First off, thanks to Dakar for the leadership in our group riding skills. Also not forgetting those guarding the rear, the rest and our non vara bros.

LTC > I would also add bringing suntan block for those group riding - especially if your arms and neck are exposed - mine was as red as Dakar's bike n I am sure Pro_dero and company are too.

DaNiYal > thanks for the tip on stepping one gear down to get that extra power for overtaking. Now I know how come with a pillion rider you could still pull up faster than me on those overtakes. Also I think yr new filter works wonder on your bike (morale of story - get genuine parts). Also thanks for putting up with me as a new rider and being the third bike behind me.

Its my first group riding after less than a month on my bike !! First time using second link and I learned a few weaknesses. Got to work on my countersteering, braking and cornering skills.

It was Ok riding in a group but towards end of trip, only 3 of us went for the second link back to Spore and Dakar decided I should try my squeezing skills on Johore traffic - not surprisingly I clipped a car mirror and gave the buat bodoh look. Also I got a chance to see how fast she can go at full throttle. I hit 120 and felt the adrenalin but thankfully its just a short stretch and she did not disintegrate. First thing i did was to see if any screws have come loose (including my head) when we stopped for refuel.

Nice outting and weather and I enjoyed the experience

• Replies 24.2k

Good Afternoonzzzz guys....

Well done every body for Yesterdays Trip...although it was consider a RUSH one..but we still manage to keep it in schedule...

Guys watching Soccer Match...Hope u guys enjoy the game coz...u guys must be damn tired....

As this is the first time that we get to ride long distance with the whole bunch...we still got alot of things to improve on...

But overall it was fun....

Niti remember to upload the picture ok...You can also email Visual..so that he can ADD ON the pictures and videos to our WEBPAGE....:thumb:

Adi send my regards to ur friend Ibrahim....nice riding with him....good job...And regarding the TSUNAMI CHARITY RIDE..in MALAKA...i'll confirm with you by this week...

29 January 2005 - A Charity Ride To Aid Tsunami Victims

The Organizers from Melaka comprising of MITC, Ban Zen, Bike Clubs within the Melaka Region are planning for the above function to be held on the 29th January 2005. We are intending to invite all bikers whose bike capacity of 250 cc and above to come to Melaka on this date to set a attendance of 1000 or more into the Malaysian Guinness Records.

Sponsors have committed to a designed T-Shirt commemorating this event for every biker and also with other goodies like badges, bike stickers , bag and Bandana to make this event worth coming for.All bikers are invited to Best of Melaka Hawker food comprising of Nyoya, Chinese, Mamak, Indian and Malay food and refreshment .

This will be a Concert / Dinner event and for all Bikers to enjoy the night. The cost for participating Bikers is RM 10.00 which will be forwarded to the MRCS for the Tsunami Victims. The sponsors have also pledge a bag of rice for the Tsunami Victims for every bike in attendance. Come to Historical Melaka to set this new Record , Aid the Tsunami Victims and also enjoy the program we have planned for you Bikers.

Programs - Date 29 Jan 2005 Sat

1400 hrs to 2200hrs Arrival of Bikers

Bikes will be tag with numbers ascending order

Proceed to Registration Counter and Pay RM 10.00 minimum ( Tsunami Victims Fund )

Collect Goody Bag and Participation Tag

1900 hrs Hawker Dinner Starts

Stage Shows, Guest Singers, Auction, Lucky Draws

Announcement of Number of Participants

2230 hrs Assemble and Tour of Melaka Town

Free and Easy Until all Joints Close

( Note:- We are inviting The Melaka Governor as the Patron, Harley 's owner )

More Details: http://www.mlksportsbikers.com/events/

Guys...i must say it was a good trip although it was quite a rush especially at mini kelantan....didn't really get to shop...

Daniyal...next time maybe can go to the waterfalls at kota tinggi again...

Niti...need the photos that we took at desaru...the group photo...

Every small trips are an experience to us....

