tried talking to him. But he said it's my bike engine already leaking. but on my side, even it's my engine was already leaking, how come i wasn't informed during or after servicing? End result is he only will bear half of the repair costs. I'm not satisfy with that becos he shld be responsible. But he end up telling me, during servicing they won't check engine. What kind of servicing is this? and by the way i did change my engine mounting which is just below the engine, and if it's leaking, the mech will be able to notice it.

ok, I am not siding with any party. But my experience tells me that when you ask for oil change, don't expect the mech to check the engine. This is the same for car workshops.

It is most likely that case of ultimate suayness. The gasket could still be fine when you did your engine mounting change and other stuff. The leak could have started between your last servicing that the current one.

When you did an oil change most of the old oil would have been drained. Lets say the mech did a really good job and drain the oil until the engine is nearly no oil and top up with new oil.

Here's the suay part. Mech's don't check the engine for leaks during oil change (usual case), unless they are instructed to do so. Some bikes' engine oil flow are designed to be pushed around via internal pressure. With a busted gasket, there might not be enough pressure to push the oil fast enough to the critical areas, resulting in your bike jamming.

Why it did not jam previously, you may ask. There is a high possibility that there is residual oil in those parts before they are drained during oil change.

So a combination of factors could result in what you faced.

The above are purely speculations, but without an experts autopsy of your engine, and regular checks and inspections by yourself, there really no way to put the blame on anyone. I guess it is best to cool down and accept the fact that something happened and the best thing to do is just suck thumb, get it repaired and move on.

Just learn from these lessons that it is your responsibility to do detailed visual checks weekly (if possible), or at the very least bi-weekly. All these checks takes you at the very most 15mins to 1/2 hour, but it surely reduces your unhappiness of the bike's problems by a lot when issues crops up.

Pulsar UG3 (Mar 07 -> 21 Jan 2009)

S4 Ver S. (Scrapped May 2010)

S4 Revo (05 Aug 2010 -> current)

• Replies 64

wat an case.... i think take the offer man... half the cost, you go where and find???

even if u buy an old bike for some sales shops, they are not willing to pay for any damage after you ride out for a few days...

here you have a service shop that is straight forward, and willing to pay half...

take it man!!

After reading both sides of story, I guess both parties are very "suay".

However, I feel that the workshop out of good will wanted to help Desmond to move on by giving him 50% discount but he dont get the picture and demands more which is very unfair. I mean look, most bikes or cars of a few years old will ve some oil leak here and there but usually mechs dont bother abt those leakage, that's too common for them.

I can say this is definitely not the mech's fault or the bikeshop's fault, nobody wants or expect such outcome.

Come on Desmond, if you are running a workshop or if you r in kenny's shoes how will u handle this case? Maybe you dont even bother to suggest a 50% discount... Get the bike repair n move on, no point to argue down here...

Same as joajas. I m nt siding anyone here, I m juz giving my views.

Adventures has no limit....

Aug 07 to Jun 08 - Honda NSR150SP

Jul 08 - Honda CB400 Spec 2

i dont think such and established bike shop will be so noob as to cause engine leak just by oil change lah. leak also at most didn't tighten oil drain plug wont cause engine to seize

if really happy with the bike shop dan change to another bike shop. There are many scooters specialist around. PM me if you need help finding them

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm138/Sulphur81/Picture006-2.jpg

shop is willing to bare 1/2 of the $1100 they charge for the repairs out of goodwill..

shops wont give cash out just like that.. either you receive their services, or nothing. cashflow is impt to a biz.

my story was: i went to a workshop to change EO. after they drained the EO out and replace with new EO.. they realised my was leaking, then tell me i can take bus home already. i thought they were kidding, until the boss came and tell me my oil sump needs to be replaced.. i was like wtf!? how come a supposedly routine change of EO become a replacement of oil sump as well? how i go work the next day, this was my major concern cos i stay very far away from my workplace..

went back the next day to pay the full amount for the replacements..

lesson learnt...next tym avoid changing of eo..hahaha!!! kiding2...

Sept' 08 - ??????? - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FU *** H)

Sept' 09 - Dec' 09 - HONDA NSR 150 SP (FR **** E)

Mar' 10 - ??????? - YAMAHA RXZ 135 (FS **** E)

**Gif image removed. please do not add a 6mb gif file into your sig as it slows everyone's surfing**

shop is willing to bare 1/2 of the $1100 they charge for the repairs out of goodwill..

shops wont give cash out just like that.. either you receive their services, or nothing. cashflow is impt to a biz.

my story was: i went to a workshop to change EO. after they drained the EO out and replace with new EO.. they realised my was leaking, then tell me i can take bus home already. i thought they were kidding, until the boss came and tell me my oil sump needs to be replaced.. i was like wtf!? how come a supposedly routine change of EO become a replacement of oil sump as well? how i go work the next day, this was my major concern cos i stay very far away from my workplace..

went back the next day to pay the full amount for the replacements..

So am i right to say the break even point for the thread starter is $550, meaning if he can find a bike shop to repair his bike at $550, it makes no difference to do it elsewhere or to take up the offer?

ah ya go find a secondhand engine and just drop it in la problem solve.

why don't you claim from the shop $550 (since they are willing to bear half the cost) and go to other bike shop to repair?

Good suggestion but do a small engine need 1.1k to repair.....Well....I not sure but no one would do business at a loss of 50%....

