Hi, from what i read here, i think gonna get this bike after i pass my class 2 TP this month! Super fuel economy and cheap to maintain for a big bike! But have a couple questions.

Is it heavier than Fazer600? I taking lessons at CDC and found those full tank Fazers difficult to lift up on its side. Maybe i need to go gym more.

How about the height? Can someone standing at 1.68m comfortably straddle the bike?

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

well, i guess you can pull the figures off websites but the TDM does have a slightly higher centre of gravity. the best way to find out is to actually sit on one.

Originally posted by Pufferfish@Mar 7 2004, 12:03 AM

Hi, from what i read here, i think gonna get this bike after i pass my class 2 TP this month! Super fuel economy and cheap to maintain for a big bike! But have a couple questions.

Is it heavier than Fazer600? I taking lessons at CDC and found those full tank Fazers difficult to lift up on its side. Maybe i need to go gym more.

How about the height? Can someone standing at 1.68m comfortably straddle the bike?

u can check out the specs in any of the Yamaha web site.

lifting a 220kg TDM from the ground is no easy task without the correct technique & strength.

bro u 168cm no problem lah! me only 163cm also no complain leh:cheeky:

true lah TDM more economy but performace not as sporty compare to Fazer.

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

does anyone know the otr price for a new tdm?

Dobby said! "Harry Potter must not go back to School this year. There is a plot; plot to create very terrible things"

Originally posted by casio@Mar 10 2004, 03:34 PM

does anyone know the otr price for a new tdm?

was told the machine price ^$14,000 plus tax, register, coe, ins.(depending on age) ect comes up to ~$17,000

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by comics00@Mar 17 2004, 07:18 PM

was told the machine price ^$14,000 plus tax, register, coe, ins.(depending on age) ect comes up to ~$17,000

Hi cosmic00,

Where did you get this pr?

care to post the dealer & address?

I've interest to buy this bike.

TIA

Give up that you cannot keep...and gain the gift you cannot earn!

i got my from Dili trading. got it for $17,500 (after 20% discount on ins. come to $17,200) in july 2002.

heard from "Xing nah feng", when i was looking around for FJR, that the new TDM machine cost ~$14,000.

Originally posted by Pufferfish@Mar 20 2004, 12:32 AM

Thanks comics00! Will check it out first thing if i pass my class 2 on the 23/3!

Good Luck, Pufferfish! :goodluck:

When u pass, maybe we can go 2gather & see if we can

get a better deal.:deal:

Hmm... what bike u riding now??

Originally posted by Pufferfish@Mar 20 2004, 12:24 AM

Thanks comics00! Will check it out first thing if i pass my class 2 on the 23/3!

good luck:cheer:

Thanks for the well wishes. Am riding the good old DR200. Light and nimble thats why a bit worry about riding a class 2 bike twice the weight! But tdm seems to be the lightest and economical of the big multi-purpose bikes, thats why it is my no.1 choice so far.

Originally posted by Pufferfish@Mar 21 2004, 12:16 AM

But tdm seems to be the lightest and economical of the big multi-purpose bikes, thats why it is my no.1 choice so far.

Well there's a new V-Strom 650, should be light and fuel economical too....

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by william_liu@Mar 21 2004, 07:50 PM

i like the vstrom 650 too, not as bulky as vstrom 1000...

but never seen any in singapore yet... they got import this model meh? How much?

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by william_liu@Mar 21 2004, 07:50 PM

I also saw the Strom650 on Suzuki website for about a mnth now.

If it comes to SGP :clapping: , I will certainly consider this bike. :bounce:

Pls post here if anyone knows of it being imported here.:smile:

TIA

...mmm...VStorm 650... where can we find review on this bike?

Originally posted by comics00@Mar 22 2004, 12:17 PM

...mmm...VStorm 650... where can we find review on this bike?

Check the Internet.... and some overseas bike magazines have got some information.....

http://www.motorcycle-usa.com/Article_Page...x?ArticleID=385

I read from here, sounds good, but not really my cuppa of tea!

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

wah, this thread kena hi-jack by vstrom 650 liao...

anyway, anyon know how much a vstrom 650 cost? very practical bike to be used in Singapore....

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

sev, u r rite... why this thread becoming a vstrom thread? maybe you can start a vstrom650 thread? Maybe someone can give us more info rgding this bike :smile: i think the best bike for singapore road still a SF :smile: ok... let's revert this thread back to topics related to our beloved TDm900:smile:

cheers...

Originally posted by tdmrider@Mar 23 2004, 12:21 AM

ok... let's revert this thread back to topics related to our beloved TDm900:smile:

cheers...

Ok,...tdmrider do u know where to get crash-bar for tdm900 & cost??:help:

hi lyechi,regarding the engine guards ( i prefer to call it engine guards rather than crash bar :smile: ), there are a few options u can choose from:

-original yamaha engine guards from hong leong

-givi engine guards from chap lee/motor219

-hepco & becker engine guards from m-technic

-seng kwang custom made engine guards (u can design ur own engine guards)

personally im using the hepco and becker ones, and i find it quite tough and nice on the TDM :smile: givi and yamaha ones are more compact in size and finishing not as good in my opinion... all should cost around $220-300 depending on the exchange rate of euros :mad: hope this info helps...