[Discussion] Engine Oil Preference / Prices and Servicing Matters

• Replies 87

wow so secretive.....

guess u wanna know the price but not willing to tell yr price

bro , wats ur ride ...eg sohc or dohc ? rem u asking me for directions to **AHEM ***

There's a shop in Eunos Ind here.. Idenmitsu 10w40, oil filter with normal plug is ard $120+.. Use for few months.. Not bad.. U wan u can Pm me.. i see can get the address for u..

wow so secretive.....

use mobil one can liao la, KIC got a higher flash point for hard driving. If u dun track or everyday whack like got LTA chasing ur arse, no need to use too high end branded stuff. In fact, u might not be paying for the quality alone.

But if i own a car with a engine non re-con 5 yrs old with a mileage of 100k above for normal driving city/xpressway, i will use a visco 30 oil and maybe a 40 for on/off track purpose. Reason why is i feel that bearings, rods or watever has already reach the age of having higher chance to fail, so i wouldn't wanna add on the burden by using visco 50 oil that will require more mechanical movement of the engine to generate sufficient heat to melt down the oil which also can cause bearings to stress more at that age of the parts.

bro , wats ur ride ...eg sohc or dohc ? rem u asking me for directions to **AHEM ***

my ride or drive ahhah

yeah i remmeber asking the cheese crab right ??

use mobil one can liao la, KIC got a higher flash point for hard driving. If u dun track or everyday whack like got LTA chasing ur arse, no need to use too high end branded stuff. In fact, u might not be paying for the quality alone.

But if i own a car with a engine non re-con 5 yrs old with a mileage of 100k above for normal driving city/xpressway, i will use a visco 30 oil and maybe a 40 for on/off track purpose. Reason why is i feel that bearings, rods or watever has already reach the age of having higher chance to fail, so i wouldn't wanna add on the burden by using visco 50 oil that will require more mechanical movement of the engine to generate sufficient heat to melt down the oil which also can cause bearings to stress more at that age of the parts.

oh, that is what my mech say

he say so old car no need so good engine oil hhahah

but i dunno what is consider normal enough and what to use

like 30w ? 40 w ??

wow so secretive.....

:lol: no la, just want to see if yours is the market price or not. Want to let go the 4L KIC unopened. Any takers? :cheeky:

dun wan friend u liao :angel:

30 or 40 should be good enuff even with common brands for normal street use, just chg the oil more regular and flush it once in a blue moon to keep the parts healthy

i also think old car no need so good engine oil

hahhah

dun wan friend u liao :angel:

i also think old car no need so good engine oil

hahhah

wat u driving ??? :angel:

I have used Mobile one, Shell ultra, castrol edge and Amoil b4. Personnally i feel the branded are overhype. Not really significant also comparing to better FC or better hp.

Lately, I using CDGE, using house brand fully syn - abit of noticable different. Engine much more silent during idling, FC got 10% better. "I did remove my VS when I go for servicing thou". Could it be the EO or VS removal causing the difference?

Edited by gentoro

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

I have used Mobile one, Shell ultra, castrol edge and Amoil b4. Personnally i feel the branded are overhype. Not really significant also comparing to better FC or better hp.

Lately, I using CDGE, using house brand fully syn - abit of noticable different. Engine much more silent during idling, FC got 10% better. "I did remove my VS when I go for servicing thou". Could it be the EO or VS removal causing the difference?

well i dun think VS will affect much..

And EO does not increase hp, commercials sometimes brag abt it

yeah but i was happy because a passenge comment that my car is more smoother and silent during low speed in carpark after using CDGE. Using same old spark plug and only change EO, EO filter, air filter, air con filter.

Car:

Leisure driving and family outing

Kia Cerato/Auto/Sedan:

Present FC: 11.03km/L

eo plays a part in the sound ?

cause it sounds louder now that i use (the brand radeon or something )

liquid molly

saw in autobac , liquid molly price is :faint:

call "knocking"

oh so if i use 10w , the "knocking" will be quieter

saw in autobac , liquid molly price is :faint:

oh so if i use 10w , the "knocking" will be quieter

no :lol:

e.g. 10w40

10 = cold operation temp, for ang moh countries

40 = thickness of oil after blending

like i said, u use xxW30 or xxW40 oil can liao for daily drive. competition or street fighter then maybe need to research more at blah blah "flash point" blah blah "visco"

no :lol:

e.g. 10w40

10 = cold operation temp, for ang moh countries

40 = thickness of oil after blending

like i said, u use xxW30 or xxW40 oil can liao for daily drive. competition or street fighter then maybe need to research more at blah blah "flash point" blah blah "visco"

yr xx is

10w30

20w 40 ?? :)

sorry leh noob la

yr xx is

10w30

20w 40 ?? :)

sorry leh noob la

underline ones = xx

in sillypore, u can use 0 also can. unless our weather becomes like hongkong or worst it suddenly snows then we rethink again :cheeky:

is there a difference between car and bike engine oil ?????????

Yes of course brudder :cheeky: Its like baby food and adult's :thumb: You won't probably wanna use Lorry's EO on your car/bike too right? :p

i wanna ask tyrian his liquid molly how much

my latest servicing prices at Auto Recovery Hub @ marsiling industrial

5W40 liqui molly $88

oil filter free

spark plug k20pru11 denso $28 ($7/pc)

coolant flush $20

total 136