Next destination ------> THAILAND!! :bouncefire:

"The road less travelled"

380430_10150542159155027_725570026_11064521_1701187442_n.jpg

byteblock: I strongly recommend the Stebel horns. Cheap and serve it's purpose but mount it with care. Angle it so that water won't go into the shell shape and spoil the horn. Load both and connect to the relay in the package to fully utilise it.

stargate: Ride more and get used to the bike and u will be more confident. I hit side mirrors before. Stupid taxi driver chasing me for a few traffic junctions before I lost him. Side mirror not damaged somemore....

We share experince and we learn from sharing. Better than learning from our own mistakes...

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

indy,

can give the add where u install ur horn and hazard lights?

thanz :smile:

what goes around, comes around......

http://www.lancermotoringclub.com/picture.php?albumid=109&pictureid=769

Hi Bros!!!

1st of all, the trip was really great! Its my first but i certainly hope it won't be the last one for me!!

As for the pictures, a total of 99 shots pics, worthing 15mb, were taken throughout the trip, including the ones i took at kallang stadium. Visual, I think many of us here would like to ask u the favour of having the pics displayed at your website. I also intend to mail some of it to the VARA website. Then pple can noe that vara125 also got class!!!!!!

Hear from you soon visual

Eh, here r some pics from the trip

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

stargate my wife & i was planning to get as tanned as possible, damn nice ah da fierce skin colour...hehe!

abt weakness everyone for sure will pass thru dat senario its a matter of time being season, but dun corner wif stock tires its c*** up.....hehe!

dakar we werent really stuck in jam at woodlands, btw a few things we need to highlight for future touring, in view of the VARA member safety n avoid da xiau nabe drivers who dun give a **** abt us....actually trip was damn good but these few driver who i wanna slap their ###### face if i aint gotta pillion....

maybe we can staggered when no vehicle at da back so these idiot dun have to overtake den siam near any of the riders, last rider to horn da leader vehicle wanna over take so da whole group form a straight line n slow down den give way cuz it happen at least 3 times all sepang pontential racer wanna show who is boss ah bro...hehehe!

gd idea abt having st11 n s4 to marshall da p platers :thumb: i tink i wanna get s4 soon maybe....any takers for vara silver fu plate...hehehe! tba ah bros...

pingster u can get electric horn at motorworld $48 like niti one, me gotten from sim lim tower $20 diy ask electronic shop level 3

al-simmons b4 thailand wanna consider a few location wif all the VARA bro, gunung pulai pahanga alor gajah, maybe sepang oso can see see n take photo posing sikit ah...hehehe! wat do ya tink dakar? daniyal? indy? :p

dakar how is da mass order for air filter going on?

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

great to hear u guys have a nice trip!!

Pro dero>> abt the convoy riding in trunk roads...ur right by having to ride in staggered formation...actually it's best not to be in a convoy if the number of bikes are too big..Dats because it would be like a huge trailer to the cars..where they have a huge distance to overtake. It's best to give way especially if on coming cars are limiting the overtaking car's options..

Dun worry abt getting lost...or being left alone..for there are laways markers at turnings waiting for u.... SAfety First!!

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

The best way to warn front bikes about rear vehicle overtaking is by high beam the front bike and pass it on. The bike in the front should also keep an eye on the bike behind him occasionally. Give way when being beam at. Let the car pass, they win either ways so might as well give it to them

A safe journey is what we would like when touring. :thumb:

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Jan 17 2005, 01:33 AM

Aikon>>> sorry bro..if never wait for u after the causeway....rushing to catch the game...sorry...

Hi..all Vara bros,Peace..

DaNiyaL >> it's ok la bro... you have to catch the game..fyi, that's why they called ppl like you diehard fan...jams or what, DIE DIE must go :clapping: :D ...main thing to me is..you and the rest are SAFE back at home.

Pro Dero >> bro, me too understand how you felt when facing such 'yaya papaya' drivers :angry: we just have to keep cool apply defensive riding and anticipate situations..remember its a 'jungle' out there and a no man's land o_O bro..just a few cents worth

Bros with DigiCam >> many thanks for sharing those great shots..:thumb: keep it up

Vara1k bros >> good points worth look into :smile:

adios amigo...gracia mucho

you know if you go

As for our convoy of 13 bikes, besides staggered formatn we need to make sure each bike is spaced out correctly to allow an overtaking car to merge in once it has run out of overtaking space. Correct me if I am wrong but I think at some stretch we were quite close to one another and I remember Dakar telling me to slow down a few times each time I creeped up towards him. I read somewhere abt the 2 second rule guide between the bike directly infront of you and 1 second with the adjacent bike. Increase the 2 second gap if travelling at higher speed - this is just a guide but worth taking note.

