Originally posted by solo@Jan 13 2005, 06:15 PM

i'm a professional carrot head :sweat:

Hahaha, ur Sterling Pound 3X S$ mah....S$350 is nothing lah :sweat: I would estimate the parts & lubricants cost to be $200 max. The rest goes to the labour charge. Looks like a 1/2 day job.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

• Replies 17.8k

• AJ..

• kmax

• vtr firestorm

• Paikia44

Originally posted by solo@Jan 13 2005, 06:15 PM

i'm a professional carrot head :sweat:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by barracuda@Jan 14 2005, 01:31 AM

Hahaha, ur Sterling Pound 3X S$ mah....S$350 is nothing lah :sweat: I would estimate the parts & lubricants cost to be $200 max. The rest goes to the labour charge. Looks like a 1/2 day job.

took slightly more than 5hrs. 2.5 people working on it. hehehe very pleased with the quality of wiring. :smile:

check this out http://www.mlksportsbikers.com/events/

its on the 29 Jan which i have a D&D to attend :sian: can be part of this event :weep:

1991-Katana125 1992-GN125 1993-Terminator250 1995-Intruder400 1996-ZX-7RRP1 & Charade1L 1996-Vulcan800 1998-Accent1.5L 2001-CorollaXLI 2002-TDM900 2005-Phamton150 2006-FJR1300 2007-KLE500 & WRX JDM 2010-Spark135 & Legacy GT 2012-Focus SW & Sylphy 2015-V Strom 650XT & D Tracker, 2016-Cross Country & RS4 125, 2017-Moto Guzzi V7ii Stone

Originally posted by yappiez@Jan 15 2005, 04:53 PM

Dang, wat a conicidence... I also have D&D....

alamek!!! can't be same same D&D rite:sweat:

my is on the 28th of Jan. I think sometime is so conicidence. I have ever came across different company but having same D & D door gift....

It's not the miles per hour you go; It's the smiles per mile you get

www.kruzer.org.sg

http://re3.mm-a8.yimg.com/image/4267022567http://re3.mm-a10.yimg.com/image/404635075

my is on the 28th of Jan. I think sometime is so conicidence. I have ever came across different company but having same D & D door gift....

It's not the miles per hour you go; It's the smiles per mile you get

www.kruzer.org.sg

http://re3.mm-a8.yimg.com/image/4267022567http://re3.mm-a10.yimg.com/image/404635075

Hi, all, need some pointer...

ordered eagle screen of +160mm (smoke colored), installed, but the wind noise become an issue, not sure whether I am too old or what, my hearing become disturb by the wind noise.

Will changing my open face helmet to F.F help?

unless the bike follow near me is HD, else I hardly noticed a bike near me if not appears in my rear mirror..I am feeling unsafe.

Can't hear my own engine noise, but just wind noise, perhaps now is windy season...I guess.

btw, I am about 1.72 ~ 1.75m

Appreciate your advise, I will try to use back the stock screen at the moment.

'79 - AM Yamaha YB100

'82 ~ '85 - FA Honda VT250

'04 Feb 28 - FQ Yamaha DragStar Classic 400

'05 Jan - FY TDM 900

'06 Mar ~ 2009 April - FY HD Dyna Low Rider

'10 Sept ~ 2011 Dec - KTM 690SMR

'12 Apr ~ 2013 Apr BMW F650GS

'13 Jun ~ 2016 Apr K1300R

'17 Apr - Yamaha MT-03, '18 Mar - HD XL1200 CX, '19 Mar - Nmax 155

Non smoker since 28 Feb '04, have enough "smoke" on the road on 2 wheels...

screen prob not high enf.

I have 200mm and still hitting front of visor.

Barra has 250mm!

FF helmet definitely helps. I using Nolan but i have earphones all the time.....

mirrors might need adjustments. i tot TDM ones are very good. I have no problems with rear sight and vibrations.

engine noise cannt hear no choice.. tdm is silent killer!

for reference, i also around the same height.....

Arent u in the yahoo thingy? theres a meetup today somewhere.......

today i scratched my endcan while squeezing around a stationery trailer.... damn.. tot i riding kup kia..... so sian... :giddy:

Hi, thanks for the quick reply, never register @yahoo...

My +160mm I feel a little funny, +200 & +250mm must be almost touching your face (??) the strong wind can see vibration on the screen tip...maybe the area I work is a little too windy, especially side wind a little problem for TDM like some bro said...

I will try get a FF...next thing perhaps the centre stand & engine guards, what do you think about a tank bra? is there any good putting on that "bra"?

'79 - AM Yamaha YB100

'05 Jan - FY TDM 900

I'm 1.7m maybe 1.72m max if measurements are off by a little haha. I forgot mine is a +250mm or +280mm. I still look over it than thru it. Its probably at my nose level for easy reference. Take note that my screen has no flip unlike yappiez's, so its not as tall as it can get. (If its bent/flipped slightly, it will be higher/taller). I find this height good for SGP riding within singapore speed limits. Visor up no problems. Things change when its high speed touring (>140). Screen will flex & vibrate a little (Most tall screens do anyway) and u get wind noise. Couch a little behind the screen and it will be ok.

I do not expect a totally silent sensation with a bike like the TDM even with a tall screen. Still will have wind noise etc... You probably get windless behind a goldwing. FF will help significantly. I dun even wanna wear my open face anymore man.... its a world of difference between FF & open face.

U mean you are affected by crosswinds? Esp so over 2nd link bridge. You can really feel the wind pushing you bike sideways o_O U using top box? Side pannier will help as it has a smaller profile sideways that reduces the bike 'catching' wind.

Did you get the 05 ABS TDM? I have a pair of H&B Eng guards for sale. Let me know if you are interested. Many of us do not use a tank bra, its personal preference actually. Some like it, some don't.

Yappiez, time for a new pair of arrows man LOL :thumb:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Hi, barracuda, thanks for your points, I will get my FF ASAP...

I worked in Jurong Island, neeed to cross over a "link" too, found the side wind is quite strong, previously never notice as my old bike don't allow me to go "fast".

My TDM is not a ABS model...I am wondering it is a 05 model or 04 model, though I am told it is 05 model.

I am with top box, quite nicely done by the motor shop, direct mounted to rear rack.

(btw, I am only able to get into internet at home, heading to work now, will check message tonight)

'79 - AM Yamaha YB100

'05 Jan - FY TDM 900

Just curious is Jurong Island mainly for oil and gas or it is for logistics??

I work in Tuas. Maybe I'll see you on the road next time. (I'm a FU plater with a bicycle logo below the number plate. :cheeky:

Anyway, mine vibrates quite a bit at 150++km/hr too. Any faster it will ease down strangely.

I too have a topbox and I experience some of the cross wind you mentioned. Dun know how to counter them but to ride more carefully.

I wanna get Givi engine guards. Wanna get it together? I'm actually waiting for another TDMer (currently away, lending a helping hand to Tsunami areas) to help me check the price cos he is a regular with Givi supplier. Maybe 2 will fetch a better price?

I wanna sell my center stands. bought at $250 sell u $150 ai mai?? (difficult to put up, I too weak...) This price can get no where else. Let me know if u r interested.

Jus a note. You got to read up a little before you invest in the center stands.

New pipes? hmmm... $$ gettin a little tight... I guess i'll just bear with it for a while..:weep:

Originally posted by yappiez@Jan 20 2005, 08:52 AM

Just curious is Jurong Island mainly for oil and gas or it is for logistics??

I work in Tuas. Maybe I'll see you on the road next time. (I'm a FU plater with a bicycle logo below the number plate. :cheeky:

Anyway, mine vibrates quite a bit at 150++km/hr too. Any faster it will ease down strangely.

I too have a topbox and I experience some of the cross wind you mentioned. Dun know how to counter them but to ride more carefully.

I wanna get Givi engine guards. Wanna get it together? I'm actually waiting for another TDMer (currently away, lending a helping hand to Tsunami areas) to help me check the price cos he is a regular with Givi supplier. Maybe 2 will fetch a better price?

I wanna sell my center stands. bought at $250 sell u $150 ai mai?? (difficult to put up, I too weak...) This price can get no where else. Let me know if u r interested.

Jus a note. You got to read up a little before you invest in the center stands.

New pipes? hmmm... $$ gettin a little tight... I guess i'll just bear with it for a while..:weep:

Hi, Yappiez, those island before are mainly oil & petrol company, ever since it combined to become JI, chemical process plant & logistic all come into island.

a well protected area.

I stay cck, using KJE exist Jln Bahar then all the way to JI, every morning No move time 0630 and back RTU after 7..life is tough.

ok, I would like to tag along for a Givi engine guard, in mind I am thinking getting a Yahmaha one initially, some of my friend discourage me for that centre stand too, but I think must have if I want to do my own service.

once you get the cost of the engine guard, pls let me know, or if you want to make a group buy, count me in..

about the side wind, I read some comment in other thread, and I experienced it, so will take extra care when encounter.

'79 - AM Yamaha YB100

'05 Jan - FY TDM 900

Wah yappiez...potong jalan ah? :angry: :gun: yappiez I wanna sell my hepco & becker engine guard leh... So dt222, u decided on a givi, yamaha or H&B engine guards? Let me know if u want my H&B, if not it ok oso :sweat:

dt222, 05' TDMs have ABS option, the colour scheme is also new. Your shop should have told you about that ABS option. If your colour is like the 04' colour scheme, then it is an 04' model and not 05' What colour is your TDM? Some shops just give loads of wrong information to entice buyers claiming a newer model when it is not. Hope you did your research b4 buying. Anyway, the difference btw the 04' and 05' is the ABS option, if you are not planning to opt for the ABS, then its no difference other than colour.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by barracuda@Jan 21 2005, 01:47 AM

Wah yappiez...potong jalan ah? :angry: :gun: yappiez I wanna sell my hepco & becker engine guard leh... So dt222, u decided on a givi, yamaha or H&B engine guards? Let me know if u want my H&B, if not it ok oso :sweat:

dt222, 05' TDMs have ABS option, the colour scheme is also new. Your shop should have told you about that ABS option. If your colour is like the 04' colour scheme, then it is an 04' model and not 05' What colour is your TDM? Some shops just give loads of wrong information to entice buyers claiming a newer model when it is not. Hope you did your research b4 buying. Anyway, the difference btw the 04' and 05' is the ABS option, if you are not planning to opt for the ABS, then its no difference other than colour.

Good morning barracuda, I follow this thread since I consider changing bike, note all advice from this thread as well as all picture available, eg. box mounting, guards etc, just never see anyone talk about "bra"...hehehe.

I would like to get a Givi or Yamaha one, pls dun mind.:sorry:

I am aware about ABS from the internet, my original plan is to wait till May '05, but since I want to realised my TDM earlier, I have to accept non-ABS model, but later if the price the same, then LL liao..

only mistake I make is I mistaken the screen height, all the while I am thinking I read from the comment here with +180mm max, so I straight go to order +160, thinking that 20mm should make minimum diff...

hahaha, din know yours is +250mm & Yappiez is +200...

My TDM is Blue stone according to the internet color chart, but log card register Silver, and actually I order with preference "Silver Tech" it is a seriously color blind mistake from HL...they claim they have 3 color only, Black, Blue & Silver and this so call silver is "Blue stone" sigh.

'79 - AM Yamaha YB100

'05 Jan - FY TDM 900

Your prefered colour is actually right for the 05' scheme. Which is very similar to the 02' silver. HL sold you the 04 model FYI. 3 colours for 04' and they (HL) are right, Black diamond (Black-my colour), Galaxy Blue (Blue-solo's colour) & Stone Blue (Greyish blue-lycheecan's colour). I dunno why they classify the Stone Blue as silver????

