Hi civicblade,

If you order the oil filter kit, part number is 11001341616

In 11001341616 oil filter kit, you will get:

1 oil filter (part#11421460845) – O ring is attached on the filter

1 bag of 5 washers for

- engine oil drain bolt

- transmission filler bolt

- transmission drain bolt

- final drive filler bolt

- final drive drain bolt

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/DSCN5687.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/DSCN5689.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/DSCN5690.jpg

If you want ala carte:

Oil filter part number is 11421460845 (with O ring attached)

Engine oil drain bolt washer part number is 7119963252 (I kiasu, I bought 5 of them as it is a small and cheap item)

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/DSCN5689.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/DSCN5692.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/3-2.jpg
Anyone uses fully synthetic motorcar oil for the R boxer engine?

I'll be trying fully synthetic car motor oil for the next oil change.

May be a waste of good $$$. Mineral is good enough. legend has it that synthetic will ooze out cos' it's too thin. never got round to finding out, but I don't think so. :p

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Hi civicblade,

You can get the part numbers and recommended retail prices from Max BMW Motorcycles website.

Max BMW Motorcycles

Step 1 - Select model

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/maxbmw1.jpg

Step 2 - click "GO"

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/maxbmw2.jpg

Step 3 - Select part diagram, click on the diagram

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/maxbmw3.jpg

Step 4 - Part diagram will appear on the right side of the page with part numbers and recommended retail prices

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v198/Phang/maxbmw4.jpg

Phang

this reminds me of ancient fishermen saying ....

"... give a man a fish, feed him for a day,

teach a man to fish, ...... :)"

very illustrative demonstration, phang .. i'm impressed.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

No big deal lah, just share with you guys what I have came acrossed. I guess I spent too much time sitting in front of my computer, should spend more time riding instead.

One of the best things about owning a BMW is the parts support. Wonderful. Parts for all models, from old models to very latest. The aircon, clean environment, english-speaking staff, nice LCD-TV to look at, free gourmet coffee, nice proper receipts, proper bike-park, telephone enquiries .....

.... of course all of that means fxxk-all if the bike dies along a lonely highway. :)

Cat

Ya, can't agree more with you, went down on Friday to buy front brake switch for my bike and quite surprise that they keep stock. It costs me $26.00 and it actually lasted 13yrs or 160,000km, this is the 1st time I replace this item. Worth it...

http://pied.au.plancher.free.fr/dakar/images/Vespa-1980-01web.jpghttp://4.bp.blogspot.com/_rEhkmFqBmF4/Sa90ZuMQZ8I/AAAAAAAAA2c/2iQai6qWqWQ/s400/Vespa-1980-02web.jpg

yo bro....how's yr big tank? now also useless with higher petrol prices across the causeway huh??

ya... kind of wrong timing for the arrival of the 32litres tank... but fortunately I don't really need it for local use as my weekly fuel consumption is less than 15litres, good for touring but then I don't see myself touring for the next few years, quite sian on touring liao... so having it to make my bike looks fatter and heavier... :cheeky:

P/S : My signature pictures are Mystic with 32litres tank, no diff on the outlook hor...

http://pied.au.plancher.free.fr/dakar/images/Vespa-1980-01web.jpghttp://4.bp.blogspot.com/_rEhkmFqBmF4/Sa90ZuMQZ8I/AAAAAAAAA2c/2iQai6qWqWQ/s400/Vespa-1980-02web.jpg

how come sian with touring? recently the group also have not gone for any trip, i noticed...

just top up my engine oil today, 500ml for 1000km.... still within spec. max oil consumption are 1l per 1000km, as in the manual. my first encounter with boxer engine, didnt expect it to eat so much oil.

between engine oil change at 5k, still need almost 3 bottle. Gotta stock my engine oil. anybody know where i can buy cheap as in bulk, as future engine oil change might do it myself. castrol activ 4t, 20w50

Mobil XHP 20W-50 is also ok.

BMW R 12 GS: White Power 4014 Emulsion + Wilbers 642 shocks, Hepco&Becker cases on Seng Kwan modified H&B racks, Ilmenberger carbon rear hugger, Pivotpegz II, Sedcem screen with MRA spoiler, SW-Motech Crashbars, Hella FF50 'Fernblau' edition.

I topped up 200ml for the very first 1000km on my R1150R, not too bad.

I have another Japanese air cooled twins, no topping up of engine oil required between the oil change at every 5,000km.

My car, the engine oil level never drop at all when I change the oil at every 10,000km. I used to check the oil level every 1,000km but the oil level seems never drop at all and now I extend the checking intervals to once every 5,000km. Amazing!

Please keep in mind the character of the boxer engine, and the oil gauge.

The difference from max to min is about 1/2 liter. If filled to the max line, the boxer engine tends to suck the oil. It is actually smarter keeping the oil level at around 3/4, and never top up before it is low at 1/4. You will quickly see the oil consumption is lower.

Also do always check the oil gauge AFTER the engine was allowed stand still for 10 minutes. Not right after the ride, and also not next morning.

BMW R 12 GS: White Power 4014 Emulsion + Wilbers 642 shocks, Hepco&Becker cases on Seng Kwan modified H&B racks, Ilmenberger carbon rear hugger, Pivotpegz II, Sedcem screen with MRA spoiler, SW-Motech Crashbars, Hella FF50 'Fernblau' edition.

Hi Phang,

I have owned 12 bikes (all at different times) before including my current R1100R. All my past bikes are Japanese makes. None consumed enough oil to warrant a top-up before the next oil change.

I have owned 5 cars (all at different times) (1 japanese, 4 Korean), same thing, none needed engine oil top up.

Perhaps it is really a BMW boxer engine design issue? That oil consumption is part of the design and must be tolerated. I've never heard of Subaru's boxer 4engine needing regular engine oil top-up.

I will be monitoring mine. So far had only clocked 300km with the bike. 1st 10 litres of petrol covered 177km of most Singapore expressways. Is this fuel consumption normal? Seems acceptable to me for a 1087cc twin.

how come sian with touring? recently the group also have not gone for any trip, i noticed...

For me, too hot, too tired, too lazy, too sian to visit the same old places and etc...

Hi Phang,

I have owned 12 bikes (all at different times) before including my current R1100R. All my past bikes are Japanese makes. None consumed enough oil to warrant a top-up before the next oil change.

I have owned 5 cars (all at different times) (1 japanese, 4 Korean), same thing, none needed engine oil top up.

Perhaps it is really a BMW boxer engine design issue? That oil consumption is part of the design and must be tolerated. I've never heard of Subaru's boxer 4engine needing regular engine oil top-up.

I will be monitoring mine. So far had only clocked 300km with the bike. 1st 10 litres of petrol covered 177km of most Singapore expressways. Is this fuel consumption normal? Seems acceptable to me for a 1087cc twin.

Mine don't EAT oil, I change oil every 5000km and I don't need to top up at all...

Hi Xiaoming,

Good to hear that. My oil level does not seem to go down.

It is not easy to get consistent reading from the gauge window. Like what peter-k mentioned, it is best to use a consistent time after engine shutdown all the time to have a meaningful comparison of the oil level over time.

For me, too hot, too tired, too lazy, too sian to visit the same old places and etc...

how abt a riding trip to Vietnam - Hanoi??????

Cool, not "tired", "motivated", not the same places.....:p

Hi Xiaoming,

Good to hear that. My oil level does not seem to go down.

It is not easy to get consistent reading from the gauge window. Like what peter-k mentioned, it is best to use a consistent time after engine shutdown all the time to have a meaningful comparison of the oil level over time.

The old BMW uses the dip stick but I used to take measurement of oil level after draining them and look at the level in a measuring cylinder and if any alien lives in it. My engine needs only 2.5litres with filter change and 2.25litres without and I usually get about 2.0 to 2.1litres after 5000km without removing the oil filter.

I have recently rebuilt the engine and the before the rebuilt, I did a compression test for both cylinders trying to determine if piston rings need replacement but was quite glad that both are still good and compression is as recommended in the manual without dripping engine oil in the cylinders.

Anyway, anyone knows why engine EAT engine oil?

how abt a riding trip to Vietnam - Hanoi??????

Cool, not "tired", "motivated", not the same places.....:p

Hanoi or Hiaz-no... :cheeky:

No thanks, bro, not on Mystic, not on the Duck, not on the Vespa, hopefully on the Tenere... kekeke...