Guys I have this problem with my honda SP. I'm currently using racing footrest but the rear brakes don't seem to be sensitive even on low speeds. My shop tells me it is normal for racing footrest to be insensitive. But I'm skeptical.

Thus I'm relying very much on my front brakes. I already skidded once because my front wheels locked.

Now I'm going to change new footrest. Got any idea whether racing or stock brakes got any difference? I just want to choose a footrest which is safer.

http://img269.imageshack.us/img269/7980/img0877ie.jpg

Its never the ride. Always the rider.

• Replies 16

Guys I have this problem with my honda SP. I'm currently using racing footrest but the rear brakes don't seem to be sensitive even on low speeds. My shop tells me it is normal for racing footrest to be insensitive. But I'm skeptical.

Thus I'm relying very much on my front brakes. I already skidded once because my front wheels locked.

Now I'm going to change new footrest. Got any idea whether racing or stock brakes got any difference? I just want to choose a footrest which is safer.

Hmm... actually im not too sure... but i nva realli heard any1 said tt racing footrest will make your rear brakes less sensitive, also i used use them for my sp the onli prob i have for it is that the foot rest quality isnt tt gd as they keep spoiling or parts keep dropping out haf to go customize it to make it more stable as for rear brake i dun remember having such prob....

its been so long...

Wah okay that means my shop people lie to me. Bro you own sp b4 right? Know anywhere good for replacing parts, like brake pads etc? I'm sick of my shop telling me my bike is okay when it obviously is not.

I think its time you bleed your brakes and give it a try.

My brakes are effective even when im using racing footrest.

If bleeding the brakes doesnt help check out the brake hose presuming your brake pads are fine.

PM me if you need help.

http://i265.photobucket.com/albums/ii208/danielsin2/800_3108.jpg

bro, ur shop din lie to u. im riding sp. using racing footrest does reduce abit of efficiency. coz of the brake pump's angle. but no matter wat, rear brake is oways less 'eat' compare to front brakes. u shud practice braking using both brakes and nt rely on front brakes.

for ur info, sp dun haf racing footrest. therefore the racing footrest u using is chiong 1. if u wan gd 1, less possibility tat wil spoil, it doesnt come cheap. best quality = stock.

bro, ur shop din lie to u. im riding sp. using racing footrest does reduce abit of efficiency. coz of the brake pump's angle. but no matter wat, rear brake is oways less 'eat' compare to front brakes. u shud practice braking using both brakes and nt rely on front brakes.

for ur info, sp dun haf racing footrest. therefore the racing footrest u using is chiong 1. if u wan gd 1, less possibility tat wil spoil, it doesnt come cheap. best quality = stock.

Ya, i agree. the racing footrest for sp like those yoshi from ah boy, is okie if you dun demand too much.. but if you compare it to the original ( if you can) the angle of the brake pump is indeed off a bit, hence will reduce the efficiency of it ( cause the spring cannot realli pull it). unless you can find the racing footrest that is made specialy for sp, if not in my opinion, stick to the original ones cause got heel guards also....

SP do have race footrest..

during my sp time, 8 years ago.. there is footrest for SP. the company is HRC..

after a few years, the product is joint produced by HRC and POP.

The footrest oso come wif lifetime warrenty.. if the lever is broken, is one to one exchange.. but no longer available in the mkt..

some things to take into consideration:

1) quality of brake pads & wear n tear

2) brake pump kit condition & hose connections

3) quality of brake hose

4) bleeding & maintenance on the brake fluids

others:

pressure applied on ur front/rear brakes... amt of force dependent on brakes normally shld be 80% front, 20% rear, plus minus...

if u done b4 e-brakes in driving centres.. u shld know rear brakes will lock if u apply more than ample pressure on it.. especially on rainy days/ wet roads...

always depend more on ur front brakes... n as i said, check on the different conditions as above...

go to a reputable bikeshop to get the brakes checked, or changed to a better quality brake hose like HEL/venhill/goodridge etc...

safety is utmost importance..

n from the way u ride, i tink u might need to slown down further more when approaching junctions/ stopping line bcoz u are not giving urself enuff braking distance, thus the hard braking on the front with wheel lock...

if possible, u can press the brake lever once to make it "bite" n release, den start to squeeze slowly in to make the disc/pads work better...

Suck it n ride!

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/nn224/ervinchua_wl/633520157058579273-SignatureCelebra.jpg

bullsh*t lah.. last my kr running on racing footrest, the rear brake was powerful enough to lock the rear tyre... u might have to bleed ur brake hose, maybe change to steel braided ones..

However, ur shop might be right.. only if those racing footrests are installed on cubs running on DRUMBRAKES.

bullsh*t lah.. last my kr running on racing footrest, the rear brake was powerful enough to lock the rear tyre... u might have to bleed ur brake hose, maybe change to steel braided ones..

However, ur shop might be right.. only if those racing footrests are installed on cubs running on DRUMBRAKES.

agreed bro.. all my 2-stroke lacer frenz wit racing ftrest no issue wit rear brake,includin me... but my spark n x1r frenz always got problem wit racing footrest n pedal bcoz of the drumbrakes don work properly at all.

SP Riderrr.......http://img132.imageshack.us/i/15062009001.jpg/

SP do have race footrest..

during my sp time, 8 years ago.. there is footrest for SP. the company is HRC..

after a few years, the product is joint produced by HRC and POP.

The footrest oso come wif lifetime warrenty.. if the lever is broken, is one to one exchange.. but no longer available in the mkt..

bro thnx 4 enlightening. i did saw a hrc brand 1 b4. sum1 in tis forum selling. but din noe if its realli hrc de. so din buy in the end.

Thx for all the enlightenment guys. Haha. I got my footrest changed already.

Its a yoshimura racing footrest. So I presume its chiong one? Since one of you all say SP got no racing footrest. Its must better now already compared to the filmsy racing footrest I got before. The last one I got is like press got no effect on the bike one. So all rely on front brakes.

I know a you guys say to reply more on your front brakes. But all have to say is. If your front brakes locked. Say goodbye your fairings. Confirm skid and fall b4 you know anything happen.

The question I got now is anyone knows how to change brake fluid for SP? I know its easy to buy the brake fluid but I have no idea where the fluid is on my bike and what kinda tools I need. I cannot to have my brakes fail on me again.

Go to a shop and do. bleeding the brake hose is not an easy job and its quite risky too; dot4 is very powerful, it will burn ur skin and ur fairing..

Guest frizen

stick to racing footrest la...

u everytime put your toes on the brake lever.

of cos "buay jia" la

cause u always step on it when riding

bike no power cause brake pad is eating the disc brake..

your brake pad finishing soon la...

not everyone think like you. esp those beng types that think their SP conquers the world. lol.

Ride Safe.

lol, +1 bro. so many bengs nowadays claim that stock footrest too low so die die must put racing. I think many of them never see how stock own racing footrest. Moral of the story, its the rider that matters and make the differences. If you can't even utilize 100% of the resources given, what for go find more? haha.

2cents :p

http://img251.imageshack.us/img251/3506/62342128949007155586100.jpg

人在åš, 天在看