In our case 13 bikes travelling at 60 kmph and following the 2 sec rule means a convoy that is at least 200 meters long if my maths is correct

Also I wonder if there is any pros and cons re:

a. riding as second bike on the inside left compared to third bike riding on the outside right in a staggered formation. The lead bike is on the outside right of course

b. Same above but riding in the middle bunch

c. same above but riding rear

d. should bikers positions be rotated along the journey?

I think those on the outside right staggered formation has more things to watch out for ?? and those on the inside left is more sheltered ? . Also for inexperience biker on group riding (read: me) I suspect Dakar placed me upfront where it is safer and on the inside left ?? as all I did was concentrate on my riding

I talk alot huh !

Hello Brudders....

What a great ride we had......and all of us...reach home safely i can say .

Well...... just realize that we were using trunk road...and i think...dat a convoy side by side is more for the highway ..... as you guys know there's a lot of aspiring F1 driver ... during our trip... its a bit dangerous fr us to do aside by side convoy . Nevermind.....we should all learn from our flaws ...and imporve on it for our next convoy trip .... the important thing we all are safe ....ad enjoy the trip . Im sure dis will not be the last of it..

DAKAR >>> Well done bro....keep it up !

STARGATE >>> Hope u enjoy the trip ...

NITI >>> Dont forget to email visual the pics bro.....n dont forget this Thurs !

And for the rest of the guys.....cheers .... and till we meet again ......MAY THE FORCE BE WIF YOU GUYS !

PS : Ive attach a logo dat i did.....just for fun

CIAO

Ghost Riders Of Apocalypse ....

VARA weekly meet up

Place : Adam food corner bendemeer

time : 7pm onwards

makan, tok cok

All VARA 125, 1k & frens invited

:hungry: :thirsty: :popcorn: :cheers:

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Originally posted by Pro Dero@Jan 18 2005, 06:30 PM

VARA weekly meet up

Place : Adam food corner bendemeer

time : 7pm onwards

makan, tok cok

All VARA 125, 1k & frens invited

:hungry: :thirsty: :popcorn: :cheers:

Yo Dero....what is the DAY then...:cheeky:

Abattory..the logo look nice but still got room for improvement...:)

Kenny & Varas..thanks bro for d advise..will try to keep it in mind ya..:thumb:

You are right STArgate...my plan was to put you on the left so that DANIYAL could give u a sheild all the way through the journey...:thumb:

Next time if we should try to break into 2 groups if we have lots of riders attending for the trips... :smile: (5 mins gap)

INFO

Have you guys try the makan place called the TREE TOP DINING.?

Nice place ya...COzy..a road behind Hayat Hotel in JB...not much bikers there..

dakar today ah da meet up i juz came back....hehehe!

attended da meet up for melaka 29th sat trip for tsunami charity.....

1. pro dero

2. bagahera

3. kenny

4. aikon

5. 60km

6. bochap

7. elws

8. vvvv

9. ami

10. riddick

11. don dodie

next trip on april hatyai or somewhere there....gotta check wif don dodie

daniyal, don dodie said da 5 aside football game on vara125 vs vara1k

:bouncefire: :cheer:

pro dero bike problem aft 9 mth

1. clutch cable twice snap - every 3 mth dunno y? maybe i rough user.

2. tail lite loose holder - fixing up LED via Elws

3. headlite high beam switch faulty - waiting for stock

4. original chain wears out at 35 000km - replaced

5. air filter & carb chokes at 30 000km - cleaned & tuned

6. engine lack pick up - now using 41 rear sprocket, installed superione, top up stp petrol treatment.

