I went shopping and the person told me not to buy gsxrr cause hard to mantain.

Still shopping for bikes.. T_T

Any bike is hard to maintain if in the hands of a shoestring budget owner and an unqualified mechanic.

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Any bike is hard to maintain if in the hands of a shoestring budget owner and an unqualified mechanic.

so true..they should have a "Like" button like those in facebook

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

Hello there:)

I am new to this site, but it seems like a nice place for sharing experiences with different bikes.

I bought a GK76a last year when i got my license, because it seemed like a nice little beginner. It ran super in the start, but i soon became aware that something wasn't right. I came to the conclusion that i has to change seals in the carbs and open the engine, because og lack of pressure on one cylinder.

I then started the rebuild and found out that some valves were bad. I put new ones in and grinded the rest, and assembled the engine, with new seals of course. I then put new seals in the carbs and put the bike back together.

And this i where i hoped that some of you guys would please take a little time to help a frustrated biker. I just cant get the bike to start. I have got a spark, it doesn't seem like my plugs get very whet, but i can't figure out what should be wrong with my carbs.

Here comes the very weird part: After assembly i tried to start it for a while, and suddenly it started. Immediatly it span up to around 16.000 rpm, before i got i chance to turn it off. As i turned it of thAe fuse went. I did this about three times, then i had no more fuses. When i came back with new fuses i could not get it to start, and hasn't been able to since.

So, does anybody have any idea of what could be wrong. All help will be very much appreciated, as i am totally stuck with this bike:(

Thank you for your time!

/Anders

Hello there:)

I am new to this site, but it seems like a nice place for sharing experiences with different bikes.

I bought a GK76a last year when i got my license, because it seemed like a nice little beginner. It ran super in the start, but i soon became aware that something wasn't right. I came to the conclusion that i has to change seals in the carbs and open the engine, because og lack of pressure on one cylinder.

I then started the rebuild and found out that some valves were bad. I put new ones in and grinded the rest, and assembled the engine, with new seals of course. I then put new seals in the carbs and put the bike back together.

And this i where i hoped that some of you guys would please take a little time to help a frustrated biker. I just cant get the bike to start. I have got a spark, it doesn't seem like my plugs get very whet, but i can't figure out what should be wrong with my carbs.

Here comes the very weird part: After assembly i tried to start it for a while, and suddenly it started. Immediatly it span up to around 16.000 rpm, before i got i chance to turn it off. As i turned it of thAe fuse went. I did this about three times, then i had no more fuses. When i came back with new fuses i could not get it to start, and hasn't been able to since.

So, does anybody have any idea of what could be wrong. All help will be very much appreciated, as i am totally stuck with this bike:(

Thank you for your time!

/Anders

I'll start looking at the carburetors first.

1) When you replace the seals, what was the float height?

2) Did you replace any of the jets and needles?

I'll start looking at the carburetors first.

1) When you replace the seals, what was the float height?

2) Did you replace any of the jets and needles?

Okay, that is what i am thinking to. Yesterday i got the idea that if the carburators are filling to much, gas will just poor into the cylinders. This will explain the starts where it just spins up.

Im not really sure about the float height, i didn't set it, just left it where it was. Can i adjust it with the carbs fittet?

No, i didn't replace jets and needles.

Btw, thanks for your time!

/Anders

Okay, that is what i am thinking to. Yesterday i got the idea that if the carburators are filling to much, gas will just poor into the cylinders. This will explain the starts where it just spins up.

Im not really sure about the float height, i didn't set it, just left it where it was. Can i adjust it with the carbs fittet?

No, i didn't replace jets and needles.

Btw, thanks for your time!

/Anders

You may wanna check your air box to see if there is fuel inside and measure your float heights for now.

This is assuming that you didn't touch any needles and jets and only did a top overhaul.

Check your valve seats too.

bro andersmadsen, think only bro yoshitel will be able to help you on this.

cos other than him, all of us send our bike to workshop...

btw, where are you from? spore or?

ex gixxer 400 owner reporting in !!!

