Sorry for the late reply. Had some unfirmed plans for that day so could not give an answer then. :cheeky: Anyway I have added my reply to the list already (previous post)... See ya guys there!! :smile:

Yo Jleo, i paid $340 for a pair which included installation of my engine guards and reliable service. hope this helps in your search for a good deal yeah! :bounce:

Palary, I am not really a writer, but i will still try to put a short write up soon okie? You heading for 3NCR? Have fun man! Should you have time, try out the "long boat" ride to Koh Kai, Koh Phi Phi and some other Kohs! :faint: dont forget the sixpack too! :D

STOC#2963.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/733128425_940c3cc0c5_m.jpghttp://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3539/2228/320/P1020266.jpg

• Replies 12.6k

• Custom

• SiLvErGhOsT

• mctan

• Heyrul77

Originally posted by Euro@Aug 26 2004, 01:07 AM

Palary, I am not really a writer, but i will still try to put a short write up soon okie? You heading for 3NCR? Have fun man! Should you have time, try out the "long boat" ride to Koh Kai, Koh Phi Phi and some other Kohs! :faint: dont forget the sixpack too! :D

Yep, can't wait to ride up to Krabi. :goodluck: :goodluck:

Date: Sat 280804

Meetup place:The spot behind Kallang Mac

Meetup time: 2130hrs onwards

0) Palary (preparing for trip)cannot make it.

0) OMD - Will be in KL for a wedding over the weekend.(bugger escaped!)

1) Custom(will be there at about 2300hrs)

2) Casperxxx

3) Oxygen

4) Haroze

5) Jleo

6) Sunny

7) Euro (after 1030pm)

8) Cougar (was informed)

9) Silverghost (be there late after attending wedding dinner) sms/keep in touch

whereabouts!

10) Eng Siong(I'll try him)

Agenda!-handle bars extension, Cruise control, 3m vest, last trip discussion, tyres...etc.

After gathering tock co*k, later hit a spot for supper...Okay guys!!!! :hungry:

ç”Ÿå‘½çš„å¯æ‚²åœ¨æ–¼å®ƒä¸èƒ½é‡ä¾†ï¼Œ

å¯å–œçš„æ˜¯å®ƒä¸éœ€è¦é‡ä¾†.

Date : Sat 28/08/04

Meetup place :The spot behind Kallang Mc donald

Time : 2130hrs onwards

0) Palary (Running-In/warming-up for Krabi)

0) OMD - weekend getting married ,he,he,he...(another P.Ramlee!)

0) Oxygen-Overseas? On Plane,ship or Diversion?

1) Casperxxx

2) Custom-be there about 2300hrs

3) Haroze

4) Jleo

5) Sunny

6) Euro (after 1030pm)

7) Cougar (was informed)

8) Silverghost-sms/keep in touch whereabouts! 2300++most likely.

9) Eng Siong (Jleo- try to contact him)

Those names in Bold lettering are coming...and those unbold lettering are :nono: 50/50 chances for them to turn up...

If all turn up should be wonderful, it's okay we have 2 new members adding to the Diversion family.

Agenda!-handle bars extension, Cruise control, 3m vest, last trip discussion, tyres.etc...!

After gathering tock co*k, later hit a spot for supper...Okay guys!!!! :hungry:

Silverghost. o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

ThE SpIrIt StIlL LiVeS On "Diversion XJ9s"

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Since so many can only make it later, why not meet later so those that do arrive on time do not need to wait excessive long....

As such i propose we meetup at 2230 instead??? No one has any breakfast dates on Sun morning i assume???

Time : 2230hrs??? onwards

0) OMD - weekend getting married ,he,he,he...(another P.Ramlee!)

0) Oxygen-Overseas? On Plane,ship or Diversion?

1) Casperxxx

2) Custom-be there about 2300hrs

3) Haroze

4) Jleo

5) Sunny

6) Euro (after 1030pm)

7) Cougar (was informed)

9) Eng Siong (was informed)

Those names in Bold lettering are coming...and those unbold lettering are 50/50 chances for them to turn up...

If all turn up should be wonderful, it's okay we have 2 new members adding to the Diversion family.

