Originally posted by LTC@May 15 2005, 09:57 PM

Been trying...

Still can't get my sig up.

My sig picture is not stored on website but on my PC.

Is that the problem?

tony..the pic needs to be from website/FTP...from PC cannot..

• Replies 24.2k

Originally posted by Al-Simmons@May 15 2005, 09:24 PM

Anyone free tomorrow wanna join us at Mtechnik at 12noon.

Some pple fixing mainstand, AT handlebar...

Al-Simmons>>U pm me ur no .If i'm free i come down.Thkz

KUKUP SEAFOOD TOUR , A.G.M & STAR WARS EP3 MOVIE

Date: 29/05/05 Sunday

Destination: Kukup Seafood Place

Time: 1030 AM

Meeting point: 2nd Link GP PETRONAS (beside ESSO)

**Agenda -To discuss the trip to THAILAND in Dec & also plans for the next 6 mths

**Will move off via 2nd Link..and back also via 2nd Link...Faster & Easier

**Pls bring along ur CASHCARD & also RM1.30 for Tg Kupang Toll

**Change money in advance...(SGD-RM)$$$$$

Attending:

1) ABATTORY

2) Al-Simmons

3) Niti

4) Soffian

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

Hi..all Vara bros,Peace...

KUKUP SEAFOOD TOUR , A.G.M & STAR WARS EP3 MOVIE

Date: 29/05/05 Sunday

Destination: Kukup Seafood Place

Time: 1030 AM

Meeting point: 2nd Link GP PETRONAS (beside ESSO)

**Agenda -To discuss the trip to THAILAND in Dec & also plans for the next 6 mths

**Will move off via 2nd Link..and back also via 2nd Link...Faster & Easier

**Pls bring along ur CASHCARD & also RM1.30 for Tg Kupang Toll

**Change money in advance...(SGD-RM)$$$$$

Attending:

1) ABATTORY

2) Al-Simmons

3) Niti

4) Soffian

5) Aikon

----

Originally posted by LTC@May 14 2005, 04:46 PM

..... after heavy rain, my bike went bonkers. Could be battery problem. My meter went crazy engine stalled.

-----

LTC >> bro....that always happen every time when it rain heavily ?....hhhm anything you did to restart it back.

Bros >> Ever thought of this....we all do preventative routine maintenance regularly on the followings....changed engine oil,air or oil filters,tyres and brake pads but...have we ever do so on the battery....say check batt. and the rectifier..... its charging system....no doubt its maintenance free...but for how long?... sad but true...often its neglected... that little but all important items on the bike....

..anyone does that before can share some inputs..thanks.

adios amigo

you know if you go

HAIL BROS .....

VARASTORMER >>> JUst curious ..why do u need to respray your bike bro ..? Wat colour is your bike ? Just for info ...if you repsray back to your original colour i think it will cost arnd $300 to $350 and if you wanna change colour it will cost you more . BTW ....you quote Ah Kun ...from which shop ? Yor exam finish on the 27th rite ....so dis mean you can go to the KUKUP/AGM trip on the 29th rite ?

AIKON >>> Ive always check my battery periodically .... just to make sure the screws holding the terminal is not loose .... if it is then you have to tighten it . One more thing .... you guys should put some grease on the terminal so as to prevent from being rusty .

LTC >>> What ive notice is dat if you use a high windscreen .... part of your meter will be blocked by the windscreen thus preventing much of the rain to sip thru it . Use to have meter goin haywire b4 i use the high windscreen but since ive change it .... it never gives me any problems ... hope it stay dat way .

Ghost Riders Of Apocalypse ....

Originally posted by ABATTORY@May 16 2005, 08:48 AM

LTC >>> What ive notice is dat if you use a high windscreen .... part of your meter will be blocked by the windscreen thus preventing much of the rain to sip thru it . Use to have meter goin haywire b4 i use the high windscreen but since ive change it .... it never gives me any problems ... hope it stay dat way .

----

Abattory >> ahh...sire, now me have a reason to get that windshield ...good selling point ....want to switch to sales? ...sire :thumb:

adios amigo

you know if you go

Whats Up DawGz!!

Aikon>>> Regarding the battery...for me i follow army standard...every 2 years i changed...so my battery is almost 3 years old...me changing it before inspection...what abattory said is correct...got to put some grease on the terminal...for a dry cell battery...optimum life span is 5 years....juz some input...our bike will only charge the battery at 5000rpm...so if warming up your bike...got to rev it up till 5000rpm....

