Its time for inspection again. Hey, with my undertray like that, can pass onot huh? Which inspection place is lenient? But i guess its all a matter of luck right?

Anyway, I'm lazy to do the tps and tbs myself. Where can I get it done? How much?

• Replies 5.6k

Originally posted by suzuka1980@Aug 10 2005, 09:49 AM

Its time for inspection again. Hey, with my undertray like that, can pass onot huh? Which inspection place is lenient? But i guess its all a matter of luck right?

Anyway, I'm lazy to do the tps and tbs myself. Where can I get it done? How much?

I go to Excel. Look for Boon or Botak tel: 68422360... tell them I recommended you; they will take care of you.

If you are on TLR, they will know the bike quite well by now; I have been monitoring them and also gave them the TLR workshop manual... and finally dare to recommend them.

maybe they can help you with the "inspection" too... there's a vicom centre behind Shun Li Industrial bldg where they are at.

WoOOoo....damn far away ah!!!......hahahaha

hey, anyway anybody tried the Maxima engine oil before?? I think my engine oil needs to be changed soon already....i feel changing gears not that smooth anymore...haiz!~

Anyway, time to change my oil filter too...since its 2 years already

wa 2 years never change oil filter??!! power leh u....

anyway thanx john...i think i will bring to shop to ask them help mi check....are ya free tml morning and early afternoon to accompany this poor fren there? haha....

btw i haven adjusted my chain coz it aint that slack when i'm sitting upright leh...weird.....

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Aug 10 2005, 05:46 PM

anyway thanx john...i think i will bring to shop to ask them help mi check....are ya free tml morning and early afternoon to accompany this poor fren there? haha....

btw i haven adjusted my chain coz it aint that slack when i'm sitting upright leh...weird.....

1. OK, got a bit of time to meet you there or meet smwhere & ride there. After intro & sebok a bit, I have 2 go... paiseh...gotta work

2. wrt your rear shock... when you sit on bike it will sag the rear (swingarm will move upwards... you do maths so you know that the only radius/distance is constant on the center line ie: axle of the wheel and axle/pivot of the swingarm; the chain is not on that line)... hence stretching out the chain... but when you go over bumps etc... the shock (swingarm) will move up and down...so at some time the chain will touch the the pipe... chain slack should be about 1" max*...eh... too slack chain will also cause prmature wear on your sprockets.

Too little and the chain will be causing undue (tightening/pulling) pressure on the front sprocket causing accelerated wear on the gearbox axle etc etc and all parts linked by the chain)

Too much and the chain will slap against other parts within the path of the drivetrain (ie: exhaust, gearbox housing (at the front sprocket side etc)... eh.. the old saying "a stitch in time saves nine.." saves $$$$ too :thumb:

Originally posted by suzuka1980@Aug 10 2005, 11:28 AM

hey, anyway anybody tried the Maxima engine oil before?? I think my engine oil needs to be changed soon already....i feel changing gears not that smooth anymore...haiz!~

Anyway, time to change my oil filter too...since its 2 years already

You are a brave man!!! hahaha... 2 years never change oil filter!! and very lucky too...considering that you bike is still running!! :bow:

Check the oil specification that is must meet requirements and the country of manufacture....reputable ones are usually better la

To be safe... use reputable brands... I always like Mobil... personal choice.

anyone here good at figuring out sprocket ratios?

TLR come stock with 17-39. Today had changed to a 16-40 (LAB no stock again...) with a 530 DID chain.

What effect will it have? I know a bigger rear sprock with stock front results in better acceleration but sacrifice top-end a bit.

But bigger rear and smaller front? What will that change?

Originally posted by WildCard@Aug 10 2005, 09:38 PM

TLR come stock with 17-39. Today had changed to a 16-40 (LAB no stock again...) with a 530 DID chain.

What effect will it have? I know a bigger rear sprock with stock front results in better acceleration but sacrifice top-end a bit.

you will accelerate even faster but sux top end...

you can try this at those mountain bike, try to change to smallest front and biggest rear, you will feel the different, you leg cycle very fast but the bicycle wont go, but your leg feel less stress and use less strenght too...

BTW, now you just converted your bike into a wheelie bike!!! :cheer: :cheer:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by johntan@Aug 10 2005, 08:37 PM

You are a brave man!!! hahaha... 2 years never change oil filter!! and very lucky too...considering that you bike is still running!! :bow:

Check the oil specification that is must meet requirements and the country of manufacture....reputable ones are usually better la

To be safe... use reputable brands... I always like Mobil... personal choice.

of coz still running lah....oil filter simply to clear away dirt in the petrol....i never go malaysia...been pumping singapore petrol...so not that bad actually

anyway, i read that this maxima oil seems rather good....but then again...just a while ago, this royal purple oil also rather popular....now no news already...

u using mobil 1? the gold one???

