that's not easy leh. might as well change it. can d.i.y if you dare. just take out fairings & tank, unscrew the 2 rings that lock the bottom hose, drain everything then flush with water, then screw back, pour coolant inside mix with water (dont use tap water!), top up the spare coolant @ your pillion seat. thats it. i changed 2years back till now. but actually what i read online, if everything's ok, a g4 gets hot @ idle is good. its only danger when you are moving & its getting hotter! actually coolant is more for winter country to prevent water freeze. am i right? most important, just dont pour tap water, do it with distilled water. your short idle is? check your spare coolant box got water or not. most never top up, then dried up already also dont know... i top up every month to make sure its full. for 2years+, no overheating problem.

think if you go bikeshop, they use industrial tap water...

haha, dont be scare to make the 1st move of d.i.y!! just remember, if you never change it before, make sure everything is ok before you take it out, just in case, here spoilt there spoilt when taken apart. lolx.

Btw the coolant tank at the pillion

Seat is it the one with the rubber knob with no threading ?

I intend to use UPW from my factory . Ultra Pure Water used in chemical mixing . Heard it's super power for coolants and radiators

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Btw the coolant tank at the pillion

Seat is it the one with the rubber knob with no threading ?

I intend to use UPW from my factory . Ultra Pure Water used in chemical mixing . Heard it's super power for coolants and radiators

its a plastic like container almost same like sp's 2t container. its right beside your left inner rear. just open up pillion seat, you can see its @ the left. pour till water overflow from below then its full. mineral water i think can already... gd luck

Thanks for the links ben.. the tacho wasn't faulty after all.. the meter hesitates and fluctuates between 8-10k rpm before climbing again. I've also gone to guan hoe to get my carbs serviced and tuned... in the end i had the entire set replaced with another used item as they were leaky and more or less unserviceable. Had the o-rings changed too.

Initially the bike was running extremely rich, the plugs were wet and fouled so badly that one of them died within days..i was running on three cylinders for a couple of days. Now that the mechanical issues have more or less been sorted out, i'm looking for a set of used top and rear fairings for the bike, as mine are cracked in places.. keep those links coming ben, appreciate it a lot!

Thanks for the links ben.. the tacho wasn't faulty after all.. the meter hesitates and fluctuates between 8-10k rpm before climbing again. I've also gone to guan hoe to get my carbs serviced and tuned... in the end i had the entire set replaced with another used item as they were leaky and more or less unserviceable. Had the o-rings changed too.

Initially the bike was running extremely rich, the plugs were wet and fouled so badly that one of them died within days..i was running on three cylinders for a couple of days. Now that the mechanical issues have more or less been sorted out, i'm looking for a set of used top and rear fairings for the bike, as mine are cracked in places.. keep those links coming ben, appreciate it a lot!

please bear in mind if you are gonna let others service your carbs. tell them dont ever bend your floaters!! by the way, if gh has done it up for you, if i'm not wrong, you dont have to open the carbs for @ least 2years. you only need to tune them as it might run after months. do bear in mind, dont let shop bluff you into open the carbs.

as i told some1 before. if you buy fairings, confirm diff colors. do you intend to spray? if yes, why not ask spray shop see whether they are able to repair the cracks for you or not 1st? no harm asking!! i know they can some how do it.

if you are interested in owning the gk76a 89pages part list manual, let me know...

btw, it the ENGLISH version.

Edited by ben2306
http://oldpartsshop.com/productCategory.asp?Category=Suzuki

Does anybody know anything about this site? they seem to stock a ton of parts for older model japanese bikes. Apparently they are based in singapore, which is awesome for owners of older bikes like us..

wonder if its actually a scrap yard... will try to find more info on this. actually, i saw it long time ago. bro, the prices stated is in US$. i think its cheaper if you get from suzuki distributor. 1 fuel tank US$249, exclude freight charge?! some more see pics only... they got no address nothing, just a hp no. better not la. that is for oversea country 1. Edited by ben2306

You do have a point. actually, i would prefer to get a used part that is still in reasonable (whole and undamaged) condition as that would save cost. i intend to respray the fairing on my own, as the previous owner(s) did an atrocious job.

unless you are a pro, otherwise, i will advise you to let the pros do the job. normal spray cans wont last long. i've been there. since the beast is running nice now, why not give her a nice outlook? just a single color wont cost much. its worth it.

btw, how much you spent on the carbs? update us on the prices. if possible, break down of the prices.

haha..i did up my previous bike the same way, i intend to do the same.. this bike is my canvas, what's the worst that could happen? prob will be using airbrush..

Anyway mr ronald gave me a reconditioned set of carbs for $100. workmanship cost $45, 4 replacement o-rings cost $16. he took 3 days to finish the job as there were problems that appeared during the syncing and tuning (air leaks etc). which i guess is normal in any troubleshooting process.

haha..i did up my previous bike the same way, i intend to do the same.. this bike is my canvas, what's the worst that could happen? prob will be using airbrush..

Anyway mr ronald gave me a reconditioned set of carbs for $100. workmanship cost $45, 4 replacement o-rings cost $16. he took 3 days to finish the job as there were problems that appeared during the syncing and tuning (air leaks etc). which i guess is normal in any troubleshooting process.

ok. when you airbrush, can i go see see? lolx. like that, its not ex, man. since its a reconditioned carbs, my advice is to wait for @ least few months then you know if its still running rich. slight rich, with new plugs, you wont be able to notice unless you keep high rev often. which your plugs get sooty black then left with 3 cylinders... if you are skill enough, maybe you'll catch its running rich before your plugs spoil. do take note of the idling sound now. later you'll need it to compare. as your plugs get more wet, sound will slowly change.

did you ask him how turns he turned the mixture screws? thats very important.

ok. when you airbrush, can i go see see? lolx. like that, its not ex, man. since its a reconditioned carbs, my advice is to wait for @ least few months then you know if its still running rich. slight rich, with new plugs, you wont be able to notice unless you keep high rev often. which your plugs get sooty black then left with 3 cylinders... if you are skill enough, maybe you'll catch its running rich before your plugs spoil. do take note of the idling sound now. later you'll need it to compare. as your plugs get more wet, sound will slowly change.

did you ask him how turns he turned the mixture screws? thats very important.

I was watching and helping him out on the first day as he did the tuning, but as he was asking me to hold on to this and that as he was working, i couldnt see exactly which screws he was turning. I didnt ask too..whoops! slipped my mind, i guess.

A friend's dad who's a mechanic taught me how to tune a carburetor going by the 'seat of the pants' - first run the engine at a moderate speed, best by increasing the idle screw. Then wind the mixture screw all the way lean until the engine starts to choke, then start screwing rich turn by turn. Then you have to listen as the revs start to climb, as you screw out 1/2 or 1/4 turn or even less at a time. The mixture is at its optimum when the revs peak after a certain number of turns of the screw. If you enriched it too much the engine would start to bog and slow down again. Its crude, but it worked. He had a CO2 sensor to check for complete combustion, but of course I didnt, so i went by hearing, feel and smell.

However that was with a single cylinder bike (phantom), which made things a whole lot easier. There was only 1 idle screw and one mixture screw to play with. With the GSXR, the basic concept i guess would be the same, just with the added complexity of having to get all four carbs leaned/enriched correctly with the carb sync tool. Since you probably already know which are the mixture screws on each carb, and which direction to turn, I believe it will be a simple procedure to screw, test and feel until the engine sounds and feels right. We don't have spare main jets and needles to switch around and play with either, not that I would want to fiddle around with them anyway...

Edited by leirbag
I was watching and helping him out on the first day as he did the tuning, but as he was asking me to hold on to this and that as he was working, i couldnt see exactly which screws he was turning. I didnt ask too..whoops! slipped my mind, i guess.

A friend's dad who's a mechanic taught me how to tune a carburetor going by the 'seat of the pants' - first run the engine at a moderate speed, best by increasing the idle screw. Then wind the mixture screw all the way lean until the engine starts to choke, then start screwing rich turn by turn. Then you have to listen as the revs start to climb, as you screw out 1/2 or 1/4 turn or even less at a time. The mixture is at its optimum when the revs peak after a certain number of turns of the screw. If you enriched it too much the engine would start to bog and slow down again. Its crude, but it worked. He had a CO2 sensor to check for complete combustion, but of course I didnt, so i went by hearing, feel and smell.

However that was with a single cylinder bike (phantom), which made things a whole lot easier. There was only 1 idle screw and one mixture screw to play with. With the GSXR, the basic concept i guess would be the same, just with the added complexity of having to get all four carbs leaned/enriched correctly with the carb sync tool. Since you probably already know which are the mixture screws on each carb, and which direction to turn, I believe it will be a simple procedure to screw, test and feel until the engine sounds and feels right. We don't have spare main jets and needles to switch around and play with either, not that I would want to fiddle around with them anyway...

single cylinder is so much easier, no need to sync. unless you are using aftermarket filter, then you change needles & jets sizes. otherwise, use factory setting for all. butt feel for g4 is rather hard. mine is running rich but dont bog @ 5k rpm. g4's screw is in the carb, meaning if you are gonna tune it few times, you gota take apart the carbs few times unless you are pro enough to open from below. use a mirror, adjust the screw then lock back. saw the pdf i sent you? @ below, it tells you @ which rpm got problem means which part got problem. but safest is to be all factory standard 1st, then from there you start to mod. Edited by ben2306
how mucch does it cost to dyno a bike? anybody?

around $200..depending on what dyno u are going for

http://app2.nea.gov.sg/data/xml/rainlocation_map.gif

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

how mucch does it cost to dyno a bike? anybody?

ehhhhh...isn't ur signature somebody else's bike?!?!

http://i65.photobucket.com/albums/h235/drifter1986/1236681924_snail_transformers.gif

Slow rider lives longer

around $200..depending on what dyno u are going for
wah, not cheap leh. thought of sending mine for dyno after tune by myself... think gota abort mission liao.

that time i thought of sending my g4 to dyno too..but the mechanic advised me not to because that bike kinda old liao and they'll have to whack it quite hard...and since they're not the one that maintain/fix it..if anything happen during the dyno...they won't be responsible

who's bike??? thats my bike la. i resprayed it...

i thought ur bike = metallic blue?..since when become white with luminious sticker?! just resprayed?

Slow rider lives longer

that time i thought of sending my g4 to dyno too..but the mechanic advised me not to because that bike kinda old liao and they'll have to whack it quite hard...and since they're not the one that maintain/fix it..if anything happen during the dyno...they won't be responsible

i thought ur bike = metallic blue?..since when become white with luminious sticker?! just resprayed?

never see another 1 in the sig meh??? i never say the white mine...

white color is MONSTER SI SI!

Edited by ben2306

wa nice bike la. seldom seem g4 in bright colours. rvf and cbr alot of bright colours. white orange green red....

hahaha..yah..i saw the metallic blue one at the other pump..misleading la ur sig!!

Slow rider lives longer

lol... got what... too bad u cant see orange gsxr 400 already.. its dead.. LOL

ride safe play when theres no one..

http://a7.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash1/hs750.ash1/164147_1879018014895_1224627836_2288376_4890403_n.jpg

hahaha..yah..i saw the metallic blue one at the other pump..misleading la ur sig!!

lol... got what... too bad u cant see orange gsxr 400 already.. its dead.. LOL
HAHAHAHA, you two eh... yeow, email me your orleng la, i try to photoshop all 3 together...

want to photoshop my ex G4 too?..also orleng colour!..white orleng

Slow rider lives longer