apple to apple mah :p

there are shops that charge higher, some lower... but are you looking for the cheapest servicing?

no mech is god... means any mech (regardless how good he is) may have occasions where reworks are required, even BS's mechs make mistakes.

every mech tries their best to diagnose our SW's problems, then try their best to fix them... that's their livelihood.

did your friend go back to ah choong to rectify the problem?

i believe ah choong is helpful enough to make sure his work is fully completed.

i go to a few good workshops, including ACM... just sharing my 2 cents worth objectively :smile:

i also know , no mech is god ,

have been sticking to one shop too , but i know the shop i frquent not scooter expert and also waiting time is damn long lol.

i worse , onli 1 shop all the way since riding days . and now ah chong move to even nearer tothe shop i go

he is riding sym gts

think he was saying idling issue but was asked to change clutch and all and labour charge of 170sgd

i also know , no mech is god ,

have been sticking to one shop too , but i know the shop i frquent not scooter expert and also waiting time is damn long lol.

i worse , onli 1 shop all the way since riding days . and now ah chong move to even nearer tothe shop i go

I been riding USED GTS and same as 1 of my friend (brand new GTS), been repair for the radiator over heat almost every month and couldn't solve.

end up sell the bike... those who ride GTS before might face same issue if i not wrong.

as for idling, maybe indeed is clutch issue and 170 is cheap.. i change at 220 ( not at AC) .. lol...

I dUn rIdE fAst,

I rIdE wIth skIll~

Reminder... Tonight no Meeting.

HOM Flag Bearers going on SG50 Ride to Danok.

Leaving at 4am, so need to sleep early.

1x GW

2x SW

1x Tmax5.3

1x Burgy6

1x Hornet6

Edited by SW9000

a very easy DIY that could cost as little as 8 bucks... all you need are:

+ a pair of car seat belt cushion (see pic below)

+ penknife or cutter to open up the cushion cover

+ 4 long cable ties (black or white depends on the color of your cover)

http://i01.i.aliimg.com/wsphoto/v0/629056047/Car-Seat-Belt-Padding-Shoulder-Cushion-Cover-for-Honda-1-Pairs-QQTQP0360.jpg

http://g03.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1wCPtHVXXXXbDXXXXq6xXFXXXu/2pcs-VOLVO-Carbon-Seat-Belt-Cover-Shoulder-Pad-S80-C30-C70-S60-V40-XC60.jpg

cut off the sewing and spread the cushion out like this below...

http://g02.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1SpuRGFXXXXb6XpXXq6xXFXXXz/221211624/HTB1SpuRGFXXXXb6XpXXq6xXFXXXz.jpg

wrap the spread cushion fully over the shocks and secure it the long cable ties, don't rely on the velcro as it will open up and the wraps become hazards.

i'ld recommend to buy those with kinda rubbery surface instead of fluffy-hairy ones to reduce water absorption into the cover. the plastiky surface can help repel some water.

how about wrapping plastic bags as inner layer to keep water out? hmmm... not so sure if that's a good idea.

while it may keep water out, it's also bad for ventilation, i.e. hard to dry if inside somehow gets wet :pity:

but if want funky, consider these lor :lol:

http://g02.a.alicdn.com/kf/HTB1hyuhHVXXXXcwXVXXq6xXFXXXH/Hot-Selling-Soft-Plush-font-b-Baby-b-font-font-b-Car-b-font-font-b.jpg

update: here's an example of DIY end product

http://i692.photobucket.com/albums/vv287/josephsbs/Silverwing/DSC_0713_zpsvsw3akdn.jpg

Check this out ...

* Rear Shocks Cover/Protector (DIY)

have fun :smile:

Great idea, must get waterproof non fabric type to prevent dirt/sand from sticking when wet. Thanks alot bro.

Just got my SW-T and notice its super super stiff man, when go over bumps damn painful. I'm a very big rider and on my ex bikes and ex swing i usually set rear shock preload to maximum, 6. This new SW-T only set at 3 and its super stiff, wife complain it hurts while riding every small bump feels so massive, any idea if the shocks got issue or should I lower the preload? Like bit amazing man 3 too stiff LOL

What I learned from internet was... for new shocks, get someone heavy and bounce on it from the pillion seat a few times to 'season it'.

I did that for all my shocks.

On the other hand... could it be too soft that you bottom out too easily?

What I learned from internet was... for new shocks, get someone heavy and bounce on it from the pillion seat a few times to 'season it'.

I did that for all my shocks.

On the other hand... could it be too soft that you bottom out too easily?

That's what I thought, but this bike has 30k on it from previous owner maybe bottom out? Guess will try set to 6 and see how is it ah. Also the front sometimes when hit bumpy surface quite hard. That one confirm not bottom out cause my ex silverwing had some issues where mech never fill enough fork oil and I felt the *tak tak* of the front fork bottoming out.

Swt can set to 6 meh.. I tot only 5..

2007 - 2008 Honda Phatom 200

2008 - 2010 SYM GTS 200

2010 - ???? Honda Silverwing SW-T400

Swt can set to 6 meh.. I tot only 5..

Ah sorry, its 5. So I actually set it to 2 which is 1 step down and it was still rock hard.

During the weekend went in to JB and bought a good load of estimated 30-40kg's of groceries. So it was me my wife and a full load of stuff, the ride got even worse. So decided to push it all the way up to 5 and it was slightly better. My best assumption is it was bottoming out overtime we hit a bump or hump. Right now my main focus is to have a more comfortable ride, the front forks also seem to be quite stiff its like the dampening is super hard when hit the bump its like *BAM* bone shattering liddat.

Will changing to Hagon rear and Hyper Pro front give me a smoother ride? And what are the total costs for them? IIRC Hyper Pro fronts with installation is $280 right?