amzingly, after me posting here, TA just called me a few mins ago.. explaining that if i wanted an already done up bike i cld get one coz anyway i bought mine at a super cheap price.. but too bad i already paid a small some n kinda trouble some to go thru all the paper work..

but honestly, i felt better knowing that she called me with the intention on helping me get a better bike n find alternative ways to get rid of my current junk bike.. but its just kinda too bad for me i guess..

well at least now i dont have to wear a mask if i wanna go there.. haha.. n hopefully she dont nag at me abt wat i do that she tink is wrong.. having my mom nag at me is educationally gd enuf..

-death is a promise from god at birth-

-everyone dies, but only some lived-

• Replies 110

See what I mean :D

I think most of the regulars don't encounter the same problems that newbies report at TA... It's a very happy customer experience for me.

Vespa PX200Disc ------The Pinaccle of Classic Scootering------

www vesporeanfaq:) wikispaces:) com

Sorry. i see that it is rather your mistake. Its bad business ethics that is bound to leave you burned.

1. You dumped your cash there before anything else.. those stuffs you mentioned would barely cost 500.

2. If you are a seasoned rider, you would know that your gears fault could only be identified if they open it up, test ride or you ask them to.

3. When asked to do a gearbox overhaul, you said yes without checking the price first.

Whats there to complain now?

You want your money back? its already done. And they offer you the remainder as credit.

there is a cheap paintwork with good reviews in the advertisers thread.

no point rubbing it in anymore... he/she has already acknowledge watever has happened and trying to move on..

but honestly i tink tong aik need to spare some thought for newbies n not make them feel like sh1t.. its better to offer customers gd service then complain abt other shops bad service..

See what I mean :D

I think most of the regulars don't encounter the same problems that newbies report at TA... It's a very happy customer experience for me.

haha.. the first time i saw u there i thought u were a mechanic.. eating ur subway takeout if i remembered correctly.. :cheeky:

:: useless to cry over spilt milk now, ain't it...? simply said for the benefit of everyone here: go patronize the shop that you are comfortable with, and be professional when it comes to dealing with money issues. shop owners tend to criticize other shops, but at the end of the day, the final decision is all up to you. regardless how yada-yada that shop-owner may be, always demand for a black & white, because you have to right to it. now, just move on and get your arse to those shops recommended, but trust me, even though you're comfy with a particular shop... there will always be a loose nut somewhere, somehow. all up to individuals. ::

sad to say .. i give up vespa bcos of tk too selling access to expensive especially alloy block..

hmmmm, so how much should they charge you for the block?

I'll definitely highly recommend hendra.

He's super understanding but yet his job is of tip-top quality. There is once he rejected me for giving him money, because at that that point of time my bike keep making problems, and i mean different but not the same problems.

He told me, " even if get your money, i wont still be rich". saaaaapppppp. But yet, i force him to take the money lor, dont want to take advantage of him.

My point is that, this guy is more of a passionate mechanic rather than business minded mechanic.

:cry: i know how it feel... abt Tong Aik..

it's my personal experience and i just want to share it with anyone...

my bf had an accident recently, and wanted to repair his bike,,(he always go there for the past few years). only to find out that he have to pay S$200 plus first to repair the hand handle, before they can ride the bike out to test if anything else need to repair (which could easily come up to S$1K). they keep ask us to repair the handle first... we decided against it, thus we decide to sell the bike...

and when we wanted to sell the bike, they don't want help us to sell. however, when there is a buyer interested in our bike, they suddenly changed their mind. then we agreed on a mutual price, which they will take S$100 (commission for them) and they will not charge the buyer anything. when we requested to have a black and white agreement before selling, they agreed and said will give us after the bike is sold. We trusted them so we didn't chase them, and after the sale, when we requested for a black and white receipt from them, they scolded us and said we don't trust them and refused to give us!. we talked to mr wee(nicer guy) and the rude ladies, especially the old lady, who is super rude and seriously i think she is too rich to do anyone's business. she said i don't respect her when i talked to her. i feel i only respect people if they deserve my respect,and definately NOT her!.

they scolded us, and mr wee is always 'out for lunch' or 'away' or 'busy' when we called. and seriously, i feel it's a waste of time to talk to the ladies.

now, we don't know what the $100 is charged for.... you guys get what i mean right....

i know their prices is always on the high side. and we choose to go back, because we believe we are getting what we paid. but now, we feel decieved and regretted badly on our decision after getting all these lousy service.

in my personal opinion, please take extra precaution if you really want to go to that shop.

kill me, and i will recommend that shop to anyone, except if i really hate that person then i will ever mention that shop name to anyone.

