While my baby (in a pram) and I were waiting for to cross the traffic at the junction of Boundary Road and Serangoon Ave 4. I heard a loud, sharp, screaming and of course irritated noise coming from some distance (just like the olden day, Ah Beng cut out 2 stroke pipe:thumb:).

I turn my head and check around, what the hell is that noise ! Even my 8mths old baby also starts to look around with me too... Meanwhile traffic light on the main road is turning amber, the noise getting louder as if a F16 national day fly pass at low altitude...

The next image shock my eye balls !!! On the opposite side of the road, a young chap riding a motorized bicycle speed pass the amber light (at least 50km/h, base on my decade riding exp). And without any head gear !!! Must be petrol/diesel operated cos battery wouldn't produces such deafening noise.

Following closely behind are 3 more riders, of cos they beat the red light... but who cares !!! All of them have the same attire ~ without helmet ! And are doing the F1 pre-race warm up stun ~ twisting and turning...

Luckily pedestrains on the other side of the road didn't cross because waiting for them to "FLY" pass. Thanks to their loud noise, no one attempt to cross the road.:thumb:

Till now I have witness them doing the "FLY" pass twice... Normally ard 7.45pm to 8pm...

After seeing this incident some questions that have pop in my mind...

1. I believe that they don't have license. Cos most motorcyclist will love to keep and defend their hard effort, costly license at all cost.

2. What happen if they get in an accident ? :faint: Never mind if they were to knock down and killed by other vehicles. But what happen if the other way round ?

3. Who to cover them if they get into an accident ? Parents ?

4. How to report them ?

All Bros & Sis, care to share your view....:cheers:

Edited by heaven51
http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp350/glennkoh/TDM900/TDM.jpg
  • Replies 13

if i remember correctly, there was a ruling that came out a couple years ago stating the motorized bicycles are no longer legal. however, the catch is that any motorized bicycle purchased before that ruling was considered OK.

i suppose one way is to video them doing their stunt and posting it in some public site. it will surely catch the TP's attention.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
if i remember correctly, there was a ruling that came out a couple years ago stating the motorized bicycles are no longer legal. however, the catch is that any motorized bicycle purchased before that ruling was considered OK.

i suppose one way is to video them doing their stunt and posting it in some public site. it will surely catch the TP's attention.

Woh... how to verify when they brought the machine... super dangerous man...

My suck iPhone cant do recording, takes lousy pictures and further more they are fly at that speed.... Haiz :

My colleague also saw another stunt in Woodlands area... A family of 3 on the motorized bicycle travelling on the pavement... Husband riding, pillon wife and child squeeze inbetween... :thumb: Must hv skill...

Some snippets digging from SPF website (http://www.ifaq.gov.sg/spf/apps/fcd_faqmain.aspx -> Traffic Matters -> Enhanced Safety Requirements For Motorised Bicycles And Riders):

What other requirements do I have to comply with if I want to ride a motorised bicycle?

You have to be at least 16 years old and you have to wear a bicycle helmet.

I already own a motorised bicycle. What must I do?

If you own a motorised bicycle, you need to send your motorised bicycle to any one of the nine LTA authorised vehicle inspection centres for inspection before 1 January 2005. An LTA seal will be affixed on your motorised bicycle if it meets with the new requirements

What can I do with my motorised bicycle if it cannot comply with the new technical requirements?

If your motorised bicycle is unable to comply with LTA's new technical requirements, you cannot use it on public roads. However, if it was bought before 1 October 2004, and satisfied the previous requirement of having a maximum power output of 200 watts and below, you can approach the LTA authorised vehicle inspection centres and show proof of date of purchase. The inspection centres will consider requests to affix seals on such motorised bicycles on a case-by-case basis. Please bring along the technical specifications of the motorised bicycles if you have them.

What is the penalty if I ride a motorised bicycle that does not comply with the new technical requirements set by LTA?

Any person found riding a non-compliant motorised bicycle on public roads are liable to a fine of up to $2,000 or a jail term of up to three months for the first offence. For subsequent offences, the offender is liable to a fine of up to $5,000 or a jail term of up to six months.

What is the penalty if I do not wear a helmet? Does a cyclist need to wear a helmet?

Riders of motorised bicycles, who do not comply with the rider requirements, are liable to a fine up to $1,000 or a jail term of up to three months.

Who should I call to report on offences related to motorised bicycles and what kind of information do I need to provide?

