Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 30 2006, 11:38 AM

I doubt the engine will have any problem.... Yamaha.... Maybe the Carbs?

hope so,

there's 1 time I Kick Till Mati bike also cannot start, later to discover that I didn't turn the ignition key on... OMG... :slapforehead:

Last night, I did switch on the ignition key and also got the e--eee--e sound, was beri sure that the POWER VALVE is working but bike also didn't fire up...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by fengdrew@Mar 30 2006, 11:14 AM

Hi guys, i m totally new to touring bikes, i would like to knw more, considering 1...

Can any1 tell me the differences and compare the 3 bikes that i have in mind? thanks

Gs1150s

Vstorm

Varado1000

Get a copy of CycleWorld May 06 issue, they compare BMW HP2, KTM Adventure 950S and 2 off road bike from Honda or Yamaha (sorry, didn't take note)...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Originally posted by SDR@Mar 30 2006, 02:49 PM

hope so,

there's 1 time I Kick Till Mati bike also cannot start, later to discover that I didn't turn the ignition key on... OMG... :slapforehead:

Last night, I did switch on the ignition key and also got the e--eee--e sound, was beri sure that the POWER VALVE is working but bike also didn't fire up...

Eh...... how about the ignition kill switch :confused:

Last time used to play this trick on a friend. We'll set the rocker switch to 'OFF' and see him kick start till the Gu comes home....... quite cruel actually..... :giddy:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b193/KohTL/1098/signature.jpg

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Before we know it, the tomb is sealed.

Where, then, lies the answer?

In choice. Which shall it be: bankruptcy of purse or bankruptcy of life?

- Sterling Haden, Voyage, 1976

Originally posted by SDR@Mar 30 2006, 10:36 AM

Went to withdraw $ last night and after tt, SDR refuse to fire up...

Think didn't whack her last night, she wasn't happy... now somewhere or downstair of Mr MTech house...

sorry to hear that man....

i had the same encounter the other day on my thoruoghbred on the NS highway.... rolled to a stop!!!! towed back to sin. discovered the problem was a dislodged fuel hose in the tank from pump to filter... SUCKED!!!!!

also realise the thoroughbred uses the same fuel filter as our GS!!!! hahaahaahahaha

price diff 34 vs 51 (GS vs MV).......

hahahahhaha... just bought the spares today and will have fixed by tonight..

Originally posted by mao@Mar 30 2006, 04:17 PM

sorry to hear that man....

i had the same encounter the other day on my thoruoghbred on the NS highway.... rolled to a stop!!!! towed back to sin. discovered the problem was a dislodged fuel hose in the tank from pump to filter... SUCKED!!!!!

also realise the thoroughbred uses the same fuel pump as our GS!!!! hahaahaahahaha

price diff 34 vs 51 (GS vs MV).......

hahahahhaha... just bought the spares today and will have fixed by tonight..

Wah lau... damn sucky to find out its such a simple problem.... duh!! And get stuck.

Sheesh....

Glad u made it back safe.... :thumb:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/FazeGabes/MISC/R1200GSASignature.jpg

We must ADJUST to an Ever changing Road...while holding onto unchanging principles.... :angel:

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 30 2006, 05:21 PM

Wah lau... damn sucky to find out its such a simple problem.... duh!! And get stuck.

Sheesh....

Glad u made it back safe.... :thumb:

yeah i did ... but it was wee hours already when i got in. thanks to Eris's tow truck contact. he seemed like a nice chap.

the safety issue was questionable for a minute when i was in the m'sian tow truck.

the guys were suppose to escort the truck in case it tried to veer off somewhere, but instead those chaps decided to shoot by the truck and meet me at the supposed customs. next i knew i was riding in the truck alone... hahahahahahah.....

preparing my helmet as a weapon all the way after that....

but they were great. they stuck with me all the way to the wee hours considering they have to work the next day..

however, on a good note... i believe my baby will be ready to fire up tonight once i have the parts replaced.

probably do an oil change as well and flush the brakes and clutch system if i have the time.

Honest Guys, this is not from me............. honest http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/peepwall.gif

RT riders........ Gays http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/eek2.gif

http://us.news3.yimg.com/us.i2.yimg.com/p/nm/20060330/2006_03_29t220049_450x332_us_australia_homosexuals.jpg

Members of Australia's gay community ride along a Sydney street during the Gay and Lesbian Mardi Gras Parade, March 4, 2006. Australia's conservative national government, which opposes homosexual marriages, said on Thursday it will overturn any new law legalizing gay civil unions in the national capital. (Will Burgess/Reuters)

Don't believe me ? Click Here

PL...... forgive me......... argh........... http://fool.exler.ru/sm/pom.gif

:D :D :D

The years thunder by.