7. oil seal leak - due to plastic bag went in da front sprocket, at da gear box, waiting for stock to come in on thu 20th

8. vespa bulb suck ah - now using phoenix 35watts halogen m5 at labs $8 a pair

anyone has any problem do share so we can help each better rite?

enjoys! :cheeky:

btw if ya refering to makan atas pokok its ard jb there got but food quite ex, food ok ok lah but dun mind going there again but must be alot of ppl cuz got helmet theif gang there...

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/16/50/3840561/431433897m.jpg http://photos.friendster.com/photos/16/50/3840561/9161646232047s.jpg

Outriders ALL-4-1, 1-4-ALL

Riding Fast Doesn't always means arriving 1st, Ride Safe confirms a place for U @ the Finishing Line.

this one for the big deros vara1k... =)

http://www.mc.honda-eu.com/uk/en/sh/xl1000...mages/33100.swf

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/16/50/3840561/431433897m.jpg http://photos.friendster.com/photos/16/50/3840561/9161646232047s.jpg

Outriders ALL-4-1, 1-4-ALL

Riding Fast Doesn't always means arriving 1st, Ride Safe confirms a place for U @ the Finishing Line.

Whats Up DawGz!!

:cheeky: sorry guyz....i think u guyz haf read pro dero msg.....me and abbattory was thinking of organizing a soccer friendly with the vara 1000.....We thought it might be a good idea of staying healthy...ehehehhe....this could be another alternative for our meet up...instead of the usual....I really do hope..u guyz cud help me out here by sharing me ur opinions....Be it 5-aside or 11-side....so...r u guyz up for a soccer friendly?...I will liasing with Don Didie...

Yes

1. Daniyal

2. Abbattory

No

Dakar>>> I am up for the tree top dining plus trip...I think i might not be able to make it for the tsunami ride....Damn!...

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Whats Up DawGz!!

:cheeky: sorry guyz....i think u guyz haf read pro dero msg.....me and abbattory was thinking of organizing a soccer friendly with the vara 1000.....We thought it might be a good idea of staying healthy...ehehehhe....this could be another alternative for our meet up...instead of the usual....I really do hope..u guyz cud help me out here by sharing me ur opinions....Be it 5-aside or 11-side....so...r u guyz up for a soccer friendly?...I will liasing with Don Didie...

Yes

1. Daniyal

2. Abbattory

No

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

Pro Dero: Did u check the wire connections for ur headlights. I blew quite a few bulbs so I check the wirings and I discovered that the wires are connected vice versa therefore normal beam is high beam and high beam is normal beam. After I switch the vespa bulb that I changed did not blow so far for six months. The halogen light might be too hot for the bulb housing.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

ltc wiring fine its da high n low beam switch is faulty, da push in one knob...abt halogen use 35 watt 12 volt not da 45watt or da super white which will melt da housing...

daniyal abt da friendly don dodie is on wif da 1k dudes but count me out cuz i am pro lazy dude....hehehe!

varamax hv ya ever gone for any vara meet up?

:confused: :giddy:

Tijan>> is clutch cable tied to any other wires using cable ties? the cable housing must be given some free play..3 months snap one time is too frequent!! U could try to grease the cable after every bike wash...good luck!

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Originally posted by DaNiYaL@Jan 19 2005, 12:03 AM

Hey Yo! bro no need to ask for opinion la.Read my post in VARA .My suggestion is we'll be playin a 5 A-side soccer VARA Challenge throphy.As many team can enter if we do 5 A-side.Collect a fee for the Entrance Fee Then e $ we can donate to Red Cross or any fund raising committee Under the VARA name for the Tsunami's,? Ok tak then we'll make it a Healthy lifestyle cum fun-raising Event.All VARA owner in SGP to take part be it KAKI Bangku,Stool or Besi all must take part la if u dun know to kick e ball jus kick any ass la as long as can kick something.U call me at 90045163 we'll discuss further.I sponsor the Challenge Throphy La.Easy rite.Then as for the 11 A-side we'll do it at some later date when I manage to call all my Stars like Ronoldas,Buckham,Fogi etc... Ops sori I mean Ronaldos,Beckham ,Figo and etc...after the current season is over la . :thumb: :cheer:

Everything has been said before, but since nobody listens we have to keep going back and begin all over again.

Andre GIDE