Thx bro. Have given up the idea on buying an ESI. lol

well my buget is ard 1k per month lor. 1 k as in including installments, fuel, road tax, parking, insurance. so looks like can only afford to buy kia rio, or hyundai avante...haiz...actually prefer honda jazz/fit...

installment 300-400

fuel 200+

parking 70+

rd tax 700+ per year = ard 58+ per mth

insurance 1700+ per year.. = ard 141+ per mth

plus minus ard 900+ per month lor

but insurance normally is ard dec, thats when i get bonus..lol luckily my company still doing well despite the recession. so bonus still have :)

If you are looking for a really cheap car for fun yet reasonably fast, I'd suggest the Honda Fit 1.5L Otherwise, the Suzuki Swift Sport. Plenty of stuffs in the market to play with. Unless you have a heat for really fast and truely budget Japanese cars, go for the WRX STI. Not the standard WRX. It's the STI. Basically you are at the acme. Further elevation will mean more $$$ and lesser doors. Or if you are intersted to go Continental?

Car modification is never cheap. And to do it right requires some effort to understand the technical aspects and also vehicle modification is collateral. One 'upgrade' may lead to the compromisation of another. Then you will have to deal with it and it never stops. Unless you want to spend... $$$ That's why I always tell those who spend hordes of money and try to make their WRX work like STI 'why not buy an STI in the first place?' :lol:

If you want R1 performance, then buy an R1... If you want a fast car, buy a fast car... :lol:

• Replies 50

If you are looking for a really cheap car for fun yet reasonably fast, I'd suggest the Honda Fit 1.5L Otherwise, the Suzuki Swift Sport. Plenty of stuffs in the market to play with. Unless you have a heat for really fast and truely budget Japanese cars, go for the WRX STI. Not the standard WRX. It's the STI. Basically you are at the acme. Further elevation will mean more $$$ and lesser doors. Or if you are intersted to go Continental?

Car modification is never cheap. And to do it right requires some effort to understand the technical aspects and also vehicle modification is collateral. One 'upgrade' may lead to the compromisation of another. Then you will have to deal with it and it never stops. Unless you want to spend... $$$ That's why I always tell those who spend hordes of money and try to make their WRX work like STI 'why not buy an STI in the first place?' :lol:

If you want R1 performance, then buy an R1... If you want a fast car, buy a fast car... :lol:

haha no lah bro..not looking for a fast car. just a normal family car for my wife to drive to work and to ferry my kid from school. Dun want my wife to ride a bike la..so buy car let her drive lor. i will still continue to ride my S4.

Thats why looking at Korean cars. :)

å·±æ‰€ä¸æ¬²ï¼Œå‹¿æ–½äºŽäºº

Thx bro. Have given up the idea on buying an ESI. lol

well my buget is ard 1k per month lor. 1 k as in including installments, fuel, road tax, parking, insurance. so looks like can only afford to buy kia rio, or hyundai avante...haiz...actually prefer honda jazz/fit...

installment 300-400

fuel 200+

parking 70+

rd tax 700+ per year = ard 58+ per mth

insurance 1700+ per year.. = ard 141+ per mth

plus minus ard 900+ per month lor

but insurance normally is ard dec, thats when i get bonus..lol luckily my company still doing well despite the recession. so bonus still have :)

hey bro, gd to hear that u keep it within your budget for your selection. You can always stick with the lower end before you getting performance type.

haha no lah bro..not looking for a fast car. just a normal family car for my wife to drive to work and to ferry my kid from school. Dun want my wife to ride a bike la..so buy car let her drive lor. i will still continue to ride my S4.

KDM car is decent man, only some cheap plastic but HU and other stuffs can cover up the bad points.

Then u shld look at new cars. ESI is never cheap to maintain and Never meant for newbies who just using for transport and ferry kids. Stick to low cc jap or korean new car bah. Btw, you may be deter to bu car if you see see your insurance quote nowadays.

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

the esi unless the previous owner got take care .. if not also no no ,

now my back door cannotopen and window cannot wind down .

i aks previous owner go check that out for me...

For naked machine for tuning. Again... if I have 8K for the ESI, I will keep the money and top it up for a used Caterham. The rationale here is a fast nude car without the electronics. With only raw mechanical skills. A car that has to travel on the road now comes with a different benchmark the old ESI cannot satisfy anymore. At least to my standard.

Indeed... you hear from everyone.

?!?!? i got a qn though.. TS wanted a normal car for normal use.. why caterham sia? SG got meh?? and is it suitable for TS's spouse?

annnddddddddd....

i would think u shld go for maybe a small hatch like kia rio, used honda jazz, or a picanto lor. Since u are giving it to yr wife, just a small one that is good enough to go market, fetch the kids forgiving to drive then ok liao.

i think u can find those used Jazz or fit with low mileage.. or vios with low mileage.. just gotta take time though.

or if you dont mind ahpek image.. a used altis/sunny is good. but people told me sunny has terrible FC

There is no replacement for displacement, except for Ah Seng

?!?!? i got a qn though.. TS wanted a normal car for normal use.. why caterham sia? SG got meh?? and is it suitable for TS's spouse?

annnddddddddd....

i would think u shld go for maybe a small hatch like kia rio, used honda jazz, or a picanto lor. Since u are giving it to yr wife, just a small one that is good enough to go market, fetch the kids forgiving to drive then ok liao.

i think u can find those used Jazz or fit with low mileage.. or vios with low mileage.. just gotta take time though.

or if you dont mind ahpek image.. a used altis/sunny is good. but people told me sunny has terrible FC

nah... Just trying to be expressive against the ESI. :lol: The TS will know what to get don't worry.

haha...yep I want buy kia rio for her..but she prefer honda fit...

kns...fit not economic to my wallet leh...lol

haha...yep I want buy kia rio for her..but she prefer honda fit...

kns...fit not economic to my wallet leh...lol

What is the update for your budget now?

same lor.. ard 1 k per mth lor. i earn 3k+ plus a month...haiz..

Aren't you intending to pay a downpayment?

same lor.. ard 1 k per mth lor. i earn 3k+ plus a month...haiz..

your wife working?

if not, $3k plus, dont buy car and get yourself into trouble.

freaking market is bad. job cuts are not over yet.

watch what you spend.

just honest advice

your wife working?

if not, $3k plus, dont buy car and get yourself into trouble.

freaking market is bad. job cuts are not over yet.

watch what you spend.

just honest advice

ya she wrkin..earning ard same as me.

actually we discussed and decided to buy a family car.

my initial intention was to buy an OPC. But since my wife will be driving it,

her work timing not suitable..

thanks for your advice. :)

ya...5k lor.

My standard of downpayment for cars is always a minimum payment of 30% and a maximum loan period of 7 years. If the amount is not affordable, I will not buy it.

Some of my peers driving the same car as me spends about $900+ a month on installment alone. Later I found out that he paid merely a 10% downpayment and stretched it as a 10 year loan. I was absolutely taken aback. My monthly installment is merely 2/3 of his and even my loan period is only 7 years.

3 years down the road when the newer models start coming in and his income is annually increased, he feels the urge to replace the car, but realises that he cannot do it without topping up the cash. All because of an outstanding loan too much left uncleared. If he succumbs to his temptation, he buys the new car on par or upgrade, he will increase his outstanding loan. with such, it is as good as digging a deeper hole to cover the older shallower hole.

Think twice my friend.

Hie bro, just would like to share something. My wife works at C&C and so there are some things she told me bout them cars. Kia Picanto is small and cheap but she told me that many cars come to them with complains repair-wise. I honestly think that a Kia Rio is a good choice. Drove it to KL b4. How bout Suzuki Swift 1.3? Honda Fit 1.3?

I want to see the world and i'm pretty sure the world wants to show a little something to me.

temptations temptations arh. new car interest ard 2.18% from Citibank, used car 3.25%. Must scout ard, i think prices will continue to go down upto this June, hold back longer abit lah. Visit carmart regularly, spot those unsold cars, marked mileage, ownership, the longer they stay unsold, the better chances of bargaining down the price. Only goto reputable dealers hor.

My standard of downpayment for cars is always a minimum payment of 30% and a maximum loan period of 7 years. If the amount is not affordable, I will not buy it.

Some of my peers driving the same car as me spends about $900+ a month on installment alone. Later I found out that he paid merely a 10% downpayment and stretched it as a 10 year loan. I was absolutely taken aback. My monthly installment is merely 2/3 of his and even my loan period is only 7 years.

3 years down the road when the newer models start coming in and his income is annually increased, he feels the urge to replace the car, but realises that he cannot do it without topping up the cash. All because of an outstanding loan too much left uncleared. If he succumbs to his temptation, he buys the new car on par or upgrade, he will increase his outstanding loan. with such, it is as good as digging a deeper hole to cover the older shallower hole.

Think twice my friend.

hmn...scary...haiz...

According to my fren SE, he have customer paying full cash amount up to 30-40k for a resale car.

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

According to my fren SE, he have customer paying full cash amount up to 30-40k for a resale car.

quite common and is good practice becos $30 to $40k is very little for car.

eg. MS put that kind of money as downpayment already.

eg. many of the bikers here put that kind of money just to buy a bike .

will you cash a ferrari out? if happens 1 day you gonna get one?

I'll make sure i'm rich enough to buy it in cash before thinking about it.

but nope, i'm not into ferraris. A Porsche much more likely.

for cars above $200k I likely wont pay full cash, maybe i'll choose to pay 60 - 70%.

Just a psychological thingy.

but if we are simply talking about bread and butter cars under $100k, I definitely pay full cash

Edited by Throttle