Originally posted by GoofRider@December 28, 2006 08:24 pm

its the nikon 18-70mm.. the lense that comes with the body D70. its a good lense.. but the fungus is only a small dot.

funny thing, i jus join clubsnap, but when i post about i need help me recommending a shop and how much does the lense cleaning cost, only i person reply. how come they not so helpful ah.. other forum that i'm active in are mostly frenly.. they really help u out.

is my question too stoopid that ppl refuse the entertain?

one king guy reply saying it cost roughly 50-60n buckz.. but when i go to Centre point Nikon shop, they told me cost 100 plus and up to 300 plus.. paiseh sey.

Not that pple from Clubsnap are not willing to help. However, they advocate more on the "search" engine. It is not there for nothing. By doing a search, you should be able to find dozens of similar questions posted previously.

Haha anything is... gers usually get help more readily than guys in CS LoL that's something that I have observed.

• Replies 1.9k

Originally posted by Lmodel@January 10, 2007 08:56 am

Not that pple from Clubsnap are not willing to help. However, they advocate more on the "search" engine. It is not there for nothing. By doing a search, you should be able to find dozens of similar questions posted previously.

Haha anything is... gers usually get help more readily than guys in CS LoL that's something that I have observed.

You mean there're gals in ClubSnap? Maybe I should go outing with them. I seem to see a lot of guys, especially in the Nikon threads

CS can be one of the forum with the most flaming and wars. Just one wrong sentence or say something wrong, people will flame you.

Yes right, girls alway get so much replies. Simple as that, regiester with a girl nick and there you are...what you ask will have answer.

Remember no bike is the fastest, no place is that far and no road is that tough.

Mind Over Body

Originally posted by dominator@January 15, 2007 06:17 pm

CS can be one of the forum with the most flaming and wars. Just one wrong sentence or say something wrong, people will flame you.

Yes right, girls alway get so much replies. Simple as that, regiester with a girl nick and there you are...what you ask will have answer.

yea lor... guess me gonna change nick liao.. hee

but seriously.. clunsnap is so not a friendly forum...

i'm active in pets.com.sg and also here in bike forum.. all very helpful but i tell u.. CS.. wahhh.. die sia.. wait and wait.

http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3154/2630373527_9614b93b66_o.jpg
Originally posted by GoofRider@January 16, 2007 07:09 pm

yea lor... guess me gonna change nick liao.. hee

but seriously.. clunsnap is so not a friendly forum...

i'm active in pets.com.sg and also here in bike forum.. all very helpful but i tell u.. CS.. wahhh.. die sia.. wait and wait.

but find that ppl in CS quite helpful.

once u join for a shoot/gathering, u will find it fun.

u might want to join me for street shooting one fine day.

u can learn more when shooting and chit chating in a grp than askingin the forum.

facebook: Fotolightbox Photography

Originally posted by scud@January 17, 2007 12:38 am

u can learn more when shooting and chit chating in a grp than askingin the forum.

master... i wan to join u also....

kekekke :cheer:

Originally posted by scud@January 17, 2007 12:38 am

Haha, maybe a Mini CS biker's group here.

Outing on bikes.

Remember no bike is the fastest, no place is that far and no road is that tough.

Mind Over Body

Originally posted by dominator@January 17, 2007 10:03 am

Haha, maybe a Mini CS biker's group here.

Outing on bikes.

cool idea, but biking ard for photography is not the rite mix.

Originally posted by scud@January 19, 2007 12:17 am

cool idea, but biking ard for photography is not the rite mix.

i have to agree with u... my lowepro D200AW barely made it into my box, with my spare helmet n raincoat inside.. then the tripod must sling like LAW tube :D

Not just CS biased towards gals lah, here oso mah...but @ least the forum is not so luan4 as SBF or HWZ where alot of the members are actually not into riding or IT respectively..

From the ice cream man bike aka my little black lamb RX100..to All Blacks Bandit 400, to the legendary 1285 bandit;)

NUS Students' Motorcycling Interest Group "NUSRiders" Forum

Originally posted by jkaiser@January 19, 2007 12:27 am

i have to agree with u... my lowepro D200AW barely made it into my box, with my spare helmet n raincoat inside.. then the tripod must sling like LAW tube :D

Not just CS biased towards gals lah, here oso mah...but @ least the forum is not so luan4 as SBF or HWZ where alot of the members are actually not into riding or IT respectively..

it is best not to put your cam bag into the box!

i saw a box dropped from the mounting of a bike which was travelling abt 10m in front of me. can u imagine the heart pain if the mounting give way due to the heavy load of your cam?

Actually photography and biking together is possible.

Edited by dominator

Mind Over Body

Originally posted by jkaiser@January 19, 2007 12:27 am

Can be done. Assuming if we meet at your place, I think I can be able to help you carry some of your gear. The other option is netting the gear on your pillion seat.

Originally posted by dominator@January 19, 2007 09:54 am

Actually photography and biking together is possible.

I am always traveling around with my equipment for even long journey.

Also got a friend who do motorcycling travel with 2 body and some lenses, an Nikon F5 and a D70 to thailand, cambodia...india etc.

Just need to pack your stuffs well and no problem.

It will be good isn't it to organize trips across the border on motorbike for photography?

biking and photography for cross border adventure/trip is definately a good experience. one will definately take every precaution available for the bike, belonging and oneself. therefore for such a trip, if i were to go on cross border adventure, i will definately invest on a good cam backpack.

but for travelling in local roads, i dont feel safe after the incident i describe earlier. darn scary, few cents worth of screws (worsen with the weather condition) can lead to few Ks damaged.

Originally posted by dominator@January 19, 2007 09:54 am

It will be good isn't it to organize trips across the border on motorbike for photography?

superb.. very nice.. but my bike is the problem sey.. small bike. me ride a bajaj pulsar.. but u guys here ride 400cc and above. hee

shot recently....

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v511/scud01/KW0Q25-afterw.jpg

hi guys, after deliberating for the longest time, finally bot a 400D today. any tips on maintaining it?

do we have to remove the lens from the body when not in use?

hw abt accs?

i was tinkin of gettin the batt grip+3rd party batt.

screen protector, UV filter, etc... but not sure which one to get first...

too much things, and too lil vitamin M.

FOR SALE (PM for more details)

-inline hockey guards,stick, gloves,pants

-ipod shuffle, 1GB, red, limited edition

Originally posted by fooz@January 28, 2007 09:47 pm

hi guys, after deliberating for the longest time, finally bot a 400D today. any tips on maintaining it?

hw abt accs?

get a filter first! its a must.. so to protect your lense from scratches or dirt..

wats your lense size (diameter)?

hw abt accs?

battery grip do you really need it?

keep that $$$ if you are not sure what to get.

Only buy something you need 1st!

Mind Over Body

congrats fooz, 400D is a good camera.

i'musing nikon, so canon accessories you gotta ask our guru scud...

from my personal experience, battery grip is good if you want to have bigger grip area, if you feel your 400D's size is just nice, then don't spend extra $ on battery grip, get spare battery & memory card better.

it is bulky when you add a battery grip on your cam.

i think UV filter & screen protector is a must, they protect your equipment, the rest you can buy according to you need.

expensive equipment doesn't make you a good photographer, so spend your money wise.

we really must organize one day to shoot together...

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

hw abt accs?

Before anything else, have you get yourself a dry cabinet?

get a filter first! its a must.. so to protect your lense from scratches or dirt..

wats your lense size (diameter)?

erm, 18-55mm ... the kit lens of 400D. nt sure of the diameter

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

batt grip- tried it at the shop, i reali like the extra grip n weight coz the 400D is abit small for my hands. bt i held back, coz the sales guy was pushin too much stuff. didnt want to end up buyin stuff i dun need,

was quoted $190 for the grip. and oso not sure if thats the mkt price. heard of sales pple markin up their accs price, tts y, wana check out 1st.

extra 3rd party batt- $30. some china brand. this is a noob qn. isit safe to buy 3rd party batt? the original canon costs $119! almost 4x more.

UV filter - $15

screen protector - $10

dry cabinet- im act using a dry box. dug it up from my storeroom. prob from my dad's era. it has silica gel in it. does it serve the same purpose as a dry cabinet?

Originally posted by Sev@January 29, 2007 08:40 am

congrats fooz, 400D is a good camera.

i'musing nikon, so canon accessories you gotta ask our guru scud...

from my personal experience, battery grip is good if you want to have bigger grip area, if you feel your 400D's size is just nice, then don't spend extra $ on battery grip, get spare battery & memory card better.

it is bulky when you add a battery grip on your cam.

i think UV filter & screen protector is a must, they protect your equipment, the rest you can buy according to you need.

expensive equipment doesn't make you a good photographer, so spend your money wise.

we really must organize one day to shoot together...

thks.

i noe wat u mean. mine's onli a basic model.

nutin expensive yet. will slowly build it up.

i was tinkin of gg to chinatown to test out the cam this wkend. hmm..

but the jostling n packed crowds, nt sure if its a gd idea.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

on a side note, i saw another biker riding an adiva, in the same shop as me.

also bot the 400D body wiv extra tamron lens + EF 75-300mm.

nt sure if he's in this forum.

buy the necessities first so that u can immediately start to enjoy photography.

necessities are:

- backup batteries

- cf cards

- cleaning kit

- cam bag

- uv filter

others can come later such as batt grip, lenses, tripod, dry cabi, flash and etc.

other hidden items that u MAY need to be aware of are portable hdd, pc upgrade, s/w for DI and etc.

Originally posted by fooz@January 29, 2007 09:13 am

erm, 18-55mm ... the kit lens of 400D. nt sure of the diameter

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------

batt grip- tried it at the shop, i reali like the extra grip n weight coz the 400D is abit small for my hands. bt i held back, coz the sales guy was pushin too much stuff. didnt want to end up buyin stuff i dun need,

was quoted $190 for the grip. and oso not sure if thats the mkt price. heard of sales pple markin up their accs price, tts y, wana check out 1st.

extra 3rd party batt- $30. some china brand. this is a noob qn. isit safe to buy 3rd party batt? the original canon costs $119! almost 4x more.

UV filter - $15

screen protector - $10

dry cabinet- im act using a dry box. dug it up from my storeroom. prob from my dad's era. it has silica gel in it. does it serve the same purpose as a dry cabinet?

Quite useless for a dry box. You have got to "heat" your silicon gel often (to dry the moisture in it).

The most unwanted thing you'd wan to see is probably to get a mouldy lens from your new purchase. You may end up hitting yourself in the head and spending more than the price of a brand new dry cabinet, to remove the fungus.

Humidity in Singapore is too high that a dry cabinet is considered an essential item (at least to me) for any optical equipments.

Hi bro.. i thin its best to invest in getting a proper dry box.. its worht is.. dun be like me before.. wait till get tiny fungus on my lense than panic , than get the dry box.. and also.. if u have bigger budget, get a bigger dry box.. not only u can keep your cmaera, u can keep other stuffs too like your tape or watches or something like that...