Agenda!-handle bars extension, Cruise control, 3m vest, last trip discussion, tyres.etc...!

After gathering tock co*k, later hit a spot for supper...Okay guys!!!!

Time : 2230hrs??? onwards

0) OMD - KL.......here I come!!!

0) Oxygen - Overseas? On Plane, ship or Diversion?

1) Casperxxx

2) Custom - be there about 2300hrs

3) Haroze

4) Jleo

5) Sunny

6) Euro (after 1030pm)

7) Cougar (was informed)

9) Eng Siong (was informed)

Those names in Bold lettering are coming...and those unbold lettering are 50/50 chances for them to turn up...

After gathering tock co*k, later hit a spot for supper...Okay guys!!!!

Have fun guys................

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

-------------------> So Little Time

-----------------------------> It's A Vmax Thing.

hi guys, have some questions. Aiming for a Diversion or Fjr.

Hope u guys can answer.

1)Is the top speed of diversion 220km/h?

2)Does it take long from 180km/h to reach 200km/h or 220km/h?

3)Is the bike really hot when stuck in jam? since its air cooled.

4)Does it come normally with small size panners which cannot hold full face helmets?

Thanks guys and ride safe.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid93/pc583423301d0eeaec1cdc614deb298dc/fa468109.jpg

Guys, a really nice meetup. Though had to wait till almost 11 b4 pple start arriving

Those that attended...

1) Sunny

2) JLeo

3) Euro

4) Haroze

5) O2 n partner

6) Ngoo

7) SilverGhost

8) Custom

Not to mention the other guys(Red BB n ZX11)

Rendevous point was at Kallang Mac, hang out till ard 0130. Those that were still there later headed out to Jalan Kayu for drinks before ajourning for the day...

Overall a nice tok cok session as we managed to talk abt the stuff as stated in agenda(macham pro sia...:cheeky: )

Also in this time when i have extra time on hand, i'd like to suggest a short 1 day trip again to Melaka wif a twist of cos.

Intention is to take the western costal trunk route from GP Esso all the way past Muar to Melaka.. Now the issue is when?

May i suggest some time in the range of sept 6 - 12... Can any of u guys make it be it weekdays or weekends?? Lets have a min of 3 to make it more enjoyable...

Any takers??

Cheers!!

Hello guys....

As mentioned on our last talk c*** at Jalan Kayu, I'm keen to go on the 12th Sept...!

The rout as discussed was from Gelang Patah up to Pontian trunk road and all the way to Melacca. As going back journey it will be the NSH.....So Jleo I'm on...count me in...:thumb:

There is another way to go to Pontian if you want to avoid Gelang Patah...can talk later regarding that.. ::bounce:

It is nice to know that those of you put some effort, turning up for the meeting even thou, next day some of you got to wake up early for work...thanks man this is what always makes a gathering(meeting) successfull.

I was occupied for the whole day too but as I said we are a only small bunch of divvy so to make anything successfull all of us just need to put a small effort/sacrifies thats all....

Good to know that there are new members join the divvy family Ngoo,Euro and Sunny... :lovestruck:

There will be a one day trip to "Malacca" . Most likely on "12th Sept" Sunday timing will be given later, where to meet up and leave...

Those of you are coming you know what to do... :bounce:

Silverghost.o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Nice to hear that you all had a good time at the meetup. As for the Malacca trip, I am out. Currently, I can only do trips during Saturdays or weekdays only.

FYI, I did the trunk road from Malacca back to Singapore recently. Just bear in mind that the roads are nothing near to the conditions on the East Coast. Be prepared for poorly constructed roads, no markings and detours here and there. Certain stretches are quite nice though. Traffic is a little heavier than the East Coast.

Till then.....................Ride Your Limit and Limit Your Ride.

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Any other things brought up during the recent meetup, apart from the next day ride?

What happened to CasperXXX?

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Originally posted by Zon@Aug 28 2004, 01:34 AM

hi guys, have some questions. Aiming for a Diversion or Fjr.

Hope u guys can answer.

4)Does it come normally with small size panners which cannot hold full face helmets?

Thanks guys and ride safe.

Bro Zon,

Your Questions are?

