which one will u take?  

272 members have voted

1. 1. which one will u take?

Dear Hornettes,

Thank you for your message. I would not be meeting you guys this time round as I just made a trip to Malaccca yesterday 02 December 2004.

It was a lone ranger ride but I enjoyed it very much. Only managed to keep a constant spped of 140km\h. The Wind was too strong for me to ride at 160km\h.

Very tiring indeed. Luckily my Hornet 900 performed well.

Malacca's Town has changed so much since 10yrs ago. So Commercialised and Industrialised. I thought of going there for some sea side view and sea breeze but yesterday was a low tide and that place is over crowed with Pubs. It seems to me that history is history. May not choose to go there again. It is really like Singapore. Tightly pack with commercial buildings.

Distance to Malacca:

I have checked out the distance to Malacca Town from causeway. It is about 218km. Although going at about 140km\h, I took about 2.5hrs from the causeway to reach there with a bit of pit stop here and there.

Petrol Consumption:

I did a small test on the petrol consumption. 137km would consume about 8 liters of the petrol with a average speed at about 140km\h. This is to say that with a full tank it would be safe to travel a distance of about 274km.

Distance between Petrol Stations

On average, petrol stations along the way would be of an average distance of 70km from point to point. Example from Pagoh to Malacca. As a hornet 900 rider, you can afford to travel all the way to Malacca without stopping for petrol top up; travelling at a speed of 140km\h. But your muscles would probably breakdown after that.

Passing Heavy Vehicles

It ain't easy riding pass heavy vehicles. With a speed of 140km\h, it is still not easy to ride pass the air pressure that is created. Expecially the Tour Buses. Most powerful tour buses are travelling at about 115km\h. Personally, I would recommand to increase speed to about 150km\h and zoom pass them, then you remain back to your curising speed at about 140km\h. One recommendation is to keep your petrol tank full so that it helps to increase weight to increase downwards g-force.

Travelling behind Tour Buses

Travelling behind tour buses is the worst thing to do. Never try to travel at about the same speed as the tour buses at about 110 km\h at a distance of about 20meters directly behind or beside them. The whole bike becomes uncontrollable. Too shaky to balance. Overtake and Zoom pass them with high speed is recommended. Or if necessary, try to keep at a distance of about 100m away. It should keep you very safe from the air pressure.

Comfort of the Helmet

My helmet was a problem. The top portion was crushing my head so hard that I had a minor strain on my head when I was back yesterday(Helmet Brand::GPR::). I would recommend to get a helment that has more chusioning on the top portion of the head to increase comfort.

Wind Shield

My wind shield did help me in the journey. Especially when the strong winds were hit my body so hard that I lose control sometimes. Ducking behind the windshield is a wonderful experience which allows me to accelerate up to about 180km\h without much hassel. Basically, you would have to hug the petrol tank. But the ducking position is very strange and uncomfortable. Therefore I tried avoid doing it.

Physical Strain

The only physical strains were experienced. Slight backside pain, Tigh and Should Muscle strains with a bit of Neck ache. There is No backache with compared to the experience that I had when I was riding the Magna 750 which caused me a terrible backache.

Type of Cars to avoid

Please give way to the various cars when you are on the roads; Average Speed 160km\h.

1. Mercedes 240 and above. (They don't give a damn about their accelerator.)

2. Singapore Cars especially when they are going in a group. (Neither do they

give a damn about their accelerator.)

Those singapore cars whom are travelling alone would not give much problems

3. Malaysian Plates of Land Rovers and RAV 4 don't give a damn either.

Conclusion

I am glad to say that I am safely back in Singapore after this high speed journey alone with very little protection. Nevertheless, it was fun and enjoyable to go for a little long distance ride at times. Next time round I would prefer to join in a group rather then to go alone. Would like to have a little different experience. Wish you all a save ride to Kulai and back to Singapore. Enjoy your dinner.

Best Regards,

Media Velocity

• Replies 14.1k

media, i like to check what's your bike temperature like?? too hot or not?

i find mine a bit too hot when riding in local roads with traffic lights(ie stop and go type) and also when i ride all the way back from work using the expressway, the tem,perature is ok, but when i reach the MSCP hunting for a place to park the bike, the temperature soars to about 3/4 high and the fan kicks in.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

KULAI MAKAN TRIP on 03 DECEMBER 2004 (TODAY!)

