Guest Supertoad76

I always believe that as long as the sus is adjustable, it will be ok.Anyway I think the fzs1 sus is enuff. as for high speed handling, with a full fairing, the vfr wins.....I will still say with a bigger screen the sitting position of the fz1 is more comfy after like maybe till thailand?.

I would vouch for what fazer600 said, his bike is really fun. :D

• Replies 2.1k

Fazer600 quoted by Dexing 4 35 yrs old otr without IU is $13500.

Hello, are you there......

ah, so many ppl say me....

ok ok lemme just explain how i think. this is of coz just me. u see, if i had the opportunity to follow my passion and completely not consider money and other real world issues, i would have gone right out and bought an R1. if i could buy the R1 honestly i would never look at other bikes again (at least for the next decade till the next generation supersports comes out). unfortunately, money is a big issue with me. if i am not wrong, an R1 costs $21k. i am a student now graduating in 2 years time. once i start work, must think bout marriage lah house lah and heck of a lot of other stuff which need money. sure, scrimp and save now can afford downpayment for R1 and once i work surely the instalment can afford too. but then i wont be able to afford all the other more pressing stuff. so i have long ago given up any real hopes of owning an R1. by the time i can afford, with wife and kids i doubt it will be practical then anyway.

now somebody mentioned the FZ1 cost ~$17k. i always tot it would cost the same as the R1. and that got me excited because i tot mebbe the FZS600 might cost ~$14k. thats a whopping $7k lower than my dream bike. again, if i had my way without considering money, in the 600cc class i would have gone straight out and bought the CBR600RR (how much does that cost by the way?). but i have to consider real world issues unfortunately.

so you see, the FZS600 to me is a very possible compromise that i can make. power? i want but dont need that 1000cc, i am prepared to accept that financially i have to forego the additional power no matter how power-hungry i may get on the FZS600. considering bike alone, yes i must agree the FZ1 or the R1 will be a bettter choice over the FZS600, but i have added other personal considerations into the equation to come up with the FZS600 as the only viable choice.

so it really cost ~$14k?

heh heh it really boils down to how you handle your money (and not thinking too far ahead... marriage is not in my plans yet). Currently, my NS pay is $560 and my R1 instalment is $345. To save money, i eat at home everyday. For me R1 is my dream and i'm presently fulfilling the dream. My pay is so measly and my instalment is quite ex but i'm still pleased with riding my dream bike. Next dream bike: Harley, when i get older. :shades:

http://carblueprints.info/design/images/logos/triumph-logo.png

Sorry side track abit..what abt Hornet600

just like Fazer6 using old cat....Hornet 6 using CBRF3 engine.

both are almost on par...... The best part is that this bike been around since 98, so can get quite cheap starting from $6K.

why i would pick the fazer over the hornet? plain and simple: the fazer looks heck of a lot nicer. so when u say performance both on par, then to me the fazer would still hold the advantage coz of its looks.

and i was planning buy first hand for long term use.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Oh er... Mechwira. Let's not over react. heheh :smile:

overreact? no lah, just trying to explain my situation and why i thinking of the fazer. i know confirm plus guarantee ppl here will keep on telling me to get fazer or R1 since i mentioned it was my dream bike, so i just trying to say why i wont.

hmm... I think if wanna save money like you said. might as well stick to your TA150?? :confused:

now this is a little unfair. its like saying either i go all the way or i dont go at all. i trying to find a compromise. and anyway the TA150 actually belong to my dad.

The Yamaha Diversion 900. This bike is used by Singapore's Traffic Police.

You might wanna take a look

it looks a little dated. i know choosing a bike based on looks may sound superficial, but heyeverybody wants a bike they think looks great.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

well since your dream bike is an R1 why nt just go for it then?

you live life only once...why get something that is not wat you wanted in the first place?

you are still young(so am i) so why bother abt the things that are still far away? dun live to regret the decisions that you have made...any decisions, not only bikes...

so if you have a dream then go for it...dun leave it as just a dream...

you only live life ONCE!!

look, if i could, i would, but i cant. we're different ppl living different situations. not all of us are blessed with the opportunity and capability to live all of our dreams.

i think things thru, and to me purchasing the R1 will be the decision i will regret. that regret will definitely not be due to the bike itself, but wat i would sacrifice to own it.

and i never said that the fazer was a bike that i did not want. i only said that the R1 was a bike i wanted even more.

heh heh it really boils down to how you handle your money (and not thinking too far ahead... marriage is not in my plans yet). Currently, my NS pay is $560 and my R1 instalment is $345. To save money, i eat at home everyday. For me R1 is my dream and i'm presently fulfilling the dream. My pay is so measly and my instalment is quite ex but i'm still pleased with riding my dream bike. Next dream bike: Harley, when i get older. :shades:

not say you, but i dun see how you can afford an R1 without any external help. annual insurance? maintenance? even if all these supported by your ns pay, then your other non-bike expenditure still must come from somewhere. now take away all external financial help completely and consider you still need to support yourself as well as your family.

look i dun want to sound as if i'm moaning bout my life beacause i'm not. i just want ppl to stop telling me 'go buy R1'. i'm asking bout the Fazer600. walk in my shoes and u will understand. so no offence to anyone, suffice to say not all of us can live all our dreams.

FZS600 is not bad leh, very fun & fast enough for spore road leh!! Very light also, easy & friendly bike to ride. Tyres are same as super 4, so very cheap. Fuel tank damn big, can last me 420km for 22 litres. Engine very reliable too. More then enough for touring. Insurance cheap too at $660. No regard downgrading to a FZS600 from FZS1000.

u downgrade from FZS1 to Fazer600??? how much diff is insurance and petrol comsuption??? how about insrance??? parts avaibla>E?? :confused:

:shy: cHrIsOnAnCe :makeup:

:box: OnE tHaT s|tS oN PoRcH sW|Ng :cheeky:

:lovestruck: aPaRt By E mOOn N sTaRs :lovestruck:

:smooch: LoOk|nG @ skY tH|NkInG :dozed: oF CB1000/Fz1000 !!!:smooch:

Guest cheeko
u downgrade from FZS1 to Fazer600??? how much diff is insurance and petrol comsuption??? how about insrance??? parts avaibla>E??

Fzs1000 insurance around $1300

Fzs600 insurance around $660

Red lights light up at 170 to 170miles for FZS1000

Red lights light up at 370 to 390KM for FZS600

Part same as 1000, very troublesome wan, must order from hongleong or motoworld, even oil filter different size, must get back from hongleong.

But overall very nice bike, i dun think in the 600cc catogery u can find any other bike which offer u the same riding comfort, wind protection, power to weight ratio,light weight & big fuel tank. So temporary also duno which bike to get if wanna upgrade.

u downgrade from FZS1 to Fazer600??? how much diff is insurance and petrol comsuption??? how about insrance??? parts avaibla>E??

Fzs1000 insurance around $1300

Fzs600 insurance around $660

Red lights light up at 170 to 170miles for FZS1000

Red lights light up at 370 to 390KM for FZS600

Part same as 1000, very troublesome wan, must order from hongleong or motoworld, even oil filter different size, must get back from hongleong.

But overall very nice bike, i dun think in the 600cc catogery u can find any other bike which offer u the same riding comfort, wind protection, power to weight ratio,light weight & big fuel tank. So temporary also duno which bike to get if wanna upgrade.

how much was the FZS600?

not say you, but i dun see how you can afford an R1 without any external help. annual insurance? maintenance? even if all these supported by your ns pay, then your other non-bike expenditure still must come from somewhere. now take away all external financial help completely and consider you still need to support yourself as well as your family.

look i dun want to sound as if i'm moaning bout my life beacause i'm not. i just want ppl to stop telling me 'go buy R1'. i'm asking bout the Fazer600. walk in my shoes and u will understand. so no offence to anyone, suffice to say not all of us can live all our dreams.

other bike costs and non-bike costs are supported by my own personal savings. Anyway if you wanna get fazer 600, by all means. Cheaper, more economical and suits your own lifestyle. Alternatively, you can try for a hornet 600 (BBDC's bike) for honda's quiet and reliable engine.

http://carblueprints.info/design/images/logos/triumph-logo.png

Oh er... hi hi everyone here. I think we should discontinue conversations as to how can anyone support their own bike. I can feel a little of tension already. :giddy:

Let's cool off about this and not bother about other ppl's personal ability to support the bike. I believe it's rather sensitive.

Let's talk more about the Fazer 1000...... :D

Reviews, Complaints etc.

I've spoken to Looi's and they said some parts are very rare for the Fazer1000. Parts like Cable clutch and Air filter is currently not in stock and needs to be ordered. :mad:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Oh er... hi hi everyone here. I think we should discontinue conversations as to how can anyone support their own bike. I can feel a little of tension already. :giddy:

Let's cool off about this and not bother about other ppl's personal ability to support the bike. I believe it's rather sensitive.

Let's talk more about the Fazer 1000...... :D

Reviews, Complaints etc.

I've spoken to Looi's and they said some parts are very rare for the Fazer1000. Parts like Cable clutch and Air filter is currently not in stock and needs to be ordered. :mad:

Yes...tok abt Fazer1....I am interested too.

What is the comfort level for pillion?

Er... this was exactly what I asked them. Clutch cable can use R1 parts. but erm.... he said it is different. yah.

Comfort Level? hmm... I'm not to sure. I tried sitting as a pillion at the Showroom and it seems ok. Upright posture for both Pillion and Rider.

Definitely more comfy with there is a box :D

Was thinking of side boxes too. :smile: :bounce:

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Guest Supertoad76

Most of pillion commented its comfy.... the power of the bike is smooth so most of the time they wanna sleep ;)

pillion till wan to sleep???? :confused:

hope the rider would sleep...

as 4choosing betwen

FI n carb, i prefer carb cos i am long dist traveller so like to have a bike that could be repaired by a mechanic all over m'sia...as for the FI, its all being controlled by one single arsehole called the ecu...if he his down, than u could be in deep shit ...cost a cool 400-500 bucks just to keep one spare...cos injection bikes just have too many sensors all over the world give u a error...fancy riding a computer :p

as 4choosing betwen

FI n carb, i prefer carb cos i am long dist traveller so like to have a bike that could be repaired by a mechanic all over m'sia...as for the FI, its all being controlled by one single arsehole called the ecu...if he his down, than u could be in deep shit ...cost a cool 400-500 bucks just to keep one spare...cos injection bikes just have too many sensors all over the world give u a error...fancy riding a computer :p

Yes you are right about Fuel injection. It's too darn expensive to keep a spare and it's so much safer when you go for long trips in terms of breakdown/repair in malaysia. :bounce:

Troubleshooting would definitely be so much more difficult. geeez. :cry:

FAZER Riders? Where are you? :lol:

Guest Supertoad76

sometimes old tech is less troublesome then high tech....

Been reading all the comments here. Taking my Class 2 in May. Thinking of getting either a Fazer600 or an auto scoot (TMAX). I know these two are completely different bikes.... but any suggestions?

Would a Fazer6 look out of place with a box install. I saw once an R1 with a box installed.

Read some bad comments on the fazer from a review but overall the Fazer's been given a thumb-ups by all reviews.

Below are some of the bad comments :

1. Handlebars vibration can be quite a nuisance.

2. The gears are clunky. (don't really know what they mean)

3. The mirrors don't really give a good view behind.

Any Fazer owners would like to comment?

Would a Fazer6 look out of place with a box install. I saw once an R1 with a box installed.

Below are some of the bad comments :

1. Handlebars vibration can be quite a nuisance.

2. The gears are clunky. (don't really know what they mean)

3. The mirrors don't really give a good view behind.

ekkeke first of all i am not a fazer owner but hop[ing to get a fazer600 like u.. having class two on may too.... wonder whether is it @ cdc like mine??? :confused:

what i heard of fazer 6 bad comments is suspension and no wind shielding @ high speed...

as for the mirror there r always modified aftmarket mirror... handlebars vibration???? r u refering @ top gear @ 10000rpm??? everybike will have certain amount of vibration...

gear chucky??? dunno what it means... but i think the main let down is suspension.... they says it no good but it from olhins.... then what suspnsion is good?

just my 2 cents worht of idea... :smile: