Finally plans are finalized, and I'm going to booked my tenere later... Should be getting it in 2-3 wks time. I'm so excited..

btw, what's recommended to be installed on my day 01 of ownership other than a toprack and crashbars?

for me i would recommend all the protection lo.

1)headlight protector

2)Crash bar

3)bash plate

http://i295.photobucket.com/albums/mm138/Sulphur81/Picture006-2.jpg
  • Replies 3.4k

Black. :) I'm now considering between Hepco boxes vs touratech. Any opinions on panniers? I want to try to do some trails (last I did was only mountain biking though), and definitely hoping to do Northern Thailand (if I can get khakis).

wah midnight black same as me. hahahaha... do join us in the next outing if you can make it..... nvm if ur s10 haven arrive yet.

Yes, same as you bro. Did you once came into the blackbird thread to ask about the bike? ^^

anyway, shouldnt it be raven black? What are the crashbars and bashplate options locally?

ya long long time ago i wanted a black bird but nv got it.. and its still my biggest regret haha.

for crashbar and baseplate there are few choices locally

1) Yamaha OEM

2) H and Becker

3) SW Motech (must order though)

This bike is very comfortable and extremly agile. the other down side is pushing the bike when its on full load. Fricking heavy like mad. other dan that i love it to the max.

Even handles well on track although the other riders gonna flame again for buying wrong bike ahaha

ya long long time ago i wanted a black bird but nv got it.. and its still my biggest regret haha.

for crashbar and baseplate there are few choices locally

1) Yamaha OEM

2) H and Becker

3) SW Motech (must order though)

This bike is very comfortable and extremly agile. the other down side is pushing the bike when its on full load. Fricking heavy like mad. other dan that i love it to the max.

Even handles well on track although the other riders gonna flame again for buying wrong bike ahaha

haha, I would't flame you la... for the track session. For me I also thought of trying, But it my psychological side cannot over come that this bike can track. haha :cool:

Black. :) I'm now considering between Hepco boxes vs touratech. Any opinions on panniers? I want to try to do some trails (last I did was only mountain biking though), and definitely hoping to do Northern Thailand (if I can get khakis).

Touratech are slight expensive that the H&B by few hundred buck, BUT the material are full metal, Thus they will be weight loading. And need to order.

H&B is pretty lighter BUT not as strong as the Touratech ones. Depends what factor are you looking at ? (durability, Safety, reliability or practical)

I'm currently on a both sides 40Litre & 35Litre Topcase. So far it nice and spacious for items. Apart from heavy traffic nothing i can ask for more. haha

richard how was the off road that day???

come la company me go track la hahahaha.....

me gonna ride up genting 2molo night liao haha

richard how was the off road that day???

come la company me go track la hahahaha.....

me gonna ride up genting 2molo night liao haha

It was a rainy ride !!! Not many off road action. The only Off road is than a kilometer... haha. to the beach and some cam whoring session. haha .

Anyway here's the link for the ride pics. Enjoy ! ! ! => http://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.220771747951983.69291.158711187491373

Edited by richard_hi
Ok. guys

Lets go for another meeting next week. 18th June Saturday.

Schedule looks free for me.to confirm when closer

Edited by hockie69

http://img841.imageshack.us/img841/7007/sbfs101.jpg

RIDE it while u can.....NOT when u want !.

anybody interested?

1) Bottlecap

2) Richard

3) Hockie

Where the rest sia? Ram where are u?

Finally plans are finalized, and I'm going to booked my tenere later... Should be getting it in 2-3 wks time. I'm so excited..

btw, what's recommended to be installed on my day 01 of ownership other than a toprack and crashbars?

welcome to our little S10 community. :)

it depends on what sort of riding u intent for the S10.

there is stock engine guard ( not very visble but good for street low side) included with the S10 liao.

aftermarket add-on engine guard comes in varies style. H&B is two piece suit. SW motech is 1 piece lower part only & Yamaha original full 1piece for upper & lower.

Skip plate ? if street use then no point. or else there is ALTrider , SW Motech , hepco & Becker & Yamaha Skip plate. (depends on owner perference on this )

Top box/pennier/rack etc - decide this carefully. choice out there is Touratech , H&B xplorer , SW Motech trax , Givi or Yamaha original. ( do note then yamaha original has the less gap between pennier & bike so if fitted a H&B TC45 or TRAX 45 Topcase. the side pennier open/close will be block.

it surely the wrong tools for the location....lol

anybody interested?

1) Bottlecap

2) Richard

3) Hockie

Where the rest sia? Ram where are u?

Super busy sia!o_O

My system down for 3 days and yet could not recover.

seems need to sacrifice my off liao..

Patrick enjoy ur trip. probably u need a sidecar.

Remember to keep ur speed limit within 110km/h..

Richard, so I assume u use e sideboxes for local commute?

I tot tat touratech is alu too, n I was thinking of it as the hinges r more solid. So far, my concerns with Trax is that water could seep in, n for hepco xplorer is tat the plastic hinges could b fragile.

For me, im hoping to do some trails, hopefully got some old birds could guide me with tat. So, i guess my accessories gonna b oriented towards trail protection too.

Richard, so I assume u use e sideboxes for local commute?

I tot tat touratech is alu too, n I was thinking of it as the hinges r more solid. So far, my concerns with Trax is that water could seep in, n for hepco xplorer is tat the plastic hinges could b fragile.

For me, im hoping to do some trails, hopefully got some old birds could guide me with tat. So, i guess my accessories gonna b oriented towards trail protection too.

Ok, Touratech - depends which model you looking @, There are the ZEGA version (Alu) and the solid metal version.

So far I had the H&B for light off road last week according to the earlier link, It still manageable. However the bike is a dual purposes, It still has it weakness over the weight compare to off road bike.

Durability my opinion are touratech even though i never use before ... Based on the pics and construction.

Edited by richard_hi
Talking bout trail. Still waiting for Richard to lead us to offroad le. Haha

Wa ram so jia lat ah?

Local off road... Anytime, But I need to Recce the place first. It been sometime since I enter the eastern part of sgp after i started working, That place is my sat & sun play ground when I book out during NSF days. haha

Remember to keep ur speed limit within 110km/h..

the last I recall...S10 speedo is 3 digital type.so if mask up the 1st....that's only 10km/hr...too slow for pat...lol

for hepco xplorer is tat the plastic hinges could b fragile.

So, i guess my accessories gonna b oriented towards trail protection too.

To make H&B to be as strong as touratech.u can order H&B expedition pack.which is a extra bracket that use the same screw in type holder like touratech.

As for trail protection.H&B has a full list to cover from shaft cover,skip plate,heel plate,enlarge brake pedal,water pump cover,engine guard while touratech has side switch cover,ABS sensor cover ,big foot & adjustable windscreen.

After which will depends if u need a handle bar riser for tour use and a higher windscreen for avoid helmet shake and a GPS holder for true self ride tour/trail usage.

Put date & time.....let's ride.

Roger, Will update soon when I had done my recce.

Just to inform the rest, If trail it will be a day ride over the weekend. Itinerary will be highlighted when the dates are set.

Ya lo. I am a slow rider hor. I don speed. I only go at 90 max. Haha.

Lai u talking bout Thai Massage ah Richard?