bloody hell, always like that.

i wait and wait for wingtai to go to $1.80 for 2 months.

Then i sold it all for $1.78 yesterday, just now suddenly shoot up another 3% .....

KNN.....

hahahahaha

Irritating right? Always happen to me one.. Lol.. for me hard to not heartache la.. Lol...

Bought Novena last time at 0.195... then after 2-3 weeks of negative, finally raise to 0.210... so i sold happily before going for exam...

basket, after my paper ended, rose to 0.230... :faint:

Moral of story? concentrate on exams first and check prices only after exam..

• Replies 3.3k

Well, am neither looking back nor banging balls.

just creating small talk

Well, ok.

But don't fret. 3% isn't much anyway. It's not as if it was 10 or 20% up.

That would be a real downer.

Well, ok.

But don't fret. 3% isn't much anyway. It's not as if it was 10 or 20% up.

That would be a real downer.

fret? no lah, profit is profit

anione into gold market? i m thinking of buying some gold for investment (partly for wedding). the price has gone up so much recently, is it a good time to buy now?

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

anione into gold market? i m thinking of buying some gold for investment (partly for wedding). the price has gone up so much recently, is it a good time to buy now?

a little late to get into gold now unless ure looking at shorterm, eg. days or hours. Or if ure going short.

maybe best to wait another 14days when the major players have finalised their analytical reports and forecasts for 2010 so u can take direction and equity/commodity time from them.

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

now that many of the stock prices have gone up, valuation is really getting a bit fat. Still holding some key counters like ST Eng, SATS, Singpost, SMRT, KepCorp etc.... but still slowly releasing as i deem fit.

are you guys still bullish???? or more neutral like me. just checking

I'm still bullish on the bluechips. Though much more selective. Feel that this last push could be the effect of last min window dressings. Anticipating healthy pull back of the sti to 2500 or 2600 either in 1Q or 2Q 2010. Your take on this?

p.s. Did u see straits asia today? :)

Today is a good day huh guys? :)

Guess STI for 2009 is gonna end at mid 2800 afterall...

Unless someone declare/says smth again...

Cheers guys.

Hmmm... I was skeptical about it going above 2850, but well, seems that last week's spike has proved me wrong again.

Let's see whether it holds above that line on 31st Dec.

I'm still bullish on the bluechips. Though much more selective. Feel that this last push could be the effect of last min window dressings. Anticipating healthy pull back of the sti to 2500 or 2600 either in 1Q or 2Q 2010. Your take on this?

p.s. Did u see straits asia today? :)

Yup Straits Asia solid.

but I've taken profit already as my view is more neutral.

I've been looking to buy another property.

So regardless of whether it is bullish or not, if that is done, i may reduce my stock holdings to lower my overall risk and to hold a bit more cash.

I suppose you getting married at a later date and wish to lock the price of gold now so that it will not be too expensive later. how soon you planning to buy gold for wedding?

Just an idea, I think options will be more appropriate, basically it locks the price with limited downside (take it as your insurance premium). too bad, but I'm not too familiar with options (other some basics), perhaps someone can provide advice on how to go about it.

Edited by mrlazy

unless ure looking at buying inexcess of thousands of ounces, i doubt commodity options are worth the risk.

another factor to consider is your timeline.

They go their own way.

I suppose you getting married at a later date and wish to lock the price of gold now so that it will not be too expensive later. how soon you planning to buy gold for wedding?

Just an idea, I think options will be more appropriate, basically it locks the price with limited downside (take it as your insurance premium). too bad, but I'm not too familiar with options (other some basics), perhaps someone can provide advice on how to go about it.

not quite sure what he means by buying gold for wedding.

is it to invest so that he can reap some profits to cover for wedding or

to buy physical gold ?

For options, if think gold will go up then buy a gold call with strike and expiry of your choice so you have limited downside (premium) unlimited upside until expiry date.

Or you could sell a gold put to receive premium. however if it is exercised against you, be ready to buy the gold at the strike price.

I'm not sure what is minimum size for paper gold, i dealt in USD250k sizes in the past. for forwards and options for my personal account.

unless ure looking at buying inexcess of thousands of ounces, i doubt commodity options are worth the risk.

another factor to consider is your timeline.

yeah ... for typical retail, better to use mining stock as proxy for gold. Besides, I don't think there are options with long expiry for commodities

not quite sure what he means by buying gold for wedding.

is it to invest so that he can reap some profits to cover for wedding or

to buy physical gold ?

For options, if think gold will go up then buy a gold call with strike and expiry of your choice so you have limited downside (premium) unlimited upside until expiry date.

Or you could sell a gold put to receive premium. however if it is exercised against you, be ready to buy the gold at the strike price.

I'm not sure what is minimum size for paper gold, i dealt in USD250k sizes in the past. for forwards and options for my personal account.

My assumption is that he is worried gold price will shoot up, and it will be expensive to buy Gold Jeweleries for his bride :p

i think mini-gold can be trade or 1/2 or 1/3 of an oz (can't remember) but i think still costly / highly leverage, hence not suitable for typical retail investors.

so using mining stocks as proxy may be more suitable.

thanks for sharing your viewpoints ... I guess commodities may not be a good idea afterall unless position size is big enough

u can get up to June 2014, GCM4 contracts for gold.

asian gold, Jan next yr.

emini XGNM4 contract is also 2014 June.

he might be married with kids by then! :)

They go their own way.

hmm ... need to buy gold for kids also mah :)

Donald Tsang says double-dip may emerge in mid '10

hmm ... wonder why he mention this? Trying to cool the HK market?

well HK donald was past HK financial Secretary who won the war against the hedge funds during 1997 currency crisis. so he is definitely respectable in areas of finance & economics

as for US donald, imho, is a elite socialite, talent spotter & manager, real estate mogul. Does he knows anything about global economy?

anyway, several hours more to 2010 ... happy new year 2010 to all investment bikers hohohohohoho ...

well HK donald was past HK financial Secretary who won the war against the hedge funds during 1997 currency crisis. so he is definitely respectable in areas of finance & economics

as for US donald, imho, is a elite socialite, talent spotter & manager, real estate mogul. Does he knows anything about global economy?

anyway, several hours more to 2010 ... happy new year 2010 to all investment bikers hohohohohoho ...

Lol, that was the last post of 2009, and this is the first post of 2010 :angel:

Happy new year guys! lets all huat ah! :angel:

Hmmm... I was skeptical about it going above 2850, but well, seems that last week's spike has proved me wrong again.

Let's see whether it holds above that line on 31st Dec.

Lol, in the end it ended at 2898...

Guess no1 expected that huh...

Anyway whats the highest the STI ever hit? ever hit 3000 mark?

took profit on Dayen.

27% gain in 2 months.

Not bad but didnt buy much, just play play

Still holding on to my counters.

One counter has hit 100% profit for me already since I got it in Nov.... basically doubled in value. Stroke of luck, bought into it 2 mths ago on rumors and thus far, speculation and some good news has driven it upwards. Support seems to be strong for this though.

Just waiting to see if it can go higher, since they've announced that they're abt to secure an over $30 mil equity line of credit from some pvt equity group.

Pennies... high risk, high returns.

Edited by DeusExMachina