Hi Fellow Riders,

I have had terrible experiences eating at Tong Seng Coffeeshop opposite Bugis Junction and yesterday ultimately was the last straw.

Went to eat dinner wif my gf at about 5pm. Wanted to seat upstairs to enjoy the aircon abit. E room was half empty. Was forced by this Malay looking foreigner to sit crammed between tables for 2-seater..nvm.

Had no place to put my helmet and bag..so i juz tumpang my helmet on the table beside me wif the intention if any1 else would need it i would put e helmet elsewhere or leave once i was done wif my quick dinner(went der to juz chill drink teh n siew mai onli). That same guy told me to put my helmet on the floor coz dey need the table. I told him if gt any pair come den i will put it elsewhere. He told me there got ppl coming up to sit beside me. Frustrated, me n my gf decided to leave and der wasnt anyone waiting at all. How annoying can dat be?

I understand dat dey require e space for patrons but at least have e courtesy to be more flexible. it was already half empty, wad difference wud it make if i were to sit at the 4-table place. it was empty downstairs. dat foreigner had to cheek to tell me put my helmet on e floor. i wish i cud put his head on the floor.

From now on, im goin to boycott this tong seng as its a so-called high-class coffeeshop. i'd rather eat at e new food junction although it may be pricier bt at least it wudn't spoil my appetite.

FYI: i heard stories dey use black magic too over at tong seng. i dun reali bother though abt this hocus pocus.

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
  • Replies 14

ya..the one on the right..its relatively cheap but i wudnt say e food is good. e quality of e food has degraded ever since it got alot of patrons. nw dey so snobbish dey dun mind losin a few customers

http://images.theage.com.au/2011/05/16/2366334/art_stoner-200x0.jpg
the coffeeshop by the edge of the road??

i see it always crowded ...

is it that good ??

no, but its the only halah kopi shop dat sells a wide variety of food. used to eat there often when i patronize the arcade everyday

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

oh that wan ...

last time they use to be better..

now they have the u wan u eat dun wan never mind mentality

jus like the selegie soya bean .

sorta agree with their 'downgrade' of service.. but...

their chicken rice is still one of my fav ever!!! add more rice and add more chicken! Fav place to go esp after gym at Gaylifornia fitness.

Customer service is still friendly and warm if its by any of the approachable aunties or the spiky hair man.. But if its the older chinese man or malay man.. its otherwise. I once asked for more chicken (from the older chinese man btw) and freakin hell, me and my buddy got 2 whole pieces for about $30 bucks. Since that day, i always make my order precisely.

Nevertheless, its still one of my favourite places to eat at!

Ride safe..!

wats so nice to eat along the road side there? weekend always jam, if no jam, people drag their cars or bikes, coz got many people seeing.

either way, you have the exhaust fumes to accompany you.

i'm a regular there since 2001 and most of their staff r well..not bad.no bad experience during the last 9 years.dun let this bad experience mar your outing with your loved one(s).probably a one-off experience..give it another chance

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

Hi Fellow Riders,

I have had terrible experiences eating at Tong Seng Coffeeshop opposite Bugis Junction and yesterday ultimately was the last straw.

Went to eat dinner wif my gf at about 5pm. Wanted to seat upstairs to enjoy the aircon abit. E room was half empty. Was forced by this Malay looking foreigner to sit crammed between tables for 2-seater..nvm.

Had no place to put my helmet and bag..so i juz tumpang my helmet on the table beside me wif the intention if any1 else would need it i would put e helmet elsewhere or leave once i was done wif my quick dinner(went der to juz chill drink teh n siew mai onli). That same guy told me to put my helmet on the floor coz dey need the table. I told him if gt any pair come den i will put it elsewhere. He told me there got ppl coming up to sit beside me. Frustrated, me n my gf decided to leave and der wasnt anyone waiting at all. How annoying can dat be?

I understand dat dey require e space for patrons but at least have e courtesy to be more flexible. it was already half empty, wad difference wud it make if i were to sit at the 4-table place. it was empty downstairs. dat foreigner had to cheek to tell me put my helmet on e floor. i wish i cud put his head on the floor.

From now on, im goin to boycott this tong seng as its a so-called high-class coffeeshop. i'd rather eat at e new food junction although it may be pricier bt at least it wudn't spoil my appetite.

FYI: i heard stories dey use black magic too over at tong seng. i dun reali bother though abt this hocus pocus.

The guy is just doing his job well & probably have more senses then you.

Not everyone ride a bike to empathise how valuable is your helmet. But you are a bit selfish also & get frustrated un-necessary by your ego. Regardless, they are operating a business there. If everyone is to think like you then anyone can also put their whatever things also consider valuable on the "un-occupy" table next to them.

You need to self evaluate.

alamak relac la... Dont need to hantam bola him untill like that.

I dont know how i got this mentality, but i find putting your helmet on the table is rude and my most of my friends think the same. Its ok on the chair.

Edited by bluelabel
alamak relac la... Dont need to hantam bola him untill like that.

I dont know how i got this mentality, but i find putting your helmet on the table is rude and my most of my friends think the same. Its ok on the chair.

cldnt agree with u more.cos table are meant for placing the food n if it gets dirty, customers wldnt like it.even more so if the tables get stained.

Do not trouble trouble unless trouble troubles you

I think the trigger point that shorted TS wire was that the coffee shop is half filled with lotsa seats available. Yet he was meant to do things as though the coffee shops are blasting with many patrons. If i were in his shoe, i would not be happy too. Putting helmet on the floor is the last thing i would do. Imagine all the stains, insects and whatnot goes into the helmet.

Besides TS did reply that if anyone needed the seat and table, he will gladly remove his helmets.

no, but its the only halah kopi shop dat sells a wide variety of food. used to eat there often when i patronize the arcade everyday

you pak arcade everyday?