• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

maybe its the end of my riding days...

thought of going to bikeshop just now cos knowing something is wrong.

on the way when i reached the same place where i had an accident months back,

think piston sized... i closed throttle rpm still @ 8k... lucky no cars,

down gear till neutral & stop. @ the same time there's a tow truck there, i stop

behind them & ask them tow to carpark. tried to start up again, once started, rpm

jammed @ 8k, white smoke coming out from exhaust...

guys, if 1 of the piston sized, we just gota change 1 new 1, right?

roughly how much will that cost? i'm thinking if its too much,

gota let go & say bye bye liao...

17092010015.jpg

17092010016.jpg

17092010017.jpg

BROTHER!

Life will be better if we get a new bike... G4 really old liao... U still have Swift okok =)

SMILE!!!!!!!! =D

i then low loh, school so hard, so old liao still take $$$ from dad, bike everytime problem, & savings less than 1k =(((((

down gear till neutral & stop. @ the same time there's a tow truck there, i stop

behind them & ask them tow to carpark. tried to start up again, once started, rpm

piston seized u cannot start ur bike at all de mah.how cme ur rpm can still go to 8k?shld be ur throttle cable stuck

September 2007 ~ Honda NSR 150 SP

May 2009 ~ Honda CBR 400RR-R

March 2011 ~ Suzuki k7 GSXR1000

July 2014 ~ BMW S1000rr '14

Wa, it might come out to 1k+ plus or more.

This requires a total overhaul if piston jam and usually for old bikes like gsxr400, sure got many others thing to change. (no point open up the engine again to change in future, so one time change all).

I would suggest either go planet or guan hoe there to access the damage.

Think of the bright side, there is no accident.

Cheer up.

One of the reason why I switch to a newer bike is due to the constant repairs too. :(

Life is good.

after all the effort, time & $$, haiz....

if its not piston seized then i'm not worry liao...

Lets hope it is not the piston, if not you really need a overhaul liao.

Anyway, it is a good bike if it is in a good condition.

Life is good.

BROTHER!

Life will be better if we get a new bike... G4 really old liao... U still have Swift okok =)

SMILE!!!!!!!! =D

i then low loh, school so hard, so old liao still take $$$ from dad, bike everytime problem, & savings less than 1k =(((((

piston seized u cannot start ur bike at all de mah.how cme ur rpm can still go to 8k?shld be ur throttle cable stuck

after all the effort, time & $$, haiz....

if its not piston seized then i'm not worry liao...

Hugen : hehe, told u get my bike... btw old bike so all the rubber, plastic and wirings must change one shot... unless u know how to do yourself here n there... thats what i did that time... remember what i told u, no matter what its an old bike but its not the bike's fault... and if u wanna do something to an old bike, spend on your engine and wiring first instead of paintwork n other stuff... thats what i did, spend a bomb on the internal and very little on external, especially at my area, alot of farkers like to scratch my bike or whatever... just send guan hoe or planet... but i still prefer guan hoe... unless its a small issue bulb or whatsoever...

Ben: darkdragon is right... i kena all the problems already... its the throttle cable area... trust me... not jam... if jam or seize, your bike at 8k rpm will be slow because u running on 3 piston... on 3piston, any bike can pick up faster then u, even c70... or even a bicycle... my advice, guan hoe is the best place to go to... let the uncle troubleshoot for u, his knowledge and experience about this bike is very very deep... go to him and tell him what u feel n let him check... excuse his mouth if he shoot u for going to other shops... whatever it is, the price is slightly more ex because of thier gst and stuff... agent ma... as for my bike i had a smaller problem, if i turn my handle bar to my left the bike will auto throttle till 2 or 3k... but i just adjusted the throttle area and its fine, just too tight so it auto pull...

BTW, if u all got buy, let me know i wanna sell my bike ah... its not seize, dont worry... go and sleep in peace...

Hahaaa.... Its not moving... the needle and mileage meter both not moving! i suspect is wiring loose

There is a cable coming out of the right side of your front wheel. Could have been broken.

+ ANOTHER PROBLEM!!! JUST HAPPENED!!

Knn my head light, the plug, MELTED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Why so many problem... cant it just give me a few months of problem free riding????? #$%^&*(*&^%$%^&*

You've been using some fancy but cheap bulbs? Standard 55w shouldn't do that. Problem starts when you start using those fancy and cheap bulbs.

If it's just the socket, it can be changed. It's standard and is shared with cars even. But if it's the lamp holder, God bless you.

my bike is now @ k&t

clifford called me said that most likely conrod problem.

anybody can advice me on conrod? average price?

If you still want the bike, you'll gonna be looking at big bucks.

Usually, con-rods goes in a set, along with the pistons. In a 4 stroke, there is a very high chance your valves are damaged too, and if so, your cam shaft, timing chain is a gooner too. If you're lucky, the block and crankshaft survive with minimal damages. Have you ever checked your engine timing? When was it last checked?

Hi all, anyone could shed some light as to is "GSXR400RP (chassis: GK76Axxxxxx)" equals to GSX 400 RR ?? or RP != RR...?

Also, is GSX 400 RR/RP realli a problematic bike..? I'm actually choosing between GSX 400, CBR 400 and RVF. Came across GSX 400 and tinking of getting 1...

Cheers~

If you still want the bike, you'll gonna be looking at big bucks.

Usually, con-rods goes in a set, along with the pistons. In a 4 stroke, there is a very high chance your valves are damaged too, and if so, your cam shaft, timing chain is a gooner too. If you're lucky, the block and crankshaft survive with minimal damages. Have you ever checked your engine timing? When was it last checked?

i haven't go down to really know the problem yet. most likely, tml or tues i'm going down to take a look...

i'm still stuck between on what to do now... haiz..

anybody ever scraped a bike here? i want to know how & what's needed to do. i see online they scrap the bike & sell the parts. how they do it? pls advice... i searched around, they said only the frame & lower engine casing is needed for scrap. i need to confirm on that. thanks.

Edited by ben2306
i haven't go down to really know the problem yet. most likely, tml or tues i'm going down to take a look...

i'm still stuck between on what to do now... haiz..

anybody ever scraped a bike here? i want to know how & what's needed to do. i see online they scrap the bike & sell the parts. how they do it? pls advice... i searched around, they said only the frame & lower engine casing is needed for scrap. i need to confirm on that. thanks.

Two approaches...

One, cut your losses and let it go.

You can de-register the bike at LTA yourself or have the bike shop do it for you. Either way, you get back your prevailing COE and perhaps you could use that as down payment for a newer bike?

As for what to do with its remains, you could either break it up yourself and sell what you think is valuable or pay a bike shop to handle it.

Two, depending on how serious the damage, bring in a new engine and bolt it on. A Suzuki dealer has to certify that it is the same specifications engine.

Damn'it. I'm back again. Once again, the bike isn't working. After the last answer i couldn't get it working perfectly, seemed to have a little problem with overfloating. So i ordered some new o-rings for the carburator, put them in, and now i can't get it started at all. I really don't know what the next step is, i think that i have got it all covered. The weird is that i haven't really changed anything since i got it started last time:s

/Anders

Here are a few things you may need to look at.

Firstly, Check your floats, Mikuni floats should be sitting around 20mm from top center to the rim of the float bowl.

Second, check your needles and jets too, are all of them fitted back to the right place and tightened correctly?

Lastly, check your engine timing. When you took the cam shaft off to remove the valves, you got the springs back in the right place? Vales seated correctly? Timing checked? Timing chain tension checked?

Do you need a service manual? I'm guessing it's hard for you to explain and it's hard for us to guess.

Hi all, anyone could shed some light as to is "GSXR400RP (chassis: GK76Axxxxxx)" equals to GSX 400 RR ?? or RP != RR...?

Also, is GSX 400 RR/RP realli a problematic bike..? I'm actually choosing between GSX 400, CBR 400 and RVF. Came across GSX 400 and tinking of getting 1...

Cheers~

looks like we have someone here who uses programming language....RR != RP...not all gsxr400 are problematic..if u manage to find one that is in good condition..then u are safe...otherwise...the bike is old...so are cbr400 and rvf...so it is possible that u will encounter more problems than newer bikes

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

Cheers~

GSX-R and GSX have different engines. Compression ratio and gears are different.

As mentioned earlier in this topic, any bike is problematic if the owner is on a shoestring budget and the mechanic is a noob!

oh.. icic... so the commonly spoken G4 are actually "GSX-R 400 RP" ya..?

as i've been driving for the last 2 years... realli lost touch with bikes... any kind and free souls would like to accompany mi to view a G4..? n advice mi on the bike.. :cheeky:

oh.. icic... so the commonly spoken G4 are actually "GSX-R 400 RP" ya..?

as i've been driving for the last 2 years... realli lost touch with bikes... any kind and free souls would like to accompany mi to view a G4..? n advice mi on the bike.. :cheeky:

Not really sure what they mean by G4, but given that this is a thread for GSX-R 400 or GK76, I would assume the term G4 refers to that. G4 in other other threads could mean 2004 GSX-R.

There are many variants for the GK76, 'P' model refers to the 1993 variants - the first of the 53bhp models; power was reduced from 59bhp.

Not many GK76s left on the market to view, if you can find any here for sale, that's what's on the market.

If you have a class 2, go for a 600cc, more fun, less trouble.

Not really sure what they mean by G4, but given that this is a thread for GSX-R 400 or GK76, I would assume the term G4 refers to that. G4 in other other threads could mean 2004 GSX-R.

There are many variants for the GK76, 'P' model refers to the 1993 variants - the first of the 53bhp models; power was reduced from 59bhp.

Not many GK76s left on the market to view, if you can find any here for sale, that's what's on the market.

If you have a class 2, go for a 600cc, more fun, less trouble.

i didn't know that a G4 also refers to a 2004 GSXR because i thought usually people will use K4 instead :cheeky:

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

GUYS those who know me know that i am a big fan of LOUD exhaust... I have this crazy idea =)

I thought of removing my end can n ride for a day =D

Then if kanna caught i say my exhaust pipe stolen, say going to fix it now =)

Cos i search you tube, when end can removed, it sounds like moto GP bike siaaaaaaa =D

Any advise??????????????????????