Edited by Queenberry

I don't see what all the fuss is about...

They sold the scooter for you right?

The $100 is a commission for selling the scooter... it's standard practice...

You'll never find a perfect shop... life's to short to get into arguments...

sorry to "hijack" your threat

well i understand how 7hr-s3x&drugs-incident feel cos i buy my scooter few yr back at this ubi bin outlet and the sales person is locate at BB then happy get my scooter then my nightmare start form there when my scooter got crack i went back to find then i beng push around for 6mth , at the end i go to CASE to had my case settle plus 1 time they quote me the ins i pay then they call me said the quote wrongly WTH ask me to top back the $$$ cut the story sort i arge until i was allow to buy ins form other source that is the last time i going back to buy any bike from them. I head i the 3 person go to case to complaint then (during 2005). as for servicing i will go back to my usually workshop for servicing.

tong aik is **** tup one..

last time also cheated my money..

I bought my bike from them 3 years ago. but the gear box was spoilt, their still dare to sell to me..

less then one month of riding.. my bike completly siezed and loss power.

I went back to them they want to chop my carrot cake.

then lucky I bought my father there go kpkb with them..

young rider like me.. everything they say I also believe.. lucky my dad was there with me..

then 700 dollar they charge u 99% is labour work.

vespa engine parts will cost u less then 10 dollars.. the most they change the gear cross for you. and overhauling gear box is not even the engine..

u really kanna chop carrot..

when I did my bike wit them they change the fuel seal with is deep inside the

engine.. and they also change the gear cross for me.. and did a over haul..

they charge my dad under 300 dollars..

if I were to deposit 1k with them.. I think i would not have gotten back any..

they are really blood suckers..

young rider.. dun believe every thing they say.. riding is dangerous itself.. thats why they can very easily install the fear to you and suck ur hardearned money..

can we be clear about some things...

A faulty gear selector isn't going to cause a seizure... you likely siezed it as a result of not adding enough 2T, or not upjetting after adding a tong pipe or such... or you developed a leak somewhere and didn't have the experience to notice before it got too late... Learning curve...

Changing the gear cross and fuel seal requires the engine to be split... that is a lot of labour... you're right that labour is the most expensive component of the cost... $300 for an engine rebuild is not a rip-off...

You'll learn how much things should cost with time... knowledge is power...

You can, of course, get an engine rebuild done much more cheaply... but you wont be confident that the job was done properly using OEM parts... Tong Aik stand behind their rebuilds...

If you don't get along with TA, see Hendra. He's a good guy.

I know that my scooter is in good hands, and I have developed a good relationship with the people that work on my scooter and get the bills together... You don't have to go to TA, but wherever you send your bike, you're going to feel you're being overcharged if you're ignorant about your scooter.

Shop around and talk to people... you'll soon get an idea of where to go to do what, and how much things should cost... that will make you more confident.

Best of luck :)

can we be clear about some things...

A faulty gear selector isn't going to cause a seizure... you likely siezed it as a result of not adding enough 2T, or not upjetting after adding a tong pipe or such... or you developed a leak somewhere and didn't have the experience to notice before it got too late... Learning curve...

Changing the gear cross and fuel seal requires the engine to be split... that is a lot of labour... you're right that labour is the most expensive component of the cost... $300 for an engine rebuild is not a rip-off...

You'll learn how much things should cost with time... knowledge is power...

You can, of course, get an engine rebuild done much more cheaply... but you wont be confident that the job was done properly using OEM parts... Tong Aik stand behind their rebuilds...

If you don't get along with TA, see Hendra. He's a good guy.

I know that my scooter is in good hands, and I have developed a good relationship with the people that work on my scooter and get the bills together... You don't have to go to TA, but wherever you send your bike, you're going to feel you're being overcharged if you're ignorant about your scooter.

Shop around and talk to people... you'll soon get an idea of where to go to do what, and how much things should cost... that will make you more confident.

Best of luck :)

TA sold me a bike with gear fault. within one month my fuel seal is gone and the engine lose 70% of its power. Its has nothing to do with not enough 2T.