If you spot illegally modified motorised bicycles on public roads, you can contact LTA at 1800 - CALL LTA (1800 - 2255 582). You should provide your contact details and information, such as where and when such illegally modified motorised bicycles were usually spotted.

If you wish to report on the use of motorised bicycles on pavements or users riding recklessly, you can contact the nearest Neighbourhood Police Centres (NPCs). Alternatively, you can write in to the Chief Investigation Officer, Violation Reports, of the Traffic Police Department at 10 Ubi Ave 3 Singapore 408865.

Key points:

- Max power

- Rider MUST wear helmet

I think those punks' machine not road legal... 200 watts = 0.268 hp, don't think can hit 50km/h with those figures?

Let's get the facts right.

If you can hear a motorised bicycle, then it has to be a petrol driven motorised bicycle because an electric driven motorised bicycle generates no noise.

Only electrical motorised bicycles are allowed on public roads.

Although the rules restrict the power output to no more than 200w, you can walk into any bicycle shop can buy one with 500w. The modern electrical motors are built into the hub of the wheel, and some of them have such motor in both the front, and rear wheel.

There are so many of them zipping about in such electrical bikes-on-steroid in geylang area, and I have reasons to believe that some are using them to ferry the prostitutes to their customers around the vicinity.

I once clocked an electrical motorised bicycle with pillion going constantly at 50kph for more than 4km, from geylang to lavender.

There is no enforcement of such errant motorised bicycles, and the shops selling them are also not regulated. To report on them is useless unless LTA makes registration of such motorised bicycles compulsory and subject them to annual inspection to ensure that they are still within their original specifications.

Meanwhile, just sit tight and wait for the real big accident to happen, and pray hard it's not one of our loved ones.

Maybe it's easier to catch MRT commuters with sweet in their mouth. :angel:

they are really very idiotic.

while their machines can go up to that kinda speed, they cant brake!!! :faint:

some more dun wear helmet/ lights on etc.

pls remind ur loved ones dun try it.

Let's get the facts right.

If you can hear a motorised bicycle, then it has to be a petrol driven motorised bicycle because an electric driven motorised bicycle generates no noise.

Only electrical motorised bicycles are allowed on public roads.

Although the rules restrict the power output to no more than 200w, you can walk into any bicycle shop can buy one with 500w. The modern electrical motors are built into the hub of the wheel, and some of them have such motor in both the front, and rear wheel.

There are so many of them zipping about in such electrical bikes-on-steroid in geylang area, and I have reasons to believe that some are using them to ferry the prostitutes to their customers around the vicinity.

I once clocked an electrical motorised bicycle with pillion going constantly at 50kph for more than 4km, from geylang to lavender.

There is no enforcement of such errant motorised bicycles, and the shops selling them are also not regulated. To report on them is useless unless LTA makes registration of such motorised bicycles compulsory and subject them to annual inspection to ensure that they are still within their original specifications.

Meanwhile, just sit tight and wait for the real big accident to happen, and pray hard it's not one of our loved ones.

Maybe it's easier to catch MRT commuters with sweet in their mouth. :angel:

Its LOUD and HIGH PITCH ! Image I can heard them coming, in a six lanes junction... As mention, even my baby know how to look out for them...

So LOUD x 4 = SUPER LOUD as they are a gang of four !

they are really very idiotic.

while their machines can go up to that kinda speed, they cant brake!!! :faint:

some more dun wear helmet/ lights on etc.

pls remind ur loved ones dun try it.

Very irresponsible... They die never mind but what happen if they knock onto someone/vehicle... Who to claim against as I doubt that they have any motor insurance coverage... Sure make them/family pay like hell...

Yes, I've seen once or twice also these mopeds on the road (isolated incidents). It's super loud as exhaust has no muffler...

Yeap...Very loud, I mean super loud... I've saw them twice myself...

Really dangerous going at that break neck speed without any protective gears...

Further to that without any insurance coverage when any accident happen...:sian:

If only there's more of them on the road. Then we can start marketing Pedestrain Protective Gears complete with CE armour, airbags and whatnots... :cheeky:

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

i tot ban already.. where do these guys get sia

That what I thought so...somehow its being revive back again...

If only there's more of them on the road. Then we can start marketing Pedestrain Protective Gears complete with CE armour, airbags and whatnots... :cheeky:

:cheers: Hope your business will be good :thumb:

Be it petrol/diesel or battery operated bicycles..These riders need to take RTT and learn the rules and regulations of the road and abide by them..:thumb:

Well said... But without helmet haha...