Ok boys and girls, the trip is ON. Please meet at Gelang Patah Esso at 08.30 pm! Anybody going to be late or going to fly-airplane, please call me at 9.0.6.7.6.3.6.2. Final updates on weather: if it starts looking jialat, i'll call everybody by 7 pm.

Cheers! :thumb:

Originally posted by smokin@Dec 3 2004, 02:33 PM

i find mine a bit too hot when riding in local roads with traffic lights(ie stop and go type) and also when i ride all the way back from work using the expressway, the tem,perature is ok, but when i reach the MSCP hunting for a place to park the bike, the temperature soars to about 3/4 high and the fan kicks in.

That's normal. Happens to me too.

Oh btw, i just installed FIAAM horns: now i have 1 low-tone and 1 high-tone horn on left and right of my engine guard, loooooks a bit weird but works perfectly... think i'll go cruising and give old ladies heart attacks.

Ride TO Malacca[/u][/b]

Thks for detail description of your ride.

Better to go in a Group.

Journey will feel shorter & more Fun.

Also the support is gd if any of the bike has a problem.

Next time post your ride before u go...

Some of us may be free to ride up with U.

130km to 150km would be a nice spd for the H9.

When Passing Trucks or Buses..

Just Hug your Tank.

U will be quite stable.

Temperature

No problem with temp while crz.

Mine highest is mid level in stop & go traffic in city.

Horns

Fix a double air horn.

$15 for both $10 to fix.

The horn sure push a lot of vehicles try to cut into my lane without signal.

Important safety factor!

Wishing All A Safe & :smile: Enjoyable ride To Kulai...

Wish I could Go...

:cheer: :bouncefire:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Spectrum@Dec 3 2004, 05:01 PM

Ride TO Malacca[/u]

Thks for detail description of your ride.

Better to go in a Group.

Journey will feel shorter & more Fun.

Also the support is gd if any of the bike has a problem.

Next time post your ride before u go...

Some of us may be free to ride up with U.

130km to 150km would be a nice spd for the H9.

When Passing Trucks or Buses..

Just Hug your Tank.

U will be quite stable.

Temperature

No problem with temp while crz.

Mine highest is mid level in stop & go traffic in city.

Horns

Fix a double air horn.

$15 for both $10 to fix.

The horn sure push a lot of vehicles try to cut into my lane without signal.

Important safety factor!

Wishing All A Safe & :smile: Enjoyable ride To Kulai...

Wish I could Go...

:cheer: :bouncefire: [/b]

to pass a truck or bus at the nsh, it's best to drop gear and pass it quickly as possible. got to aim and judge properly early.

riding side by side with them at hi speed is asking for trouble as they seem like sucking u towards them. so get away from them as soon as possible.

pos·er (pozr) n.

A Sportbike rider who habitually pretends to be something he is not and only care about how they appear to the public as their bikes are nothing more than props to get them noticed by girls or even teenage boys which they want to impress with fictional tales of all the hardcore riding they do.

huh? where's your side?

eh here in the south i can't see anything one... ok i'm going. see you there whoever's there!

Originally posted by tingchiyen@Dec 3 2004, 07:43 PM

huh? where's your side?

eh here in the south i can't see anything one... ok i'm going. see you there whoever's there!

hehe.. pai seh.. left the office liaoz.. haha..

btw... thnx guyz.... gd food.. nice guyz... keke..

wonderful nite.... hope to do it again.. hehe....:cheeky:

sorrie 4 being the odd one okie??? pai seh wor... :sorry:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Originally posted by Spectrum@Dec 2 2004, 03:07 PM

HORNET POLO SHIRT

Size Colour (Name on Sleeve)

1. Jason Chua S Black (Jason)

2. Forza99 Fazri L Black (Forza99)

3. Sunny Ho M Black (Sun)

4. Nicholas Goh L Black (Ghost)

5. Saint M Black (Saint)

6. Oceath Jay S White (Ocearth)

7. Solidus250 M Black (Wayang)

8. Shaun M Black (Shaun)

9. Media Velocity L Black (Media Velocity)

10, Smokin’ XXXL Black (Smokin’)

11. Huat S Black (Alex)

12. Ravon11 M Black (Ravon11)

13. Nana S Black (Nana)

14. Robin XL Black (Robin)

15. Gianni L Black (Gianni)

Pls print only J for my polo T...

tks...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Oceath.jpg
Originally posted by smokin@Dec 3 2004, 02:33 PM

Yap, it is normal.