Q1) Top speed 220km/h 'Yes'...why you want to go so fast?- S'pore 90km/h M'sia 110km/h only...unless play punk with the authority or your horn grows...why TP choose this? able to hit top speed in a short distance and a problem free bike...!

Q2) 'No' roll on during riding able to reach 220km/hrs in a short distance...or some other tatics some riders use..

Q3) 'No' the really hot part is the two steel cans(exhaust pipes) engine is design to withstand the jam. unlikely some water cooled engine(bikes) normally the fans turn on or too long the engine(auto cut off).

Q4) 'No' there are two sizes -normal pannier which most of us use(only can take 1/2 almost 3/4 not open face helmet) larger pannier can take a FF helmet and your wardrobe(like Jleo's).

Diversions are no more in production last was on "03 DEC", now there are only 2nd hands if you can lay a hand on one good luck to you...

Why we choose diversion -there are good old things which you cannot get over on latest bikes.

People always gives a second look at Diversion when they are on the road or even park!

About the FJR please go to their thread they will explain to you in details...

Silverghost.o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by SiLvErGhOsT@Aug 30 2004, 01:03 PM

Q1) Top speed 220km/h 'Yes'...why you want to go so fast?- S'pore 90km/h M'sia 110km/h only...unless play punk with the authority or your horn grows...why TP choose this? able to hit top speed in a short distance and a problem free bike...!

Q2) 'No' roll on during riding able to reach 220km/hrs in a short distance...or some other tatics some riders use..

Q3) 'No' the really hot part is the two steel cans(exhaust pipes) engine is design to withstand the jam. unlikely some water cooled engine(bikes) normally the fans turn on or too long the engine(auto cut off).

Q4) 'No' there are two sizes -normal pannier which most of us use(only can take 1/2 almost 3/4 not open face helmet) larger pannier can take a FF helmet and your wardrobe(like Jleo's).

Diversions are no more in production last was on "03 DEC", now there are only 2nd hands if you can lay a hand on one good luck to you...

Why we choose diversion -there are good old things which you cannot get over on latest bikes.

People always gives a second look at Diversion when they are on the road or even park!

About the FJR please go to their thread they will explain to you in details...

Silverghost.o_O

Thanks for the answers!

Reason for asking due to most of my frens riding FJR.

If diversion cannot reach 220km or takes a long time in reaching, I will have problems in catching up when touring.

Not that they speed all the way, but there are times when u need the extra speed/pickup to overtake the traffic.

Reason for considering is the price and maintance.

Both bikes 2nd hand ard $11k-$13k for diversion and $16k-18k for FJR.

Price is a big factor as FJR cost 50% more than diversion...

I actually read thru the whole thread, took me sometime man.

Yes, i do know diversion is out of productionm but jus saw a 2nd hand at Unity, malay owner sold to bike shop, ard $13k.

There are diversions out there... jus need to look harder!

BTW, anyone install the extra large panners? How much does it cost?

Thanks again for taking the time to answer.

http://www.imagestation.com/picture/sraid93/pc583423301d0eeaec1cdc614deb298dc/fa468109.jpg
Originally posted by Zon@Aug 30 2004, 02:30 PM

Thanks for the answers!

If diversion cannot reach 220km or takes a long time in reaching, I will have problems in catching up when touring.

Not that they speed all the way, but there are times when u need the extra speed/pickup to overtake the traffic.

Reason for considering is the price and maintance.

Both bikes 2nd hand ard $11k-$13k for diversion and $16k-18k for FJR.

Price is a big factor as FJR cost 50% more than diversion...

I actually read thru the whole thread, took me sometime man.

Yes, i do know diversion is out of productionm but jus saw a 2nd hand at Unity, malay owner sold to bike shop, ard $13k.

There are diversions out there... jus need to look harder!

BTW, anyone install the extra large panners? How much does it cost?

Thanks again for taking the time to answer.

For diversions of FT/U and above, it usually comes with the pair of original panniers. Most are of the 33L size. If u do want the bigger panniers like mine 47L, it can be found in Looi's and it cost in excess of 1k from what i last saw. So if u do wanna get the bigger one u'll have 2 sets of panniers.