D437S Gi-pro Dynamx volt RCS 19 Gianelli W custom SK silencer BMC air filt H&BJr 40L Scottoiler Bridgesport L valve HID Ventura headl PR3 Custom made radiator guard 3M Carbon IU Ohlins YA-041 BMW grips Motovation front fork & rear axle slider Barend slider Titax adjustable clutch Crampbuster Ram Mount W Aquabox USB charger Custom made Sargent Inspired seats@eugene saddlery

hello i'll be joining soon.. gsxr400 will be my 2nd 2a bike.. 1st was RVF

i heard some ppl say if speedo 240kmh is a no powercut (unrestricted) type?

but mine's a 1994 GSXR RR .. FM plate, means its the 53hp restricted one?

how to go about making it unrestricted?? hmm.. tried searching but can't find results.. thanks experienced gixxers!

You may wanna check your air box to see if there is fuel inside and measure your float heights for now.

This is assuming that you didn't touch any needles and jets and only did a top overhaul.

Okay, i'll be messing with the bike tomorrow, and i will start with the floats. I had the needles and jets out, but i am pretty sure that i installed them correctly.

The valves was polished in the seats, so they should match up nicely.

Ben2306:

It sounds like Yoshitei knows what he is talking about, so i am apreciating his help(:

No not at all, actually i'm from Denmark. But in need of knowledge on my bike, a ran into this fora.

/Anders

Knn my engine sibei hot now adays... Temperature very

fast

GO UP!

confirm is coolant not working right??

So i guess is the coolant pump ****ED already right???????

Any idea where n how much to get it replaced?????????????????????????????????

fast

GO UP!

yours racing bike ma... haha...

Quite true! U've got a point there :thumb:

Hahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa =D

Oi seriously leh, how sia? Any advise? Coolant not working right? Pump spoil right???? Or radiator problem??? only thought of these 3 :cry:

hello i'll be joining soon.. gsxr400 will be my 2nd 2a bike.. 1st was RVF

i heard some ppl say if speedo 240kmh is a no powercut (unrestricted) type?

but mine's a 1994 GSXR RR .. FM plate, means its the 53hp restricted one?

how to go about making it unrestricted?? hmm.. tried searching but can't find results.. thanks experienced gixxers!

You'll need to check your year of manufacture (on your "log card") to verify if it is a post or pre 1993 model.

All exported GSX-Rs have a speedometer that reads to 240km/h. I doubt there are any parallel imported ones.

There are some who claim success flipping dip switches on the CDi, personally, my success came by rewiring the electronics behind the gear shifter.

fast

GO UP!

What coolant are you using and when did you last replaced your coolant?

Have you checked your coolant tank under your passenger seat?

fast

GO UP!

i thought you just had it overhauled? as what bro yoshitel said, check your coolant tank. top up water till overflow. haha. also check the ground for any liquid..

You'll need to check your year of manufacture (on your "log card") to verify if it is a post or pre 1993 model.

All exported GSX-Rs have a speedometer that reads to 240km/h. I doubt there are any parallel imported ones.

There are some who claim success flipping dip switches on the CDi, personally, my success came by rewiring the electronics behind the gear shifter.

wow, interesting... rewiring electronics..:thumb::thumb:

thanks for the reply bro.. ya i think is 1994.. where u go and do the re-wiring may i ask? :p sounds highly skilled.. hahah.. especially if my wires are v messy..

Okay, so i had a little time to play with the bike again. Checked the floats, and had to change the height on 3 out of four, but the only difference was a little banging.:(

/Anders

Okay, so i had a little time to play with the bike again. Checked the floats, and had to change the height on 3 out of four, but the only difference was a little banging.:(

/Anders

Define banging...

thanks for the reply bro.. ya i think is 1994.. where u go and do the re-wiring may i ask? :p sounds highly skilled.. hahah.. especially if my wires are v messy..

I did it on my own, not difficult, just some interest in getting your bike faster.

guys, i'm looking for clutch side front fork. any lobang, pls pm me.

mine is leaking everyday...

quoted by some1, $350 1piece..:faint:

You want a bike just for transport or a bike for thrills?