I suspect the engine is largely air cooled while we travel. But when you do a stop and go action, the engine gets heated up very easily. I have experience it all the time. Everytime I stop the engine by deactivating the red button before turning off the key ignition, the fan will naturally keep on.

The body's frame temperature is barable when touched. But it may not be bearable if you hold it there for a longer time.

The heat does not affect me very much when I am with my long working pants and shoes.

Media Velocity

Originally posted by Media Velocity@Dec 4 2004, 11:43 AM

Yap, it is normal.

I suspect the engine is largely air cooled while we travel. But when you do a stop and go action, the engine gets heated up very easily. I have experience it all the time. Everytime I stop the engine by deactivating the red button before turning off the key ignition, the fan will naturally keep on.

The body's frame temperature is barable when touched. But it may not be bearable if you hold it there for a longer time.

The heat does not affect me very much when I am with my long working pants and shoes.

just to make sure it is not going to cook me :D

tinhg also told me to change the stock oil and the temperature will drop a bit.

pos·er (pozr) n.

Eh roger, back from works liao? i looking for that wet-t-shirt-babe bike wash on the forum, cannot find leh... need directions!

btw it's cos when change synth engine oil, temperature dispersal better since it's oil-cooled (or wadever, my mech tell me one ...) seems to work for me, me using motul, last time using royal purple...

Hey Guys,

I am selling my FS hornet 250 soon....do help me ask around as whoever is interested. i will be upgrading to a car soon i guess. cant afford to keep both.

Price: $5.5k neg

colour: Blue

Plate: FS

Year: 2000

do call me at 97250605 if anyting

http://www.moto-station.com/ttesimages/motodivers/nouveautes2006/BMW_R1200GS_Adventure_acpz.jpg

1998 WR200 FR****M

2000 Hornet 250 FS****S

2007 Gilera SP FS****T

2007 Honda Super 4 Version S FQ****H

2008 Fazer 600S FZ****U

2009 CBR 1100XX Super Blackbird FZ***U

2011 BMW GS 1200 Adventure FBB****H

2013 Gilera VXR 200 FBB****H

Hope Hornets had a good ride Fri to Kulai.

- How was ride?

Ocearth...

Roger That! "J" will your Initial on your Polo-T

Now, Who's looking for Wet Babes...:giddy:

"The heat does not affect me very much when I am with my long working pants and shoes."

- Do Agree. Generally won't affect if fully clothed.

- eg. like no socks... will feel heat.

"I am selling my FS hornet 250 soon....do help me ask around as whoever is interested. i will be upgrading to a car soon i guess. cant afford to keep both."- Maybe can catch u for another ride before u give up your hornet...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by tingchiyen@Dec 4 2004, 12:36 PM

Eh roger, back from works liao? i looking for that wet-t-shirt-babe bike wash on the forum, cannot find leh... need directions!

btw it's cos when change synth engine oil, temperature dispersal better since it's oil-cooled (or wadever, my mech tell me one ...) seems to work for me, me using motul, last time using royal purple...

yah i saw the wet t shirt bike wash thing some where in the forum sometime back. no idea where is it now.

pos·er (pozr) n.

guys,

juz last night gyan n me went down to pitstop bistro for a drink.. we arrived at abt 1pm.. quite a number of bikes parked at the side of the bar but we parked beside a lone blue 04R1.. when we got off our bikes i noticed ppl lookin (perhaps they never seen a black CBR900 n a silver HORNET b4?.. i dunno la.. or maybe i was too noisy when we made our way to our parkin spot)

anyway as soon as we approached the tables a ger (quite pretty.. too bad abit short.. lol) asked us if we wanted to sit outside.. seeing as there were many smokers (no offense to the smokers i juz hate breathin in 2nd hand smoke as i am oredi breathin in alot of stupid pollution juz from ridin in sg) i requested a table indoors..

so being at pitstop bistro for onli my 2nd time i didnt noe how the inside looked (was sitting outside the last time round).. i was surprised to see a PS2 in a small corner.. they were playin winning eleven 8.. wah seh.. my fav soccer game on the playstation..

lookin tru the menu i think nothing much has changed.. i couldnt decide on wat to drink so i asked the pretty waitress for her suggestion.. oreo smoothie she said.. n it was not on the menu.. "eh.. something special i tot".. btw i find her really friendly n nice to us.. even sat down beside gyan n me while i was scratchin my head on wat to order (maybe she was interested in my friend ?!)..

gyan had a rootbeer float n i had my oreo smoothie (those who like munchin on oreos.. u gotta try it.. those who dunno wat an oreo is.. where the heck u been the last decade ah !)..

all in all it was quite a nice experience.. last thing to add.. as we were leavin i noticed 2 small sportsbike parked side by side at the end of the road.. wonder y those 2 bikes r not parked nearer.. too paiseh ? maybe they r owned by the small group of bengs who were sitting at the front ? hahaha.. who cares !

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

Ride to Kulai passing thru Pasir Gudang on SAT 11 Dec

Going to kulai thru pasir gudang for those who enjoy Left corners.. :cheer:

Then head to Kulai for dinner......

Meeting at 9pm at Esso station.

This is tentative depending on majority. If not we go straight.:thumb:

Confirm

1. Ghost

2. Sunny

3. Saint

Interested just add your name to the list...

Originally posted by solidus250@Dec 5 2004, 11:40 AM

guys,

anyway as soon as we approached the tables a ger (quite pretty.. too bad abit short.. lol) asked us if we wanted to sit outside.. seeing as there were many smokers (no offense to the smokers i juz hate breathin in 2nd hand smoke as i am oredi breathin in alot of stupid pollution juz from ridin in sg) i requested a table indoors..

.......... decide on wat to drink so i asked the pretty waitress for her suggestion.. oreo smoothie she said.. n it was not on the menu.. "eh.. something special i tot".. btw i find her really friendly n nice to us.. even sat down beside gyan n me while i was scratchin my head on wat to order (maybe she was interested in my friend ?!)..

Oh yah.. saw the petite pretty rather large eye looking lady at pittstop too leh..

Eh solidus you go there for the ps2 or the pretty lady eh eh??:cheeky:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Oceath.jpg
Originally posted by tingchiyen@Dec 4 2004, 12:36 PM

Hey Nice Sunday outing with VerR, Tingchiyen and solidus250.

VerR and Tingchiyen we met up at Marina South Super Cue for a few matches of pool. Not bad for the games we had. Fun~!!!!1

Ard 630pm we went for our makan at Dragon Village for the $12 bucks buffet. Solidus250 joined us later ard 730pm ( Yeah ! 1 hr late, dunno where he go cornering in Singapore ).

Counter Strike was next. We played 1 hr plus and each $3 bucks. VerR nearly puked out as the game was abit difficult for him to adsorb, like spinning ard getting KILLED. But at least , he did kill us off in the end :)

Had some riding at Marina South, before heading up to Altivo Mount Faber. Chit Chat abit for ard 1-2hrs then headed home , which i just got him and log in to share the dairy of our Hornet small mini sunday outing. I did sms afew of them, but never one replied to me.:mad: Kidding.....

But overall its a nice night, and hopefully the next one will be better with Spectrum around.. ( :cheer: )

Thats all.:) ( Sorry no pics )

Nitezzz

Motrax33

Dear members,

We are going to organise games and matches for entertainment on the 2 days of Anniversary Event and we are open now to pre-registration as a group to participate in the games!

So ladies & gentlemen! Gather your friends, kakis, buddies, girlfriends, boyfriends, ah mas, ah kongs, uncles, aunties... you get the picture...

in a group of EIGHT (8) per group, guys or girls.

Send in your group member's names & contact, and state the captain for the group. Winners get to walk away with... errmm... dunno yet. Haha! But definitely there will be prizes!

HEY Guys~!!! Anybody from the hornet group wanna join bo??? Our own Hornet Team. Need 8 of us.

1. Motrax33

Motrax33

Originally posted by ocearth@Dec 5 2004, 06:04 PM

Oh yah.. saw the petite pretty rather large eye looking lady at pittstop too leh..

Eh solidus you go there for the ps2 or the pretty lady eh eh??:cheeky:

both ?

Originally posted by Motrax33@Dec 6 2004, 01:24 AM

Dear members,

We are going to organise games and matches for entertainment on the 2 days of Anniversary Event and we are open now to pre-registration as a group to participate in the games!

So ladies & gentlemen! Gather your friends, kakis, buddies, girlfriends, boyfriends, ah mas, ah kongs, uncles, aunties... you get the picture...

in a group of EIGHT (8) per group, guys or girls.

Send in your group member's names & contact, and state the captain for the group. Winners get to walk away with... errmm... dunno yet. Haha! But definitely there will be prizes!

HEY Guys~!!! Anybody from the hornet group wanna join bo??? Our own Hornet Team. Need 8 of us.

1. Motrax33

Motrax33

steady la.. i join.. hope the prizes r GOOD