Originally posted by deanz4@Nov 11 2005, 03:23 PM

guys i have been looking through yr pass thread.... gs bike are making me droll man......but my financial forbide me to get one o this baby...

can i know how r u guys financial for this bike/?????

wth minimum of 36 k on the road doesn t come cheap...

Hey Fren

Indulge in what you feel is most comfortable to your own financial means. Do not feel obligated to peer pressure. At the end of the day, its u who will take all its consequences. No one will pity u when u fail on paying your instalments cos u try to swallow more than what u can :smile:

Some of us here have worked for quite a while before we indulge ourselves in our hobbies. Most imptly, set your priorities right. If u take an effort to plan and do things step by step, u r on your way to owning one very soon too :smile:

guys i have been looking through yr pass thread.... gs bike are making me droll man......but my financial forbide me to get one o this baby...

A) Instalment payment = once a month.

B) Road Tax & Insurance payment = once a year.

C) Service = 10,000km or once every six month.

D) Major repair = 60,000km or Once every 3yrs.

E) Riding Enjoyment = Daily.

Fm above :

If E is Riding Enjoyment & A to D are pain & basis on per year calculation per yr, you should derived following :

365E>12A+1B+2C+0.3D.

If A to E are equals to 1,then above statement is true, 365>15.33

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421

hhehhe thanks for all the comment u guys r great.... and funny sdr u can come out wth fomular some more....

SDR: i just wanna know the C part ... u guys service yr bike 10kilo one time ??? thats is changing eo,spark plug,oil filter and air filter??? that quite far. normally i will changed for 5kilo

SUZU: its true wat u said other wont know yr suffering..so can i know wat age grup u guys in since u say plan first for a better financial stability

CYCLOP: so u buy a second hand bike or new?? wat yr monthly instalment like???.. and i know that BMs is using box engine and u cant go much place to do yr bike if its having 'headace' so where u guy go to do all this and it expensive right to do the box engine.... any expert mech here in singaporre....

http://i46.photobucket.com/albums/f128/inflames85/funny.gif
Originally posted by fasola69@Nov 11 2005, 07:01 PM

hi bro's...any1 here change the clutch plate recently or b4?:help:

yup i juz changed recently total cost me bout $2k cause i change alot of things besides the clutch plate set cause i c take out liao might as well change all the seals, bearings, sensors that r taken out when changin the clutch but well tats juz me ;)

Originally posted by deanz4@Nov 12 2005, 05:50 AM

hhehhe thanks for all the comment u guys r great.... and funny sdr u can come out wth fomular some more....

SDR: i just wanna know the C part ... u guys service yr bike 10kilo one time ??? thats is changing eo,spark plug,oil filter and air filter??? that quite far. normally i will changed for 5kilo

SUZU: its true wat u said other wont know yr suffering..so can i know wat age grup u guys in since u say plan first for a better financial stability

CYCLOP: so u buy a second hand bike or new?? wat yr monthly instalment like???.. and i know that BMs is using box engine and u cant go much place to do yr bike if its having 'headace' so where u guy go to do all this and it expensive right to do the box engine.... any expert mech here in singaporre....

well if u riding the older models like the other models like the 1100s or 1150s u can go to mtech ;) 1200s u LL hav to go back dealer

Originally posted by SDR@Nov 12 2005, 02:05 AM

Fm above :

If E is Riding Enjoyment & A to D are pain & basis on per year calculation per yr, you should derived following :

365E>12A+1B+2C+0.3D.

Outstanding SDR,

I've never seen it from that angle before http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/clap_1.gif

Bravo man http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/beerchug.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Think 5K is recommended by yr Tech, you must understand, the KTV Ci-na mei mei are waiting for them. If you change at 10k, the Ci-na mei mei will have to wait longer.

hahaha, just kidding lah, guess your mech really care for yr bike lah, good mech. :thumb: pls recommend.

Mine is an old engine, EO is 20W50 mineral or whatever lah, so long don't use Cooking U, U-si ler, U-sai and etc... backside itchy, oil pan extended to another liter, so, now total is about 3.25ltr, but usually top up only 3litre, cost saving mah, anyway, after about 3k to 5k, hv to top up 1 lah. so far so good, engine is still running.

Air Filter - K & N - for cost saving & not for performance, so just need cleaning. For your information, my bike is 10yrs old liao, mileage is about 130k, so guess the Air Filter is as old. :cheeky:

Oil Filter - usually changed on the 2nd oil change but subject to availability, if Ah Gent dont hv, be prepare to wait for 45days. So ended up change it at 20k. See, Ah-Gent is my best mech, he helps me to save $.

Valve clearance - 5k, 10k, 15k to 20k, depends on how loud it is, usually on FF, can't hear properly, so usually do it at 20k.

hmm, guess tt's all, if DIY, $50 or less.

if outside mech, guess, $200.00 or less

if by Ah Gent - $400.00 or less and usually comes with a FREE advise - "IT'S LIKE THAT ONE LAH".

So, best is to go to Ah Gent, got freebies leh. If you interested, I pm Ah Gent's cell phone number to you.

