which one will u take?  

272 members have voted

1. 1. which one will u take?

Sian. Boon siew say they dun bring in Hornet 600 anymore. :(

2001 - CB400Rubbish (Kenna conned by Southern Motor tell me its V-tec)

2002 - CB400Vtec Spec II

2004 - CBR600RR

2006 - Spark 135

2008 - X1-R

• Replies 14.1k

Sian. Boon siew say they dun bring in Hornet 600 anymore. :(

You can try parallel importer, I can understand can imagine the number of Hornet 600 they sold over the years.

Someone selling a 07 model at the sales thread you can take a look and consider.

Ok i will ask around b4 making final decision. Want a new bike... either a hornet or mod a revo. Still got some time... aiming for the next reg plate hmmm FBG? lol

2002 - CB400Vtec Spec II

2004 - CBR600RR

2006 - Spark 135

2008 - X1-R

Ok i will ask around b4 making final decision. Want a new bike... either a hornet or mod a revo. Still got some time... aiming for the next reg plate hmmm FBG? lol

Can see that u a fan of CB400, after all you been a owner of two SF before. If u have ample cash, why not go for Hornet somehow torque and bhp are far better than CB400. Regular servicing are the same, parts I have to say that CB400SF has more ready accessories around.

Tires 180 vs 160, Hornet pretty compact would say slightly bigger than CB400. LOL actually you knew all of them since u rode a CBR600RR before... pai seh.

Can see that u a fan of CB400, after all you been a owner of two SF before. If u have ample cash, why not go for Hornet somehow torque and bhp are far better than CB400. Regular servicing are the same, parts I have to say that CB400SF has more ready accessories around.

Tires 180 vs 160, Hornet pretty compact would say slightly bigger than CB400. LOL actually you knew all of them since u rode a CBR600RR before... pai seh.

Ya haha and hornet definitely looks much better. And since engine is from cbrr, I believe close eyes anytime can hit 200km/h. Its my no.1 choice now... just hope that not too much trouble to find shop bring it in

2002 - CB400Vtec Spec II

2004 - CBR600RR

2006 - Spark 135

2008 - X1-R

Oh how how they charge you for such service? My horn push button at times can trigger the horn at times don't, guess the electrical contact might be corroded. Yours a grey hornet?

yup grey one's mine, i THINK, (cant remember) they charged me 120 all in all, but i am a regular, but im not sure that makes a difference to bikeworkz, suspect not.

@pfftz

they actually had hornet ones, but strangely it came without a hazard light switch, so i didnt get it and instead got the super 4 one, also with the rewiring i think i lost my pole lights at the front, dont have the 2 yellow light on all the time like with stock.

"I don't trust any bike I can't see through" - jay leno

Haiz... still cannot find a shop to bring in a Hornet 600 :(

2002 - CB400Vtec Spec II

2004 - CBR600RR

2006 - Spark 135

2008 - X1-R

hmm? i thought looi's and mah had a few first hand H600. loois defiitely, saw some there recently

You saw some? How recent was it bro? think I will head down have a look tomorrow

2002 - CB400Vtec Spec II

2004 - CBR600RR

2006 - Spark 135

2008 - X1-R

yup grey one's mine, i THINK, (cant remember) they charged me 120 all in all, but i am a regular, but im not sure that makes a difference to bikeworkz, suspect not.

@pfftz

they actually had hornet ones, but strangely it came without a hazard light switch, so i didnt get it and instead got the super 4 one, also with the rewiring i think i lost my pole lights at the front, dont have the 2 yellow light on all the time like with stock.

Last time round I saw a Hornet (grey) in Bikewerk too, not sure if its yours... the engine block was removed.

Sadly, CB900F doesn't comes with hazard light switch but I saw CBR1100XX right hand switch assembly almost the same as mine with hazard light switch. Perhaps can change to this type if its damage.

Looi's motor at Kaki Bukit surely have... :)

anyone riding the h250 interested to change the front brake disc? saw unique having a set for s4.. measured the size.. 296mm.. same as stock h250 disc.. not sure about the offset though..

looking for interested party to chip in?

You saw some? How recent was it bro? think I will head down have a look tomorrow

very recent bro, last week? i think 2 or 3rd floor the new bike showroom, right at the extreme right corner of the showroom. golden yellow, the 2007 gen one i hope u mean?

mah i saw had a black one, but that was awhile back, anyway heard loois are good with new bike sales anyway. HINT HINT

Last time round I saw a Hornet (grey) in Bikewerk too, not sure if its yours... the engine block was removed.

Sadly, CB900F doesn't comes with hazard light switch but I saw CBR1100XX right hand switch assembly almost the same as mine with hazard light switch. Perhaps can change to this type if its damage.

Looi's motor at Kaki Bukit surely have... :)

looking for interested party to chip in?

yup my bike was going for full engine overhaul crank, conrod pistons REPLACED and valves serviced, had to ship in good second hand parts in from overseas, ah beng did a great job though. what a wallet burner that was.

anyway i can help regarding disc rotor, i bought a good cond second hand one from overseas too, u can check ebay , i saw a few wave style ones from HK really cheap, i think galfer also makes one but ex @ 300 +. careful though i cant speak for the cheap one's quality.

also can look for second hand ones, and liase with seller about the wear on it, u can also check older versions of cbr 900 rr 1998 models, i THINK they share the same rims size as us, maybe u can find a good cond single side one.

happy hunting~

@pfftz

nuad.. u have defiled the hornet's sanctity with those super4 parts.. tsk tsk :pray:

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

very recent bro, last week? i think 2 or 3rd floor the new bike showroom, right at the extreme right corner of the showroom. golden yellow, the 2007 gen one i hope u mean?

mah i saw had a black one, but that was awhile back, anyway heard loois are good with new bike sales anyway. HINT HINT

Gold one I think is the 2007 model. Actually will prefer the 2009 models as I read they have new suspension and meter panel. Anyway cheers to u guys... I will head down have a look to confirm the the specs

2002 - CB400Vtec Spec II

2004 - CBR600RR

2006 - Spark 135

2008 - X1-R

ya lo.. they only sell a pair ma.. h250 only need 1 side

The offset OK?

Isn't it 2008 model? Yes, its fresh golden yellow color, nice mirror, swingarm and real big radiator!

yup my bike was going for full engine overhaul crank, conrod pistons REPLACED and valves serviced, had to ship in good second hand parts in from overseas, ah beng did a great job though. what a wallet burner that was.

anyway i can help regarding disc rotor, i bought a good cond second hand one from overseas too, u can check ebay , i saw a few wave style ones from HK really cheap, i think galfer also makes one but ex @ 300 +. careful though i cant speak for the cheap one's quality.

also can look for second hand ones, and liase with seller about the wear on it, u can also check older versions of cbr 900 rr 1998 models, i THINK they share the same rims size as us, maybe u can find a good cond single side one.

happy hunting~

Actually I did source for brake disc at ebay, but plus shipping it comes close to what BikeWerk offer me. Some more boss quote me with installation fees, how much boss quote you for the full overhaul? Non of those parts found in singapore?

hmmm LOL i dont remember, it came to about 300++ bucks (wo/parts), but i also did valve service and carb servicing (w/ carb internals replaced) this was included in the 300, so actually i thought his price was very good.

the parts, im sorry to say, i sourced myself, its nigh impossible to find h250 engine internal parts in singapore, i got them from a bike breaker in NZ, contacted him personally, i googled like mad to find parts, also had to get a friend in NZ to contact him for his email, i also googled his shop reputation among NZ bikers and he was pretty famous for giving good parts for good price. u can try the UK too though they have a hornet following there too.

wayne@Bikebusters.co.nz , can try, but he may not have any hornet250 in stock though. AND they are second hand parts So i can't garuntee cond, u must liase with him about condition and mileage of bikes, i got lucky cos he had a bike with very low mileage with a damaged frame sent to scrap.

also the telegraphic transfer of money to him and waiting for parts is a pain, i shipped mine instead of flight, took 4 frikin weeks, but costs much less.

all in all its a pain in the ass. are u sure u need an overhaul???? what makes u think so? bad symptoms? engine knocking? other than that i really doubt a full overhaul is needed

hmmm LOL i dont remember, it came to about 300++ bucks (wo/parts), but i also did valve service and carb servicing (w/ carb internals replaced) this was included in the 300, so actually i thought his price was very good.

the parts, im sorry to say, i sourced myself, its nigh impossible to find h250 engine internal parts in singapore, i got them from a bike breaker in NZ, contacted him personally, i googled like mad to find parts, also had to get a friend in NZ to contact him for his email, i also googled his shop reputation among NZ bikers and he was pretty famous for giving good parts for good price. u can try the UK too though they have a hornet following there too.