LTC>>> Finally your sig is up!...Power! :cheer:

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

About battery lifespent, I think if install a voltmeter and proper grounding on the bike will help to tell the condition of the battery. (preferbly with a new one) And before the battery going to kaput (inconsistant reading), at least u know and ready for a change.

Hehe, this is what i heard from other car / bike ppl, dunno is it true or not?

Any bro can help verify this??

By the way, i came to know this touratech guy, which can supply whatever product u see on the touratech web. Interested can call :

1) Mr Choy

Tel: 67950148 / 96948025

email: [email protected]

He dun have a shop and he work freelance, so if u want to order something, just call him and pay him a deposit, and about a month later then the goods will come.

Personally i just got something from him abt$70++ item, i still dun have the confidence to order big items from him yet. Hehe scare my $$$ run away.....hehe

My Iron Horses

1997 - 2001 : Mountain Bike (No brand one)

2001 - 2002 : Datsun Nissan Sunny (1984 model)

2002 - 2003 : Toyota Starlet GT (My fav)

2003 - 2005 : Honda Varadero 125

2005 - 2006 : BMW R1150GS

2006 - 2007 : TA200

2007 - 2009 : FZ6S

2009 - ???? : FJR

Originally posted by unknown@May 16 2005, 11:46 AM

About battery lifespent, I think if install a voltmeter and proper grounding on the bike will help to tell the condition of the battery. (preferbly with a new one) And before the battery going to kaput (inconsistant reading), at least u know and ready for a change.

With a voltmeter, you can monitor:

1) Alternator going kaput if it's not charging - Charging voltage is around 14volts, if engine is running and voltage falls below 14. There you can quicky get the alternative check before the battery goes flat

2) Battery - when a battery is going kaput, it cannot retain its power. By looking at the voltage before starting the engine in the morning, a good condition battery normally reads around 12.2 to 13 volts. A dying one normally goes below 12.

A digital voltmeter is better, I've installed it in my ex bike. Not sure about grounding thou, I know people install additional grounding points on cars for performace.

Any Vara riders selling their bikes?

Could you please PM me your details and price you are asking?

I'm looking to buy the bike in July but would like to decide before then.

Kindly pm me your price and details of the bike.

Thanks.:thumb:

Heard the volt meter (non-digital ones) cost about $30.. i Think its quite a good idea.. with my bike nearing its 3years old...mark.

Grounding (agreed usually car owners recommend this) bec alot of static on the engine ... and some how thats not good... but i wonder will a 125cc/2 = 62.5cc (engine) block.. have such issues? ....

about the front fender i htink i would just place my name in the (not confirmed list) at the moment till i can get a feedback form [liquid] on it..

cos .. heard .. that the front fender.. screws up ur bike aero dynamicsm.. reducing your top speed by 5-10km/h... dont know how true ..this fact is...

but now.. the idea of a taller windshield.. sounds good since its cheaper.. and well protects the speedometer.. (byt he way.. my speedo too.. goes.. damm haywire..when it rains..)

would it be a good idea.. to cut up some olf rain coat.. and place it over the speedo.. when park.. so when it rains. at least speedo is shielded from rain... hmmm...

Originally posted by pq@May 16 2005, 12:24 PM

.... a digital voltmeter is better, I've installed it in my ex bike. Not sure about grounding thou, I know people install additional grounding points on cars for performace.

----

Bros >> thanks for all the inputs, keep it coming yaa..... :thumb:

yeah agreed .... a digital one is a better choice than an analog....coz a digivolt consume lesser batt. juice........btw how to connect a digital volt ....say from 12V to 5V... use a resistor? anyway...if an analog is still prefered ...do add a switch....that'll activate it only when required....so in a way saves batt. juice ....FYI....price wise abt the same....found a digivolt costing $28 @ SLT

just to add on...a bit confused here... :confused: grounding as to earthing like a single phase normal circuit?.....thought a bike only has live 12V and grounding wires oredi....somewhere on bike's frame or chasis

....appreciate some help thanks.

adios amigo

you know if you go

Originally posted by ABATTORY@May 16 2005, 08:48 AM

HAIL BROS .....