P.S. : *Terms & condition apply - & usually applicable for bikes that are 7yrs and above. Can't blame Ah Gent too, even our LIM DAO also don't encourage old car/bike.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Nov 12 2005, 10:45 AM

Outstanding SDR,

I've never seen it from that angle before http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/clap_1.gif

Bravo man http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/beerchug.gif

Modification from my brother's theory. He prefers to suffer only once a month and hv 30 days of enjoyment.

Hi Deanz4,

I'm with Suzu's concept, I been working for many years now and have put aside some money for my indulgence. I try to minimise the amount of loan as much as possible to avoid paying for too much to service the interest. So depends on how much is the payment upfront, the monthly installment will vary for individuals.

As for road tax, its not brand related but capacity related. So everybody pays the same for the same capacity of bikes, regardless of brands. As for insurance, once again its more relative to the age of the rider. Shop around for a good price. BMWWCS have an arrangement with an insurance company and they offer good group discount.

And about the boxer engine, I would say its one of the most durable piece of engineering ever conceived. Hatched in the early part of the last century, perferted during the war. The beauty of it is that its a very vary simple engine.

As for the mechanical parts of a BMW, any good and competent mechanics can do the job. And the electronics, earlier models from the 1150 series and back, no problem too. Only the newer generation from the 1200 onwards, where the CanBus system is now applied to the bike, then you would need a facility with the proper diagnostic tools to do the job if the bike develops an electronic issue. But the CanBus technology has been around for quite some time already and it has proven itself to be quite a robust design. For genuine spares, there are more than 1 official supplier out there.

As with any mechanical machine, wear and tear is unavoidable and preventive maintenance goes a long way to help your bike spend more time on the road than in the shop.

As for good mechanic, there are many around. I would recommend Eris who does his trade at M-Tech. That man is ACE http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/250503/nod.gif

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Nov 12 2005, 11:18 AM

Hi Deanz4,

I'm with Suzu's concept, I been working for many years now and have put aside some money for my indulgence. I try to minimise the amount of loan as much as possible to avoid paying for too much to service the interest. So depends on how much is the payment upfront, the monthly installment will vary for individuals.

As for road tax, its not brand related but capacity related. So everybody pays the same for the same capacity of bikes, regardless of brands. As for insurance, once again its more relative to the age of the rider. Shop around for a good price. BMWWCS have an arrangement with an insurance company and they offer good group discount.

And about the boxer engine, I would say its one of the most durable piece of engineering ever conceived. Hatched in the early part of the last century, perferted during the war. The beauty of it is that its a very vary simple engine.

As for the mechanical parts of a BMW, any good and competent mechanics can do the job. And the electronics, earlier models from the 1150 series and back, no problem too. Only the newer generation from the 1200 onwards, where the CanBus system is now applied to the bike, then you would need a facility with the proper diagnostic tools to do the job if the bike develops an electronic issue. But the CanBus technology has been around for quite some time already and it has proven itself to be quite a robust design. For genuine spares, there are more than 1 official supplier out there.

As with any mechanical machine, wear and tear is unavoidable and preventive maintenance goes a long way to help your bike spend more time on the road than in the shop.

As for good mechanic, there are many around. I would recommend Eris who does his trade at M-Tech. That man is ACE http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/250503/nod.gif

yah man i second that~~~ eris is :thumb:

bike left with him no worries~~~

But to me, the GS especially carries a certain appeal, it is an endearing design, and its built to go the distance. Among us, we see GS of up to 5 generations in the group........ Can't say that for many others.....

Perfectly agree with Cyclop on above statement, but me abit left out leh as R100R rider, :weep:

May I correct a little bit.... hehehe, BMW bikes lah.

I still see 5/6/7 series occassionally, R100RS, RT and the 1 and only R80ST in Singapore. And I really don't see so many generation for others.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Nov 11 2005, 11:56 PM

Hi Deanz4,

IMHO, getting a brand new BMW here is a serious financial outlay, relative to a lot of other brands. This is indisputable. But thats the cost of ownership here. "LL" I guess.

But to me, the GS especially carries a certain appeal, it is an endearing design, and its built to go the distance. Among us, we see GS of up to 5 generations in the group........ Can't say that for many others.....

The servo/ABS, paralever & telelever design though querky, are nevertheless effective and I cannot even count how many times they have saved me from my own and other peoples recklessness. I am not saying that other brands aren't good, but I just appreciate the way BMW does it.

As for the look, its more of form following function, no beauty contest winner here.

So how do we pay for it? For a lot of us, thru installment. As Singaporean, we can withstand a lot of "pain",almost everything we own here are thru monthly installment. Come to think of it, its more like rental than true ownership.

If you don't mind not getting new, there are good used ones out there. Let the first owner take the hit. You need to be patient and selective.

As with any other brands, there are peaches and lemon. Only thing is, when a BMW breaks down, there will be more "noise" generated from the "surrounding", just have to filter those off. BMW never says their bike are indestructable. Regular maintenance and wear & tear replacement apply here, as with any other brands.

The above are my perception of owning a BMW. But my perception is my reality, agree?