Next time ask 1st mah b4 ordering hahaha. Anyway, not everyone likes tall screens like mine. No harm done actually, its still cfm 100% better than the stock right? Use it for awhile then u roughly know what you really need. Both screens were mine and yappiez kindly agreed to take over my +200mm screen while he ordered the +280mm for me. He kinda prefers the height of the +200mm. Lastly, join the yahoo groups thingy and join the rest of the TDM folks for rides and meetups, you'll know more about the TDM and the 'mods'

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Originally posted by dt222@Jan 21 2005, 07:41 AM

just never see anyone talk about "bra"...hehehe.

The TDM is not 'top heavy' hence does not sag = no need bra :thumb:

Or you can say that TDM is macho, which guy wears a bra anyway? o_O

Just for laughs, dun take it too seriously :offtopic:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

Hi, barracuda,

dun know why but I inclined to Yamaha machine... from my consideration list..

1.) R1200GS - totally out of reach.

2.) FJR-1300 - for I like shaft driven machine (clean) but 28K is not easy for me.

2.) Honda Vara - 23K?

3.) V-strom 1K - 19K

4.) V-strom 650 - 16.5K

to finally TDM based on good comment here, no regret so far, as I need a big cc bike for some resonable power, stability at speed & most important, fuel consumption, that per tank able to supply me more than a week usage, every day I travel less than 50km to & from work.

and from this thread, must have item is quite minimum, screen, guards & main stand from all bro recommendation here.

and my main requirement is to have minimum a top box, which come with the bike FOC from the shop, a SHAD 46 with painted top finish (black color) complete with a back rest.

most important, they willingly to accept trade in my 400 dragstar at comfortable price range, saving the trouble trying to sell by myself.

perhaps tomorrow if I free, I will get a FF and see whether I need to change back to original screen.

thank you but I am thinking a "bra" will protect my tank from scratch, I found many ppl like to place their plam on others bike's tank, maybe our born nature as a man is to place our plam on top of the bra (not on tank bra lah off cos....) ...I guess the name come from here...

anyway, I like the simple logo on the tank with nothing else.

Only thing I left out before buying is the ease of DIY in servicing, I read the manual, and filter is not easy to reach, & the oil filter is not canister type...quite messy if DIY, all the while I am thinking big cc bike sure come with filter canister

'79 - AM Yamaha YB100

'05 Jan - FY TDM 900

Originally posted by dt222@Jan 21 2005, 10:39 AM

1.) R1200GS - totally out of reach.

2.) FJR-1300 - for I like shaft driven machine (clean) but 28K is not easy for me.

2.) Honda Vara - 23K?

3.) V-strom 1K - 19K

4.) V-strom 650 - 16.5K

just curious... tdm is cheaper than vstrom 650??o_O

Originally posted by yappiez@Jan 21 2005, 11:35 AM

as I need a big cc bike for some resonable power, stability at speed & most important, fuel consumption, that per tank able to supply me more than a week usage, every day I travel less than 50km to & from work.

Think he meant this lah... tell me, which bike fits his criteria? :smile:

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821

dt222, dun need to be so formal lah. Just shoot your questions etc...

Most big cc bikes will use screw on oil filter but the TDM uses a more traditional paper filter that you have to remove 5 bolts to remove the cover in order to change the filter. I would not say its more messy than the screw on type coz both types oso will make your hands greasy anyway.

Air filter is a common 'problem' with many bikes. You got to get the tank flipped up to reach it on the TDM. How are the other bikes you mentioned easier? The easiest is the ducati monster I think or scrams with quick release panels or some cruisers.

Overall quite ok bike to DIY I feel.

Yamaha WR200

Ducati Monster 400/540

Yamaha TDM850

Yamaha TDM900

BMW R1150GS

Suzuki Djebel 250XC

Suzuki Vstrom 650 ABS

Ducati Hyperstrada 821