The drams of youth grow dim where they lie caked in dust on the shelves of patience.

Do you like to read :confused:

I like to read http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/nod.gif

But sometimes, what I read troubles me, and it set the tone for my outlook in life http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/dog.gif ..........

at least till something that uplift the spirits comes along...........

These are what I pick up this morning ...........

Originally posted by Herman Goering at his Nuremberg Trial+-->
QUOTE (Herman Goering at his Nuremberg Trial)
Naturally the common people don't want war.

But after all, it is the leaders of a country who determine the policy,

and it is always a simple matter to drag the people along.

Voice or no voice, the people can always be brought to do the bidding of the leaders.

All you have to do is tell them they are being attacked,

and denounce the pacifists for lack of patriotism and exposing the country to danger.

It works the same in any country.[/b]

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by GSGabes@Mar 28 2006, 11:56 PM

http://images.google.com.sg/images?q=tbn:QHoTO0TBwSPVoM:www.impawards.com/2005/posters/brokeback_mountain.jpghttp://images.google.com.sg/images?q=tbn:khUqTliwnP1_FM:v9.indiewire.com/ots/brokeback.jpghttp://images.google.com.sg/images?q=tbn:93B3V0_eD_bDDM:thecia.com.au/reviews/b/images/brokeback-mountain-3.jpg

Been wanting to watch this movie, but erm... no Kaki dude. hehehe.

Yo Gabes.................

You go for the "Guy" movie..............

But I'll be goin for this one............. Huba Huba http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/dribble.gif http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/dribble.gif http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/dribble.gif

http://img89.imageshack.us/img89/1080/11428523627181dz.jpg

Anybody else ???????

http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/party09.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Mar 31 2006, 10:12 AM

Honest Guys, this is not from me............. honest http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/peepwall.gif

RT riders........ Gays http://www.advrider.com/forums/images/smilies/eek2.gif

http://us.news3.yimg.com/us.i2.yimg.com/p/nm/20060330/2006_03_29t220049_450x332_us_australia_homosexuals.jpg

Don't believe me ? Click Here

PL...... forgive me......... argh........... http://fool.exler.ru/sm/pom.gif

:D :D :D

now u into tis ting is it....? :cheeky: off today?

YOU'LL NEVER RIDE ALONE!

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Mar 30 2006, 03:47 PM

Eh...... how about the ignition kill switch :confused:

Last time used to play this trick on a friend. We'll set the rocker switch to 'OFF' and see him kick start till the Gu comes home....... quite cruel actually..... :giddy:

Changesd plug last nite and did what Mao advised but she still refuse to fire up... the night before she dies, was telling wife that I was considering to let go SDR and get a Tricker... think she heard it... may be I should rephrase it, keep SDR and get a Tricker... or keep SDR and transform her to a Tricker... seem like a better idea, can save $$$ too...

Towing her to mech later and see how, hope just a minor problem...

Originally posted by kopvampp@Mar 31 2006, 11:16 AM

now u into tis ting is it....? :cheeky: off today?

"Off" everyday :D

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Mar 31 2006, 11:01 AM

Yo Gabes.................

You go for the "Guy" movie..............

But I'll be goin for this one............. Huba Huba http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/dribble.gif http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/dribble.gif http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/dribble.gif

Anybody else ???????

Tis 1 better... :cheeky:

Tragic road accident........ Autobarn...........many casualties..........

Do not scroll down if you have a weak stomach..................

http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/shithappens.gif

http://flaco.smugmug.com/photos/62242408-L.jpg

http://www.maximumbikes.com/forums/images/smilies/sad.gif

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Mar 31 2006, 11:01 AM

Anybody else ???????

Now you are talking...

Originally posted by SDR@Mar 31 2006, 10:21 PM

SDR magnetic coil fried... :weep:

Spares available ?

Think you mustn't tekan your bike like that anymore, how about some TLC instead :cheeky:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Mar 31 2006, 11:02 PM

Spares available ?

Think you mustn't tekan your bike like that anymore, how about some TLC instead :cheeky:

when u guys wan to go kluang hav dinner again...?:cheeky:

YOU'LL NEVER RIDE ALONE!

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Mar 31 2006, 11:02 PM

Spares available ?

Mech quoted me an original coil for $200++ excluding labour, is it expensive? Told me that my SDR was previously using magnetic coil from a 125cc, should be from TZR or RD, as both bikes using Power Valve and blar blar blar..., anyway, even if he put a modified coil from other bike I wouldn't know... so best is to believe what he says.

SDR is built to tekan, @ 90km/hr, the bike feels really lousy, sweetest cruising speed I felt is 110km/hr onwards... and idling speed is 1400rpm and max is 9000rpm,still don't understand why Yamaha built SDR... for racing? can't be as she is using a dirtbike engine but frame and swing arm, suspension, carb is for pure sports racing... and consider tt time, Yamaha has the TZR250cc, SDR is just in between 125cc and 250cc, no class to race during tt time :confused:

Anyway, what ever it is, just tekan, make myself happy then sorry... :weep:

Guess SDR is part of the family tree for the following tt never come into Singapore :

600cc - 1996

http://www.motorrad-wagner.com/new_images/Srx-600.jpg

http://www.bikez.com/pictures/yamaha/1987/12326_0_1_2_srx%206_Image%20credits%20-%20rocketdecals.com.jpg

Racing version

http://homepage1.nifty.com/roadrace/ms1-01.jpg

http://www.neken.co.jp/burnish/images/bott_srx_1.jpg

400cc

http://www.tg.rim.or.jp/~tomizo/srx/srx_l.jpg

250cc

http://home.earthlink.net/~thebradfords/images/smallbikes/yamaha_srx250.jpg

SDR 200cc (Never been exported except for reconditioned bike remains as JDM and producition was forced to stop after 7yrs as bhp ratio to wt was consider as ridiculous during that time)

http://www.neken.co.jp/burnish/images/sdr_a.jpg

http://www.neken.co.jp/burnish/images/sdr_b.jpg

1 of the racing SDR...

http://www.jade.dti.ne.jp/~cross/day/DSCF0289.JPG

Engineers responsible for all the above...

http://21yamaha.com/mc/historic/srx600/eng_voice/images/img-sub1.jpg

http://21yamaha.com/mc/historic/srx600/eng_voice/images/img-sub2.jpg

Yamaha History

Originally posted by SDR@Apr 1 2006, 10:20 AM

600cc - 1996

http://www.motorrad-wagner.com/new_images/Srx-600.jpg

Hmmm... looks like they were already using short and stubby exhaust back in 96 :giddy:

Now then we're making a fuss over it as if its something new and credited the design to MotoGP........ :giddy:

The years thunder by.

Originally posted by Cyclop aka "Sideways!&q@Apr 1 2006, 11:17 AM

Hmmm... looks like they were already using short and stubby exhaust back in 96 :giddy:

Now then we're making a fuss over it as if its something new and credited the design to MotoGP........ :giddy:

they introduced tt on 1987 - 1st SRX600cc, tt's a very reliable and powerful engine, tt engine technology was b/fw to the later Diversion...

Anyway, now almost all brands are building retro bikes like the Ducati, Trumph, Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki and Kawasaki... wonder when BMW will re-release those reliable yet simple 2 valves engine again... will be interesting if they are do tt and wonder will the sales of 2 valve better than their 4 valves... just wonder...

Saw this just now along Potong Pasir, guess he just got his bike... awesome looking beast...

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/photos/2004models/2004-TriumphRocketIIIa.jpg

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/photos/2004models/2004-TriumphRocketIIId.jpg

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/photos/2004models/2004-TriumphRocketIIIc.jpg

http://www.totalmotorcycle.com/photos/2004models/2004-TriumphRocketIIIb.jpg

a massive 147ft.lbf torque at 2,500rpm, with 90% delivered at a mere 1,800 rpm. This stunning triple digit number means, two-up, it will accelerate faster than pretty much anything else on two wheels.
Originally posted by kopvampp@Apr 1 2006, 02:44 AM

when u guys wan to go kluang hav dinner again...?:cheeky:

No idea mun. :confused:

Some of the guys here goin waterfall hunting this weekend.

Asked Gib twice oredi about Good Friday but no reply, so don't say I never join you all anymore ya :cheeky:

I will be out of town for a while and won't be back till the 10th. Will chio you for kopi after I return, K :smile:

The years thunder by.