:clap: :clap:

Well saiD :thumb:~

Words of wisdoM~

http://martymcfry.com/images/limpdick2.jpg

'01 - Honda Repsol

'03 - Honda Super Four VTec Spec II

'04 - Honda ST1100 Pan European

'05 - Yamaha FJR1300A (FAVORITE!! Best Ride ever!!)

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Future - Kymco Downtown 350i, Xciting 400 or T-Max 530?

Originally posted by Suzu@Nov 12 2005, 12:46 AM

Hey Fren

Indulge in what you feel is most comfortable to your own financial means. Do not feel obligated to peer pressure. At the end of the day, its u who will take all its consequences. No one will pity u when u fail on paying your instalments cos u try to swallow more than what u can :smile:

Well saiD Suzu :thumb:

But usualli one had to made the mistake to learn from it.... :cheeky:

Look @ mi now.. :weep:

Life goes on....

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

Originally posted by SDR@Nov 12 2005, 02:05 AM

Fm above :

365E>12A+1B+2C+0.3D.

:lol: spoke like a true engineer~!~ :lol:

'01 - Honda Repsol

'09 - Vespa GTS300 Super

'12 - Yamaha FZ1-N

u can opt for a second hands

like 1100GS from $8k-$13k

or 1150GS from $14k-$25k

or 1150GSA from $20k-new$40k

or 1200GS from $32k-new$40k

mantainance is cheap if u DIY. Its the labour that kills.

Originally posted by Cybourg@Nov 12 2005, 12:45 AM

Hi guys, I would like to know if the Motronic coding plug is a standard feature in the GS? Oh, btw with the Motronic coding plug, does it means the GS could run safely on Octance 92 fuel?

GS can run on 92 petrol in stock condition....thats the min.

10000km service for GS is not far but normal cause GS is using dry clutch...therefore engine oil will last longer. only carbon contaminate it. unlike most majority of bikes that are wet clutch, ceramic and clutch fibers will contaminate it faster.

moreover, 10kkm service is only oil and filter. 20kkm then sparkplug and others.

Originally posted by koma@Nov 12 2005, 10:34 AM

yup i juz changed recently total cost me bout $2k cause i change alot of things besides the clutch plate set cause i c take out liao might as well change all the seals, bearings, sensors that r taken out when changin the clutch but well tats juz me ;)

ok koma thanks for the info... :thumb:

Originally posted by esthermygs@Nov 12 2005, 01:08 PM

10000km service for GS is not far but normal cause GS is using dry clutch...therefore engine oil will last longer. only carbon contaminate it. unlike most majority of bikes that are wet clutch, ceramic and clutch fibers will contaminate it faster.

moreover, 10kkm service is only oil and filter. 20kkm then sparkplug and others.

Really?

Dont know tt. May b should sent in e used oil for lab test.

VISWA Lab, SGS or Saybolt.

Just kidding lah, 1 test = 20xDIY, 10xOutside mech svc or 5xSvc by Ah Gent.

Originally posted by SDR@Nov 12 2005, 02:19 PM

Really?

Dont know tt. May b should sent in e used oil for lab test.

VISWA Lab, SGS or Saybolt.

Just kidding lah, 1 test = 20xDIY, 10xOutside mech svc or 5xSvc by Ah Gent.

it is....black and white from the owner's manual. they even recommend mineral oil...cheap cheap. this is something non-bmw owners dont know. reason is max rpm of GS is . Low rev cruising bike dont need fully syn.

I thot mineral oil recommended cos' if synthetic then too "thin" and will sepp thru gasket .... I do learn something new everyday!!!

Juz put BMW grips on my scooter!!!! Wheeeeeeee!!!

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

u r correct. fully syn oil has more additives to it, thus making it thinner resulting in for example 5W40. the lower the number the more thin. the additives also prevent it from contaminating too fast. but its not to sip through gasket. just that its not needed in low rpm engine. it'll be a waste of money.

just imagine...an egg mixer at low speed can mix up a thick paste. but if u increase the speed, the paste has to be watery if not the mixer wont move. simple theory.

moreover...3rd world country only produce mineral oil, they dont sell mobil 1 or other fully syn oil. this function is a bonus for GS as a world touring bike as mineral oil are available everywhere.

hmm....

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a390/SDR89/COVER.jpg

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a390/SDR89/pg72engineoil.jpg

Originally posted by ashenZ@Nov 12 2005, 12:44 PM

Well saiD Suzu :thumb:

But usualli one had to made the mistake to learn from it.... :cheeky:

Look @ mi now.. :weep:

Life goes on....

As consolation, U r not alone :cheeky:

Many of us go thru this lesson one way or another :sweat:

Originally posted by SDR@Nov 12 2005, 10:49 PM

hmm....

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a390/SDR89/COVER.jpg

http://i15.photobucket.com/albums/a390/SDR89/pg72engineoil.jpg

the chart measures the room temp. so singapore is always between 20 to 40C. therefore SAE40 is recommended.

-mineral oil has fixed density...example SAE40

-semi syn has a bit of additive, making...example SAE20W40(winter or 0C thin, 100C thick)

-fully syn has the most additive, making...example SAE5W40(winter very thin,100C thick)

HD means high density