If i were to do the same thing as TS puting 1k as deposit hahaha.. I think I will get ripped of everything..

come on dude.. TA may be good at what they do..

but ripping off newbie like TS.. thats Blood sucking..

thank god my dad who is an engineer knows his stuff and they cannot chop me..

and using the fact that my bike was bought from them and its was rode less then 1 month.. my dad was is a very good poistion to chop them for good price which I got..

700 for gearbox rebuild.. I feel sorry for TS.. thats why I made my reply..

face it.. every bike shop out there is treating newbie like carrot head.. TA is no excluded..

being newbie doesnt means ignorant.. and being ignorant doesnt give bike shop the right to take advantage of him..

If I were TS.. I would throw rotten eggs at TA shop and their car park. they are day light robber..

never trust TA with money.. freaking blood suckers..

pressure people to fix something which they did not have planned to..

like beauty salon pressure selling to aunties..

Sharpey: not that I dun respect u.. I have readed ur posts since years ago..

maybe u are the type of person that dun mind to pay much more money just to get a piece of mind..but seriously TA really isnt that good at all..

Yes they do not cheat u by fixing ur bike wrong.. but they DO cheat your money..

u may dun mind paying extra.. but alot of us DO..

alot of us were just student and not having alot of money to burn..

to sharpey....

yes, the $100 is common practise. i am ok if they sell it for me, and we give them $100....

but they refused to tell us how much they sell to the another party.... they refused to give us any receipt..and claim 'no receipt'.

if they never take the $100 from us..... i am ok with any prices they sell to other people....even if they were to mark up few hundreds or more...

it's a matter of principle.... $100 is nothing..but in business, dishonesty is a big NO.. since they promised they will take $100 from our side., and nothing from the another side... we just want to verfiy this fact.. and they agreed beforehand they will show us...now they are eating back on their words...what kind of logic?

if they really sell to the another party as they claimed... may i ask why they are afraid to show us the receipt... we are not even asking for the another party's contact to verify anymore... we just want a copy of the receipt..

if u really choose to believe in them anymore....god bless you.

i just want to warn the rest of the bikers..... don't trust those people so easily....always compare with other workshops...

Edited by Queenberry

Can any kind soul tell me where is HENDRA @ paya lebar industrial estate ?

Or any good mechanic to recommend? I have a problem which TA is unable to solve, I kinda of feel they might be better in the classic vespa, whereas mine is GT200.

can follow me.. im a true believer in hendra's work. a kind sincere man who does a good job. can PM me, im thinking of going down there soon. :)

guys, i've heard many2 things about TongAik..most of them are bad..

honestly, the auntie will chop u if u dunno sh|t abt vespas.

can do business with them, only if u know your stuff.

but TA still has the most spares and accessories...

so... if u need accessories, go there and buy it cash&carry and bring it over to your own workshop. or u can even DIY it and put it on yourself. :)

SPEEDING thru town on a vespa.:angel:

Hendra @ paya lebar industrial estate have move to autobay @kaki bukit. 2nd floor last corner bldg.

Can any kind soul tell me where is HENDRA @ paya lebar industrial estate ?

Or any good mechanic to recommend? I have a problem which TA is unable to solve, I kinda of feel they might be better in the classic vespa, whereas mine is GT200.

for the gt200... I'd try future scootering also...

Oh well... obviously the gods have faith in me... I get along just dandy with the gang at TA... sorry to hear you don't... and admit that many don't... so yes, you're right... shop around till you find a shop you like...

I could moan about a lot of other shops on here.... but I won't.

I do like Hendra though... he's a proper nice guy.

for the gt200... I'd try future scootering also...

Oh well... obviously the gods have faith in me... I get along just dandy with the gang at TA... sorry to hear you don't... and admit that many don't... so yes, you're right... shop around till you find a shop you like...

I could moan about a lot of other shops on here.... but I won't.

I do like Hendra though... he's a proper nice guy.

Thanks all for the recommendation, I went to Kallang Cycle and got the problem fix. The charges is slightly lower than a TA, so I m ok with that.

one problem about hendra is, his shop too small, and he has alot of customer and also they are always short handed..i think he should set up a bigger workshop to meet the increasing demand. haha.

i've been to tong aik for about 2-3 yrs. Have been patronising them. Yes, their price are steep. But they are quite reliable. the curly auntie is loud, but that's her. Mr Wee is good, he will always tell me what's wrong and what need to change. He's professional. Each time i go there, i will sure spend $50 & above. They do keep the items and show it to me. But well.. who knows what they shown you are yours. so just give them the benefit of doubt, and if reasonable change. if not, don't. I will still patronise them again.