wayne@Bikebusters.co.nz , can try, but he may not have any hornet250 in stock though. AND they are second hand parts So i can't garuntee cond, u must liase with him about condition and mileage of bikes, i got lucky cos he had a bike with very low mileage with a damaged frame sent to scrap.

also the telegraphic transfer of money to him and waiting for parts is a pain, i shipped mine instead of flight, took 4 frikin weeks, but costs much less.

all in all its a pain in the ass. are u sure u need an overhaul???? what makes u think so? bad symptoms? engine knocking? other than that i really doubt a full overhaul is needed

Can understand the difficult you facing, beside H250 initially not for all market right? I did check on ebay, actually some selling individual parts from their decommissioned CB900F. Until the day when CB900F facing the same problem as you, I'll start crying... guess we need a better assessment if vehicle require to be overhaul.

Clip on Hornet 600F (http://www.youtube.com/user/motorcyclenewsdotcom#p/search/5/iRDUlkOCq5M)

Any Hornet 600 riders here?

Is there any problem for u guys to service bikes or get parts?

personally no major issues. e bike is pretty bullet proof. i only had a problem wif the batt but i suspect itz becoz of e alarm thatz draining it so i hav a spare and a charger that i use to dischare and swap the batteries once every 6 months? other than that the rest of the stuff u change regularly r pretty standard. hmm, ordered sprockets from motoworld in advance before changing them. i also keep a set of cluthc n throttle cables in case they fail coz i dunt think the local shops keep ready stock. otherr accessories r a pain in the ass coz initially they took a long time to arrive like motech racks and ermax accessories. i also managed to get a set of the service manuals just in case but i'm def not a competent mechanic heh.

my next target wld b a decent exhaust system n maybe the pcV if i can afford them. right now i also need to settle the front suspension coz itz a lil soft. ohlins springs seems pretty reasonable at $400. the bike right now has done abt 50k after 3yrs. almost sold it off but heck i like it.

wish i can do more touring trips thou heh.

hope this helps

rather quiet here eh, recently I read an article about aftermarket air filter. One of the owner experience was that aftermarket air filter might create much unnecessary turbulence in the air cleaner. Which resulted lost in power in the much needed low n mid range...

*Aftermarket Airfilters

Testing of aftermarket airfilters on the RC51 has yielded poor results. Typically there are no real world benefits to aftermarket filters for the RC51 as small hp gains can be obtained on topend, but only with a trade off for mid-range hp. Truth be told every single Honda sportbike in the last 10 years has had losses in power at some point in the rev range or even throughout it from the addition of K&N , EMGO, BMC filters etc... The only real exception being the Airbox Plus kit developed for the 900RR from Factory Pro tuning which does increase hp throughout the rev range on the 900RR, but in my experience requires some pretty extensive jetting to get it right and it uses a filter system inside the airbox at the end of each intake snorkel tube.

Since this article was originally written we've also had multiple issues with drivability on the Honda 919 that resulted in small stumbles and hesitations at lower rpms. None of these were able to be ironed out with mapping changes, but simply swapping out the K&N filter & reinstalling the OEM air filter instantly fixed the problem. I don't think much else needs to be said on that...

Interesting info #1: Flow testing on the stock filters performed by Brian Sheridan of Sheridan Racing Design proved to us that the OEM filters are more than capable of flowing more air than the engine can use

Interesting info #2: Dyno Testing on the BMC filters showed a definite decrease in topend horsepower with only a very slight gain in the mid-range. dyno charts from testing on 02/23/02

Note: when testing new high flow filters it is imperative to allow them to be broke-in properly by getting some miles on the bike at normal riding speeds. The oil applied from the factory can be initially too thick & can cause flow problems which can mis-lead dyno results in either direction. You may initially get good dyno results, but when the oil dissipates & the flow increases your dyno results may worsen or vice versa. Simply put with the extra oil in the filter you might get a good or bad initial dyno run, but after the oil is thinned out the dyno results may change (& usually do) just depends on the bikes flow characteristics

Additional common dyno testing discrepancies are discussed here dyno tuning basics

Back in the old days all the bikes benefited from slapping some individual pod filters on & adding some larger fuel jets... Things have changed greatly in the last decade whereas it's not uncommon for today’s custom jet kits to use smaller main jets with slimmer needles etc... to gain more horsepower & a more linear power delivery instead of just following the old cliché of bigger is better.

Since originally posting this page I have received hundreds of further inquiries about testing methods involving ram-air & how do I know the aftermarket filters don't work etc... Well there are more ways than just dyno testing to get results. Utilizing an Air/Fuel meter while riding in real world conditions will reveal alot of what your bike is actually doing, but even then not everything may be as it seems, sometimes a rich condition will be reported when the reason is that too much air inside the airbox is causing turbulence & stalling the airflow etc...

Some airfilters do work on certain bikes & some don't affect performance at all, but most aren't worth a damn for the overall performance advantage. The OEM filters are tuned to a specific resonance inside the airbox & once you go altering that you get various results. You might get better top end, but poor low end or vice-versa or you might get better performance with a bad stumble that lasts only for only a 200 rpm range or you may simply get a dip in power at some point. The combimation of results is almost infinite.

The main thing to remember is that on streetbikes you need drivability. If you were to put a graduated scale on your throttle housing & make a mark on your throttle grip you would find that you rarely exceed 10% throttle while riding around, yup no crap, 10%! Even when aggressively leaving stoplights & such you really don't open up the throttle all that much. So you need to have your bike as responsive as it can be at low throttle positions & in the mid-range of the bike where you ride the most. Way too much emphasis is put on peak hp when in fact you rarely ride around at redline with a wide open throttle... It's all about better mid-range performance & that is coincidently where the high flow filters usually hurt performance.

Honda's are definitely more applicable to this issue than the other manufacturers. It would appear that Honda spends more R&D time than any of the other manufacturers to insure that the intake system on their bikes is finely matched to the flow characteristics of the motor. The airbox is perfectly tuned to accept x amount of air thru the filters & deliver it to the carbs or throttle bodies in a metered volume & every thing works perfectly in sync in the state of tune they must be in to pass EPA Emissions testing. Typically an alteration of the filter leads to too much turbulent air entering the airbox & usually ends up either leaning out the motor or stalling the airflow altogether.

What would be more beneficial for creating more horsepower would be a larger airbox, which would make a larger amount of air "available" for the motor to use as opposed to a greater volume of air that the engine would be "forced" to use if you went with hi flow filters or filterless. What you don't want to end up doing is putting more air into the airbox than the engine can mix with the fuel. If that happens then you have screwed up your air/fuel ratio & you will lose power.

I'm not going to outright say that there is nothing to be gained from aftermarket filters, but I will say that most top-notch tuners will sway you a different direction especially if you are riding a streetbike as opposed to a racebike. Citing drivability issues as the number one concern.

Another point routinely thrown in my face is that the aftermarket filters are "re-usuable" Which simply put means that not only are you spending $80-$100 for a filter, but you also now have to purchase an additional cleaning kit so that you can wash, dry & oil your expensive filter, but in less time that it takes you to just wash the re-usable filter I can remove my old OEM filter, throw it away, install a new one & be off riding... If you are one of those people that are going to argue the cost savings of aftermarket vs OEM filters then you are into the wrong sport as nothing about a sportbike is cheap, not the cost of the bikes, insurance or maintenance period & you should be prepared to pay a few bucks every 4000-8000 miles for a filter.

In the end one thing is for certain if you are going to use aftermarket filters & get any appreciable gains from them it's going to require a Powercommader, alot of dyno time & probably some creative airbox mods too, maybe even to the point of fabricating custom bellmouths to get it dialed in correctly & you must also consider that in some cases there are no gains to be had & in many a loss of performance or drivability can occur!

BTW because someone always brings up the fact that they use K&N filters in their car or truck & they do work under those conditions I must add that I too use K&N filters in my vehicles & they do show definite increases in power & throttle response, but cars are differerent from current bikes in that they have a closed loop Fi system that can compensate for the air flow variance whereas bikes use an open loop Fi system that cannot automatically compensate. Adding supporting evidence to my theories of airbox turbulence you will be interested to know that K&N has developed many different types of turbulence diffuser inserts for many different makes of cars & trucks that lessen intake turbulence when using their filters to increase performance. So far nobody has developed a way to even test for turbulence on motorcycle induction systems let alone cure it...

hey hornet riders...

i have a few questions i wanna ask...

1. is hornet 600 still in production?

2. what is the machine price for 600 and 900?

3. what is the FC range of 600 and 900?

thanks for taking your time to answer my questions.

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???