A point to note, with the enlarged panniers, the width of the rear is 3/4 of a nissan sunny. Lane splitting is still possible even at CTE peak traffic but side clearances bet cars are usually less than 2inches per side(no joke).

With regards to costs, the reason why most choose this bike is the cost of upkeep. Esp of someone my age, the difference in a 1300 n a 900 is quite significant(road tax n insurance alone). Other than that the running costs of the FJR is alittle higher as compared. If u are one who's budget concious, the cumulative difference in the mid-long term is not a figure u can jus waive away.

Simply a Diversion is capable a tourer till about 200km/h. However if speed touring(>200km/h) is ur cup of tea, then the answer is clear, if u can afford it.

Cheers!!

Originally posted by Zon@Aug 30 2004, 02:30 PM

Don't get a Bike just to keep up with others....

Get a Bike that suit your riding style....

I've been touring with some of the Big bikers, some of them enjoy touring at 180 kph all the way from Singapore to Thailand. Some of them with their Beemies are going at 200 kph..There is no way u can maintain that speed if it is not your style.

But as for me, 130 - 150 is the confortable speed which I'm considerably alert and yet enjoying the ride. Thus the Divvy serves it's purpose. Having the extra power when needed. I've tested it with full load of luggage and a pillion. And it is still able to keep up with the ST11s.

Originally posted by OMD@Aug 30 2004, 12:16 PM

Nice to hear that you all had a good time at the meetup. As for the Malacca trip, I am out. Currently, I can only do trips during Saturdays or weekdays only.

OMD,

Don't be dishearted :weep: I know your shift clashes we see how was the outcome. As for Sunday I know most of you need to go work the next day.!

Maybe the trip can be bring forward say Saturday 11th September 04...lets wait and see what others are saying and how many are interested to go, got another week to go...! :smile:

Silverghost.o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by OMD@Aug 30 2004, 12:16 PM

What happened to CasperXXX?

Yo Bros..dun worry I'm still alive...just bought a cloth cap (similiar to Jleo) except mine is with tieing at the back from Biketech21 and Clover 1780 (Black) over the weekend.Tested it for a very short trip to Kulai...only ONE word...SHIOK! The cloth cap greatly reduces the pressure on my ears when wearing the full-faced. The Clover jacket resists wind and makes the riding more enjoyable. Hee .... shiok sia ... nvr regret buying ....

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

Originally posted by jleo@Aug 30 2004, 04:07 PM

A point to note, with the enlarged panniers, the width of the rear is 3/4 of a nissan sunny. Lane splitting is still possible even at CTE peak traffic but side clearances bet cars are usually less than 2inches per side(no joke).

With regards to costs, the reason why most choose this bike is the cost of upkeep. Esp of someone my age, the difference in a 1300 n a 900 is quite significant(road tax n insurance alone). Other than that the running costs of the FJR is alittle higher as compared. If u are one who's budget concious, the cumulative difference in the mid-long term is not a figure u can jus waive away.

, if u can afford it.

Cheers!!

I dun mind waiting in traffic, cos my current bike with side boxes sometimes also cannot squeeze thru...

For speed wise, I am comfortable with 180km/h. Cos i go at this speed with my current Impulse(similar to S4).

As for the Insurance, both 1300cc and 900cc are the same! Funny rite?! Cos the rest of the factors still the same. eg Yamaha.

For my age 26, NTUC 2nd party is ard $680, with NCD of 20%. dun dare to ask about 1st party, sure over 1K...

Only diff is the road tax. Diversion is ard $240(forgot actual amount) wherelse FJR is $500. However, all this adds up... including the instaments, interest. Really going to burn big hole if i get FJR.

Thanks for all the help rendered!

Hi guys!

Was busy the last 2 days...but i still like to thank you guys for that meet up! You all are some really nice excellent and funny... (like silverghost always say) buggers! :D Really like the after market accessories and customised engine guards and/with fog-lights some you had!

As for the 11 of Sept... (oh! 9-11), afraid i wont be able to join the ride... got to work! Not sure abt 12 sept too... but if i can make it, sure to inform! :cheeky:

:popcorn:

STOC#2963.

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1365/733128425_940c3cc0c5_m.jpghttp://photos1.blogger.com/blogger/3539/2228/320/P1020266.jpg

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Aug 30 2004, 11:40 PM

Yo Bros..dun worry I'm still alive...just bought a cloth cap (similiar to Jleo) except mine is with tieing at the back from Biketech21 and Clover 1780 (Black) over the weekend.Tested it for a very short trip to Kulai...only ONE word...SHIOK! The cloth cap greatly reduces the pressure on my ears when wearing the full-faced. The Clover jacket resists wind and makes the riding more enjoyable. Hee .... shiok sia ... nvr regret buying ....

Casper,

Whoa.......go riding to Kulai never chio people one!!!! You got another secret Diversion group is it? :D

BTW, how much for the head scarf and jacket?

From,

OMD

So Many Roads

---------> So Much Power

Originally posted by OMD@Aug 31 2004, 05:38 AM

Casper,

Whoa.......go riding to Kulai never chio people one!!!! You got another secret Diversion group is it? :D

Hi OMD,

Casper went with is majong kaki's he,he,he..."No" diversion kaki.! How? about the trip, I took leave on Sept the 11th on sat....So set, I am "on" to malacca.

:bouncefire:Malacca (1day-short trip) 11th of September '04:bouncefire:

Okay you buggers Please update!

1) Jleo -trip boss must "on" No Excuse! or your panniers go missing..he,he,he...

2) Haroze-on

3) Silverghost-on

4) OMD-on

5) Casperxxx-?

6) Gnoo-?

7) Euro -pending

8) Oxygen-?

9) Sunny-pending

10)Palary-pending

11)Custom-?

I hope most of you can turn up and make this short trip wonderfull.! :lovestruck: any buggers I missed out, sorry please fill in...!

Silverghost.o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Originally posted by Casper4XXX@Aug 30 2004, 11:40 PM

Yo Casper,

It is not call 'cloth cap' Bandena how much did you bought.? When I see Jleo's it always remind me of those colourful swimming cap...sorry jleo. :sweat:

As I told you the clover jacket is great and fits like a glove...It not hot and not cold just nice..Did you bougtht the back protector too???

If you have the ca$h, you can buy the Knee protector the one 'Palary' using, it is about $55-$60 can wear it over your jeans comes with velco straps...it's usefull after (raining or night traveling) riding as our knees are exposed to the element direct wind/ blast . At least it keep the knee warm and protected...at later stage(when become old buggers) no knee :weep: problem right..!

Silverghost. o_O

DIvErTeD SpiRit...

safe riding yOu BuGgErs

... SiLvErGhOsT...

Yo.... really nice to have meet some of the guys Sunny, Euro and some of the friends. I guess I have miss Gnoo....... coz left early!!!!!!! Hope to see you guys more often in the gathering ok!!!!!!!!!!

Jleo.......the handle bar is s$212.67 only.....ok!!!!!!!

I have forgotten to let you guys know....... the tee 2nd batch is on the way. Really simple wording this time!!!!!!!!! Let you guys see when meet up again ok!!!!!!!!!

I might not be able to comfirm on the coming trip.....coz more test coming up...... can only let you guys know when the week draw nearer ok!!!!!!!!

You become successful the moment you start moving toward a worthwhile goal.

Originally posted by OMD@Aug 31 2004, 05:38 AM

BTW, how much for the head scarf and jacket?

Haha..actually the kulai trip was kindda of a last min thing..bought the jacket eager to test it mah..happens that day was the divvy meetup...too late to jio u guys liao..didnt know how to get to kulai intially..asked directions from a ST11 friend, luckily he gave me clear and concise directions..the "zhicha" (chinese food) there is realli good and cheap...

i paid S$22 for the scarf (i call it 'turban' actually) and S$300 for the jacket.

Gg broke liao..next month insurance and road tax due..bout S$900 for insurance and S$288 for road tax..on top of that HL just called me today and said the stay for the crowling has arrived (S$225)..just when i dun intend to change cos got used to the squeeky sounds..it came..no choice but to buy it and keep as spare instead..

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg