Originally posted by R3sistor@Apr 29 2005, 09:00 AM

hmm.. been having problems with my bike this few days..

When i start bike, (engine cold ) everything no problem.. seems normal..

but when i travelled for about say 10-20mins, the problem arises.. When i stop at the traffic lights, my engine RPM slowly climbs DOWN.. Seems like no power like that.. the RPM slowly goes down then followed by engine die off..

I suspect this could be because of Clutch plate(mech told me long ago my clutch plate a bit worn out liao) OR it could be my spark plug(i didn't change it for quite long liao)

Any of you met this problem before ? can anyone advise?

Clutch plate were nt link to tis incident,Tis happen to me 1yr bac...siao liao...forget watz the prob...

it could b few below

1)when is the last time u change ur Air filter

2)Did u realise any changes in ur tunning?

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

• Replies 28k

• IceZ

• ben2306

• Arcfire

• paiseh

Originally posted by IceZ@Apr 29 2005, 10:24 AM

Clutch plate were nt link to tis incident,Tis happen to me 1yr bac...siao liao...forget watz the prob...

it could b few below

1)when is the last time u change ur Air filter

2)Did u realise any changes in ur tunning?

hmm.. yeah i also thought it should not be clutch plate..

Air filter.. i think it was quite long ago.. but i know its yet to be 10,000 KM yet (change every 10,000km?)

i know my spark plug really use freaking long liao.. i was thnking could it be the cause of the problem?

didn't make any changes to tunning...

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@Apr 29 2005, 10:29 AM

hmm.. yeah i also thought it should not be clutch plate..

Air filter.. i think it was quite long ago.. but i know its yet to be 10,000 KM yet (change every 10,000km?)

i know my spark plug really use freaking long liao.. i was thnking could it be the cause of the problem?

didn't make any changes to tunning...

I would say its more likely your air filter....there is no such thing as 10000km for the filter. even after 5000km the filter would be damn dirty in our conditions.

Plugs might be the case as well, since you mentioned that you have not changed them for some time....go get them checked out...

but when i travelled for about say 10-20mins, the problem arises.. When i stop at the traffic lights, my engine RPM slowly climbs DOWN.. Seems like no power like that.. the RPM slowly goes down then followed by engine die off..

I suspect this could be because of Clutch plate(mech told me long ago my clutch plate a bit worn out liao) OR it could be my spark plug(i didn't change it for quite long liao)

I had similar problem a while a ago, took it for carb tuining and it was fine after that. i'm not sure mine's the same case like urs

guys,clutch plate can be one of the reasons wor...coz if it's wear off,when 1st gear engage when stationary...it tends to move off,but u keep applying brake,will make the rpm lower and results engine died down. Coz i've experience that... but there's quite a few links to the problem resistor having.

Resistor,when u engage 1st gear... will it tends to move when even u hav clutched in?

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

Originally posted by He@d|3sS^b|k3r@Apr 29 2005, 03:32 PM

guys,clutch plate can be one of the reasons wor...coz if it's wear off,when 1st gear engage when stationary...it tends to move off,but u keep applying brake,will make the rpm lower and results engine died down. Coz i've experience that... but there's quite a few links to the problem resistor having.

Resistor,when u engage 1st gear... will it tends to move when even u hav clutched in?

Yeap. My clutch plate was worn out long ago. Just that i left it as it is. cause still can use..

The thing is.. when my engine cold, i clutch in first gear, engine wont die

only when hot. and even if i;m in netural gear when engine is hot, it still dies off.

Nike - Just do it!

MY GOD. this time really big problem liao..

jsut got home.. heng i could still ride my bike to motorshop to park outside..

had to push the bike for the last 400 metres though..

I hope it isn't too bad

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@Apr 29 2005, 11:32 PM

I hope it isn't too bad

Wads the problem man? can't start?

Originally posted by R3sistor@Apr 29 2005, 11:32 PM

I hope it isn't too bad

Hope u dun kana my problem... ur scenario seems familiar to my recent incident.

Originally posted by R3sistor@Apr 29 2005, 03:34 PM

Yeap. My clutch plate was worn out long ago. Just that i left it as it is. cause still can use..

The thing is.. when my engine cold, i clutch in first gear, engine wont die

only when hot. and even if i;m in netural gear when engine is hot, it still dies off.

from wad i see, G4's in hot weather no power,low RPM... clutch plate wear off will cause the bike to stall due to low RPM. 0nce clutch plates is worn, plz change it coz it will affect the gear box.

Wad happen to ur bike? @Resistor?

http://rds.yahoo.com/S=96062883/K=bikestunts/v=2/SID=w/l=IVS/SIG=13jp55pvs/*-http%3A//us.movies1.yimg.com/movies.yahoo.com/images/hv/photo/movie_pix/dreamworks_skg/biker_boyz/bikestunts.jpg

...LeT tHe WeAk SaY, i Am StRoNg. .

when hot easy to die off rite the engine? tink u got to change ur plugs? or repalce ur air filter, used to haf the same problem too.. after these changes den the bike is ok

just an update.. went planet motor..

got the problem of the timing solved. Seems that there's a wire from the CDI to the engine at the left engine cover that was loose ( can't remeber what's the term for it).. and my coolant pump wasn't working! PLUS coolant pipe(the rubber one at the left) was broken. Changed pump to 2nd hand. seems ok until now..

There's HEAT issues with my bike now.. after changing coolant pump, it was worst off than when i i didn't change it. I had a short 20 min ride back to my gf house.. no traffic on road.. means no jam and my bike started to heat up pretty fast. I can feel the heat rising up just sitting on the bike.

Temp shot to above the "C" Mark pretty fast (usually it happens only in traffic jams). I guess i've to bring my bike back to planet for another check.. since the heat issue isn't solved. Lucky no jam and i could move off pretty quickly still got some air going to my engine to cool it

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@May 1 2005, 03:26 AM

just an update.. went planet motor..

got the problem of the timing solved. Seems that there's a wire from the CDI to the engine at the left engine cover that was loose ( can't remeber what's the term for it).. and my coolant pump wasn't working! PLUS coolant pipe(the rubber one at the left) was broken. Changed pump to 2nd hand. seems ok until now..

There's HEAT issues with my bike now.. after changing coolant pump, it was worst off than when i i didn't change it. I had a short 20 min ride back to my gf house.. no traffic on road.. means no jam and my bike started to heat up pretty fast. I can feel the heat rising up just sitting on the bike.

Temp shot to above the "C" Mark pretty fast (usually it happens only in traffic jams). I guess i've to bring my bike back to planet for another check.. since the heat issue isn't solved. Lucky no jam and i could move off pretty quickly still got some air going to my engine to cool it

Could be a leak...... you got check for any water dripping at the bottom of your bike? check you coolant reservoir?

Hello guys,

Got neodymium magnets for sale.

Helps increase fuel mileage.

Anyone interested, check out the thread under Product Mass Ordering.

Times-They-Are-A-Changing

Originally posted by Arcfire@May 1 2005, 10:32 PM

Could be a leak...... you got check for any water dripping at the bottom of your bike? check you coolant reservoir?

the thing is.. the mech found my coolant to be leaking, replaced the pipe and the coolant pump as well, and it was worst off after THAT! Before i came bike shop.. there was no temperature problems.. so i wonder why.

I rode at night the very day i fixed my bike, temp rising fast. Lucky thing is no jam, so still can use the "wind" to cool it a little. but can still see my temp guage slowly rising above the "C" mark.. usually it doesn't happen.

Can practically feel heat rising from the engine.. Was really very hot.. even my sub-frames( the metal frames?) i touch it liao it was so hot..

i don know what could be wrong.. since before i go shop it wasn't that bad

after fixing my coolant pump and the leaking pipe, the bike temp climbed higher in a shorter time.. Now i just have to on my fan while riding, to help cool down the bike

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@May 2 2005, 12:40 AM

the thing is.. the mech found my coolant to be leaking, replaced the pipe and the coolant pump as well, and it was worst off after THAT! Before i came bike shop.. there was no temperature problems.. so i wonder why.

I rode at night the very day i fixed my bike, temp rising fast. Lucky thing is no jam, so still can use the "wind" to cool it a little. but can still see my temp guage slowly rising above the "C" mark.. usually it doesn't happen.

Can practically feel heat rising from the engine.. Was really very hot.. even my sub-frames( the metal frames?) i touch it liao it was so hot..

after fixing my coolant pump and the leaking pipe, the bike temp climbed higher in a shorter time.. Now i just have to on my fan while riding, to help cool down the bike

hmmm..who did the bike for you? Go back planet n give ah chong one times gd one...hahaha

Juz go back to planet n tell ah chong wad happened, i'm sure he'll be glad to rectify the problem for you.

Originally posted by R3sistor@May 2 2005, 12:40 AM

Ur Radiator fan got on? I think most likely there is a leak in the cooling system.. ur coolant got "boil"?

yeap.. i need to give them a call.. don have time to send my bike down during weekdays.. maybe this coming sat..

I think its quite strange.. my bike was virutally without coolant before i went planet (cause coolant leaking) PLUS the bike's idling problem.

The good thing was.. HENG my idling problem was solved easily..

the strange thing is.. after fixing a coolant pipe + coolant pump.. the heat problem came.. i wonder why..

anyway arcfire, thanx for yr help pal. :D

Nike - Just do it!

yo guys..i found out that my gxxer's fuel comsumption seems to be on the high side. Full tank including the reserve got for abt 210km. Juz got the bike for 2 weeks from bike shop and just changed a new air filter. Other than carb wash and tuning and riding style, what other things could be done?

Originally posted by solidpig@May 2 2005, 02:07 AM

yo guys..i found out that my gxxer's fuel comsumption seems to be on the high side. Full tank including the reserve got for abt 210km. Juz got the bike for 2 weeks from bike shop and just changed a new air filter. Other than carb wash and tuning and riding style, what other things could be done?

u need wash + Tune yr GSXR.

in any case, its a 10 years old bike, its inevitable that it drinks petrol. Mine reaches reserve at around 230km - 240km depending on riding style.

That's considered lucky, cause when i just got my bike, i hit reserve at 160km!! hehe..

Nike - Just do it!

just to confirm my problem..

guys.. can u people tell me if u guys hit the "C" mark or even slightly above the "C" in yr temp guage during normal road conditions (No jam no nothing, yr temp will hit "C" mark?)?

Nike - Just do it!

Originally posted by R3sistor@May 2 2005, 03:02 AM

u need wash + Tune yr GSXR.

in any case, its a 10 years old bike, its inevitable that it drinks petrol. Mine reaches reserve at around 230km - 240km depending on riding style.

That's considered lucky, cause when i just got my bike, i hit reserve at 160km!! hehe..

so after wash and tune, the milage increased after your first ride?

and btw... I wonder if there's any oncoming g4 outing? Can't wait to ABSORB all the pointers from fellow lau jiao G4ers!!