Nice to know that.. so we are pretty much in the same line then..

Nope we are nowhere near being in the same line

But just in the same general industry

You work in office and aircon

I work under fans at best and in heat , cleaning foodwaste and clearing tables.

I'm just a table wiper at Lau Pa Sat .

• Replies 3.3k

I also table cleaner la... i everyday go to work in foodcourt and drag a pail behind me while cleaning tables. lol..

Oooi dont copy leh.

You white collar

I blue collar

Talking about investments, what kind of proportion of asset classes are we in?

70% cash 30% equities

Am currently about 40% equities 20% bonds 20% physical real estate (not including residence) 20% cash. will look to shift more into real estate up to 30%

actually what's wrong with Dairyfarm? Why you dun think it's a defensive stock?

My services normally not free, for u free since i say i was sharing haha :p

To see if its really defensive and high yield, let us take a look at other defensive counters you mention and also a few other defensive counter in other sectors as well..

1) QAF

PE: 5.079

52 week range: 0.74 - 0.56

Yield: 6.25%

Beta: 0.85

2) Cerebos

PE: 18.27

52 week range: 5.40 - 3.90

Yield: 6.22%

Beta: 0.62

3) Starhub

PE: 15

52 week range: 2.92 - 2.28

Yield:7.32%

Beta: 0.69

4) ST Engineering

PE: 15.99

52 week range: 3.42 - 2.71

Yield: 6.35%

Beta: 0.86

5) Suntec Reits

PE: 7.4

52 week range: 1.65 - 1.35

Yield: 6.81

Beta: 0.863

6) Dairy Farm 900US$

PE: 24.29

52 week range: 12.20 - 7.12

Yield: 2.25

Beta: 0.636

Foreign exchange risk as denominated in USD, those jokers that bought at $6-$12 are crying at today's price of USD$8.20. SGD strength to continue as we are one of the few AAA rated Asian country which provides a safe heaven for the SGD Currency. US will just keep printing more money.

PE ratio of 24? likely it commands that PE because its parents are Jardine Group.

Finally a yield of 2.25%?

I could be totally wrong on all these, so do not take my advise, better to trust yourself and only yourself. Good luck!

Am currently about 40% equities 20% bonds 20% physical real estate (not including residence) 20% cash. will look to shift more into real estate up to 30%

I got no money for real estate... would love to have some in real estate but my job requires hard cash to be put aside..

You've said it.

You know what you are lacking.

I think thats one main issue with your job

You may face huge concentration / bulk risks.

My services normally not free, for u free since i say i was sharing haha :p

To see if its really defensive and high yield, let us take a look at other defensive counters you mention and also a few other defensive counter in other sectors as well..

1) QAF

PE: 5.079

52 week range: 0.74 - 0.56

Yield: 6.25%

Beta: 0.85

2) Cerebos

3) Starhub

4) ST Engineering

PE: 15.99

52 week range: 3.42 - 2.71

Yield: 6.35%

Beta: 0.86

5) Suntec Reits

PE: 7.4

52 week range: 1.65 - 1.35

Yield: 6.81

Beta: 0.863

6) Dairy Farm 900US$

PE: 24.29

52 week range: 12.20 - 7.12

Yield: 2.25

Beta: 0.636

Foreign exchange risk as denominated in USD, those jokers that bought at $6-$12 are crying at today's price of USD$8.20. SGD strength to continue as we are one of the few AAA rated Asian country which provides a safe heaven for the SGD Currency. US will just keep printing more money.

PE ratio of 24? likely it commands that PE because its parents are Jardine Group.

Finally a yield of 2.25%?

I could be totally wrong on all these, so do not take my advise, better to trust yourself and only yourself. Good luck!

im learning here..

how is this beta value significant to us?

I suggest to you guys to hedge your position with put warrents, those without position can do selective shorting on sectors such as oil and gas and transport. Avoid shorting banks for now. Good luck!

Anyone took my advise? If you had, then you would have been richer! Oil & Gas: KepCorp -$0.63 SembMar -$0.33 Ezra -$0.065

Banks still holding strong except for ocbc.

im learning here..

how is this beta value significant to us?

Beta is the co-relation between the particular stock and sti index. A stock with a beta of 1, follows the sti index accordingly. Anything less than 1 means they react slower than the sti index and thus are called defensive stocks. Anything more than 1 moves faster and reacts faster than the sti index, such as Noble Grp with a beta of 1.56.

i see...

so in this eg, where you quote a few stks....

2) Cerebos

3) Starhub

cerebos will be a so called "more defensive" stock than SH, since it las a lower beta..

i see...

2) Cerebos

3) Starhub

cerebos will be a so called "more defensive" stock than SH, since it las a lower beta..

Anyone took my advise? If you had, then you would have been richer! Oil & Gas: KepCorp -$0.63 SembMar -$0.33 Ezra -$0.065

Banks still holding strong except for ocbc.

So zhun... Now buy what?

i see...

2) Cerebos

3) Starhub

Both are different industry, thus it's not really right to compare the 2 on which is more defensive really.