Why not bring to across the road and have a second opinion at TXX HXX there.....

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Good suggestion but do a small engine need 1.1k to repair.....Well....I not sure but no one would do business at a loss of 50%....

Why not bring to across the road and have a second opinion at TXX HXX there.....

maybe you can look for botak for your repair quote?

No point making guess >

item need replace >

1. Cyclinder Head

2. Cyclinder Block Piston

3. Crank shaft complete

4. complete gasket

5. oil seal

6. etc...

I suggest changing everything new. If used parts and someting happen after 1 month.... how? i am worry ...

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

After reading all the posts in this thread, my advice is just get the bike repaired & move on. No point arguing with the bike shop for compensation because end of the day, you are not the mechanic who can define is it because of your bike really wear & tear or the mechanic's fault because engine oil will not leak out from the bike immediately after you top up even if any of the gasket had worn out, it takes a couple of days to notice & provided do you ensure safety checks on your bike everyday b4 you ride. I agree with some of the bikers who wrote in this thread, dun expect every mechanic will go extra mile to check this & that for you unless your bike always service by that particular guy. Just my neutral thought.

live is short , play hard ...... :gun: :help:

No point making guess >

item need replace >

1. Cyclinder Head

2. Cyclinder Block Piston

3. Crank shaft complete

4. complete gasket

5. oil seal

6. etc...

I suggest changing everything new. If used parts and someting happen after 1 month.... how? i am worry ...

Since the boss has already stated clearly what are the new items that he will be changing, why don't you take up his offer if the cost of repairing is around the same as other shops. Hope both paties can settle this amicably.

Hmmm...maybe miscommunication on the definition of "leaking":

1. If after servicing, the engine oil is leaking out of the engine, it would have been noticeable on the floor of the workshop, especially if the bike is started up on the spot. This could be due to mechanic's fault OR that the problem was there before but was just aggravated this time round. And this would largely be due to over tightening of oil drain screw causing the oil sump to crack. If this is the problem, dont even need to go to the extent of overhauling the whole engine.

2.If the engine oil is leaking out into other compartments within the engine or block that it should not be going into, due to some cracks in the block or blown gasket, then it is quite impossible for the mech to pick up this problem on the spot during only an engine oil change because the engine oil may not leak out of the engine straight away and it will only present itself after some time of riding. And it is quite impossible for the mech to cause the engine block to crack or gasket to spoil just by changing engine oil, spark plug, oil filter or even changing engine mounting. This type of problem happens over a period of time.

If a mech is expected to open up and analyse the health of the engine during every engine oil change, be prepared to pay the relevant labour fees, which I'm sure is a few times more than the engine oil itself. If youre willing to do that, I'm sure the mech is more than willing to help.

Just my humble 2 cents.

Just a Little humble Question....

Where the oil leak from? Head or drain nut or filter?

Do you all believe that the oil will leak out 1L overnight with the gasket burnt? I doubt so....

**CONFIDENTIALITY STATEMENT**

This message is intended for the sole use of the individual(s) and/or entity to whom it is addressed, and may contain information that is legally privileged, confidential, and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. Before printing this message, please make sure it is necessary. Saving the environment is in our hands. :angel:

Is there any EO left inside the engine??? I don`t think EO will leak till dry @ the head.

Its quite impossible for the for you not to notice the EO light @ the LCD panel if there is no oil.

From what i see, most likely your engine already on the edge of going, just that Future did the last servicing. Kind of down on luck.

http://i17.photobucket.com/albums/b55/soundless81/SwimmingSession.jpg

Apr 2006 ~ Current - Toyota Altis 1.6A

Apr 2010 ~ Current - X9 500(Big Bulb-å¤§ç¯æ³¡)

May 2010 ~ Current - 150cc ET8(Little Lamb)

Oct 2010 ~ Oct 2012 - FZ6S2(肥仔六)

Oct 2012 ~ Current - ZG1400(鸡踢鸭)

Do you all believe that the oil will leak out 1L overnight with the gasket burnt? I doubt so....

Head....look at the pics. And do you believe the mech will be stupid enuf not to tighten the nut and filter, till the extent of leaking 1L overnight? I doubt so too......

Is there any EO left inside the engine??? I don`t think EO will leak till dry @ the head.

Its quite impossible for the for you not to notice the EO light @ the LCD panel if there is no oil.

From what i see, most likely your engine already on the edge of going, just that Future did the last servicing. Kind of down on luck.

Down on luck on both side.

SCTR ATCK enthusiast

Tuning Crew @ SG

www.scootertuning.de

www.scooterforum.net

there's still engine oil in the engine

Kenny Seaw

9623 8875

There is no use in friendship with an ungrateful person.

Anger comes as a result of intolerance.

One who can maintain peace of mind is happy.

Happy is he who killed his own anger.

Let bygones be bygones --- use BAYGON

Yamaha SparkZ 110 (2004 to 2008)

Yamaha X1-R 135 (June 2008 to Feb 2009)

Gilera ST Runner 200 (Feb 2009 to I dun knw...:confused:)

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=123504&d=1252221095

Cinta takkan datang, kalau tak dicari ... Cinta takkan dapat, kalau tak memberi ...

just off topic abit.. any1 know of any good scooter shops in east to recommend? kallang abit outta the way for me :(

07-09 : NSR SP 150cc

09-10 : Piaggio X9 200 EVO A

Current Ride : CB 400 Super 4