im a newbie to beemers too.. but im thinking tat a normal svc wont cost u much.. spoke to bryan at pml, n he mentioned abt using regular mineral oil, or if u like, fully synthetic oil (eg. 15w-50 mobil one) and change every 10k km along with ur oil filter n u should be jus fine..

My rides since 1994:Nsr Hornet 125/Yamaha LC125/RD125/Suzuki RG125 Light Sprinter/CBR400 Hurricane/Suzuki GSXR 750/Honda XR250/KAWA ZXR750/Yamaha R1 03/Gilera Runner Fxr/ Suzuki GSXR1000 K6/Harley Sportster 1200S/Yamaha 04R1/BMW R1100r/Suzuki SRAD GSXR750/KTM 640SM/Harley VRod VSRCAW/HOnda Fireblade 929/R6'04/St1100V/DRZ400Sm_K8/Current-Aprilia RSV Tuono 1000R

Good to hear that excellent services is given for the good money paid :thumb:

For those big problems, I am not too worried. I mean, if I gotta spend money to sort out a big problem, I would rather it be in good hand. I'm only worried about those normal servicing that I gotta do every few months... if that's gonna cost thousand plus each time, its gonna be very bad... :faint:

Normal servicing shouldn't rake up to thousand plus. :cool:

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

every 5k juz change ur oil lround 50 bucks

10k change oil filter,engine oil, spark plugs,

gearbox n shaft oil should be round 100-120 bucks.

boxer engines should be runnin on mineral oil as stated

in specs. fully syn would make the clutch slip.

a full clutch change round 100000km or if u light handed

rider round 140000km would cost round 2.2-2.5k

depending on how much stuff u wan to change while changin

the clutch. recommended is to change all the wear n tear

parts that lead to the gearbox n clutch so that in future u do

need to change the tins when it spoild bfore the clutch do.

example is the neutral switch inside the gearbox which cost juz 30-40

bucks but which u have to tear the whole gearbox dwn juz to replace

n labour charges for takin the gearbox is bout 300-400 bucks if im not

wrong.these r the charges when i got my gs fixed n serviced at mtechnik.

im a newbie to beemers too.. but im thinking tat a normal svc wont cost u much.. spoke to bryan at pml, n he mentioned abt using regular mineral oil, or if u like, fully synthetic oil (eg. 15w-50 mobil one) and change every 10k km along with ur oil filter n u should be jus fine..

used to get my vfr n gs fixed at stamford also.

hes a gd mech knoes what he does but sometimes

u gotta push him. his charges i would say r fair, he did

a valve clearance on my vfr n charged me $150 onli maybe

cause i knoe him well. sometimes he sibeh bo eng then i diy

there n he will guide u along while doin another bike.

actually by doin tis i learned quite alot of stuff on my old bike

n he juz charged for the parts n stuff that i get frm his shop.

theres 1 gd engine oil hes sellin there so u guys can try out last time

was $25 for 1 liter bottle. for ppl whio cannot wait n need the

bike promptly would not recommend him unless u knoe him well.

hey guys,

just wondering, is there any other bike shop that service bmw bikes beside PML?

Heard that servicing at PML can cost a bomb each time.. wonder if there are other bike shops that do general servicing for bmw bikes at not so killer prices?

Combine Motor at Sin Ming

He who hesitates is lost!

Both me and my buddy were seriously considering bmw as our next bikes but after hearing so much horror stories abt ridiculous maintenance charges... a bit hesistant now... haha.. :)

Go thru the 180 or so pages of this thread ... keke, I did.

Seriously, maintenance of a beemer is probably slightly more than that of a Jap bike, but no more expensive than most Jap machines. Only thing about Beemers (and I reckon continental bikes) are that you get little adjustments here there etc etc, not as hassle free as Jap bikes. If self-service, beemer quite cheap but of course gotta make sure know what you are doing or get some guidance.

For me large part of the fun of bike ownership is the learning curve (riding as well as machinery), for transport i have a near maintenance-free bike, no glam but ah well, gets the job done. :)

Try beemer la, now plenty for sale .. dunno why? :giddy:

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

a full clutch change round 100000km or if u light handed ...

What is light-handed? I try not to clutch in much or unnecessarily when riding ... how?

Cat

Just checked my records ... 40,000 km servicing at PML, the works including valve clearance, hoses and fuel filter ($90), about $500.00. Bill got labour and parts listed out, I now remember that I felt that it was ok la. Maybe then newbie owner so happy to spend on the beast.

Cat

Now I service all my bikes/scooter with Perfection Motors, my wife Vespa LX and my PX (he don't service small bikes, so those that is riding small bike don't have to go to him), the R100R and my Duck 1000 S. His charges are not cheap (don't ask me how much he charges, I just pay without knowing the breakdown) but the price I paid is definitely worthwhile. Anyway, I alway think that there's no such thing as cheap and good, they usually go opposite direction just like FC and power.

He is very serious and passionate to get the bike to "perfection" but he is not god and he works alone, so I will not give him only 95%.

My R100R Mystic was badly abused by me and other mechs over the last 10yrs before I sent to Alan, he straighten up everything for me, from a lousy carb tunning that FC is only 10km/ltr to present 19km/ltr, bike now has lesser vibration, more torque (all standard, no modification at all) and bike seem to be better than I got it 10yrs ago.

Now, I leave everything to him, even the choice of brake pads, tires, oil and etc... all I need to worry now is how clean my bike can be. :-)

http://pied.au.plancher.free.fr/dakar/images/Vespa-1980-01web.jpghttp://4.bp.blogspot.com/_rEhkmFqBmF4/Sa90ZuMQZ8I/AAAAAAAAA2c/2iQai6qWqWQ/s400/Vespa-1980-02web.jpg

Now, I leave everything to him, even the choice of brake pads, tires, oil and etc... all I need to worry now is how clean my bike can be. :-)

yes, i can have dinner off your rims....:thumb:

http://www.thisoldtractor.com/guzzitech.dk/english/index.htm

1981 dt125

"its bad but not too bad"

every 5k juz change ur oil lround 50 bucks

10k change oil filter,engine oil, spark plugs,

gearbox n shaft oil should be round 100-120 bucks.

boxer engines should be runnin on mineral oil as stated

in specs. fully syn would make the clutch slip.

a full clutch change round 100000km or if u light handed

rider round 140000km would cost round 2.2-2.5k

depending on how much stuff u wan to change while changin

the clutch. recommended is to change all the wear n tear

parts that lead to the gearbox n clutch so that in future u do

need to change the tins when it spoild bfore the clutch do.

example is the neutral switch inside the gearbox which cost juz 30-40

bucks but which u have to tear the whole gearbox dwn juz to replace

n labour charges for takin the gearbox is bout 300-400 bucks if im not

wrong.these r the charges when i got my gs fixed n serviced at mtechnik.

Combine Motor at Sin Ming

Go thru the 180 or so pages of this thread ... keke, I did.

Seriously, maintenance of a beemer is probably slightly more than that of a Jap bike, but no more expensive than most Jap machines. Only thing about Beemers (and I reckon continental bikes) are that you get little adjustments here there etc etc, not as hassle free as Jap bikes. If self-service, beemer quite cheap but of course gotta make sure know what you are doing or get some guidance.

For me large part of the fun of bike ownership is the learning curve (riding as well as machinery), for transport i have a near maintenance-free bike, no glam but ah well, gets the job done. :)

Try beemer la, now plenty for sale .. dunno why? :giddy:

Cat

Thank you all for the very informative inputs. This has definitely given us a clearer picture of what to expect.. :)

Oh I just chance upon the moto guzzi stelvio... don't you guys think that it looks like a pirated version of bmw gs? :D

yes, i can have dinner off your rims....:thumb:

errr, think the chemical i applied is quite poisonous... kekeke...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Thank you all for the very informative inputs. This has definitely given us a clearer picture of what to expect.. :)

Oh I just chance upon the moto guzzi stelvio... don't you guys think that it looks like a pirated version of bmw gs? :D

saw an ang mo riding a black MG stelvio, it has it's own charm and character, can tell the diff between a GS and Stelvio, quite nice actually...

but think GS has a better resales value...

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=66510&d=1214192421
Just checked my records ... 40,000 km servicing at PML, the works including valve clearance, hoses and fuel filter ($90), about $500.00. Bill got labour and parts listed out, I now remember that I felt that it was ok la. Maybe then newbie owner so happy to spend on the beast.

Cat

Besides the abovementioned services,what other stuff was done?

http://www.ukgser.com/forums/images/smilies/201108/tarka.gif
saw an ang mo riding a black MG stelvio, it has it's own charm and character, can tell the diff between a GS and Stelvio, quite nice actually...

but think GS has a better resales value...

Agree on the part about resale value... a very important point to put into consideration.... :)

was at the lights this morning when an angmoh on a r1100r came beside me.smiled at him.and when the lights turn green he shot out like a blardy missile! i was like "oh my god!what he do to his bike?".later i tried to pump 1st gear from the lights but sumhow felt that the shaft 'didn't turn' that fast.

is it normal to hear the shaft turning? 1 question,for bikes with chain,when there's slack we can tighten it up.But does the principle apply to shaft?

went to Perfection motors yesterday to check them out but found it was closed.is mentioned that they dont charge cheap.but is he relatively cheaper than PML if the same things are serviced?

yem,where do u send ur bike for servicing?

was at the lights this morning when an angmoh on a r1100r came beside me.smiled at him.and when the lights turn green he shot out like a blardy missile! i was like "oh my god!what he do to his bike?".later i tried to pump 1st gear from the lights but sumhow felt that the shaft 'didn't turn' that fast.

is it normal to hear the shaft turning? 1 question,for bikes with chain,when there's slack we can tighten it up.But does the principle apply to shaft?

No, for a shaft in good condition there should be no slack. But if the shaft is slipping, then it could point to the splines on the drive getting worn. More likely the other rider dumped his clutch or blew his throttle. There are a few ways to boost performance, but as always, FC will suffer. A mate of mine used to ride the R1100R, and he blew my newer bike away, I think a case of a smaller dog with a bigger bite! :cheeky:

On the full servicing, check the 40,000 km servicing schedule, everying is there. I think include filters renewal and brakes flushing too, if my memory serves.

Cat

went to Perfection motors yesterday to check them out but found it was closed.is mentioned that they dont charge cheap.but is he relatively cheaper than PML if the same things are serviced?

He is still enjoying his Phuket bike week holiday and I don't know when he will be back...

Charges... no comment as my last visit to PML was 5yrs ago but I prefer to go to him as I don't need to make advance booking, small minor thing like changing of horn, brake pads, tires and etc... his operating hours is as early as 8am till about 7pm daily from Monday to Sat and at times he OT on Sunday if he has too many bikes in hand.

http://pied.au.plancher.free.fr/dakar/images/Vespa-1980-01web.jpghttp://4.bp.blogspot.com/_rEhkmFqBmF4/Sa90ZuMQZ8I/AAAAAAAAA2c/2iQai6qWqWQ/s400/Vespa-1980-02web.jpg

Like what Coolcat has mentioned, may be shaft problem but hopefully not as this will be damn costly, the shaft alone cost me S$1k plus and not to mentioned labor charges. Ask the professional to check or you can spin your rear wheel to feel another "rub" or sound, if not smooth, then may be just final drive giving way. You can also rock the rear wheel to see if there's any movement and if there is, then it could be pivot joints bearings wearing off or not properly tighten to correct clearance...

Good luck...

yem,where do u send ur bike for servicing?

Mine is still under warranty so i send it to Dunearn Road. As for my older beemer, I send it to Stamford Motors for normal servicing and minor repairs. Just like most guys who visits Stamford, I'll do the easy task and Alex will guide me through the heavier ones. For major works, I still go to PML. But I've been to Perfection Motors and I can vouch for Alan's services. :thumb: Just that I've known Alex for many years but sometimes he still can be PITA.

http://yempaulantonio.blogspot.sg

http://sphotos-e.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/s320x320/409306_10150499195852552_676382551_8519348_2125283426_n.jpg

... Just that I've known Alex for many years but sometimes he still can be PITA.

PITA .... keke keke keke :)

Cat

Mine is still under warranty so i send it to Dunearn Road. As for my older beemer, I send it to Stamford Motors for normal servicing and minor repairs. Just like most guys who visits Stamford, I'll do the easy task and Alex will guide me through the heavier ones. For major works, I still go to PML. But I've been to Perfection Motors and I can vouch for Alan's services. :thumb: Just that I've known Alex for many years but sometimes he still can be PITA.

PITA yeah.........

Nice,,,,,

http://i21.photobucket.com/albums/b253/bogster75/T1.jpg

PoWer Is NotHinG WiThOuT ConTroL

~~~Ride The World~~~

......17 bikes in 17 years AnD.... still counting.,,