VARASTORMER >>> JUst curious ..why do u need to respray your bike bro ..? Wat colour is your bike ? Just for info ...if you repsray back to your original colour i think it will cost arnd $300 to $350 and if you wanna change colour it will cost you more . BTW ....you quote Ah Kun ...from which shop ? Yor exam finish on the 27th rite ....so dis mean you can go to the KUKUP/AGM trip on the 29th rite ?

Bro, I'm working also lah on that day... Niti will know why lah... for me very hard to apply leave...

Welcome to the world of acidsburn

http://pic20.picturetrail.com/VOL1352/5363911/10807466/155946595.jpg

Originally posted by VaraStormer@May 16 2005, 05:30 PM

Bro, I'm working also lah on that day... Niti will know why lah... for me very hard to apply leave...

Varastormer See, I told u already everyone is keen to meet u :cheeky:

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=7350&dateline=1180509307&type=profile

Catch the buggaarr....!!

after so long, finally going for my tp soon. if budget allows, i will definitely get a vara. else probably settling for a xlr200, dr200 or a phantom.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Niti/Abatt/Aikon: Bros, me still using the stock windscreen. After I got the prob for the first time, I got worried and send it for a check straight after work I think. Went bike shop, at first they say battery spoil and rectifier. They showed me the voltmeter but I told them to change the batt first b4 I decide whether I want to change rectifier. After batt change voltage normal and nothing wrong with rectifier.

Saved more than a hundred been conned.... After batt change everything okie liao. One of incident. Do not use GPR batt. It's sucks BIG time.... Stick to Yuasa.

For batt maintenance it's less often as nowadays they use those maintenance free no need to top up type. Life span one to two years. To prevent corrosion apply a bit of grease(Not KY) on the terminals....

Daniyal: :thumb:

Aikon: I think there was a gounding thread discussion previously by neo. U can search for it. I think it can answer ur queries.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

By the way, i came to know this touratech guy, which can supply whatever product u see on the touratech web. Interested can call :

1) Mr Choy

He dun have a shop and he work freelance, so if u want to order something, just call him and pay him a deposit, and about a month later then the goods will come.

Personally i just got something from him abt$70++ item, i still dun have the confidence to order big items from him yet. Hehe scare my $$$ run away.....hehe

Hi about wat I know...

Car uses alternator. It starts charging the moment u switch on the engine.

Bike uses rectifier. It charges only when u revv the engine. Therefore the voltage will more or less be inconsistent. When u have difficulty starting ur bike, it's a tell tale that there's something wrong with the batt.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Fuel Consumption Excel File (Update columns in blue), download @ http://dl.dropbox.com/u/38849257/Fuel%20Consumption-20120222-154031.xls

Whats Up DaWgZ!!

Brothers>>> To those who gave input on the battery...all i can say is...whatever you guyz said...me totally agree....my NS Srgt...install a voltmeter for his car to monitor his battery...when to change...btw...I hope after i change my battery and the contactors....my speedo will be back to normal....

Brothers>>> If you have any issues to bring up during e AGM...plz forward it to me...so i can compile...The AGM is a platform for everybody to give inputs to further improve our cohesiveness among outriders and also to improve the way we organize our trips, etc...Any issues...plz do not hesitate to forward to me...:smile:

Anyway... "The Keling Kia Trilogy" is held from 27 till 29 May 2005. Tix is $20. Held at Substation at Armenian Street....I will be going on the 28 May 2005 nite...Any takers....

www.nazrinsalim.wordpress.com

1) Mr Choy

Just be careful when ordering. I have a few friends local and Thai who have very bad experience with him. Just sharing my views. I got nothing against him but just a prewarning to u guys.

Daniyal: If u want to change batt cos of ur meter why dun u test try on a godd batt like mine? I dun mind...

Varas: That's why I like it... :thumb: But like wat Pro Dero says... Look like ST 13? More practical to get that. Let it remain a dream.

X1-R 2010 model

Star Brake Lines

K&N Air Filter

EzzyOiler

Originally posted by visual@May 16 2005, 01:58 PM

about the front fender i htink i would just place my name in the (not confirmed list) at the moment till i can get a feedback form [liquid] on it..

cos .. heard .. that the front fender.. screws up ur bike aero dynamicsm.. reducing your top speed by 5-10km/h... dont know how true ..this fact is...

Bro..no worries..my bike will be out by this week...will try out the fender n giv u guys input...:thumb:

"To be old & wise, you must first be young & stupid"

LTC >> but the helmet looks damn nice.. keke :thumb:

STx1300 not a bad choice, but the good old st11 still rocks

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS