Originally posted by amino_asid@Jan 12 2005, 07:47 PM

Hello ppl,

i have a problem with my gsxr400. it gives this funnie hissing sound somewhere in the engine.

And WORST still, i CANT have a smooth and fast pick up-seems like its CHOKING!!!

Although its ok at high speed, it tends to LOSE power upon climbing a slope (like ecp benjamin sheares bridge).. So i drop and drop and drop my gear (ok now imagine its at second gear..) it still cant go up.. and feels like choking.. in my own words.. "oh F**K"..................

so this is what i've done:

1. service carb.. and it was ok until some time.. a month back

2. do air filter (they drill holes into it, instead of changing it, cos i dont think that was the primary cause) 2 weeks back.. and after that it was ok until...

NOW!!

so can anyone help me with some diagnosis pls? and any suggestions, comments and recommendations?

Help Help

1st of all, Check your plugs. i suspect a foul plug/plugs, causing the loss of power.

How to check? Before you start your bike in the morn, get some water or wd40. spray on the 4 headers below your radiator. Start your bike and rev. See if all 4 headers evapourate the water/wd40 at about the same time. If one or more of the headers evapourates the liquid at a much slower rate den that corresponding plug needs to be changed.

Next for the hissing sound you mentioned, does it sound like liquid evapourating on a hot surface? Does it start only when you have been riding for some time?

It sounds like your coolant is leaking. If you smell something like hot water or see steam from your engine area then your coolant is leaking. If not bring it to your mech for a full check.

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by Ah_KiAt@Jan 13 2005, 02:51 PM

which coffee shop u referring to?? anyway shut up KEVIN!! LOL!

Never tried push start? Very fun one! :cheeky:

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by amino_asid@Jan 12 2005, 07:47 PM

Hello ppl,

i have a problem with my gsxr400. it gives this funnie hissing sound somewhere in the engine.

And WORST still, i CANT have a smooth and fast pick up-seems like its CHOKING!!!

Although its ok at high speed, it tends to LOSE power upon climbing a slope (like ecp benjamin sheares bridge).. So i drop and drop and drop my gear (ok now imagine its at second gear..) it still cant go up.. and feels like choking.. in my own words.. "oh F**K"..................

so this is what i've done:

1. service carb.. and it was ok until some time.. a month back

2. do air filter (they drill holes into it, instead of changing it, cos i dont think that was the primary cause) 2 weeks back.. and after that it was ok until...

NOW!!

so can anyone help me with some diagnosis pls? and any suggestions, comments and recommendations?

Help Help

hi amino acid, from wat u say... i suspect ur carburator leak. check the seals at ur bike shop

or g0 guan hoe lor, i go there do, very good

den u got ram ur bike when start up immediately?

HI!! wah so skillful and resourceful!! yeah yeah.. i tried the water spray on the spark plugs thingey.. all working..

so it is down to the sound.. we, my temp doesnt even reach one third of the temp gauge so it means no coolant leak..

so next in line is carb.. and yes, that was the most probable i think.. and that was what was told by the mechanic.. BUT the funnie thing was, he did service the carb 1 month back.. funnie lei.. hmm

so he was willing to charge me HALF price aka 40 bucks.. do you all think its the normal market price for carb servicing?

and is Guan Ho the suzuki agent in the east? and they do expensice work or not?

thanks for your replies braders.. i will certainly learn lotsa things from here..

neber try push start la...totally no batt....turn on switch also dun even haf light..cannot push start! lolz...

http://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_32.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_24.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_29.jpghttp://www.petri.cz/images/t_r6_23.jpg
Originally posted by He@d|3sS^b|k3r@Jan 11 2005, 12:37 AM

huh? look like me?! that rider also look as handsome as me meh? alamakkkk...hehehe :cheeky:

shameless... :lol:

btw long time no c guyz!~~~~ aloz!!! :cheeky:

wheres my siggy?!?!

Originally posted by He@d|3sS^b|k3r@Jan 12 2005, 09:41 PM

is that guy hav a slim body....dyed hair...ah beng wanna-be? kakakaka...if yes...that's HIM!! :cheeky:

:lol: ah kiat nxt time com out shw him watz a real ah beng!!! :lol:

wheres my siggy?!?!

Originally posted by amino_asid@Jan 13 2005, 08:06 PM

HI!! wah so skillful and resourceful!! yeah yeah.. i tried the water spray on the spark plugs thingey.. all working..

so it is down to the sound.. we, my temp doesnt even reach one third of the temp gauge so it means no coolant leak..

so next in line is carb.. and yes, that was the most probable i think.. and that was what was told by the mechanic.. BUT the funnie thing was, he did service the carb 1 month back.. funnie lei.. hmm

so he was willing to charge me HALF price aka 40 bucks.. do you all think its the normal market price for carb servicing?

and is Guan Ho the suzuki agent in the east? and they do expensice work or not?

thanks for your replies braders.. i will certainly learn lotsa things from here..

GO GUAN HOE WASH N TUNE UR CARB WHICH I DID WHEN I GOT MY BIKE.

THEY DID A GOOD JOB. CHIEF MECH UNCLE CHEW ACTUALLY REMOVE WATEVER SEALS TAT R NOT ORIGINAL N FAULTY. REPALCED IT WIF NEW ORIGINAL ONES. DEN HE WASHED IT. AFTER TAT TUNE IT USING THE 4 MERCURY GAUGE BAR. U SEEN IT B4? VERY PROFESSIONAL. TUNE CARB SHLD BE $35 STANDARD. PLUS WASHING DUNNO HOW MUCH.

BUT NORMALLY BIKE SHOP JUST TUNE ONLY. BUT AT GH, THEY CHECKED THE SEALS N EVERYTHING B4 THEY TUNE. BUT MAYBE TATS BECOZ IT WAS THE FIRST TIME I WENT THERE. TATS Y THEY NEED TO UNDERSTAND HOWS MY CARB'S CONDITION.

I ALSO TUNED MY CARB 2 MONTHS BACK, NOW GONNA DO IT AGAIN SOON.

YES, GUAN HOE IS SUZUKI AGENT. AT PEYA LEBAR.

ITS OK MAN, WE CAN LEARN FROM EACH PTHER HERE! :cheer: I LEARNT ALOT FROM ICE, HE IS THE 'CHIEF MECH' HERE :cheeky:

how come u all go there tune ok.. but i go there tune still out... hmmm... maybe because i never sit there n see what he did to my bike...

Commemorating the rides in my life:-

1999-2003 DT200WR(FN87XXZ), '99KTM200EGS(FR1XXG), XR200 (FF35xxC), '00KTM200EXC(FT15XXS)

2004-2005 GSXR400RN(FK24xxA)

2005-2007 '99GSXR750X(FR30XXK)

2005-2009 '03YZF-R6(FW57XXR)

2007-2010 '07CBR600RR(FBB72XXU)

Originally posted by paiseh@Jan 13 2005, 09:48 PM

I LEARNT ALOT FROM ICE, HE IS THE 'CHIEF MECH' HERE :cheeky:

yah... u can say that again.... But just remember to check the FUSE first if bike cannot start, Ah Kiat pls take note(Now...Ah Kiat.. Remember me...??) :smile: :smile: (Bro Icez.... Sorry hor.....hee heee....)

http://img88.imageshack.us/img88/3649/iconneedpicscg0.gif

Originally posted by ktkt@Jan 13 2005, 01:13 PM

Hello guys.

Can help me keep a lookout for a pair of good working front fork???

did u call the shop frm the defu lane...they gt gd part of folk but the price...:sweat:

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by Arcfire@Jan 13 2005, 02:56 PM

1st of all, Check your plugs. i suspect a foul plug/plugs, causing the loss of power.

How to check? Before you start your bike in the morn, get some water or wd40. spray on the 4 headers below your radiator. Start your bike and rev. See if all 4 headers evapourate the water/wd40 at about the same time. If one or more of the headers evapourates the liquid at a much slower rate den that corresponding plug needs to be changed.

Next for the hissing sound you mentioned, does it sound like liquid evapourating on a hot surface? Does it start only when you have been riding for some time?

It sounds like your coolant is leaking. If you smell something like hot water or see steam from your engine area then your coolant is leaking. If not bring it to your mech for a full check.

he's rite....mayb u can try use ur hand to touch the 4 cylinder

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Originally posted by E-SAP-TEHTEK@Jan 13 2005, 10:42 PM

yah... u can say that again.... But just remember to check the FUSE first if bike cannot start, Ah Kiat pls take note(Now...Ah Kiat.. Remember me...??) :smile: :smile: (Bro Icez.... Sorry hor.....hee heee....)

:sweat: im nt chief mech....u flatter me liao,i onli noe how to ride...tat E-SAP-TEHTEK more power...he ever dismantle the whole bike b4...u should bow to him :bow:

Like father like son

Originally posted by IceZ@Jan 13 2005, 11:56 PM

:sweat: im nt chief mech....u flatter me liao,i onli noe how to ride...tat E-SAP-TEHTEK more power...he ever dismantle the whole bike b4...u should bow to him :bow:

HAHA, CAN SEE TAT HE DID ALOT TO HIS BIKE

BUT UNFORTUNATELY, I ONLY KNOW HOW TO APPRECIATE ORIGINAL BIKE.

BUT I LIKE THE REAR SEAT HE DID TO HIS BIKE

E-SAP-TEHTEK ZAI :sweat:

amino acid if all comes to worse that the problem is still there...do a valve check...i suspect ur valve is faulty maybe due to ur a faulty cdi like mine...it works but does not open the valve...thats y when u reach a point when ur valve is suppose to open it would choke there as there is not enough pressure to lift the valve....after a while the pressure builds up n ur valve lifts MANUALy! Any reason y i suspect is a valve problem is coz u have problems going up hill....thats one big reason to think that its a valve problem....

http://www.cagiva.it/immagini/az2b.jpg

With Money You Can Modify Any Bike To Become the Fastest Bike...Without Passion, Brains and Practice You will Still Be Last!

Originally posted by paiseh@Jan 13 2005, 09:48 PM

GO GUAN HOE WASH N TUNE UR CARB WHICH I DID WHEN I GOT MY BIKE.

THEY DID A GOOD JOB. CHIEF MECH UNCLE CHEW ACTUALLY REMOVE WATEVER SEALS TAT R NOT ORIGINAL N FAULTY. REPALCED IT WIF NEW ORIGINAL ONES. DEN HE WASHED IT. AFTER TAT TUNE IT USING THE 4 MERCURY GAUGE BAR. U SEEN IT B4? VERY PROFESSIONAL. TUNE CARB SHLD BE $35 STANDARD. PLUS WASHING DUNNO HOW MUCH.

BUT NORMALLY BIKE SHOP JUST TUNE ONLY. BUT AT GH, THEY CHECKED THE SEALS N EVERYTHING B4 THEY TUNE. BUT MAYBE TATS BECOZ IT WAS THE FIRST TIME I WENT THERE. TATS Y THEY NEED TO UNDERSTAND HOWS MY CARB'S CONDITION.

I ALSO TUNED MY CARB 2 MONTHS BACK, NOW GONNA DO IT AGAIN SOON.

YES, GUAN HOE IS SUZUKI AGENT. AT PEYA LEBAR.

ITS OK MAN, WE CAN LEARN FROM EACH PTHER HERE! :cheer: I LEARNT ALOT FROM ICE, HE IS THE 'CHIEF MECH' HERE :cheeky:

keyboard spoil so long liao still dowan to change ah.....

Anyway hor, technically speaking, if your carb is tuned correctly it shouldn't go off tune so fast....

So dun haf to go so often....

Originally posted by DirTmaN@Jan 14 2005, 06:15 AM

amino acid if all comes to worse that the problem is still there...do a valve check...i suspect ur valve is faulty maybe due to ur a faulty cdi like mine...it works but does not open the valve...thats y when u reach a point when ur valve is suppose to open it would choke there as there is not enough pressure to lift the valve....after a while the pressure builds up n ur valve lifts MANUALy! Any reason y i suspect is a valve problem is coz u have problems going up hill....thats one big reason to think that its a valve problem....

nice in-sight

Originally posted by stanboy@Jan 13 2005, 09:43 PM

shameless... :lol:

btw long time no c guyz!~~~~ aloz!!! :cheeky:

babyyyyy...i miss u soooooo muchhhh!! come!! kiss kiss!! muack muack!!

Ah beng wanna-be kiat...ur bike still not ok ah? dismantle ur alarm system lah~

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

Originally posted by Arcfire@Jan 14 2005, 12:43 PM

keyboard spoil so long liao still dowan to change ah.....

Anyway hor, technically speaking, if your carb is tuned correctly it shouldn't go off tune so fast....

So dun haf to go so often....

YA LOR, HAI.. U REMEMBER TAT TIME I TOLD U I DID A SERIES OF BACK FIRE? :cheeky: HAHA, DEN U TOLD ME SETTINGS WILL GET HEY WIRE? HMM... MY SETTINGS NOT GONE YET, I CAN START TO FEEL ABIT, ABIT ONLY AH... ABIT OUT LIAO.. MAYBE GIVING ABT 10% OUT LIAO

my bike got this problem recently when changing gear,

close throttle and clutch-in preparing to shift up gear but

the rpm still not yet decrease, like lagging..

so i have to hold the clutch lever longer then usual for the

rpm to decrease..

guys any ideas wats happening?

and any recomandations for fixing this?

thanks...

Originally posted by qmo_gsxr@Jan 14 2005, 07:24 PM

my bike got this problem recently when changing gear,

close throttle and clutch-in preparing to shift up gear but

the rpm still not yet decrease, like lagging..

so i have to hold the clutch lever longer then usual for the

rpm to decrease..

guys any ideas wats happening?

and any recomandations for fixing this?

thanks...

i can only tink of the throttle cable not sensitive.

u try when netreul, try ram a few times see how

yoz guys i'm back~ hehe...stucked in camp for a week. damn...my RR stuck in camp with me...zzz...sad sia the peformance drop alot sia...haiz..i think i goin to alexandra tml to wash carb and tune...i have the hissing sound..too dunno wats wrong either...but it doesn't give me much probs...maybe tml ask the uncle to check for me too.. btw think for the answer to my question posted previously...i shall go check out ...hehe...anyone here fixed a steering damper on a RR ???

Originally posted by snk@Jan 14 2005, 09:08 PM

yoz guys i'm back~ hehe...stucked in camp for a week. damn...my RR stuck in camp with me...zzz...sad sia the peformance drop alot sia...haiz..i think i goin to alexandra tml to wash carb and tune...i have the hissing sound..too dunno wats wrong either...but it doesn't give me much probs...maybe tml ask the uncle to check for me too.. btw think for the answer to my question posted previously...i shall go check out ...hehe...anyone here fixed a steering damper on a RR ???

i park my bike in camp everyday got go down warm up.. rev n stay 3k rpm or 4k for ard 4 mins. Planet ubi & K&T teach me wan..say if i seldom ride da bike.. do this also can .If go outfield then lan lan.. have to pass key to those staying in camp help me warm up.

Btw bandit400 using da same sprocket as gsxr ??? i wanna sell my Rear Size 46.

"When you use your index finger to point at a problem, there are 3 fingers of yours, discreetly pointing at yourself"