Originally posted by WildCard@Aug 10 2005, 09:38 PM

with 17-39; divide 17 by 39 and you get final drive ratio of 0.436

for your 16-40... the ratio is 0.40..

To get close to original ratio you actually need 16-37 (0.432)

OK, the smaller the final drive ratio means that for the same rpm, your speed is lower - smaller final drive numbers means better pick up (over standard) but less top end... but then maybe the bike can't rev to red line on original gearing in 6th gear... so maybe top end won't be affected anyway

In your case... your 16-40 is almost same as 17-42 (0.404)

As a general rule... use as big a sproket set as possible... (ie: instead of 16-40 use 17-42) ... as the chain is less curled over a small (eg.16) sprocket = less stress.

Max front for our TL is 17... bigger and the chain would be rubbing against the gearbox housing with undesireable consequences.

You should be able to wheelie easier with your new gearing :thumb:

I use this Esso gold sh*t....no good one...dun use it.....1 used it for like only 10 months now...feel like the lubrication gone like that already manz......duh!~....

and i dun ride my bike often!!!

but at first when i just changed it...of course very good lah....super smooth...but it doesn't last.....lousy oil...

Originally posted by suzuka1980@Aug 10 2005, 11:54 PM

of coz still running lah....oil filter simply to clear away dirt in the petrol....i never go malaysia...been pumping singapore petrol...so not that bad actually

anyway, i read that this maxima oil seems rather good....but then again...just a while ago, this royal purple oil also rather popular....now no news already...

u using mobil 1? the gold one???

errmmmm... you mean fuel filter la...

use 5W-40 grade,, thicker oil (eg:15W-50) makes the bike run hotter...of course if bike is high mileage and burning oil... using a thicker oil helps.

Originally posted by suzuka1980@Aug 11 2005, 12:03 AM

I use this Esso gold sh*t....no good one...dun use it.....1 used it for like only 10 months now...feel like the lubrication gone like that already manz......duh!~....

and i dun ride my bike often!!!

but at first when i just changed it...of course very good lah....super smooth...but it doesn't last.....lousy oil...

TLR uses only 3.1L of oil... use synthetic

And even if you don't clock up the mileage... change the oil after 6months.

Especially in our weather and high humidity... the oil will break down due to moisture

oh tmr i going planet to do somethings. maybe u wanna meet up jason?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v482/suzukiroy/v-twinpowerjpeg.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v482/suzukiroy/mybike2.jpg

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Aug 11 2005, 09:23 AM

i still thinking whether to do the bike or not since i gg to sell soon.....haha....how huh?

Do up the bike...when it's running like a dream & you are having sooooo much fun... you won't want to sell it.

When it's working well... you can do wheelies so easy... and when you need to change tyres... just burn out the existing one :thumb: power on tap man!!

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Aug 11 2005, 09:23 AM

i still thinking whether to do the bike or not since i gg to sell soon.....haha....how huh?

take ur time to consider.dun make a harsh decision

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

Originally posted by Aldebaran@Aug 11 2005, 10:24 AM

i'm now having 2nd n 3rd tots....dun wanna make too rash decisions also....dunno how leh.....haiz....see how ba.... hehe

no second tots la...keep the bike.

The cost to set it up properly will probably be less than the depreciation if your try to sell it.

Eh Wildcard... how is your new 16-40 gearing set-up?

Pick up much faster..no??

Wheelies at the flick of your wrist... no??

Tell us about it man.

just came back form JB. Wow! The baby really accelerates, man.

Normall, a short twist and I'm at 4500RPM and changing gears. The same wrist turn now and I'm at 6000 RPM.

140km/h at 3rd gear while at 6000RPM? Something is really weird. It looks fast but doesn't feel fast. I think speedo is now inaccurate due to the big difference in the sprocket ratio. So I may need to invest in a Sigma digital bike speedo to get an accurate reading.

No wheelies yet. May give it a try soon, though...

Originally posted by johntan@Aug 11 2005, 12:37 AM

TLR uses only 3.1L of oil... use synthetic

And even if you don't clock up the mileage... change the oil after 6months.

Especially in our weather and high humidity... the oil will break down due to moisture

hmm...i think it uses slightly more than 3.1L of engine oil....anyway, not much of a difference....still have to buy 4L...dammit...waste money manz....and the oil also cannot keep...becoz 1 year later confirm spoilt already....

hmm...true...i've not changed my oil and fuel filter for 2 years already!!!.....hahaa...fuel filter important to change?? its difficult to change, because its right inside the petrol tank...

wah....somebody sabotaged my bike....removed one of the bolts to the side stand...

I believe the intention was for the side stand to give way....damn evil...confirm not a one man job...because one person has to put the bike upright in order to unscrew easier (although still very difficult)

now have to search for a bolt that can fit in.....looks huge manz!!!