Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Apr 11 2006, 01:53 AM

where to get the nissin brakepads and how much if i diy...

thankz

i just check my EBC pad... omg... 18-19k km... goin to wear off soon..... ahhhhh 20 more days to pay day...... thinkin after my short malaysia trip i goin to use back fizzpower to tahan a while...

nissin should be abt 60+ or so... check with FJT... info me the price also... :smile:

• Replies 6.6k

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Apr 11 2006, 01:53 AM

where to get the nissin brakepads and how much if i diy...

thankz

FunckyChicken,

try FJT or Eversuccess.

Simon Soh

It's not the destination we conquered but ourselves.

Chiang Saen, Land of Golden Triangle

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5254/5500744953_52f8f8de37.jpg

26th Dec 05' - 9th Jan 06' Northern Thailand Trip

Hi Simon,

How much is gonna cost if i wanna change my gear spring retainer?

Once again the problem occur (slip gear while on high speed approched hump or uneven road surface) Check with FJT cost for the fuel pump (currently no stock arrival next month) S$295 ..

kana sai hidden agenda..... use the tester spring for tonka14 clockhead lar! hahahahhahaa quiet quiet use company pc arr!!!

btw thankz simon & cool79 , will give the a ring. tot they only carry goldfren and dp brake pads.

http://i59.photobucket.com/albums/g313/funkyvtec/IMG-4077.jpg

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Current Rides: FIT 1.3 GF MoonRoof.

Originally posted by Hidden_Agenda@Apr 14 2006, 12:40 PM

Hi Simon,

Once again the problem occur (slip gear while on high speed approched hump or uneven road surface) Check with FJT cost for the fuel pump (currently no stock arrival next month) S$295 ..

okie for the price

last time my R6 pump cost me abt 160... but it onli last for 3 yrs....

ST11 should b able to last for another 10 yrs?

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Apr 15 2006, 05:34 AM

kana sai hidden agenda..... use the tester spring for tonka14 clockhead lar! hahahahhahaa quiet quiet use company pc arr!!!

btw thankz simon & cool79 , will give the a ring. tot they only carry goldfren and dp brake pads.

my pad also botak liao... today go to desaru... scared.... don dare to brake too much.... tomolo wake up goin to change back to fizzpower to tahan till next mth or 2 mths... then i go n buy nissin pads

wahh biang.. fizzpower... is still remember i first ride my s4 and changed dat brand at LAB, i brake during raining time and balls almost went up my throat!! hahahhahaa..

Previous Rides: RXK 135, S4 Project Big 1, S4 Vtec1, ST1100 Pan European, Cbr954, K7 600, FJR1300 ABS, SilverWing FJS 400.

Originally posted by FunkyChicken@Apr 15 2006, 06:32 PM

wahh biang.. fizzpower... is still remember i first ride my s4 and changed dat brand at LAB, i brake during raining time and balls almost went up my throat!! hahahhahaa..

i found a feroda pad... heng... now using it... braking power not as gd as EBC

but at least better than fizzpower....

my virgin ride with ST to malaysia.. i was using fizzpower.... jam brake at 160... balls all drop...... after dat scared... change pad liao

Originally posted by Hidden_Agenda@Apr 14 2006, 12:40 PM

Hi Simon,

Hidden_Agenda,

Im still finding out how to locate the 'spring', be prepared for the worse scenario, know what I mean.? :smile:

the fuel pump comes in not really that expensive compared to the shop our member replaced it years back....

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Cool79@Apr 15 2006, 05:43 AM

okie for the price

last time my R6 pump cost me abt 160... but it onli last for 3 yrs....

ST11 should b able to last for another 10 yrs?

Cool79,

up to now he's the 2nd ST1100 owner I knew with faulty fuel pump.

I think it could be due to fair wear/tear or other causes simply cant be explained.

for u guys info, conventional method can be adopted in the event of faulty fuel pump if we r not too far away from home. :smile:

Simon Soh

one thing good about the ST11, the ppl on it are quite friendly when they see a fellow ST...

i met John on an FS plate maroon ST while we both stuck in traffic jam outside Sungei Rd started chatting until Sim Lim tower.. dun think i encountered this while on other bikes..

***Ride Safe***

Ah Ha... U met TP John....

He is 1 of the MOST friendly ST rider...

When see a ST rider... just wave or knob your helmet when on the road

Cheers...

Jack

Yamaha LC125

Yamaha TZR125

Kawasaki KDX200

Suzuki Savage400

Kawasaki Ninja400

Honda Steed 400

Yamaha XJ600

Harley Davidson Hugger883

Yamaha V-Max 1200

Honda ST1100Y P.E

Little Lamb X9

hahaha.. yah lar.. very friendly....

even i ride tis bike paisey wana wear my cuttin helmet sometimes!! hahahahahha

today i finally become a ST11 owner, so happy ^_^. Hope to catch up with u guys in the kopi and DIY section. There are some questions i would like ask about this bike:

1. I notice that my idling is at 300rpm when start.. it goes up to 600 when hot.. it is the tipical rpm setting for ST1100? I had an impression that for bigger CC bike, it should go on idling effortlessly.. but for my case it hardly.. I kinda suspect idling too low.. is it true?

