http://www.nokia.com.sg/explore-services/ovi-maps

If i buy a blue-tooth along w it, and i keep the phone in my pocket, ride with instructions only through sound through the bluetooth, is it festiable?

Is it possible to block all calls or sms coming in while riding to concentrate on just the GPS sound and the road? I dun want suddenly got call come in, i got distracted and kena accident.

Or there are better choices? I dun want to see the GPS physically as i prefer to focus my attention on the road.

Edited by darkhorse2009
  • Replies 57

nokia phone gps is quite bad. the only good one i've had is my original 6110 navigator. the others are all really bad with nokia maps...now ovi maps. i suggest if you need voice navigation to get a garmin. you can still just use the voice prompts and not look at the screen.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

bro, my suggestion and wad i'm using now...

i'm using a N86 and i mount it onto my RAM mount on my handle bar...

i got Cardo Scala Rider Q2 Multiset connected to my N86 for GPS instructions, voice calls, radios, musics, etc...

it also can connect to another Q2 to have vocal communications as well as build in radios and able to connect externally to another MP3 unit...

for nokia maps, not really bad la, the road and instructions are quite clear...

but i would suggest you mount it onto somewhere where u can glance at it rather than keeping it in your pocket cus jus in case you got in the wrong turn if u were to just base on vocal...

Join us at our Singapore Fazer Club Facebook Group! Only for Fazerians!

http://www.facebook.com/groups/SGFazerClub

FB/SBF PM me for member access..

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

i got Cardo Scala Rider Q2 Multiset connected to my N86 for GPS instructions, voice calls, radios, musics, etc...

it also can connect to another Q2 to have vocal communications as well as build in radios and able to connect externally to another MP3 unit...

but i would suggest you mount it onto somewhere where u can glance at it rather than keeping it in your pocket cus jus in case you got in the wrong turn if u were to just base on vocal...

Does the licensing of Nokia map need to pay? I ask one dealer and he said about $100++ a year ler.

map is free... but navigation is not free... and yes, this is one thing bad abt nokia... :(

for every free phone, there's a free 7 days of navigation... for me, i only activate it when i need to use for trips... subsequently, i jus get those 1 day subscriptions something...

for singapore road, no need GPS de la... ;)

for get the similar thing like i mention but free, try samsung... it's absolutely free, heard it from my frn... :)

http://sphotos-f.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/294858_10151604125922840_1202025127_n.jpg

yes i also dl e ovi nokia maps.. e map is free but e nagivation is not free.. im thinking of getting a Garmin GPS use for riding and driving also comes w malaysia maps.. aiming for upcoming march IT show..

yups... me too... if wanna get then had to get something that have bluetooth so that can link up to my cardo... :)

then it must be south east asia map... ;)

ahem...there are ways to get your nokia to give voice prompts for free...but i cannot post here lah...do a search on google...or pm me for the info. btw, i am not affiliated with the site that shows you how...just sharing something that worked for my e71.

anyone manage to mount their nokia 5800 on the bike ?

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

28 Jun 2008 - Honda Phantom TA 200 (COE 11/3/17)

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

28 May 2016 - Yamaha Fino 115 (COE 04/8/24)

9 June 2017 - Honda CB400 Spec 2 (COE 02/1/23)

anyone manage to mount their nokia 5800 on the bike ?

I want to to that too!!!

http://i167.photobucket.com/albums/u149/dinzmetal/Ninja650500X200Banner.jpg

"Gimme Fuel, Gimme Fire, Gimme That Which I Desire, Ooh!"

bro, if u r looking for a water proof mounting for ur bike, i would suggest using RAM mount system with aqua box...

link: http://www.ram-mount.com

if u r buying aqua box, pls make sure u get the correct side or slight bigger in case ur HP cannot fit in then u LPPL liao... ;)

lastly, i know Nokia 5800 is a touch screen phone... touch screen phones might not be able to be easily navigated/presses if fitted into the aqua box because there is a thick layer of water proof plastic...

my 2cents... :)

wow this ram-mount is amazing , but abit pricey lol :cheeky:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A

I am thinking of just using headphones to listen to voice commands from Nokia phone. Then i dun need to mount. And i put my phone inside my waterproof jacket then i dun need to waterproof my phone. :-)

To secure my phone to myself, i would use a land-yard to connect my phone to around my neck.

Total cost : $1

I am thinking of just using headphones to listen to voice commands from Nokia phone. Then i dun need to mount. And i put my phone inside my waterproof jacket then i dun need to waterproof my phone. :-)

To secure my phone to myself, i would use a land-yard to connect my phone to around my neck.

Total cost : $1

bro, as i mentioned...

sometimes jus by vocal, it's not 100% accurate and u might turn out at the wrong turn... my suggestion unless u dun mind ho-lan-ing... ;)

erm erm erm i using N97 to navigate & got a quote from JK for 129 consisting for the base, ball & spider (not aqua box) for $126 in total. but its not waterproof.

I wouldn't really recommend to put inside the jacket to navigate cos of reception loss plus need to take in & out.

Alternatively can use a tank bag & link to a bluetooth earpiece. At least listen to the navigations

BTW Ovi Maps Navigation is now free for life. Faster go DL. For selected nokia models. =)

Also can try garmin cos its more accurate but it doesn't shows minor road & the functions require more specific info. So i'm using both =)

so now sourcing for mounts apart from RAM Mount which is pricey. Any suggestions?

Can't post a new thread? Read HERE

erm erm erm i using N97 to navigate & got a quote from JK for 129 consisting for the base, ball & spider (not aqua box) for $126 in total. but its not waterproof.

I wouldn't really recommend to put inside the jacket to navigate cos of reception loss plus need to take in & out.

Alternatively can use a tank bag & link to a bluetooth earpiece. At least listen to the navigations

BTW Ovi Maps Navigation is now free for life. Faster go DL. For selected nokia models. =)

Also can try garmin cos its more accurate but it doesn't shows minor road & the functions require more specific info. So i'm using both =)

so now sourcing for mounts apart from RAM Mount which is pricey. Any suggestions?

did i heard someone said free for life? but for selected nokia models? u know where can i check this area out? :D

its free for life...

http://www.nokia.com.sg/explore-services/ovi-maps

i using N97 but i install for N97 mini. E86 i tried installing other models & its compatible. So just try try lor... the difference is touch screen model & soft key models only =)

Good thing about Ovi is that i already install whole world map inside whereas Garmin gotta install piece by piece using crack version but Garmin accuracy is higher when it comes to positioning... Best to get both =)

Ovi can be installed on my e71 but voice navigation is payable :(

u try go to the website & install the version for E72. Feedback here after installing...

e72 version won't install when i tried it :(

I wonder if should DIY the mounting. Buy waterproof phone cover, punch holes, tie cable tie to your bike. Got one biker here tie it to his phantom, had been working for him so far.

How about if it rains, just put a zip-lock bag over the GPS with the opening of the bag facing downwards. Still can see the GPS right?

I wonder if should DIY the mounting. Buy waterproof phone cover, punch holes, tie cable tie to your bike. Got one biker here tie it to his phantom, had been working for him so far.

Mind sharing who the phantom guy is ? want to get tips from him for doing the same for my phantom :cheeky:

Yea , the Navigation is free for life too for 5800XM. GPS is accurate though quite long for me as i using integrated , not assisted.:sian:

12 Jun 2008 - Class 2B

17 Jan 2009 - Class 3

27 Oct 2009 - Class 2A