Hi fellow forumers, I started this thread because I found no solutions to my problem. I would like to send my laid up bike to msia for sum repairs and maintanence. According to my understanding I haf to engage a towing service to tow across SG custom. My question is can I arrange to tow my bike using a private pickup or sth? so that I wont haf to pay a sum like SGD100bucks to tow over.Its like too expensive la 200 bucks for a 2way ticket?? I asked LTA and they say I have to get a receipt and submit to lta den dey can gif me permit. Bt the thing is i haven even purchase all my parts etcetc how am i supposed to get the receipt frm the shop?? Hope to see more replies! thanks for the precious time!

• Replies 13

What is it that's stopping you from repairing your bike in Singapore? There are ample workshops here that can do a decent job.

Even if you tow to the checkpoint, you will still need to contend with the Malaysian customs on the "importation" of your bike.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

towing ur bike is more costly then 200 pluz rite?

heard that once reach over custom is one time payment of 300.. then every km is 1 sg dollar...

Bro he is asking how to drive his or his friend's van/pick up with the bike on it into JB to repair.

One solution to the LTA $@^#^*+ dodgy answer is to do as they say.

Go purchase 1 fuse/1 screw from the shop (Whatever is cheapest) show the receipt to LTA get the *$@^%#$% permit and bring your bike over.

The other is to strip the bike into parts then bring just the part there to repair.

Eg: Overhaul, strip the engine and gearbox from the chassis, then bring to JB to overhaul. Leave the chassis, suspension and rims behind in SG.

I have a solution for u.....

Please Please Ride Safely and Think of Others when You want to passby other Riders at fast Speed.....

and btw, take note of this, if ur laid up address is at ur stated address, u cant remove it without changing the laid up address with LTA, coz if ROV come and spot check ur bike(Suay Suay lah),u can fine and revoke the laid up status!

How i know? Coz this afternoon i was called up by LTA for investigations regarding my laid up bike...Suay! Got fined by them eventhough its a laid up bike! Suay!

Please Please Ride Safely and Think of Others when You want to passby other Riders at fast Speed.....

Bro he is asking how to drive his or his friend's van/pick up with the bike on it into JB to repair.

One solution to the LTA $@^#^*+ dodgy answer is to do as they say.

Go purchase 1 fuse/1 screw from the shop (Whatever is cheapest) show the receipt to LTA get the *$@^%#$% permit and bring your bike over.

The other is to strip the bike into parts then bring just the part there to repair.

Eg: Overhaul, strip the engine and gearbox from the chassis, then bring to JB to overhaul. Leave the chassis, suspension and rims behind in SG.

yo bro, i understand, but i guess i was asking about hiring a tow service... :)

oh ya btw hor ROV normally when will come ah? dress up as wad sia?? i often see people holding a stack of papers arnd my car park sia

Are you sure those are not the people who put the flyers on the windscreen of the cars? :cheeky:

no wor dey carry arnd a big file inside gt dunno sum records dey will look arnd n record 1. dey dun seem to be distributing flyers leh