2. does ST1100 's engine get hot easily? during traffic jam do you guys hit the read zone?

Appreciate the replies!

Originally posted by keaizhu@Apr 17 2006, 08:50 PM

today i finally become a ST11 owner, so happy ^_^. Hope to catch up with u guys in the kopi and DIY section. There are some questions i would like ask about this bike:

1. I notice that my idling is at 300rpm when start.. it goes up to 600 when hot.. it is the tipical rpm setting for ST1100? I had an impression that for bigger CC bike, it should go on idling effortlessly.. but for my case it hardly.. I kinda suspect idling too low.. is it true?

2. does ST1100 's engine get hot easily? during traffic jam do you guys hit the read zone?

Appreciate the replies!

keaizhu,

idling should be setted at around 1000rpm but somehow u can set it to ur own likings, some owner chose to have it lower claimt it save fuel... :D

it is to accomodate sufficient suction pressure for oil pump to bring up EO to provide lubrication for cam shaft. not much harm setting it lower OR at ur favorable idling sound.... but do hold ur throttle up ur idling to approxiamtely 1200-1500rpm for some seconds during cool starting(especially parked overnite or at cold astmospheric places) until it idle steadily.

during heavy traffic condition it shouldnt touch red zone, check if sufficient coolantis inside ur radiator & reservor container. if plm still persist u need to check other area if there r any pressure leaking.

check if radiator cap if its in good condition(inpsect the rubber seal make sure its not cracked, might be a possiblity the bar pressure is deteriorated), could be it not retaining sufficient coolant inside the radiator during higher heat operation therfore causing it to touch 'red zone'.

not to worry, this is the common plm for all ageing bikes. if it still there u will have to check ur thermostat.

hope it helps to solve the plm. :smile:

Simon Soh

hi everyone... i face a problem with my old st... thus like to bring it up.

My intention was to ride up to phuket from singapore but face a overheat problem.

I was crusing at 140-160 from Gp and had 3 to 4 stops in petrol station with my group, the temperture was a constantly at the mid point till i reach Juru toll which is about 600km journey.

The temperture SHOOT to red zone while i was attempting the toll ( slow down ). Seeing the temp going to RED, I stop the bike to check and realise water was flowing from the back near the rear tire. I remove the side cover to check the res cooler and found it dry ( I did top up b4 the trip ). Then I remove the side front fairing to check the main radiator and realise it VERI dry. I fill it oso.

After the topping up of radiator, the clutch became soft, no tension. I realise air from the so called nipple and all things are runable.

Now, during stationary, the fan will be on if i throttle the bike at 2krpm for a few mins.... then i allow the bike to idle at it normal 800rpm, the fan will cool the temnperture and be off itself. My temostat will on the fan at mid point of temometter

The clutch is ok liao,.....

The question is... I am still in Penang Stuck and isizz ok for me to ride back to Sgp?

if i Dun ride back.. wht option do I have? Please advise mi as I am alone here....

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Apr 17 2006, 10:23 PM

keaizhu,

idling should be setted at around 1000rpm but somehow u can set it to ur own likings, some owner chose to have it lower claimt it save fuel... :D

it is to accomodate sufficient suction pressure for oil pump to bring up EO to provide lubrication for cam shaft. not much harm setting it lower OR at ur favorable idling sound.... but do hold ur throttle up ur idling to approxiamtely 1200-1500rpm for some seconds during cool starting(especially parked overnite or at cold astmospheric places) until it idle steadily.

during heavy traffic condition it shouldnt touch red zone, check if sufficient coolantis inside ur radiator & reservor container. if plm still persist u need to check other area if there r any pressure leaking.

check if radiator cap if its in good condition(inpsect the rubber seal make sure its not cracked, might be a possiblity the bar pressure is deteriorated), could be it not retaining sufficient coolant inside the radiator during higher heat operation therfore causing it to touch 'red zone'.

not to worry, this is the common plm for all ageing bikes. if it still there u will have to check ur thermostat.

hope it helps to solve the plm. :smile:

A million thanks to simon for your professional reply.. it is really good to have guys who really know this bike well. :cheer: I will check on the coolant level first.. (probablly the only thing i can attempt to do myself.. :sweat: )

Originally posted by Supertrapp@Apr 18 2006, 02:35 AM

hi everyone... i face a problem with my old st... thus like to bring it up.

My intention was to ride up to phuket from singapore but face a overheat problem.

I was crusing at 140-160 from Gp and had 3 to 4 stops in petrol station with my group, the temperture was a constantly at the mid point till i reach Juru toll which is about 600km journey.

The temperture SHOOT to red zone while i was attempting the toll ( slow down ). Seeing the temp going to RED, I stop the bike to check and realise water was flowing from the back near the rear tire. I remove the side cover to check the res cooler and found it dry ( I did top up b4 the trip ). Then I remove the side front fairing to check the main radiator and realise it VERI dry. I fill it oso.

After the topping up of radiator, the clutch became soft, no tension. I realise air from the so called nipple and all things are runable.

Now, during stationary, the fan will be on if i throttle the bike at 2krpm for a few mins.... then i allow the bike to idle at it normal 800rpm, the fan will cool the temnperture and be off itself. My temostat will on the fan at mid point of temometter

The clutch is ok liao,.....

The question is... I am still in Penang Stuck and isizz ok for me to ride back to Sgp?

if i Dun ride back.. wht option do I have? Please advise mi as I am alone here....

Supertrapp,

as per ur description I think ur cooling system has got serious chorking plm, it could be a jammed thermostat, simple way to rectified this plm is to remove it to allow 100% coolant flow to give urself a chance to ride home.

ur thermostat switch is fine, check engine oil level, could be it aroused other related plm.

Simon Soh

Originally posted by keaizhu@Apr 18 2006, 09:05 AM

A million thanks to simon for your professional reply.. it is really good to have guys who really know this bike well. :cheer: I will check on the coolant level first.. (probablly the only thing i can attempt to do myself.. :sweat: )

keasizhu,

Im no professional lah.... :lol: I only sharing to u my experienced niah lah. :smile:

fyi, no need for u to remove any fairing if u wana remove radiatior cap, it can de done by simple twisting & tilt it out. it's located right side below the lockable glove compartment, u need to squat & find a comfortable grip with it & twist.... that's it. reverse the process for installation.

Simon Soh

Originally posted by Simon Soh@Apr 18 2006, 11:02 AM

Supertrapp,

as per ur description I think ur cooling system has got serious chorking plm, it could be a jammed thermostat, simple way to rectified this plm is to remove it to allow 100% coolant flow to give urself a chance to ride home.

ur thermostat switch is fine, check engine oil level, could be it aroused other related plm.

How can i remove the thermostat, isizz the metal piece on the left side near to the fan.

I have check the engine oil and it at good level.

Suddenly I lose confident in riding back, will be checking with the KTM in butterworth. Moral-less

Originally posted by Supertrapp@Apr 18 2006, 01:25 PM

How can i remove the thermostat, isizz the metal piece on the left side near to the fan.

I have check the engine oil and it at good level.

Suddenly I lose confident in riding back, will be checking with the KTM in butterworth. Moral-less

First remove the thermostat from the right top side fairy then clean the radiator cap and put in new coolant.without the thermostat the engine still can be running.

Originally posted by ST BOB@Apr 18 2006, 06:30 PM

First remove the thermostat from the right top side fairy then clean the radiator cap and put in new coolant.without the thermostat the engine still can be running.

remember do not over tighten the housings.

Simon Soh

I am planning to switch over to a ST soon, I think its a great bike.

How much is the F.C? Full tank 28L rite? can go how far till dry?

What's the approximate cost for a FS/FT model?

Any major things to note when purchasing?

Due to work, changing away from sports. Sianz of carryin a bag to work juz for raincoat. F.C of sports bike a bit killer for daily transport.

Thanks in advance for your inputs.

NSR 150SP; Super 4 Spec I; CBR 929; GSX 750; R 1150 GS; Piaggio X8

Feels like moving a circle....

Originally posted by Sckona@Apr 19 2006, 12:35 PM

I am planning to switch over to a ST soon, I think its a great bike.

How much is the F.C? Full tank 28L rite? can go how far till dry?

What's the approximate cost for a FS/FT model?

Any major things to note when purchasing?

Due to work, changing away from sports. Sianz of carryin a bag to work juz for raincoat. F.C of sports bike a bit killer for daily transport.

Thanks in advance for your inputs.

Hi Sckona,

No doubt. The Gentleman Express (nickname for ST11) is a durable, good, fun and low maintainance bike with lots of luggage space.

The gas tank can accommodate about 28 litres of petrol. The furthest I have ever tried is about 310 miles (310*1.61=499.1 km). And when I reach the petrol kiosk, I only pumped about 26++ litres. A simple calculation shows that the fuel comsumption of my bike is about 18.48 km/litre (499.1/27=18.48).

I should say the major things to take note when purchasing a ST11 are the same things you looked at when you purchase your previous bike. e.g. Accident free? Mileage?

Hope I have provided you with a brief insight on this engineering marvel.

Best regards,

BruiseLee

P.S. We will try not to discuss on the pricing of FS/FT plater ST11s here. But mine is selling at S$8.8K (Neg) in Garage Sales.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/index....T&f=11&t=115231